March 28, 2024, 10:57:02 AM

Author Topic: Dennis Lawrence Thread  (Read 116035 times)

Offline Insider

Dennis Lawrence Thread
« on: May 14, 2013, 04:06:32 AM »
Dennis Lawrence might be T&T coach soon.

Someone told me that Dennis Lawrence might be T&T coach soon. Possibly after the Gold Cup.

Whether he accepts or not, that's another question.

He turned down a chance to be T&T assistant once.

Hopefully, Sheldon Phillips can convince him.

I just heard this.

« Last Edit: January 21, 2017, 01:48:03 PM by Flex »

Re: Dennis Lawrence might be T&T coach soon.
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 04:41:55 AM »
That would be nice if TT can get him but I dont believe he will accept he knows too much about TT its failings,you name it and we can show the world how not to do it.

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 08:11:37 AM »
When Martinez moves to Everton you dont think Dennis might go with him there?

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 08:22:46 AM »
This would be a good move. I hope he accepts.

« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2013, 08:59:10 AM »
Well d TTFF will get a stooge in Dennis after all he was jack hatchet man encouraging people to take jack 30 pieces of silver. He will tell d national team no need for FPATT or any such body.

« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2013, 02:33:31 PM »
look de man sure to get a steady paycheck and work with good players.....why would he take de TnT job????

« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2013, 01:04:22 PM »
Let de man grow a bit more under Martinez.  We like to rush these men prematurely.

« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2013, 01:15:34 PM »
Let de man grow a bit more under Martinez.  We like to rush these men prematurely.

Thank you. De man needs more experience under his belt.

« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2013, 01:26:58 PM »
Same Kakhi pants.

« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2013, 01:23:10 AM »

Thank you. De man needs more experience under his belt.
I second that!

« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2013, 01:23:56 AM »
Same Kakhi pants.

I eh lying boy, you real negative ano horse!!

Offline Thomo

« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2013, 05:46:54 AM »
@justcool, sometimes I wonder why coache even bothers to comment on anything on this forum. Always negative. Sometimes I give him the benefit of the doubt when he starts off but his negativity gets the better of him and back to square one. As he put it "same khaki pants". I understand and respect constructive critique but coache is too much sometimes.

« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2013, 07:02:43 AM »
@justcool, sometimes I wonder why coache even bothers to comment on anything on this forum. Always negative. Sometimes I give him the benefit of the doubt when he starts off but his negativity gets the better of him and back to square one. As he put it "same khaki pants". I understand and respect constructive critique but coache is too much sometimes.

Yeah negative until he talkin bout he lengthy resume and pointing out who he use to coach...all in all it takes all kinds, so we hadda accept him :(

Thomo doh get meh wrong he does annoy de hell outta me too with he negativity, but sometimes he does be unintentinally hilarious.

By de way, coache probably have an 'in' wid Lawerence as to why he would be de 'same khaki pants'?

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2013, 10:01:28 AM »
i aint mind dat atall 
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2013, 08:17:46 PM »
It seems to me that COACHE has some coaching experience. It is also clear that being in a foreign country COACHE has that mentality that foreign exposure is better than the big fish in a small pond mentality.
The logical conclusion is that COACHE wants to be the National coach of Trinidad & Tobago.
 Nothing wrong with that kind of ambition, but he must channel his CV in the right direction.
 Having said that, understanding the DNA of a club or country is a necessary ingredient for success.
 If one is in doubt ask the Interim  Coach of Chelsea. Players and fans can make you or break you.

« Reply #15 on: May 18, 2013, 08:36:41 PM »
It is also clear that being in a foreign country COACHE has that mentality that foreign exposure is better than the big fish in a small pond mentality.

Dennis is a local who is now cuttin his teeth in foreign. Isn't he gaining experience. Isn't that what all of us want?

« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2013, 09:51:23 AM »
There is too much of an inclination to proclaim before the fact.

« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2013, 08:05:01 PM »
Same Khaki pants..not a negative comment...why take it as a negative? I said it before ..coaching in the English league is comparing apples to oranges when it comes to coaching a National team.
It would be even more difficult coaching Trinidad for many reasons. I'll name a few..lack of resources, player limitation, limited time to build a strong cohesive unit, leadership experience by the coach.
This coach is an assistant who is an active participant in another man's philosophy..does he fully understand Martinez's methods? I don't understand Martinez's methods..I never liked him, I always thought he was overrated and his relegation into the Championship Division is long overdue.
That methodology would not work with any National set up.
Who knows what is Dennis Lawrence's philosophy?

