Should coach Hart quit T&T?

No
8 (36.4%)
Yes
3 (13.6%)
Stay Under Circumstance
11 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 22

Author Topic: Stephen Hart Thread  (Read 131040 times)

Offline Anbrat

Re: Stephen Hart Thread
« Reply #750 on: June 30, 2018, 10:29:31 PM »
One man's trash is another man's treasure...................

« Reply #751 on: July 02, 2018, 12:23:30 AM »
One man's trash is another man's treasure...................

D man was never trash...

You cant question class.

U hit the nail on d head.

Judging on how D hex went, we would have reached the WorldCup.

Unfortunately for us, there are  people who dont like progress....

« Reply #752 on: July 02, 2018, 09:47:34 AM »
Congrats to SH. May yuh meet W Connection in a CONCACAF Champions League group and run riot.  ;D

(By the way, how will that work regarding the CCL and CPL teams?)

« Reply #753 on: July 02, 2018, 09:49:25 AM »
Baba,Brow, Derek King and dem must be happy with this news ;D

All the best Harty. HFX Wanderers very lucky to have you

Ent.  :)  :rotfl:

« Reply #754 on: July 02, 2018, 03:26:08 PM »
before it get lost. Thanks Stephen Hart. Even in the game where we get drubbed 4-0 by the US, the first 10-15 mins of that game I see Trinbago knock ball so beautifully and with so much confidence. I can't remember the last time. Maybe was the liquor in my system but I was so sure we would make waves in the WC with a brand that was ours - players really allowed the freedom to express themselves.
Good luck in your next step. I hope you make yourself even better (keep coaching at a higher level) for when we shake off this jumbie administration and hopefully shake of the jumbies in the next administration so we could bring you back again and hopefully you give us a chance again. To make T&T take three steps forward after two steps back. Thanks for all the work you put in for us fans, you brought pride back to us. We wish Dennis well too as a son of the soil, but all true fans will yearn for your return.

Actually it was the first 32 minutes and I was in awe, I thought I was watching some version of Holland.
Had never seen TT play a top team and look so refined - away from home to boot.

According to Levi Garcia they got tired in the second half...steuups.

« Reply #755 on: September 07, 2018, 10:12:08 AM »
‘Players can come from anywhere’: HFX Wanderers coach Stephen Hart preparing for CPL’s open trials
By CANPL.CA STAFF

Few people have been around more Canadian footballers than Stephen Hart.

The HFX Wanderers inaugural head coach has analyzed and advised men and women at every level of the Canadian soccer pyramid since the 1990s.

As the Canadian Premier League’s #GotGame Open Trials kick-off in Halifax later this month, Hart described the traits he and fellow CPL coaches will be looking for in prospective CPL players.

“You look for different qualities in players to potentially play in different positions,” Hart told CanPL.ca, adding he’s “always looking for that special player who brings something a little different.

“You try to figure out the attitude of the player and how they’re approaching the trial: Do they do the simple things effectively? Do they impact the game in the way they play?

“The (players) aren’t going to be prepared collectively so you’re looking for individual qualities they can bring to a team.

While Hart and his colleagues from York 9 FC, Forge FC, Valour FC, FC Edmonton, Cavalry FC and Pacific FC will be looking to unearth players on the cusp of breaking into a professional environment, Hart reiterated CPL triallists should enter this process with the proper disposition.

“You should be relaxed and you should try to bring your qualities, what you’re good at, into the game,” Hart added. “But a lot of times coaches are just looking to see if you can do the simple things effectively and make good decisions.”

“I think players can come from anywhere,” Hart added. “That’s one of the beauties of our sport.”

The long-time bench boss is hoping HFX Wanderers inaugural squad will have a healthy mix of players from within the region.

“I’ve been beating the bush and trying to find local talent,” Hart finished. “I would like to have as close to half the squad (be local) as possible … but that remains to be seen.”

The CPL’s #GotGame Open Trials are coming to a city near you.

Think you’ve #GotGame? Register at CanPL.ca/GotGame.

« Reply #756 on: September 07, 2018, 10:30:22 AM »
before it get lost. Thanks Stephen Hart. Even in the game where we get drubbed 4-0 by the US, the first 10-15 mins of that game I see Trinbago knock ball so beautifully and with so much confidence. I can't remember the last time. Maybe was the liquor in my system but I was so sure we would make waves in the WC with a brand that was ours - players really allowed the freedom to express themselves.
Good luck in your next step. I hope you make yourself even better (keep coaching at a higher level) for when we shake off this jumbie administration and hopefully shake of the jumbies in the next administration so we could bring you back again and hopefully you give us a chance again. To make T&T take three steps forward after two steps back. Thanks for all the work you put in for us fans, you brought pride back to us. We wish Dennis well too as a son of the soil, but all true fans will yearn for your return.

