April 19, 2024, 01:11:53 PM

Author Topic: Anier strike denies T&T - Estonia pips T&T.  (Read 5842 times)

Anier strike denies T&T - Estonia pips T&T.
« on: June 07, 2013, 05:15:22 PM »
Anier strike denies T&T.
By Inshan Mohammed.

A thirteenth minute goal from Fredrikstad FK striker Henri Anier was enough to see Estonia seal a 1-0 victory over the Soca Warriors at A. Le Coq Arena in Tallinn, Estonia on Friday.

The Trinidad and Tobago coaches made a few changes to the T&T side that faced Romania last Tuesday. Kevon Carter, Devorn Jorsling and Marvin Phillip were all relegated to the bench with Ataullah Guerra, Jamal Gay and Jan-Michael Williams taking their spots on the team respectively.

Still not looking a polish unit, the Soca Warriors side showed a little more purpose in their game but just could not make the best of the few decent opportunities they had to get on the scoresheet and in the end had to settle for the narrow 1-0 defeat.

And despite not being one of Europe's top teams, Estonia looked technically better than the T&T side and had it not been for a few great saves from goalkeeper Williams T&T could have been defeated by a larger margin. However, still a way to go and some gaps to be filled it was definitely an improvement from T&T.

Captain Theobald were a class act, Justin Hoyte looked capable, Daneil Cyrus was at every call, Cornell Glen made a positive impact and Andre Boucaud was the neatest of them all, the Notts County midfielder battled from start to finish.

T&T meanwhile has now finished it's European tour with 2 defeats in two games, conceding 5-goals and scoring none in the process. The Caribbean side has not scored a single goal in 6 matches dating back to December 2012 when they scored against Martinique in a 1-1 tie at the Caribbean Cup.

Since the inclusion of co-head coach Jamaal Shabazz T&T has found it difficult to score goals recording 3 goals in 9 games and conceding 15.

T&T will now head back to Trinidad and look for a possible friendly against a Central American opponent before heading to New York for it's opening 2013 Gold Cup match against El Salvador in New Jersey on July 8th.

Teams

Trinidad & Tobago: - 21-Jan-Michael Williams, 5-Radanfah Abu Bakr, 2-Aubrey David, 6-Daneil Cyrus, 4-Justin Hoyte (17-Kareem Moses 78th), 3-Joevin Jones (11-Kevon Carter 75th), 18-Densill Theobald (capt), 14-Andre Boucaud, 12-Darryl Roberts (19-Shahdon Winchester 65th), 8-Ataullah Guerra (10-Kevin Molino 65th), 15-Jamal Gay (13-Cornell Glen 78th).

Subs: - 1-Marvin Phillip, 9-Devorn Jorsling.

Estonia: - 1-Sergei Pareiko, 17-Enar Jääger, 21-Igor Morozov, 4-Raio Piiroja, 5-Dmitri Kruglov, 9-Tarmo Kink (14-Andrei Sidorenkov 81st), 6-Aleksandr Dmitrijev (7-Sander Puri 57th), 13-Martin Vunk, 19-Siim Luts (16-Sergei Mošnikov 57th), 10-Sergei Zenjov (11-Vladimir Voskoboinikov 57th), 15-Henri Anier (12-Joel Lindpere 57th).

Subs: - 22-Artur Kotenko, 2-Tihhon Šišov, 18-Alo Bärengrub, 3-Taavi Rähn, 23-Taijo Teniste, 20-Rimo Hunt.

Video: - Post game comments vs Estonia

Full report to follow.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2013, 04:38:39 AM by Flex »

Re: Anier strike denies T&T - Estonia pips T&T.
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2013, 06:59:32 PM »
Nice bunch of players but they are not coached properly and you could see that in their play.

I also find the players especially the foreign base is ducking T&T and only waiting to play in the gold cup and this will cause divisions in the side, our coaches should know this.

These games should be played with a settled team because the tournament is to close to be making so much adjustments.