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #18 on: May 20, 2013, 10:00:52 AM »
Same Khaki pants..not a negative comment...why take it as a negative? I said it before ..coaching in the English league is comparing apples to oranges when it comes to coaching a National team.
It would be even more difficult coaching Trinidad for many reasons. I'll name a few..lack of resources, player limitation, limited time to build a strong cohesive unit, leadership experience by the coach.
This coach is an assistant who is an active participant in another man's philosophy..does he fully understand Martinez's methods? I don't understand Martinez's methods..I never liked him, I always thought he was overrated and his relegation into the Championship Division is long overdue.

Is overrated yuh call de man overrated...if anything he's an overachiever, like u en see how light n weak wigan team is or wah, is like dey have a bare 11 of decent/ok players and after dat is salt...miracles martinez been working at that club
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #19 on: May 20, 2013, 12:06:28 PM »

Based on what? Your dislike of the EPL?

Sounds like Wigan to me

So there is the nature of the problem. Guess what???? your opinion doesn't matter because as long as Lawrence is learning and gaining experience he is becoming a better coach.

W]hy not wait and see if or when he is given the chance
[/color]

Offline ANC2

« Reply #20 on: May 20, 2013, 12:20:18 PM »

You good yes. First to begin Dennis is not Martinez assistant, he runs the Developmental section of Wigan. Also I would hope he takes the best of Martinez philosophy  adds his own and grows from their. Saying that, Martinez teams play good football and is only a lack of true good players he has not done better. Hats off he won the FA Cup against the most expensive team in football. As professionals say "where is your FA Cup medal." How exactly is coaching in the EPL different from Holland, Spain, Mexico or Serbia Leagues, Versus National Teams?

If Dennis reading this thread. Most of us wish you well & are behind you. Good luck

Offline amwood

Spoke To Dennis Lawrence Yesterday
« Reply #21 on: May 27, 2013, 10:38:41 AM »
The man has so much insight into the day to day operations of a typical coach in England, tremendously insightful! Someone from the association should be utilizing the information that these guys can share with local coaches...was really happy to hear him talk about the philosophy of Martinez and how much work these guys devote to preparing their teams. Spoke quite a bit about speed of play, high intensity sessions, operating outside of players comfort zones, emphasis on addressing physical characteristics of young players, importance of developing relationships with players, importance of managing them. It's quite an accomplishment what he has achieved being a Trini operating at that level! Anton should be hunting these guys down once they are back in Trini...and the man can still handle himself on the pitch as well. Big respect to Dennis!
« Last Edit: May 27, 2013, 10:40:26 AM by amwood »

Offline Banter Banton

Re: Spoke To Dennis Lawrence Yesterday
« Reply #22 on: May 27, 2013, 10:56:15 AM »
Legend

The longer he stay abroad and get his badges and experience the better for us in the future

Keep it up big man !

« Reply #23 on: May 27, 2013, 11:27:31 AM »
Appreciate de info... but yuh telling we a lot about what yuh talk about, but not what he say.  That would have been much much more interesting.

« Reply #24 on: May 27, 2013, 12:13:01 PM »
Always liked Lawrence, on the field this man was pure heart and soul, I believe he would make a great coach, hopefully, he will return to T&T.

« Reply #25 on: May 27, 2013, 12:56:43 PM »
Dennis is a boss. He is in a daily environment, gaining experience at every level (which will serve him well). Do your thing Mr. Lawrence

« Reply #26 on: May 28, 2013, 09:16:13 AM »
Look like de brudda may be headed to Everton with Martinez

« Reply #27 on: May 28, 2013, 02:11:18 PM »
The most important element is player relationship.
This is good for Mr Lawrence hope he's developing his own philosophy so as to enhance our players at home.

« Reply #28 on: May 28, 2013, 07:31:23 PM »
Big D

« Reply #29 on: July 08, 2013, 09:28:04 AM »
Dennis Lawrence: Set to join Roberto Martinez's coaching team at Everton
By Pete O'Rourke (skysports).

Sky Sports understands Wigan coach Dennis Lawrence is poised to join Roberto Martinez's coaching staff at Everton.

Everton confirmed last week that Graeme Jones, Inaki Bergara, Kevin Reeves and Richard Evans had all followed Martinez from Wigan to Goodison Park.

Wigan were keen to keep hold of Lawrence with the former Trinidad & Tobago international establishing himself as a key member of the set-up at the DW Stadium.

New Wigan boss Owen Coyle was keen to include Lawrence in his plans for the side and hoped to keep him in his coaching staff.

However, Martinez has moved to lure Lawrence away from Wigan as he finalises his backroom team on Merseyside.

Lawrence is highly-rated by Martinez and he sees the former Wrexham and Swansea defender as one of the most innovative coaches around.