Actually it was the first 32 minutes and I was in awe, I thought I was watching some version of Holland.
Had never seen TT play a top team and look so refined - away from home to boot.

According to Levi Garcia they got tired in the second half...steuups.

Man is just straight class...DJW that big stink pig boy ayeeee

« Reply #757 on: September 07, 2018, 11:16:01 AM »
That Canadian league could be an opportunity for some our local players that want to play abroad. Hart having open tryouts.

« Reply #758 on: October 19, 2018, 12:47:10 AM »
Coach Hart: Canadian league ideal for T&T players.
By Yohance Simonette (Newsday).

FORMER T&T and current Halifax (HFX) Wanderers Football club coach Stephen Hart, has suggested the upcoming Canadian Premier League (CPL), scheduled to kick off in April 2019, is an ideal new professional league for Caribbean players, who have found it difficult to get into Europe’s various leagues.

Hart, who coached the Soca Warriors from 2013-2016, was announced in June as coach of HFX Wanderers, which is one of the seven CPL franchise teams including : York9 FC (York, Ontario), Forge FC (Hamilton, Ontario), FC Edmonton (Edmonton, Alberta), Calvary FC (Calgary, Alberta), Valour FC (Winnipeg, Manitoba) and Pacific FC (Langford, British Colombia).

Before Hart’s coaching tenure with his native T&T, when the Soca Warriors qualified for the 2006 World Cup, under Dutchman Leo Beenhakker, this great achievement was strongly built on a generation of players, who played professionally in Europe, led by famous names such as Dwight Yorke and Shaka Hislop namely.

Similar too can be said of Caribbean rivals the Jamaica Reggae Boyz when they played in the 1998 World Cup. Both teams inability to qualify for the flagship FIFA tournament since has a strong direct correlation to few players playing in the elite European Leagues and of late not so much in Major League Soccer (MLS).

“I think it’s important for everyone to understand that CPL is a brand new league and just judging from the try-outs (CPL got game trails) that we have been having, they are many players from the Caribbean and Latin America that have been trying out”, said Hart.

“It’s one of those situations where opportunity does exist. For the players from Trinidad & Tobago when you understand how difficult it has been to get into Europe camped to the past due to work permit that are necessary it is an avenue to get into the USA market and been seen more easier and regularly without a doubt.”

Due to the players’ inability to get into Europe, during Hart’s time coaching the Soca Warriors, many players were forced to go into the Middle East and Asian leagues to play professionally.

Some T&T players who have played in Canada in recent times include, defenders Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver White and FC Edmonton), Jelani Peters, Tristan Hodge, Ricardo John and Aikim Andrews (all Toronto FC 2).

Hart acknowledge while the CPL could offer in some cases easier travel home and easy cultural assimilation due to Caribbean heritage population in Canada, he noted some unique Canadian conditions will provide their own challenges. “Another thing players will have to be cognizant of is the travel in Canada considering it’s a massive continent”, said Hart.

“Then of course pre-season in the winter will be different, playing indoors and with the league being east to west in, despite sounding exciting, it does put wear and tear on the body for players, who are potentially lucky enough to be chosen, but these are things one has to adapt to if they want to be professional in the CPL.”

Finally, from a personal career standpoint, Hart noted he was happy to be back coaching and is excited by what the new career challenge will bring to him.

“I’ve always been happiest on the football field coaching, working with players, this is a completely new situation for me because I’m also the general manager (HFX Wanderers) and learning all the dynamics of building a club, stadium operation and everything that goes with that.

“I’m finding it very interesting so far and enjoying it very much.”

“Now I’m in a position where I can put a team together with my own ideas. But I’m under no illusions, I’ve told club owners I’d like to build something overtime if I am given the time, because it is very difficult to put a brand new team together and get it correct right off the bat.

“A lot of MLS clubs, for example, it took them quite a while to find their feet and to get things perfectly how they wanted to be successful on the field. So with a completely brand new league and team you just have to be patient and take it one step at a time.”

The Hart of the Wanderers: First Edition
« Reply #759 on: November 06, 2018, 10:51:47 AM »
The Hart of the Wanderers: First Edition
By Gareth Hampshire (hfxwanderersfc.canpl.ca)

In our new column, HFX Wanderers FC Head Coach Stephen Hart takes us behind the scenes at the club as he begins to build a team for the Canadian Premier League.

