April 16, 2024, 07:52:56 AM

Author Topic: MILLIONS OVERPAID  (Read 4240 times)

MILLIONS OVERPAID
« on: June 06, 2013, 10:48:14 PM »
Animal Farm it is. Four legs good...two legs better!

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/MILLIONS--OVERPAID-210509041.html

The Auditor General’s report on Trinidad and Tobago’s public accounts for Government’s financial year 2012 (October 1, 2011 to September 30, 2012) has revealed that Government ministries paid millions of dollars in overpayments to contract employees.

There was a lack of documentation to verify million-dollar expenditures at certain Government ministries.

There was also failure in many instances to respond to requests for more expenditure information despite ballooning budgets, the Auditor General’s report showed.

Dated April 29, 2013, the report was signed by Auditor General Sharman Ottley and was submitted to Speaker of the House Wade Mark that day.

Ottley noted that the examination of records and documents showed that in many instances there was non-compliance with financial instructions, financial regulations and other financial directives while reports on appropriation accounts were not received from 13 accounting officers by the Auditor’s General Office up to January 31, 2013.

And up to April 15 this year, ahead of the report’s submission to Parliament, there were no responses from 19 permanent secretaries or heads of departments.

The Auditor General took issue with:

1.  The lack of inventory controls at the various ministries.

2.  Signed lease agreements were not produced for several properties for which rental payments were made—three locations at the Ministry of National Security for a total monthly rental of $1.2 million; one location from the Ministry of the Attorney General for a monthly rental of $486,774.60; five locations for the Ministry of Food Production for a total monthly rental of $606,473.74; and two locations for the Ministry of Tobago Development at a total monthly rental of $92,000 a month.

3.  Signed contracts were not provided for a number of contracts paid.

Eight contracts at the Ministry of National Security amounting to $5.9 million were not seen; 17 contracts at the Ministry of Education amounting to $4 million were not seen; four contracts at the Ministry of Works and Infrastructure valued at $6.8 million were not seen; as well as five contracts at the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service which amounted to $2.3 million.

“Replies were received from 26 permanent secretaries/heads of departments indicating that amounts totaling $224.4 million were paid to 2,239 persons employed in contract positions during the financial year ended 30th September, 2012. The audit highlighted that duly-executed contracts were not produced for several of these officers and as such the various terms of engagement could not be verified,” the report noted.

4.  Overpayments. In the 2011 appropriation accounts, 5,280 cases of overpayment totaling $20,370,970.62 were reported, of which $8,472,896.04 was recovered. In 2012, 4,531 cases of overpayment totaling $21,465,110.05 were reported of which $8,008,976.50 was recovered.

5.  Outstanding commitments—Several ministries made expensive commitments for goods and services but have not paid (up to time to audit). Among them are the Ministry of Transport, the Ministry of Works and Infrastructure and the Ministry of Energy and Energy Affairs.

6.  Cases of theft and reported losses—For the financial year 2012, there were 45 cases of theft and losses of State property totaling $682,966.88.

This figure comprised 24 cases under $5,000 totalling $58,463 and 26 cases totaling $641,142.

There were five cases in the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, 18 cases in the Ministry of Education, seven cases in the Tobago House of Assembly and six cases in the Ministry of Food Production.

7.  Errors/omissions from appropriation accounts—the Auditor General noted that in several ministries as well as the Office of the President, the Parliament and the Office of the Prime Minister, there were typographical errors as well as omissions in certain appropriation accounts submitted for audit.

In seven ministries, there were increases in expenditure by more than 50 per cent from 2011 to 2012.

1. In the Ministry of Sport, expenditure moved from $28.786 million in 2011 to $395.884 million in 2012—a variance of $367.098 million or a 1,275 per cent increase.  :o

2.  In the Ministry of Works and Infrastructure, expenditure moved from $514,999 million in 2011 to $2.4 billion—a variance of $1.9 billion or 378 per cent.   :o

3.  In the Ministry of Transport, expenditure moved from $218.585 million in 2011 to $1.1 billion in 2012—a variance of $843 million or 386 per cent.

4.  In the Ministry of Planning and Sustainable Development, expenditure moved from $62.8 million to $208.6 million—a variance of $145.7 million or 232 per cent.

5.  In the Ministry of Justice, expenditure moved from $126.5 million in 2011 to $408 million in 2012—a variance of $281 million or 222 per cent.

6.  In the Ministry of Gender, Youth and Child Development, expenditure moved from $46 million in 2011 to $137.5 million in 2012—a variance of $90.9 million or 194 per cent.

