April 26, 2024, 12:31:44 PM

Author Topic: Today's Political World Music  (Read 1664 times)

Today's Political World Music
« on: June 01, 2013, 12:04:19 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/uJNbEr3y0bI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/uJNbEr3y0bI</a>

The context might be helpful. I was listening to Sizzla before he sell out and gone tru  :D and know that the reason he reach real youths like me was because we know he absolutely believed in what he was saying. No catchy phrases. No water in he mouth to please no babylonian. Same for tunes like Bob Marley - Zimbabwe. Fire on Prince Charles and dem. 
Now maybe I out of the loop or something, so I hoping some people could direct me to some tunes / artistes (post links) who standing up and taking controversial stands on REAL issues today. (eg. Who talking about drone strikes?)

Re: Today's Political World Music
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2013, 12:43:22 PM »

The context might be helpful. I was listening to Sizzla before he sell out and gone tru  :D and know that the reason he reach real youths like me was because we know he absolutely believed in what he was saying. No catchy phrases. No water in he mouth to please no babylonian. Same for tunes like Bob Marley - Zimbabwe. Fire on Prince Charles and dem. 
Now maybe I out of the loop or something, so I hoping some people could direct me to some tunes / artistes (post links) who standing up and taking controversial stands on REAL issues today. (eg. Who talking about drone strikes?)

Quite true ... although, I would characterize it as he "echoed reality" ... in much the same vein as his predecessors (some of whom were more penetrating than Robert Nesta (as blasphemous as that might seem) ... in an idiom (with an underlying riddim) that really connected!

Hope this thread ketch a fire.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2013, 03:38:22 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2013, 06:07:42 PM »
still going backwards, but was listening to the lyrics today. Bun Dem - Stalin
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Lsce_CsWME0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Lsce_CsWME0</a>

« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2013, 12:10:33 PM »
alot of those songs are in other languages so unless u speak them the significance might be lost. in pakistan these days pl who wear designer jeans and flash phones are referred to as "burgers".
 check the story and the music here: http://www.theworld.org/2013/06/burgers-the-new-power-brokers-in-pakistan/

In Africa, ghana despite its democracy has its share of problems. last night i heard this song on a radio program.  real powerful stuff

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/r94wIfwSbYQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/r94wIfwSbYQ</a>

« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2013, 12:32:22 PM »
video de los FARC

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sk3h-aSiRlg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sk3h-aSiRlg</a>

« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2013, 02:48:31 PM »
Music Industry kill all dat setta activism oui.... is Bling out or doh sell CD's dese days

Tikken Jah Fak use to sing bout political & world issues but even he kinda tone it down as his success grew....plus he's ah kinda burning spear clone anyway

On de yankee side the only hip hop activist (post Public Enemy era)I know is Lupe Fiasco...and since the secret service ress some calpet on him a few months back me eh eh hear nuttn from he since

« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2013, 07:05:58 PM »
Maybe we should start another thread on "Yesterday's Political World Music" (Pre-2000) as this thread is obviously starving for decent material!

« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2013, 08:23:24 PM »
eh heh...well if is yesterday political music u want u must check de black president

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/O0psvbX1YB0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/O0psvbX1YB0</a>

« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2013, 04:45:49 PM »
video de los FARC

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sk3h-aSiRlg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sk3h-aSiRlg</a>

Farc is a double edge sword. When these guerillas group started out in the 60s, they were formed to fight for the underclass. But after 40 yrs they became heavy handed dictators themselves and work hand in hand with the murderous narcos to run their drug business. Sorry, they can't sway me with  their"rap".

« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2013, 08:30:46 AM »
Look one from 2012

Nneka - Soul is Heavy

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YmWA7d4BlWU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YmWA7d4BlWU</a>