You are building a team from scratch which means trying to sign a squad of 23 players. Where do you start with a task like that?
There are certain fundamentals to building a team. Obviously the spine of the team is a big focus for me. The goalkeeping position is very important. The centre back position is where you need someone with organizational experience because so much of defending is about communication. A strong central midfielder is a key part of any team and a striker who can score goals to finish off everything that you do. That’s how you layout your shopping list.

How challenging is it trying to find the pieces to this shopping list?
It’s challenging but exciting at the same time. How many people get an opportunity to build team from scratch? Sometimes you come into a team and the team has its own identity but here we’re creating a team and a club that we want to be identified with playing in a certain manner. So here we’re setting the trend for that. We’re establishing our team and will be indoctrinating the players into the expectations of the club and the way they approach the game.

What kind of team identity are you trying to create for the Wanderers?
I am trying to go after players that play in a certain manner and have a certain mentality. Their attitude to training is critical. For me, everything revolves around training because if you get it wrong in training you won’t get it right on game day, I don’t care who you are. I’m speaking to a lot of players’ agents. I’ve had about four or five on the phone today and it’s not even noon yet. But you don’t know the attitude of the players from those conversations, so I like to look at performances in games. I’ve been looking at a lot of game footage on video. I want characters who will represent the club well on and off the pitch.

It sounds like you are already trying to sign players! Are you?
I have had lots of discussions with players and we have made some verbal agreements. Some of those agreements are for players we would like to sign to contracts and others are for players we want to bring into a trial process. I think the fans could be excited by some of these players. But it’s still very early and those verbal agreements could mean very little as those players are still being shopped around and could end up elsewhere. We won’t be able to actually sign players until January and I want to have at least half the squad signed by the middle of February.

What are the other big priorities for you in building this first Wanderers team?
Making sure I have staff alongside me. You need an assistant. You want someone who does not always agree with everything you do. Someone who has a different opinion and approach. I don’t want someone just to say yes. You also need someone who works with the goalkeepers because they’re a big part of the team but require specialist training. The equipment manager is extremely important for any club and I will also need someone who can handle the logistics of the team doing things like booking flights, hotels and making sure things happen smoothly off the pitch. Finding the right people for these positions at the club is going to be as important as finding the right players for the Wanderers. 

Stephen Hart is the Head Coach and General Manager of HFX Wanderers FC

You can follow him on twitter @WatchfulEye64

« Reply #760 on: November 23, 2018, 01:53:50 PM »

« Reply #761 on: November 23, 2018, 02:57:47 PM »
Wanderers head coach Stephen Hart praised by CPL rivals

This is when some Trinis will "Believe that Hart is as special a coach as he is" because massa give his blessings on him. . .

« Reply #762 on: November 23, 2018, 03:15:41 PM »

This is when some Trinis will "Believe that Hart is as special a coach as he is" because massa give his blessings on him. . .

How we go live without Massa? Below Massa is a set of professional bullies and bouncers.

« Reply #763 on: November 23, 2018, 10:18:56 PM »

How we go live without Massa? Below Massa is a set of professional bullies and bouncers.
And Massa keep setting the thing up so he go win...maybe we should stop playing   :D ;D :rotfl:

« Reply #764 on: November 28, 2018, 02:09:46 PM »
Thanks to Stephen Hart we qualify for a next Gold Cup.

« Reply #765 on: November 19, 2019, 05:47:08 PM »
Well he won his case and now TTFA $5M more in d hole

« Reply #766 on: November 20, 2019, 01:30:49 AM »
TTFA must fork out $5m for Hart.
By Derek Achong (Guardian).

For­mer na­tion­al team coach Stephen Hart has won his US$742,444 (TT$5 mil­lion) law­suit against the T&T Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion (TTFA) over un­paid salary and ben­e­fits from his three-year stint in charge of the So­ca War­riors.

Dur­ing a hear­ing at the Hall of Jus­tice in Port-of-Spain yes­ter­day, High Court Judge Eleanor Don­ald­son-Hon­ey­well grant­ed Hart a de­fault judge­ment against the TTFA af­ter it failed to reg­is­ter a de­fence to his claim.

The out­come in the case comes two months af­ter for­mer TTFA tech­ni­cal di­rec­tor Kendall Walkes al­so won US$783,000 for be­ing wrong­ful­ly dis­missed by TTFA pres­i­dent David John-Williams and the as­so­ci­a­tion’s ex­ec­u­tive in March 2016.