7.  In the Ministry of Housing, Land and Marine Affairs, expenditure moved from $1 billion to $1.9 billion—a variation of $924 million or 90 per cent.

And certain ministries or institutions that receive State funding fell under the title “Individual Areas of Concern”.

Among them are:

Office of the Prime Minister: In the appropriation account, there was an allowance for 195 persons on contract which totaled $9.7 million in expenditure.

However, when the Auditor General sought further clarification, it was indicated that “only 55 people were engaged on contract in respect of which expenditure totaling $689,131 was incurred”.

Ministry of Transport: “Errors, omissions and inconsistent presentation of information among the various sections of the appropriation account were noted to be prevalent. The underlying records were also not maintained properly in all instances. These errors/inconsistencies have affected the accuracy of the financial statement to some extent.”

The report noted that $55 million in cheques were not presented to the Auditor General, as well as $108.8 million from the Treasury Card. 

There were also inconsistencies in the information and sums paid to contract employees. According to the appropriation contract, employment cost $2.4 million but in response to questions by the Auditor General, the sum paid for contracted employees was valued at $19.3 million.

Ministry of Sport: A total of $31.7 million in cheques was not disclosed in the appropriation account as required by the Comptroller of Accounts.

The Auditor General noted that there were weaknesses in the verification procedures for certain payments.

Some instances were:

• Two payments totaling $11 million were made. However, the statement provided with that payment totaled $5.6 million--a difference of $5.3 million

• A payment of $2,579,920.94 was seen to be supported by an expenditure statement of $2,449,950.94 (a shortfall of $129,970.00).

• Payments totaling $180,737 were made under the Non-profit Institutions note as the ministry’s contribution to funeral arrangements for one individual.

• Four equal amounts totaling $1,996,400 were seen to be paid in one cheque to a company for the “Taking Sports to Rural Areas” project for four regions.

This total exceeded the permanent secretary’s authorised limit of $1 million according to the Central Tenders Board Regulation.

Separate tender documents, recommendations, requests for approval and payment vouchers with similar dates and information were seen for each of the amounts. According to the vouchers seen, the payments related to ten grounds in each region—a total of 40 grounds. However, in response to the query from the Auditor General, only 17 grounds were identified and there is no evidence that work was carried out satisfactorily.

Ministry of Works and Infrastructure: From the sample of 52 contracts, nine contract files for contracts totaling $5.9 million were not presented for audit.

From a sample of 19 payment vouchers for the supply of asphalt, destination information was omitted from nine vouchers and delivery location information differed between delivery notes and cartage receipts in ten instances.

Trinidad and Tobago Police Service: Audit surveys carried out during May 2012 at 12 police stations revealed that records necessary for control over counterfoils, inventory, firearms and vehicles were not properly maintained.

:o

Defence Force: The Contract Register for the Defence Force was not provided for audit. As a result, information presented on four contracts totaling $31.3 million was not verified. 

Ministry of the Attorney General: In response to questions from the Auditor General, the AG’s office stated that 167 people were engaged on contract for a total expenditure of $23.8 million, while the appropriation account for contract employment for the Attorney General was $23,354,772.

Ministry of Food Production: Cabinet approval for the rental of four properties with payments totaling $1.9 million was not produced. As a result, it was not determined whether there was proper authority for the rental of these properties and if the relevant terms and conditions were followed.

The Auditor General’s report noted that recommendations have been made to various ministries for tighter controls.

The full report can be accessed on Auditor General’s website at

www.auditorgeneral.gov.tt

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Re: MILLIONS OVERPAID
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2013, 11:59:23 PM »
Who really keeping these people honest?  It is not enough for citizens to just piecemeal point to these issues, there must be some kind of concerted public outcry over the blatant theft and corruption taking place.  All kinda inquiry over Calder Hart and Duprey and what not, when more money is being stolen on a near daily basis right under the public's noses... and nothing is being done about it.  Not one fart.  A Socawarriors.net post here, a Facebook comment there... da'is it.

Offline congo

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2013, 04:25:33 AM »
I am sorry but it is high time these people are stoned and spat at in public. It is just too blatant. Trinis really only have mouth yes. In some other country these people homes would have been burnt down. :bs: :bs:

« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2013, 04:50:52 AM »
Who really keeping these people honest?  It is not enough for citizens to just piecemeal point to these issues, there must be some kind of concerted public outcry over the blatant theft and corruption taking place.  All kinda inquiry over Calder Hart and Duprey and what not, when more money is being stolen on a near daily basis right under the public's noses... and nothing is being done about it.  Not one fart.  A Socawarriors.net post here, a Facebook comment there... da'is it.

Personally Bakes, I'm just too tired and numb to care anymore.....

