April 20, 2024, 03:58:48 AM

Author Topic: Levi Garcia Thread  (Read 153150 times)

Re: Levi Garcia Thread
« Reply #840 on: January 28, 2024, 12:48:02 AM »
clubs don't care about our best players reppin national teams which is BS because the better our national team does, it adds value to the player and helps the club with value...

with our former colonials they just want to oppress the ability for our football to rise.. I don't think levi has this issue but they also don't want to risk injury.. I don't even know if ttfa has the proper insurance for their national call ups tbh

« Reply #841 on: February 05, 2024, 06:53:55 AM »
Levi came off the bench and scored in a 4-2 win over Asteras. Very nice through ball and timing of his run, and a precise finish.
https://youtu.be/AeGO4-NiEAk?si=U5_EiyPEshg_abME

Seems like he missed the last few games with an injury, and in that time his replacement scored a hattrick and some other goals.

« Reply #842 on: February 18, 2024, 12:39:57 PM »
We boy scored a brace today, the second was a tap in but the first was a beauty lawd fadda, great cross and a flying header at the back post. 

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #843 on: February 18, 2024, 01:09:27 PM »
You forgot to mention that he missed a penalty. Could have been a hattrick

« Reply #844 on: February 18, 2024, 05:52:52 PM »
I didn't see the penalty. Keeper saved or he missed the target?
Aek highlights are difficult to find sometimes.

Found one
https://youtu.be/3zYeTK3_rJw?si=weq4oqHy-jzCf-VG

It wasn't a tap in nah, my mistake, my feed was bad.
I thought I saw him side foot in from a couple yards out, maybe that play was annulled.

The timing of this man's runs is immaculate, and his acceleration boy. His teammates also don't hesitate to pass.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2024, 11:35:40 AM by Peong »

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #845 on: February 19, 2024, 11:11:01 AM »
@peong the keeper saved, down low too. Good penalty and great save in the 7th minute

« Reply #846 on: March 10, 2024, 11:20:50 AM »
Levi missed the last game with injury and was on the bench today, first game of the playoffs. He came on in the 83rd with his replacement having scored 1 to put AEK 2-0 up. Levi proceed to score 2 in a few mins the first one being a left footed drive to the top right corner from distance. When ah tell yuh golazo. 2nd one was a cut inside a defender and precise finish to the left bottom corner.

« Reply #847 on: March 10, 2024, 11:47:15 AM »
He's the brightest player we have now. We're going to need him for the play-in.

I wouldn't be surprised if a top European team comes knocking in the off season. Despite accepting a committing to AEK, he can still be purchased by another team. It happens all the time. His value is much higher than it was last year. Just some food for thought.

« Reply #848 on: March 11, 2024, 01:47:06 AM »
Eve wants AEK star Garcia firing ahead of Copa play-in.
By Andrew Gionnetti (T&T Newsday).

AEK ATHENS leading goal-scorer Levi Garcia scored his third brace of the season on Sunday, coming on as a late substitute to helping the team return to the summit of the table, with a 4-0 away win over Lamia in round one of the Greece Super League playoffs.

Garcia had missed two of his club's last three games with a slight injury, and was subbed off at halftime on February 28 against Giannina. His return for the playoffs was a welcome addition and he was introduced in the 78th minute with his team leading 2-0. The T&T forward took just ten minutes to score with a stunning individual effort.

Athens goalkeeper Cican Stankovic initiated a counter-attack, sending the ball long towards the right flank, just beyond the middle of the pitch, for Garcia. The T&T forward shrugged off his defender before bringing the ball under control with an immaculate first touch. He then blew past another player as he drifted inside and towards goal, before executing a fierce left-footed drive from just outside the box into the top of the net.

He scored again deep in stoppage time to add the icing on the cake for AEK Athens, who sit two points ahead of PAOK FC.

Garcia now sits third in the Greek Super League goal-scorers chart, with 13 goals in 13 matches. Ayoub El Kaabi of Olympiacos leads with 15 goals but featured in eight more matches than Garcia this season.

Garcia’s return to partial fitness and immediate goal-scoring form kept his name fresh on the tongues of T&T fans and head coach Angus Eve, who is seeking to narrow his shortlist of players for the crucial March 23 Copa America play-in game against Canada in Texas.

“We’re cautiously optimistic about Levi maintaining his form, and hopefully staying injury-free,” Eve told Newsday in a telephone interview on Sunday.

Garcia has had injury problems this season and missed the majority of T&T's Concacaf Nations League campaign. He has not played for T&T since coming on as a second-half substitute in a 3-0 first-leg defeat to the United Stated in the Nations League, last November.

However, once fit, he has impressed in front of goal in almost all of his Super League appearances.

“As you know, we haven’t really played with Levi (recently),” Eve said, “And we do have a number of players who are playing (consistently).”

Eve did acknowledge Garcia’s contribution, saying, “When not injured, Levi has been in tremendous form for his club and we would only hope that he can maintain that level of intensity and match fitness that we can have with our ranks.”