Sim­i­lar law­suits, al­beit for less­er com­pen­sa­tion, have al­so been won by the as­so­ci­a­tion’s for­mer tech­ni­cal staff over the past few years. The cash-strapped as­so­ci­a­tion has al­so faced lit­i­ga­tion from sup­pli­ers over un­paid bills for goods and ser­vices pre­vi­ous­ly pro­vid­ed.

In his law­suit, Hart on­ly sought to re­coup his salary and ben­e­fits un­der his con­tract and not ad­di­tion­al dam­ages for the TTFA’s con­duct in his case.

Ac­cord­ing to his state­ment of case, Hart was not paid his US$20,000 per month salary from Sep­tem­ber to Oc­to­ber 2015 and from Sep­tem­ber and No­vem­ber 2016. Hart, who cur­rent­ly coach­es the Hal­i­fax Wan­der­ers in Cana­da, al­so claimed for the US$25,000 per month salary he would have earned be­tween De­cem­ber 2016 and De­cem­ber 2018 if his con­tract was not ter­mi­nat­ed in No­vem­ber 2016.

His lawyers, Kei­th Scot­land, Reah Sookhai and Sher­iza Khan, con­tend­ed that he was en­ti­tled to the pay­ment as he was wrong­ful­ly ter­mi­nat­ed with­out rea­sons be­ing giv­en.

“The de­fen­dant has not on­ly failed to give rea­sons for its de­ci­sion to ter­mi­nate the claimant and al­low the claimant a just and fair op­por­tu­ni­ty to de­fend him­self against any al­le­ga­tions war­rant­i­ng ter­mi­na­tion but the de­fen­dant failed to pay the claimant the fringe ben­e­fits ow­ing due to the place­ment in the hexag­o­nal, in breach of claus­es three and eight of the con­tract, in breach of the con­tract,” his lawyers claimed.

In ad­di­tion to the US$10,000 bonus for lead­ing to the team to the Hexag­o­nal stage of CON­CA­CAF World Cup qual­i­fi­ca­tion, Hart al­so claimed for US$7,444 in trav­el, food and bag­gage ex­pens­es he in­curred be­tween 2015 and 2016.

Hart, a for­mer na­tion­al play­er, was the head coach of the Cana­di­an team be­fore tak­ing over the lo­cal job in June 2013. He led T&T in two rel­a­tive­ly suc­cess­ful Gold Cup cam­paigns in 2013 and 2015, where the team made it to the knock­out stage on both oc­ca­sions. But Hart was even­tu­al­ly sacked af­ter T&T were elim­i­nat­ed from the fi­nal round of qual­i­fy­ing for the 2018 World Cup in Rus­sia. At the time, his record was 16 wins, 12 draws and 15 loss­es in 43 match­es.

Hart was briefly re­placed by Bel­gian coach Tom Saint­fi­et, who re­signed af­ter the team man­aged just one win and three loss­es dur­ing a 35-day pe­ri­od.

In Jan­u­ary 2017, for­mer na­tion­al play­er Den­nis Lawrence was hired. Lawrence has not fared any bet­ter than his pre­de­ces­sors, as his team has on­ly been able to muster five wins and sev­en draws in 31 match­es with him at the helm.

The TTFA has been al­so or­dered to pay Hart’s le­gal costs for bring­ing the law­suit.

In a brief in­ter­view with Guardian Me­dia yes­ter­day af­ter­noon, Hart, who flew in­to the coun­try for the judge­ment, said he was hap­py with the out­come.

While he ad­mit­ted that se­cur­ing his com­pen­sa­tion may take some time based on the as­so­ci­a­tion’s pre­car­i­ous fi­nan­cial sit­u­a­tion, he was still pleased to get past the first hur­dle in his le­gal bat­tle.

“I am re­al­ly and tru­ly grate­ful to all those who worked hard to bring this to a con­clu­sion be­cause it has been three years and it has not been easy for me and my fam­i­ly,” Hart said.

Asked why he did not seek ad­di­tion­al com­pen­sa­tion in the case for dam­age to his rep­u­ta­tion, Hart said he was on­ly con­cerned with what he was owed con­trac­tu­al­ly.

“I hold no re­al ill feel­ings. I am just hap­py that this part of it is over be­cause it has been a long wait,” he said.

Hart al­so de­clined to com­ment on the cur­rent state of the na­tion­al team.