We practing and playing with 2 different teams this could not happen with other coaches, especially a foreign one, there must be order and discipline.

Shabazz is to much friend with players, he need to be a coach first and not let personal things in between his job.

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2013, 08:02:51 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/uMB25oHe_j0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/uMB25oHe_j0</a>

« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2013, 08:15:23 PM »
0:06 seconds was the best part of the highlights.  :beermug:

Is it bias or weren't 1:07 and 1:10 penalties? I dunno if it flash too quickly or what, but those two plays look like defender fouling attacker in the 18, especially the first one.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2013, 08:28:20 PM by dwolfman »

« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2013, 08:25:15 PM »
Yes!

« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2013, 09:55:39 PM »
I did the math, T&T haven't scored in 570 minutes (Richard Roy's last second equalizer against Martinique)

« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2013, 10:20:46 PM »
Ah hope allyuh see the build up to that goal, the play continued after the supposed foul, then they played it to the winger who david gave the inside field of which he was escorted to the edge of the box where he got the cross in, now how many times we've seen this play resulting in a goal.

i say anyone who ever study us carefully could beat us easily, bc we have been making the same mistakes over and over decade in decade out. that is almost a corbon copy of the goal in peru, before that man made it to the defender he should have been roughed up or @ least had a body on him.

our players play this game too clean, just look @ how the romanians and the peruvians dealt with our attackers especially the wingers, they gave them nothing! they didn't even allow them time and space on the ball, as soon as an attacker touch that ball especially in the opponents half, there was pressure.

boy sometimes i does wonder if white ppl was really right about blacks oui, we does really behave strange boy.

it's like we never learn from mistakes, rather we invite mistake making time and time again ova to dine, this problem should have been dealt with and put to bed yrs ago, but what else could you expect from dunce selfish ppl.

« Last Edit: June 07, 2013, 10:23:37 PM by just cool »

« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2013, 01:59:00 AM »
Soca Warriors fall 1-0 to Estonia.
T&T Express Reports.

Trinidad and Tobago’s winless streak was stretched to six matches yesterday as they suffered their third straight loss in a 1-0 defeat to Estonia at the A Le Cog Stadium in Tallinn.

The “Soca Warriors” put up a much better fight than in their 4-0 loss to Romania on Tuesday, but their efforts were cancelled out by a well struck goal by Henri Anier in the 13th minute.

Estonia are preparing for their 2014 World Cup qualifier against the Netherlands in September, and head coach Tarmo Ruttli actually gave credit to the T&T for their showing against his side in Tallinn.

“It was  a good result, which is very important, but it was a very difficult game for us,” Ruttlin told TTFF media.

“I was happy to get the goal in the first half and win the game. Trinidad and Tobago have unbelievably strong guys. It’s not every time in Europe you can play against guys like this. They are tall, strong, technically sound and fast as well. It was a very different type of opposition for us, and it was a very beneficial.

“I think there was some luck for us in the game also, and we had to work very hard to end up with the victory.”

T&T’s Jamaal Shabazz said it was important that the games be looked at as preparation for the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup, and not solely for the results.

“I thought they team did very well today. They worked hard and they played like Warriors. It has started to smell a little bit of what we want. From these games we were able to see things that we need to work on,” Shabazz said.

“We pressed them well in their half of the field and we were solid. We’ve also got to be patient with results. We must recognise that is just the preparation phase. These are matches to show us what we’ve got to work on.” Shabazz added.

T&T managed to create a couple good scoring opportunities in the opening half and had Estonia pegged in their half in the closing ten minutes of the match as they pressed for the equalizing goal which would have been their first in six matches.

Playing before 3,500 fans, T&T had the first look at goal in the 3rd minute, when Notts County midfielder Andre Boucaud fired wide after a surge forward from the middle of the pitch by Ataullah Guerra. Two minutes later Boucaud would turn provider when his perfect tackle to win the ball from a defender on the edge of the box allowed him to play inside for Guerra, but the end shot on goal did not trouble Estonia goalkeeper Sergei Pareiko.