He said he will not consider Garcia an automatic starter, even at full fitness, out of respect for other players vying for selection.

“Everyone has to fight for their place and once they maintain their fitness and their match fitness, which are two different things, they have the opportunity to play for the country.”

Newsday asked Eve whether there might be reluctance from some, including AEK Athens, to release a recently injured player for national duty.

He said the TT Football Association and team management have a respectable relationship with national team players’ clubs, and does not experience such problems.

“We’re fortunate that, as a staff – the administrative manager, myself, Mr Richard Piper and Dr (Akash) Dhanai – we have relationships with the medical staff of every team, especially those players who have injury issues. We liaise with them, we get reports from them, we submit reports to them.”

He said he understands Jong PSV’s Dante Gilbert has increased his playing time after returning from injury, along with Judah Garcia, Levi’s younger brother of AEK Athens B.

“We keep abreast of all the players,” Eve said, “by communicating with them individually, the coaches and, for the injured ones, our medical department deals with them.

“We work in synchronisation with the clubs.”

RELATED NEWS

Levi Garcia nets screamer for Athens in return from injury.
By Andrew Gionnetti (T&T Newsday).

AEK ATHENS leading goal-scorer Levi Garcia snatched a swift pair of goals on his return from a short-term injury, helping the Greek Super League leaders to a 4-0 away win over Lamia on Sunday.

Garcia was introduced in the 78th minute and took just ten minutes to score and give Athens a 3-0 lead with a stunning individual effort.

Athens goalkeeper Cican Stankovic initiated a counter-attack, sending the ball long towards the right flank, just beyond the middle of the pitch, for Garcia to control. The T&T forward shrugged off his defender before bringing the ball under control with an immaculate first touch. He then blew past another player as he drifted inside and towards goal, before executing a fierce left-footed drive from just outside the box into the top of the net.

Garcia, who bagged his first goal of the season against the same opponent in a 3-0 home win in November, put the icing on the cake with his second goal deep in stoppage time.

The T&T men’s national team winger now sits third in the Greek Super League goal-scorers chart, with 13 goals in 13 matches. Ayoub El Kaabi of Olympiacos leads with 15 goals but featured in eight more matches than Garcia this season.

Garcia’s return to fitness and immediate goal-scoring form, after missing two weeks of action, will come as welcome news for T&T national men’s team coach Angus Eve and fans, ahead of T&T’s March 23 clash against Canada, both teams’ last chance of qualification for the 2024 Copa America in the United States.

« Reply #849 on: March 11, 2024, 08:22:04 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/NEpO_9J3Qq4?start=55s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/NEpO_9J3Qq4?start=55s</a>

Watch de shielding, first touch, run, and de blast from outside. Super goal.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2024, 04:12:41 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #850 on: March 11, 2024, 03:54:18 PM »
2 of the best by any international TT forward. That control, run and bullet, has to be #1.

« Reply #851 on: March 11, 2024, 04:41:23 PM »
Levi is a Gem. Congrats and Good Luck. Blessings :salute:

« Reply #852 on: March 11, 2024, 05:11:43 PM »
I can't see anyone on Canada holding him. He'll terrorize the Canadian defense.

« Reply #853 on: March 12, 2024, 11:57:35 AM »
It was actually #1 on ESPN FC goals of the week yesterday. And there were some golasso's on there.

« Reply #854 on: March 13, 2024, 09:44:03 AM »
Like I said before, Levi is better than Pulsic, but Pulisic benefits from his country, hence why he has the big contract..

« Reply #855 on: March 13, 2024, 11:32:14 AM »
No sir. Pulisic is has better defensive capabilities than Levi. They both bring different strengths to the table, thus depends on what is required by their respective teams. Both are elite players, Pulisic is a more balanced player.

« Reply #856 on: March 13, 2024, 01:11:37 PM »
gawd on pitch  you sure about that ?

« Reply #857 on: March 13, 2024, 01:36:19 PM »
AEK manager Matias Almeyda : "The truth is that it has been a while since I saw such a beautiful goal. I feel happy for him and for AEK. Besides being a great footballer, Levi is also a great person and deserves all the good things."

Almeyda is rumoured to be considered by Lazio to replace Sarri. It's not a stretch that if Almeyda made a move to a club with money he would want to carry Levi with him. I'm sure Levi can play there but I don't like Serie A for black players.

« Reply #858 on: March 13, 2024, 08:35:26 PM »
@maxg

my opinion was solely based on his offensive skill set.. Pulisic is playing in a better system and better coaches, so of course he will look stronger defensively in that given formation..

So yes I understand where you are coming from, but it's not a fair analysis of Levi and his talent ...

« Reply #859 on: March 19, 2024, 06:21:03 AM »
An article about Levi's productivity this season. More goals per game this year with 9 games left. 2 goals behind the top scorers in a lot less minutes.

https://www.sport24.gr/football/aek-to-mpes-vges-toy-gkarsia-den-ton-apotrepei-apo-tin-ektoxeysi-kai-ena-neo-rekor-karieras.10283789.html