“It is dif­fi­cult to com­ment on that be­cause I am on the out­side look­ing in. It is not my place to com­ment on oth­er peo­ple’s work and the pro­gram­ming of na­tion­al teams be­cause I am not privy to that sort of in­for­ma­tion,” Hart said.

RELATED NEWS

Court orders TTFA to pay Hart $5m.
By Jelani Beckles (Newsday).

THE High Court has ordered the TT Football Association (TTFA) to pay former Trinidad and Tobago senior men's coach Stephen Hart $5 million.

Hart was fired in November 2016 after leading TT for three and a half years. On Tuesday, Justice Eleanor Donaldson-Honeywell ordered the TTFA to pay the funds owed to Hart. It was a judgment in default as the TTFA did not put in a defence.

Hart was sacked after Trinidad and Tobago started the final round of Concacaf 2018 World Cup qualifying on a losing note, falling 0-2 to Costa Rica and 1-3 to Honduras.

When Hart was let go, Trinidad and Tobago were in fifth position, on the six-team standings, in the final round of Concacaf World Cup qualifying. Hart coached TT in 43 matches, leading them to 16 wins, nine draws and 17 losses

After Hart was fired, TTFA president David John-Williams explained the decision on TV station Sportsmax.
“I am on record saying that Stephen Hart is going to be judged by his results in competitive games and not friendly games. World Cup qualifying is a result-oriented business and I am on record saying that Stephen Hart is going to be judged by the results on the pitch and the results on the pitch have not been very good,” John-Williams said.

Among Hart's achievements was guiding the national team to the knockout stage at successive Gold Cup competitions (2013, 2015) with TT even topping their group in 2015.

Following the dismissal of Hart, the TTFA hired the relatively unknown Belgian Tom Saintfiet. After 35 days in charge and guiding T&T to one win and three losses he resigned.

Former national defender Dennis Lawrence was hired in January 2017 and is still the coach. Under Lawrence, Trinidad and Tobago have struggled to string together favourable results with a record of six wins, eight draws and 20 losses in 34 matches.

« Last Edit: November 20, 2019, 01:36:03 AM by Flex »

« Reply #767 on: November 20, 2019, 04:10:29 AM »
And there are people talking bout hart coming back, haha! coming back my foot, hart don’t want no parts of this nightmare. can you picture him coming back when he had to go through the courts to get what was owed to him and that was during ray timkee’s tenure who was a friendly boss to hart? sorry I just can’t see that happening again and if it does happen then shame on steven hart, but I seriously doubt it.

« Reply #768 on: November 20, 2019, 09:23:29 AM »
After Hart was fired, TTFA president David John-Williams explained the decision on TV station Sportsmax.
“I am on record saying that Stephen Hart is going to be judged by his results in competitive games and not friendly games. World Cup qualifying is a result-oriented business and I am on record saying that Stephen Hart is going to be judged by the results on the pitch and the results on the pitch have not been very good,” John-Williams said.
We live in a time where all the people of T&T want is instant gratification....oh the irony :devil:

Justice for Hart
« Reply #769 on: November 20, 2019, 11:52:30 AM »
Justice for Hart
By Narissa Fraser (T&T Guardian)

FORMER national football captain Kenwyne Jones says he is happy at the news that the T&T Football Association (TTFA) must pay former senior men’s coach Stephen Hart for wrongful dismissal and unpaid salaries and bonuses.

At a High Court ruling yesterday, Justice Eleanor Donaldson-Honeywell ordered the TTFA to pay Hart $5 million. The association did not provide a defence.

Hart was fired in November 2016 after a three-year tenure under the current TTFA president David John-Williams. He led the team to the knockout stage at the 2013 and 2015 Gold Cups. T&T were 78th in FIFA’s world rankings under his leadership. The team is now ranked 93rd.

His dismissal came just after T&T began the final round of Concacaf 2018 World Cup qualifiers, falling 0-2 to Costa Rica and 1-3 to Honduras.

Many local football fans questioned the decision and found it unjust as no proper explanation was given.

Speaking with Newsday yesterday afternoon, Jones said, “It (playing under Hart) was wonderful. At different stages of your life and career, you find niches with team-mates, coaches, personnel, and I think at that time he came in at the right time to breathe fresh, new life into TT football.”

Asked for his thoughts on the court ruling, he said, “I would say justice. I think he definitely deserves his payment for wrongful dismissal. The entire scenario was a bit sketchy but it wasn’t a surprise to me because from the moment the elections passed and we had a new president, we started running into problems off the field.”

In November 2015, John-Williams replaced Raymond Tim Kee as TTFA head.

