March 29, 2024, 09:20:56 AM

Author Topic: Ain't No Love In the Heart of the City- Bobby 'Blue' Bland  (Read 1486 times)

Ain't No Love In the Heart of the City- Bobby 'Blue' Bland
« on: June 25, 2013, 10:12:24 PM »
He died yesterday.  I'm not the biggest blues fan, and I imagine most here aren't either, but he was a giant... second only to B.B. King this century.  Love this song in particular, thanks in large part to this Chrysler commercial:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/iNV--soUaMU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/iNV--soUaMU</a>

Here's the original... great song

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/WcF8Aos4XDA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/WcF8Aos4XDA</a>

Re: Ain't No Love In the Heart of the City- Bobby 'Blue' Bland
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2013, 08:34:14 AM »
i know that second song from this track.   it's kinda weird that this is another guy whose music i will get into now that he is gone

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/QePjIIBI-sI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/QePjIIBI-sI</a>

« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2013, 11:53:35 AM »
Yeah I suspect most would know the melody and hook from that Jay-Z track.  I'd heard it but it didn't register until the Chrysler commercial (which used the instrumental to Jay-Z's song).  I was like "damn... I need to find out who did the original."  Suffice to say I was very impressed... by both songs really.

« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2013, 08:00:06 PM »
Yeah Bobby was quite an influential blues man and have quite a following especially among the baby boomer whites. He, BB King, Howlin Wolf and Muddy Waters.

Muddy Waters' Mannish Boy(I'm a man) is real tundah.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcAmwCnAChk
« Last Edit: June 26, 2013, 08:02:24 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2013, 09:03:24 PM »
Yeah, the blues very underrated and is mostly in Europe a lot of these fellas was getting the love.  Here's Whitesnake's own decent version of "Ain't No Love..." released in 1977, three years after Bland's version:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/MA3DNlBMNL0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/MA3DNlBMNL0</a>

« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2013, 10:05:24 AM »
wow..allyuh good boy...Thanks.