Estonia got the go-ahead goal when Ruttli fired from just inside the box past Jan Michael Williams’ into the left of the goal.

On the resumption after half time, T&T continued to press against an Estonian team that played very direct and  were precise at it, but the T&T defensive duo Radanfah Abu Bakr and Daneil Cyrus were equal to the task and managed to keep the home side at bay.

English-born duo Justin Hoyte and Andre Boucaud also produced solid performances, the latter having another crack at goal that was narrowly off target in the second half. Densill Theobald and Joevin Jones also held their own in the midfield for T&T.

Shahdon Winchester and Kevin Molino were introduced in the second half, and when Cornell Glen entered the game in the 77th minute, he injected some life into the T&T attack with his surges into the Estonia box. He was fouled around the area on four occasions, one resulting in a free kick on the edge that Theobald struck just over bar.

The equalising goal did not come, though, for T&T as Estonia held on for the win which leaves T&T winless in six games dating back to last December. The squad returns home on Sunday via London.

‘Gutsy’ T&T falls 1-0 to Estonia.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T’s winless streak extended to six games as they suffered their third straight loss in a 1-0 defeat to Estonia at the A Le Cog Stadium in Tallinn last night.

The “Soca Warriors” put up a much better fight than their 4-0 loss to Romania on Tuesday but their efforts were cancelled out by a well struck goal by Henri Anier in the 13th minute. Estonia are preparing for their 2014 World Cup qualifier against the Netherlands in September and their head coach Tarmo Ruttli actually gave credit to the T&T for their showing against his side in Tallinn.

“It was a good result which is very important  but it  was a very difficult game for us,” Ruttlin said. “I was happy to get the goal in the first half and win the game. T&T have unbelievably strong guys. It’s not everytime in Europe you can play against guys like this.

They are tall, strong, technically sound and fast as well. It was a very different type of opposition for us. And it was a very beneficial. “I think there was some luck for us in the game also and we had to work very hard to end up with the victory.” T&T’s Jamaal Shabazz said it was important that the matches be looked at as preparation for the upcoming Concacaf Gold Cup and not just solely for the results.

“I thought the team did very well today. They worked hard and they played like Warriors. It has started to smell a little bit of what we want. From these games we were able to see things that we need to work on,” Shabazz said.

“We pressed them well in their half of the field and we were solid. We ‘ve also got to be patient with results. We must recognise that is just the preparation phase.

“These are matches to show us what we’ve got to work on. What is to come is near and we will see in the end what the outcome of this team will be.” T&T managed to create a couple good scoring opportunities in the opening half and had Estonia pegged in their half in the closing 10 minutes of the match as they pressed for the equalising goal which would have been their first in six matches.

Playing before 3,500 fans, T&T had the first look at goal in the third minute when Notts County midfielder Andre Boucaud fired wide after a surge forward from the middle of the pitch by Ataullah Guerra. Two minutes later Boucaud would turn provider when his perfect tackle to win the ball from a defender on the edge of the box allowed him to play inside for Guerra but the end shot on goal did not trouble Estonia goalkeeper Sergei Pareiko.

Estonia got the go ahead goal when Ruttli fired from just inside the box past Jan Michael Williams’ into the left of the goal. On the resumption after half time, T&T continued to press against an Estonian team that played very direct and were precise at it but T&T defensive duo Radanfah Abu Bakr and Daneil Cyrus were equal to the task and managed to keep the home side at bay.

English-born duo Justin Hoyte and Boucaud also produced solid performances, the latter having another crack at goal which was narrowly off in the second half. Densill Theobald and Joevin Jones also held their own in the midfield for T&T.

Shahdon Winchester and Kevin Molino were introduced in the second half and when Cornell Glen entered the match in the 77th minute, he injected some life into the T&T attack with his surges into the Estonia box.