Jones continued, “So, in the end I’m happy to see that he’s successful in this judgment and, in the end, maybe the ends don’t justify the means but at the same time, we also lost a great son of the soil in the coaching capacity for TT.”

Within Jones’ 17 years as a professional footballer, he represented the senior men’s national team between 2003 and 2017 and was part of the squad that qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany. Locally, he has played for clubs like Joe Public and W Connection, and he also played for international clubs including Southampton FC, Sunderland FC, Stoke City FC, Cardiff City and AFC Bournemouth.

And in 2017, he decided to hang up his boots, retiring at age 33.

During a rough patch in 2016, the striker received a lot of criticism from the public, but was defended by the head coach. Following Hart’s dismissal, the TTFA hired Belgian Tom Saintfiet, who resigned after 35 days. The team earned one win and three losses under his leadership.

Former national defender Dennis Lawrence, whose goal booked T&T’s spot in the 2006 World Cup, was hired as head coach in January 2017.

Asked what he thinks of the current administration, Jones said, “I try to stay away from the noise. I think a lot of people have a lot of different grumbles towards the new association.

“I think the evidence is there for everyone to see what is going on. Also, I think there are a lot of underlying issues because as a past player I think our entire association – not necessarily meaning the current administration or the administration to come is at fault. For quite a long time, our federation hasn’t been run properly.”

He said the association is “falling down” in many areas, including implication of policies and protocol. He believes the downfall of T&T football was a “long time coming.”

“At the time he (Hart) came in, we did enough to at least pave off the downfall that is happening now. We papered the cracks by almost qualifying for the World Cup in 1973 and 1989, and then we papered the cracks a little bit in qualifying in 2006.

“But since then, I don’t think the nation as whole has moved into proper development in all areas of football players and sportsmen and sportswomen in the country.”

In a Sportsmax interview after Hart was fired, John-Williams said the ex-coach was being judged by results in competitive games and not friendlies. He said, “World Cup qualifying is a result-oriented business and I am on record saying that Stephen Hart is going to be judged by the results on the pitch and the results on the pitch have not been very good.”

Hart coached T&T for 43 matches, leading them to 16 wins, nine draws and 17 losses. Current head coach, Lawrence, has struggled to string together favourable results and holds a record of six wins, eight draws and 20 losses in 34 matches. The most recent win was against Anguilla – one of FIFA’s lowest-ranked teams – who were demolished 15-0. And the most recent loss was, on Sunday, when Honduras won 4-0, ending the team’s Concacaf Nations League campaign.

Asked if the TTFA boss’ explanation had been sufficient, Jones said, “To be honest, in life, I think sometimes the things we say when we want to commit whatever actions that we deem necessary, we tend to justify it at that point and then later on, life is so funny that it proves you otherwise.

“The downfall of our football didn’t just happen this year or last year. The overall output of the association in terms of the development of football needs to be better.”

John-Williams will be aiming to retain his presidency at the association’s elections on November 24. He will go up against Secondary Schools Football president William Wallace and owner of Terminix La Horquetta Rangers Richard Ferguson.

Ferguson, Wallace on TTFA court ruling: If we win, we will pay
« Reply #770 on: November 20, 2019, 12:19:40 PM »
By Narissa Fraser (T&T Newsday)

T&T FOOTBALL Association (TTFA) presidential candidates William Wallace and Richard Ferguson said if successful in the association’s elections, on Sunday, they will oblige with yesterday’s High Court ruling in favour of former senior men’s national coach Stephen Hart.

Wallace is the president of the Secondary Schools Football League and Ferguson is the owner of local club Terminix La Horquetta Rangers.

At a High Court ruling, Justice Eleanor Donaldson-Honeywell ordered the TTFA to pay Hart $5 million. The association did not give a defence.

Hart was fired in November 2016 after a three-year tenure under the current TTFA president David John-Williams, who is aiming to retain presidency. He led the team to the knockout stage at the 2013 and 2015 Gold Cups, and T&T were 78th in FIFA’s world rankings under his leadership. The team is now ranked 93rd. Speaking with Newsday Tuesday afternoon, Ferguson said if he wins, there is “no other option” than to find the money and pay. “Well if it’s a court judgment, we have to pay. There’s only one course of action and that is you have to follow the court, and you have to pay the judgment. That’s it.

“I don’t know the financial state of TTFA at the moment, it’s only if I win and if we go in there, we have to do a financial analysis and we might probably have to do a financial reconstruction. But you have to pay the debt, you have to pay the players, you must pay your debt or you can’t run.