Offline Pur_Trini

« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2013, 06:50:34 AM »
Correct me if I am wrong, but haven't Auditor General’s reports going back as far as 2007 highlighted similar instances of mismanagement?  It is "situation normal" in T&T for successive governments to rape the treasury and not be held accountable.  Like Brownsugar say - much too numb to care - except I got to that stage a long, long time ago. 
.........and may God bless our Nation.

« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2013, 08:07:21 AM »
Correct me if I am wrong, but haven't Auditor General’s reports going back as far as 2007 highlighted similar instances of mismanagement?  It is "situation normal" in T&T for successive governments to rape the treasury and not be held accountable.  Like Brownsugar say - much too numb to care - except I got to that stage a long, long time ago. 

Mismangement is 2 TNT as cold is 2 ice. This eh mismangement is blantant Robbery wit V.

« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2013, 08:43:49 AM »

Ordinarily I would say that kinda apathy is what does keep succesive govts in TT on the road to massive teefin........buut I can understand your deflation as nobody willin to prosecute nobody

The TT treasury bottomless or wha?...ah notice wuhever ministry jack had he hands in, the 'discrepancies' does far outpace his conterparts
.........and somebody get a very nice funeral, ah wonder who dat was?

« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2013, 09:39:14 AM »
Most people numb....and dahs what governments know.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2013, 11:01:25 AM »

Ordinarily I would say that kinda apathy is what does keep succesive govts in TT on the road to massive teefin........buut I can understand your deflation as nobody willin to prosecute nobody

The TT treasury bottomless or wha?...ah notice wuhever ministry jack had he hands in, the 'discrepancies' does far outpace his conterparts
.........and somebody get a very nice funeral, ah wonder who dat was?

Dutty boy, is how much time ah goh march and organise petitions??  Nutten eh changing.  Once both sides know come election time is black vs. indian, East-West Corridor vs. after Caroni bridge, dem eh have to do one blasted thing, dey business fix!!

Imagine we move from a $2 million flag to a $6.5 million wrecking bill for a firetruck normel, normel and nobody eh making ah jail or pay back de money at least....steups!!  Ah waving mih white flag in surrender.....dey win.....*sigh*

Nashy

« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2013, 05:29:53 PM »
Some are numb.  Most are dumb.

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2013, 08:59:29 PM »

no sir! people are just fed up with administration after administration abusing the power we bestow on them. as one poster put it, election time is race against race, then is we who feel the grind after. this gov't had the backing of a unified people who wanted betterment and believed that they would actually make the nation better. trinidad is truly hopeless for the most part when it comes to being accountable for the office you hold and being good caretakers of the people's money, support and trust.
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2013, 09:20:45 PM »

no sir! people are just fed up with administration after administration abusing the power we bestow on them. as one poster put it, election time is race against race, then is we who feel the grind after. this gov't had the backing of a unified people who wanted betterment and believed that they would actually make the nation better. trinidad is truly hopeless for the most part when it comes to being accountable for the office you hold and being good caretakers of the people's money, support and trust.

I want to know how people expected this MOTTLEY CREW 2 give us good governance. Where were they between 1995-2001. All yuh had issue wit Patos crew gr8 but please doh be crying now. We know what they are made off but put on blinders. So I have buckled up 4 d long ride.

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2013, 10:24:06 PM »

I want to know how people expected this MOTTLEY CREW 2 give us good governance. Where were they between 1995-2001. All yuh had issue wit Patos crew gr8 but please doh be crying now. We know what they are made off but put on blinders. So I have buckled up 4 d long ride.

what option did the people have? what option do they have now that's any different? is why people numb! start printing tshirts - buckle up for the continuous ride.
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2013, 11:44:03 PM »
Agree with the comment that people are dumb.  There is no way any member of a thinking species would have looked at Hubert Volney or Jack Warner... and vote them into public office, not with all the smoke that surrounded them. 

« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2013, 12:00:37 PM »
The State and the people have an unspoken agreement where both parties agree to ignore infractions up to a certain degree. The state ignores non-compliance building standards, traffic violations , tax evasion, tax avoidance, and public order codes while the people ignore a degree of corruption and mismanagement. And so it goes on.

I love my country but I'm not proud of it.

« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2013, 01:46:57 PM »

what option did the people have? what option do they have now that's any different? is why people numb! start printing tshirts - buckle up for the continuous ride.

Stay wit Patos d lesser of d 2 evils. 95-01 showed us what they are made off. Patos and co on their worse day eh as bad as these people on their best days. To top it off all that they accuse Patos off nobody eh get lock up and d icing on d cake after they cuss d chinese. The chinese is now their bffffffff.

« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2013, 05:56:32 PM »
Was race really in the last General Election doh?

« Reply #17 on: June 09, 2013, 03:14:31 PM »

Yes and No d Indio Trinidadian do what they usually do. D Afro community bought d hype, drank d kool aide and was duped.

« Reply #18 on: June 09, 2013, 08:43:12 PM »

Yes and No d Indio Trinidadian do what they usually do. D Afro community bought d hype, drank d kool aide and was duped.

Any other viewpoints? Was race really a factor in the last General Election?

« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2013, 08:54:38 AM »

If it was business as ususal Arima would have remain PNM. People did not vote race last election next 1 every zandolee crawling back in their hole.

« Reply #20 on: June 10, 2013, 09:07:40 AM »
it was not an issue per say governance was, but the desire for good governance is only skin deep...it would seem....sadly

« Reply #21 on: June 10, 2013, 09:40:44 AM »
I would tend to agree. The thing is...governance could/would be as much of an issue in the next election as it was the last one. But what do you think would happen? Chaguanas West could change hands?

« Reply #22 on: June 10, 2013, 09:52:02 AM »

If it was business as ususal Arima would have remain PNM. People did not vote race last election next 1 every zandolee crawling back in their hole.
Neither Lopinot/Bonair West. Neil Parsanlal was a good MP and well respected in the community. To say he was a better Minister than Jamal Mohammed is like saying the sky is blue. All that and he still lost his seat because of the way people viewed Patrick Manning in particular.

The majority of UNC seats are like the Laventille Seats to the PNM.

« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2013, 09:54:05 AM »
I would tend to agree. The thing is...governance could/would be as much of an issue in the next election as it was the last one. But what do you think would happen? Chaguanas West could change hands?
sure as hell not what happened in Arima....could tell u dat

« Reply #24 on: June 10, 2013, 09:59:32 AM »

So....when does the race aspect REALLY come into play and in what context? We could infer that in both elections the issue of governance is an issue. Where can we see race as being the over riding factor as compared to governance?

And Jah Gol.....yuh damn right bout Parsanlal...and is a shame.

« Reply #25 on: June 10, 2013, 10:20:22 AM »
Patrick Manning treated the people of Arima with contempt when he rejected Mrs. Beckles . They weren't having it and refused to put their X by the balisier.

« Reply #26 on: June 10, 2013, 10:31:38 AM »
Patrick Manning treated the people of Arima with contempt when he rejected Mrs. Beckles . They weren't having it and refused to put their X by the balisier.

I know, the point however remains the same, the inclination to send a message dat yuh not happy regardless of other considerations........

« Reply #27 on: June 10, 2013, 11:18:50 AM »

I know, the point however remains the same, the inclination to send a message dat yuh not happy regardless of other considerations........
Yeah, It have a ting called same-group preference that is exists to various degrees among all of us.

« Reply #28 on: June 10, 2013, 11:53:38 AM »
No fire-trucking way: Jack X looks for a way out latest scandal

Scene: International Rescue Committee headquarters in New York.

Phone rings. IRC Chairman George Rupp answers

George Rupp: “Hello. George Rupp speaking…”

Ex-Minister of National Security, ex-Minister of Work and Infrastructure, ex-UNC Chairman, ex-Chaguanas West MP, ex-FIFA Vice-President, ex-CONCACAF President, ex-Caribbean Football Union President, ex-Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation Special Advisor, ex-Local Organising Committee 2006 Chairman, current smart man Jack Warner: “Salaam alaikum, George. This is Jack X.”

Rupp: “Jack X? Are you a Muslim now? I thought you were a Hindu.”

Jack X: “Muslim? No. You didn’t hear how many positions I am an ex-holder of? I find it quicker to call myself an X-man now. I on my own beat like Wolverine. Haha.”

Rupp: “Okay. Well, whatever sits well with you, Jack.”

Jack X: “Exactly. I will be a Jehovah Witness if it keeps my seat.”

Rupp: “Jack, what is this about? Are you calling about the Haiti emergency relief funds you promised?”

Jack X: “Steups. You dropped me right in the mess over here and you asking me about Haiti and their alleged earthquake?! This is more serious than any alleged Haitians man. Cabinet is querying the bill you submitted for rescuing the fire truck.”

more here...
http://www.wired868.com/2013/06/10/no-fire-trucking-way-jack-x-looks-for-a-way-out-latest-scandal/

« Reply #29 on: June 11, 2013, 05:16:25 PM »
Forget all the Talk.

Bottom Line, who or whom are responsible?

When are they going to Jail.

Only when this happen will this shit stop.