He was fouled around the area on four occasions, one resulting in a free kick on the edge which Theobald struck just over bar. The equalising goal, however, did not come for T&T as Estonia held on for the win which leaves T&T winless in six games dating back to last December. The squad returns home tomorrow.

« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2013, 08:00:17 AM »
Does Estonia even have a professional league ?

« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2013, 08:16:46 AM »
So.... they try the same free kick twice (based on clip) and theobald look like he was expecting something different  ??? (insert definition of insanity here).

« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2013, 08:24:34 AM »

Yes they do with full sponsorship from a brewery & a TV deal.
Actually they have a 6 Divisions, with promotion and relegation

Offline Estonianhero

« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2013, 11:26:22 AM »
facepalm

Re: Re: Anier strike denies T&T - Estonia pips T&T.
« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2013, 11:33:28 AM »

Re: Re: Anier strike denies T&T - Estonia pips T&T.
« Reply #13 on: June 08, 2013, 11:34:37 AM »

Better than our shit league

Offline Estonianhero

« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2013, 11:39:42 AM »
Excully our Higher league are on of the weakest in Europe

« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2013, 11:57:57 AM »
Ah hope allyuh see the build up to that goal, the play continued after the supposed foul, then they played it to the winger who david gave the inside field of which he was escorted to the edge of the box where he got the cross in, now how many times we've seen this play resulting in a goal.

i say anyone who ever study us carefully could beat us easily, bc we have been making the same mistakes over and over decade in decade out. that is almost a corbon copy of the goal in peru, before that man made it to the defender he should have been roughed up or @ least had a body on him.

our players play this game too clean, just look @ how the romanians and the peruvians dealt with our attackers especially the wingers, they gave them nothing! they didn't even allow them time and space on the ball, as soon as an attacker touch that ball especially in the opponents half, there was pressure.

boy sometimes i does wonder if white ppl was really right about blacks oui, we does really behave strange boy.

it's like we never learn from mistakes, rather we invite mistake making time and time again ova to dine, this problem should have been dealt with and put to bed yrs ago, but what else could you expect from dunce selfish ppl.

JC I agree with your comment how we play too clean at times. I've watched numerous games where I personally think we do not play with enough grit, determination or desire not to give up any goals. I watched the Peru game when they roughed us up and we were very cordial, these team do what it takes to protect their goal and do not give up anything easy!!!

These last two games, one thing I've noticed with both teams were that they always have numbers behind the ball, always! Even if we get past one defender there's another one ready to close us down. They were organized and took pride in playing with discipline. Whereas with us, we were helter skelter at times and paid the price for not being organized collectively, essentially nothing new with T&T, same ole story.

On another note I saw the highlights from the JA game last night. That goal they game up in injury time was another product of poor defending. How can you allow a player to receive a ball unmarked in the box from a set piece and allow him to have time to turn and shoot....no way that player should be given that freedom in that situation.

« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2013, 12:41:00 PM »
we played well people
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/nJWY2OxNwG0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/nJWY2OxNwG0</a>

« Reply #17 on: June 08, 2013, 12:59:52 PM »

Yes they do with full sponsorship from a brewery & a TV deal.
Actually they have a 6 Divisions, with promotion and relegation

Gawd... doh rub it in nah.

« Reply #18 on: June 08, 2013, 02:37:57 PM »
we played well people
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/nJWY2OxNwG0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/nJWY2OxNwG0</a>
no sympathy from me, out with both of them. Been patient way to long and I have not seen any improvement, or any type of tactical football. Do they even practice free kicks? They always look clueless from under 17 all the way to the senior team when it comes to free kicks and corners.

Jamal, just admit they playing shit under allure, and stop trying to fool people. Glenn needs to start every game in that goal cup, and Peltier need to be on that team. Unfortunately it won't happen, cause his name was not submitted for the roster.

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #19 on: June 08, 2013, 06:05:57 PM »
Hey Jamal, do you have Yasim Abu Baka number, I need to asked him something and I don't have a contact for him.

Thanks in advance.