Wallace told Newsday he was not surprised at the ruling. He said it was expected based on his knowledge of what occurred.

“I know that Stephen Hart had a proper contract. I also know he attempted to try to compromise by asking that he be paid (for) two of his remaining years, and that a decision was made instead of that.”

TTFA’s former technical director, Kendall Walkes, sued the association after he was fired from his post after less than one year on the job. In September, a court ruling ordered the TTFA to pay him US$783,000.

He was fired from the post in 2015 and sued the TTFA for breach of contract.

Asked how his administration plans to deal with the debt if he becomes president, Wallace said, “That’s a very good question. Between Kendall Walkes and Stephen, that’s $10 million in debt.

“We will definitely have to sit with Kendall and Stephen and work out a payment plan. Of course, we accept that we owe the money, we accept that we have to pay it, and we have to sit with both parties and work out a payment plan.”

« Reply #771 on: November 20, 2019, 12:28:01 PM »
SH is a patriot for not pursuing damages. But, right about now a damning damages ruling would be helpful in condemning DJW to being a historical footnote come November 24.

« Reply #772 on: November 20, 2019, 01:18:29 PM »

T&T FOOTBALL Association (TTFA) presidential candidates William Wallace and Richard Ferguson said if successful in the association’s elections, on Sunday, they will oblige with yesterday’s High Court ruling in favour of former senior men’s national coach Stephen Hart.

Wallace is the president of the Secondary Schools Football League and Ferguson is the owner of local club Terminix La Horquetta Rangers.

At a High Court ruling, Justice Eleanor Donaldson-Honeywell ordered the TTFA to pay Hart $5 million. The association did not give a defence.

Hart was fired in November 2016 after a three-year tenure under the current TTFA president David John-Williams, who is aiming to retain presidency. He led the team to the knockout stage at the 2013 and 2015 Gold Cups, and T&T were 78th in FIFA’s world rankings under his leadership. The team is now ranked 93rd. Speaking with Newsday Tuesday afternoon, Ferguson said if he wins, there is “no other option” than to find the money and pay. “Well if it’s a court judgment, we have to pay. There’s only one course of action and that is you have to follow the court, and you have to pay the judgment. That’s it.

“I don’t know the financial state of TTFA at the moment, it’s only if I win and if we go in there, we have to do a financial analysis and we might probably have to do a financial reconstruction. But you have to pay the debt, you have to pay the players, you must pay your debt or you can’t run.

Wallace told Newsday he was not surprised at the ruling. He said it was expected based on his knowledge of what occurred.

“I know that Stephen Hart had a proper contract. I also know he attempted to try to compromise by asking that he be paid (for) two of his remaining years, and that a decision was made instead of that.”

TTFA’s former technical director, Kendall Walkes, sued the association after he was fired from his post after less than one year on the job. In September, a court ruling ordered the TTFA to pay him US$783,000.

He was fired from the post in 2015 and sued the TTFA for breach of contract.

Asked how his administration plans to deal with the debt if he becomes president, Wallace said, “That’s a very good question. Between Kendall Walkes and Stephen, that’s $10 million in debt.

“We will definitely have to sit with Kendall and Stephen and work out a payment plan. Of course, we accept that we owe the money, we accept that we have to pay it, and we have to sit with both parties and work out a payment plan.”

Ms. Fraser, when a Google search for "FIFA world rankings" or similar term, is conducted, the search defaults to the April 2019 rankings as the first search result. Trinidad and Tobago is in fact ranked #102 effective October 2019. However, when the new ranking is published ~next week, do not be surprised to find that that position has declined.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2019, 01:21:55 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #773 on: November 20, 2019, 01:20:43 PM »
So you mean in addition to the money they ow Latapy, Marvin Faustin and Hutson Charles (I think Anton Corneal too).

They have to find  A NEXT FIVE MILLION DOLLARS.

Good luck to SH as to when he receives this money. Good luck to the (I hope) new TTFA Pres in resolving this latrine of a mess.

« Reply #774 on: November 20, 2019, 03:18:02 PM »
Hart will get his money and most likely coach our team again to the wc unbothered by the sell outs

It’s a long shot but worth putting out there...

« Reply #775 on: November 20, 2019, 03:45:05 PM »
Hart will get his money and most likely coach our team again to the wc unbothered by the sell outs

It’s a long shot but worth putting out there...
there you go again with your man crush. I’ve seen some tabancas in life where fellers even tried to kill themselves but boy you’ve got it real bad, you’ve been carrying this tabanca for years now and I still can’t believe you won’t give it up, how did you ever possibly sleep at night?

