March 28, 2024, 07:11:40 PM

Author Topic: Egypt step backward or wha?  (Read 1461 times)

Egypt step backward or wha?
« on: July 03, 2013, 01:25:48 PM »
A nex military coup?  How morsi leggo de wukk easy so?
http://www.ndtv.com/article/world/egyptian-military-tanks-near-palace-mohamed-morsi-aides-see-coup-387688

Was jus yesterday de man say he eh goin no way

Re: Egypt step backward or wha?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2013, 02:45:12 PM »
yup he is gone....for now.

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2013, 10:10:05 AM »
i was watching al jazeera last night and from the looks of it it seems like more ppl wanted him out than in so...

« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2013, 12:44:04 AM »
Initially I was going to view this as an appalling act against democratic principles but when I consider what we accept in Trinidad and Tobago, I see this as something laudable.
What would it look like if in TnT  our citizens rose up against the incompetence of our present leaders and demanded  that all those ministers resigned or else. But we are not like that we just accept the fact that corruption bobol and ratchceefie is part are we thing and that all man have dey day  to take from the
government coffers. SHAME SHAME we could not do like Egypt and demand  our government either resort to good governance or else step down and have new elections

Offline congo

« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2013, 01:03:01 AM »
Initially I was going to view this as an appalling act against democratic principles but when I consider what we accept in Trinidad and Tobago, I see this as something laudable.
What would it look like if in TnT  our citizens rose up against the incompetence of our present leaders and demanded  that all those ministers resigned or else. But we are not like that we just accept the fact that corruption bobol and ratchceefie is part are we thing and that all man have dey day  to take from the
government coffers. SHAME SHAME we could not do like Egypt and demand  our government either resort to good governance or else step down and have new elections

Aye you can't say that boiii....You'll be branded a traitor and a terrorist...In Trinidad you have to lie down and take the sh*t and ask for piss to wash it down and then say thank you. In the event that yuh "try a thing" and you get caught, go through the flawed court process and be freed, people will whisper behind your back and call you a terrorist whilst being absolutely terrified and disgusted by your presence. At the same time they'll vote for the same politicians who welcomed you with open arms and who used you to gain favour amongst the electorate. The same politicians who would now brand you community leader and give you lucrative state contracts that give you the resources and power to make you a law unto yourself. While the average man calls you a "terrorist" you'll probably be on your third beach house and all your children will be able to study abroad and enjoy all the perks of life.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2013, 01:04:45 AM by congo »

« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2013, 11:55:50 AM »
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-23700663
Look how babylon done sign up dem contracts with Cheneyburton & Lockneck Martin so senators go have to scramble and talk more sh!t. Change we can believe in? Babylon what yuh really stand for?

« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2013, 11:46:51 AM »
While most of us continue to look away, the achievements of Egypt's "Arab Spring" are slowly being rolled back.

"Since the ouster of Mr. Morsi, the interim government has brought back not only prominent faces of the Mubarak era but signature elements of that autocratic state, including an “emergency law” removing the right to a trial and curbs on police abuse, the appointment of generals as governors across the provinces and moves to outlaw the Muslim Brotherhood again as a terrorist threat.

The police scarcely bothered to offer a credible explanation for the deaths of three dozen Morsi supporters in custody over the weekend. After repeatedly shifting stories, they ultimately said the detainees had suffocated from tear gas during a failed escape attempt. But photographs taken at the morgue on Monday showed that at least two had been badly burned from the shoulders up and that others bore evidence of torture."

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/08/21/world/middleeast/egypt.html?smid=fb-share

« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2013, 09:25:32 PM »
meanwhile in other news, US suspends police assistance to St. Lucia citing violations of human rights.

The island's prime minister, Kenny Anthony, acknowledged the cut off during an address to the nation on Tuesday evening, citing a U.S. law, known as the Leahy amendment after its principal sponsor, Democratic Senator Patrick Leahy of Vermont, which bars aid to foreign security forces accused of human rights violations.