*** message sent from my condo in Miami***

Jack Warner will rise again and the world will beg him him to return and he will say "NO".............

« Reply #20 on: June 08, 2013, 06:23:10 PM »
Hey Jamal, do you have Yasim Abu Baka number, I need to asked him something and I don't have a contact for him.

Thanks in advance.

*** message sent from my condo in Miami***

For what, yuh might need the name of ah good federal attorney??
« Last Edit: June 08, 2013, 06:31:05 PM by just cool »

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #21 on: June 08, 2013, 06:50:32 PM »
We shall see, so far all you guys can do is HOPE !!!

Jack is clean, the Whistle blower on the other hand.

Time is longer than twine.

Jack Warner will rise again and the world will beg him him to return and he will say "NO".............

« Reply #22 on: June 10, 2013, 06:08:51 AM »
Couldn't believe we exchanged shirts in this game ?

« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2013, 07:27:31 AM »

Is TTFF shirts,Tim Kee say is the last time we will be useing those shirts,we have new kit being unvailed soon.It's a pity we have to get rid of the TTFF logo because i think it has some history attached to it having carried us to a few Senior and Youth WC plus the hosting of one. 

« Reply #24 on: June 10, 2013, 11:31:26 AM »

Is TTFF shirts,Tim Kee say is the last time we will be useing those shirts,we have new kit being unvailed soon.It's a pity we have to get rid of the TTFF logo because i think it has some history attached to it having carried us to a few Senior and Youth WC plus the hosting of one. 

Then dem boys should a hold on to dem shirts.  Them is valuable, antiques that will sell for plenty money in a few years. (Last shirts we use to get we tail cut!)

« Reply #25 on: June 10, 2013, 09:51:50 PM »

This is another issue that i have with TnT fans, we actually think that we are better off than countries like these.  If Estonia was in Concacaf, they would be in the mix for qualification every four years, lol.

We barely have a Proleague.........no promotion and relegation........just whoever financially able could hire some players and in corporate a few youth teams.

« Reply #26 on: June 11, 2013, 09:24:08 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RPt6bYWk9HA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RPt6bYWk9HA</a>

« Reply #27 on: June 11, 2013, 10:32:16 AM »
I eh go lie, bleeder passing was crisp and neat, but the boy needs tuh be able to put in ah good tackle, or @ least put ah body on ah fella since he's not the fastest thing in tugs.

one thing that really bothers me about T&T football is the fact that we allow teams to run @ us in numbers, this has always been our achilles heel from the inception.

why can't we learn how to slow down teams by committing smart fouls which in turn will allow our defense time to reorganize?? we've never been able to crack this rudimentary code, fack it's so simple that ah monkey could do it! so why haven't they been able to correct this basic flaw. 

allowing you opponents too much time on the ball, especially in your half equals added pressure on your defense. this is simple sh!t TTFF, come on man!
« Last Edit: June 11, 2013, 10:37:47 AM by just cool »

« Reply #28 on: June 11, 2013, 10:43:29 AM »
I eh go lie, bleeder passing was crisp and neat, but the boy needs tuh be able to put in ah good tackle, or @ least put ah body on ah fella since he's not the fastest thing in tugs.

one thing that really bothers me about T&T football is the fact that we allow teams to run @ us in numbers, this has always been our achilles heel from the inception.

why can't we learn how to slow down teams by committing smart fouls which in turn will allow our defense time to reorganize?? we've never been able to crack this rudimentary code, fack it's so simple that ah monkey could do it! so why haven't they been able to correct this basic flaw. 

allowing you opponents too much time on the ball, especially in your half equals added pressure on your defense. this is simple sh!t TTFF, come on man!
Just look at him after he passes the ball :laugh:

« Reply #29 on: June 11, 2013, 01:09:10 PM »
Oh yes, I forgot to mention the jersey exchange. Moi! I was surprised. But we getting new stuff, so it easy to give way. Maybe is a new Addidas kit. Maybe flamingo uniform?