« Reply #776 on: November 20, 2019, 05:17:35 PM »
It was wrong that he was fired under false pretense and it needs to be corrected...l also will love to see him return...is he inclined...thats the 5 million dollar question

« Reply #777 on: November 20, 2019, 05:45:46 PM »
It was wrong that he was fired under false pretense and it needs to be corrected...l also will love to see him return...is he inclined...thats the 5 million dollar question
i want a new face either from Europe or south america, a proven winners and not another experiment.

« Reply #778 on: November 20, 2019, 08:01:42 PM »
WATCH: The TTFA must fork out $5m to former Soca Warriors head coach Stephen Hart for wrongful dismissal

<a href="https://youtube.com/v/yjwaGOmbHlk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://youtube.com/v/yjwaGOmbHlk</a>

Hart says ‘We didn’t get to finish what we started’
« Reply #779 on: November 21, 2019, 08:36:35 PM »
Hart says ‘We didn’t get to finish what we started’

FORMER senior men’s national coach Stephen Hart says he is glad the court process for his lawsuit against the TT Football Association (TTFA) is over, but he believes the team did not get to “finish what they started” under his tenure.

At a High Court ruling, on Tuesday, Justice Eleanor Donaldson-Honeywell ordered the TTFA to pay Hart $5 million for wrongful dismissal and unpaid salaries and bonuses. The TTFA offered no defence.

Hart took up the job of head coach in June 2013 but was fired in November 2016 under current TTFA president David John-Williams, who was elected in 2015.

He filed the action against the TTFA in 2017. The money owed to him does not include damages, as he did not seek additional compensation.

Speaking with Newsday yesterday, Hart said while he expected to win the case, he knew anything could happen. He said he still can’t believe it is finally over.

“I’m glad that segment of it is over. I mean, it took so many years to reach to this point.

“One segment of it is finished and I think there’s still a very long way to go. It’s one thing to win a judgment, it’s another thing completely to collect.”

Asked if he felt he could have achieved more with the team if he had remained head coach, he said, “To be honest with you, when you’re coaching or even when you’re a player, you always know you’re going to have some ups and downs.

“But I had a strong belief in those players. We had a good working relationship and I felt that we could have turned things around when certain players became healthy and were able to go again. That’s a big part of the game. But all of that is just speculation.”

He did not wish to give his thoughts on the state of TT’s national teams but said recent results are “self-explanatory.”

“I would rather not comment about that because I am not really privy to what’s going on on the inside.

“I don’t think it’s appropriate to comment about somebody else’s work and difficulties they might be facing.”

The current head coach is former national defender Dennis Lawrence. He began his tenure in January 2017 and has a record of six wins, eight draws and 20 losses in 34 matches.

Hart coached TT for 43 matches, leading them to 16 wins, nine draws and 17 losses.

On Tuesday Newsday spoke with former national captain Kenwyn Jones, who said Hart had breathed “fresh new life” into TT football during his tenure.

In response, Hart said the agreement between him and the players was that they were the ones responsible for “bringing the public back to football.”

“If you look at what it (the state of TT football) was when I came in, I think we were 100th in the (FIFA) world (rankings). We went up to 54th, I believe.

“But more importantly, we started to bring a certain joy to the public. The stands were packed.

“We had our ups and downs, but we were competitive, we qualified for the Hex (Hexagonal round of the Concacaf World Cup qualifiers).”

Hart’s dismissal came just after TT fell 0-2 to Costa Rica and 1-3 to Honduras in the Hexagonal round, with the team failing to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

“The Hex was always going to a complicated situation – but not impossible. Those players and myself, along with my staff, we had a belief in each other that we could do it.

“And even though at the time we (staff) weren’t getting paid – the players didn’t know that we weren’t getting paid either – but we all felt we had a common goal to make things happen and to achieve. And unfortunately, we didn’t get to finish what we started.”

On the possibility of his returning as a national coach, he said, “That is another discussion completely, because when you come into a situation, you look at potential programming.

“When I came in the first time, I knew it was going to be extremely difficult, because I only had about ten days to prepare for the Gold Cup, and I was quite prepared to come in. And if things didn’t go well, then decisions were gonna be made.”

He led the team to the 2013 and 2015 Gold Cups, with the team reaching the knockout stage on both occasions.

“Fortunately, things went better than expected, and it created some sort of belief.“So I would have to look at a number of situations.”

Hart lives in Nova Scotia, Canada, and is head coach of FX Wanderers FC in the Canadian Premier League.