March 28, 2024, 08:17:45 AM

Author Topic: Report: Iran sets up intelligence in T&T  (Read 2209 times)

Report: Iran sets up intelligence in T&T
« on: May 31, 2013, 09:41:50 PM »
Source:
http://www.tntfinder.com/news/report-iran-sets-up-intelligence-in-tt-latam-listing-1763.aspx#.Uaj-mttcRbY.facebook

The Fox News report revealed that Iran is hoping to carry out terrorist attacks in the Caribbean and South American region.
Source: Fox News
Published Friday, May 31, 2013
Updated Friday, May 31, 2013
Caption: File photo of Iranian soldiers marching past Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad during the annual army day military parade on April 17, 2008 in Tehran, Iran. Photo courtesy Getty Images

Iran is infiltrating South America and is setting up intelligence networks in several Latin American countries, including Trinidad and Tobago; this says an article posted on online news source, Fox News Latino.

The report which was formulated using quotes from Argentinean prosecutor Alberto Nisman, who has been engaged for 20 years in the effort to charge a handful of former Iranian officials with masterminding the 1994 bombing of a Buenos Aires Jewish center, revealed that Iran is hoping to carry out terrorist attacks in the Caribbean and South American region.

Nisman accused, Iran’s former cultural attaché in Buenos Aires Mohsen Rabbani of working continually over the last two decades to develop an intelligence network in Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Guyana, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago and added that there are sleeper cells, which is, a group of secret agents who specialize in assimilating into another country's culture and society, already in these countries.

His concerns are seen as a viable threat to the U.S. state department and president Barack Obama but this threat maybe unknown to the authorities of Trinidad and Tobago.

You guys hear about this?

Re: Report: Iran sets up intelligence in T&T
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2013, 10:14:27 PM »
Oh Lord . . .sopt this evil please.

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2013, 11:14:04 PM »
Oh Lord . . .sopt this evil please.

Fox News is the root of almost all evil

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2013, 04:47:32 AM »
Axis of evil!

« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2013, 06:24:58 AM »
why would iran bomb the caribbean?

When last Iran bomb someone?

P.S. Trinidad needs all the intelligence it can get right now cause it scarce.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2013, 06:28:26 AM by sammy »

« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2013, 08:50:22 AM »
I'm generally suspect of Iran but this sounds like pure bullocks.

« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2013, 10:17:52 AM »

Not really, considering that Abu Bakr as I recall, did get help from Libya for training and sourcing weapons prior to the coup. It's just a global village and the CIA has been doing it for years in the Caribbean and Latin America anyway (see Jamaica).

There is also a train of thought that the hubris about stopping Iran from being nuclear capable is more about maintaining Israel's sphere of influence and power in the region than the expressed fear of Iran not being responsible enough to have such weapons.

Question.....unless he really have a personal agenda.......who paying Nisman for the past 20 years?
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2013, 01:54:57 PM »

Not really, considering that Abu Bakr as I recall, did get help from Libya for training and sourcing weapons prior to the coup. It's just a global village and the CIA has been doing it for years in the Caribbean and Latin America anyway (see Jamaica).

There is also a train of thought that the hubris about stopping Iran from being nuclear capable is more about maintaining Israel's sphere of influence and power in the region than the expressed fear of Iran not being responsible enough to have such weapons.

Question.....unless he really have a personal agenda.......who paying Nisman for the past 20 years?

There is sufficient cause to be concerned about Iranian stewardship of nuclear weaponry. Aside from the country's present association with state-sponsored terror, one has to consider that Iran isn't in the most tranquil of geopolitical neighborhoods.

« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2013, 10:46:48 PM »
Tehran says U.S., not Iran, sponsors terrorism

By Louis Charbonneau

UNITED NATIONS | Fri May 31, 2013 4:59pm EDT

(Reuters) - Iran on Friday rejected a U.S. State Department report that accused Tehran of increasing its support for terrorism overseas to levels not seen for two decades, saying it is the United States that backs terrorists in the Middle East.

"Iran itself has been the victim of state-sponsored terrorism, which has claimed the lives of thousands of innocent Iranian people," said Alireza Miryousefi, spokesman for Iran's U.N. mission.

"Iran has been actively engaged in counterterrorism activities by all possible means and is a party to many counterterrorism international legal instruments," he said.

The State Department report on Thursday cited a series of actual and planned attacks in Europe and Asia linked to Hezbollah, Iran's Lebanon-based ally, including a July 2012 bombing in Bulgaria that killed five Israeli citizens and a Bulgarian, and wounded 32 others.

Last July, Iran's U.N. ambassador denied his country's involvement in the Bulgaria bombing, which he accused Israel of carrying out. "We have never, and will not, engage in such a despicable attempt on ... innocent people," Ambassador Mohammed Khazaee said.

"It should be mentioned that the U.S. government has no merit to label other nations of sponsoring terrorism as it has a long ... record (of) supporting terrorist groups in our region as well as Israeli state terrorism," Miryousefi said.

He cited the recent removal from the U.S. list of terrorist organizations of the Mujahadin-e-Khalq, a dissident group that calls for the overthrow of Iran's Shi'ite Muslim clerical leadership and fought alongside the forces of Iraq's late Sunni Muslim dictator Saddam Hussein in the 1980-88 Iran-Iraq war.

"The recent delisting of the MEK terrorist group ... and also allowing it to publicly lobby in Washington is a clear indication that the U.S. government has double standards in dealing with terrorism and uses designation of others as terrorist only to serve its illegitimate political interests," he said.

Announcing the MEK's removal from the list last September, the State Department said it "did not overlook or forget the MEK's past acts of terrorism..." It also said the department had "serious concerns about the MEK as an organization, particularly with regard to allegations of abuse committed against its own members."

U.S. and European officials and intelligence agencies say Iran and Hezbollah have stepped up their military backing for the besieged government of Syrian President Bashar al-Assad.

(Editing by Peter Cooney and David Storey)