March 28, 2024, 05:46:53 AM

Author Topic: Brilliant First Game For Coach Stephen Hart  (Read 9234 times)

Brilliant First Game For Coach Stephen Hart
« on: July 08, 2013, 08:27:21 PM »
Yes... we know it's too early for any grand pronouncements about the team or the coach, but considering what we have been used to seeing, this was a great start for the Hart/Beenhakker tandem.  It was not a victory and there are some lineup adjustments that we probably need to see going into the Haiti game, but for the most part this was a positive start.

Positives for me were:

1) The play of Kenwyne Jones.  Some might say that he's motivated because of the locker room incident at Stoke last season, but I think he's a motivated player overall... period.  Yes, the arrival of Mark Hughes as manager means a fresh start for him, and a chance to play his way onto the field.  Yes, he might be motivated to shut up the naysayers on the Stoke City messageboard... and here on this very forum as well ( ;D), but I think that for the first time in a longtime he might actually have faith in the national coaching staff.  I have never seen Kenwyne play a better game... offensively AND defensively. 

At one point in the first half when he was isolated from the midfield he was dropping deep as the only outlet option for his defenders, and still he would hold up the ball by himself, often against double-teams.  He defended on corners and on the other end was a threat on every ball into the box... essentially playing by himself in the air.  He will be disappointed to have not doubled his tally, but his goal was well-taken... a real beauty, from the time he picked the pass out the air, off his chest, splitting the center halves in one motion... to holding off the Salvadorean RB to place the shot pass the keeper.  TnT's MOM without a question.

2) The play of Carlos Edwards.  Yes... I giving Stephen Hart credit as well.  First for calling him up and then starting him in an attacking position, and seemingly running the attack thru him in the game's opening minutes.  He was brilliant.  Confidently taking on his defender/s... and doing well to get the ball to Daniel on a deflection for the TnT opening goal.  Keon Daniel and Khaleem Hyland had very good games as well, not sure I could give full credit to Hart, but it's worth a mention.

3) The composure of the entire team, particularly in possession.  Hart stated coming in that he wanted the team to play more of a possession type game and the changes in tactics were apparent from the jump.  Yes, Jones' equalizer came off a direct pass over the top, but for most of the game there seemed to be a consistent effort to play the ball out the back and down the flanks.  It worked particularly well in the first 15 minutes before possession fell apart under constant pressure from El Salvador in midfield.  Hart was able to get the team settled early in the second half, and they showed a fortitude lost on previous squads, in being able to claw their way back after conceding the lead on a poor defensive breakdown.

4) In conjunction with the composure, the cohesiveness of the team has to be mentioned as well.  Yes, the attack became very disjointed for a large stretch bracketing the halftime whistle, but the players started with, then settled back into a bit of a passing rhythm (at least relative to what we have been used to seeing).  Let's be real... "rhythm" here meaning the ability to keep possession for more than three passes at a time... and we did that in stretches.  Players consistently looked to find teammates even under pressure and it worked.  We could have finished better on some of the chances, but Edwards, Daniel and Jones seem to be playing on the same wavelength throughout.  A welcomed sign.

Negatives:

1) Defensively we have a long way to go.  Not sure who played LB tonight but he had a very uneven game.  The central defender inside of him was no better.  The pair were exposed time and time again by the Salvadorean attack, no more so than on Zelaya's second goal, easily beaten over the top and inside by the pass.  The lack of pace in the back was a glaring weakness and will be a definite worry against the pace and guile of Haiti's Jeff Louis and Leonel Saint Preux.

2) Failure to sub off ineffective players such as Kevon Carter, Joevin Jones and an absent Densil Theobald.  Jan-Michael Williams redeemed himself by making an incredible reflex save to deny Zelaya his hattrick, but otherwise he was poor in terms of reaction to the ball and just getting to shots, period.  The wall let him down on the freekick goal, but the post saved him a couple times on shots that arguably he should have pushed wide.

There might be more... but these to me were most glaring.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2013, 09:26:12 PM by Bakes »

Re: Brilliant First Game For Coach Stephen Hart
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2013, 08:32:04 PM »
The coaching staff will make the necessary adjustments i think. Especially with Leo probably looking from the stands, they will debrief tomorrow and be ready for Friday.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2013, 08:35:45 PM »
Early days and encouraging stuff.. especially the ability to get Kenwyne fired up and as we saw when he is up for it he can bring it all

Negatives:

Carter is out of his depth at this level...

We took too long to recognize this.. should have been a half time change for Molino

Theobald's lack of mobility and defensive capability was exposed ... Hyland played the holding role to perfection when he switched with Densil.... and that holding role is where Densil has to play if he is to start... but If Hyland is better in that role(which he is) then we have to start Boucaud instead and add mobility and quality for the attacking 3rd and the ability to track back and help defensively off the ball

Hope Mitchell isnt badly injured.. would be a massive blow.. also Cornell needs to get fit to give us an option off the bench of tactical variation..when we switch to 4-4-2 etc

Good start to the tournament.. unfortunately the lack of prep games under the staff and some players with rust showed tonight.. this should help them push on

Massive game friday

« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2013, 08:49:24 PM »
Early days and encouraging stuff.. especially the ability to get Kenwyne fired up and as we saw when he is up for it he can bring it all

and yuh jump on we neck earlier today when we was sayin these very said thing about bleeder ......might be a ah nice fella but he really added nothing when it matters most.....is the god's honest truth.....nobody want bad for d man....what is....is what is......

Offline King

« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2013, 08:52:16 PM »
Everyone quick to say brilliant game. I saw a very good result and good moments. But bad defense and no defensive plan in the first half. Sometimes KJ, Carter, Daniel, and Carlos all up field
in a square line as if we playing 4 forwards. And that was when El Salvador attacking.

As good as Carlos looked going forward, he was not helping the left back Joevin Jones, who was unsure whether to tackle high or fall back. Kenwyne looked motivated. Hyland win some ball in the first half, but was guilty many times of letting man run by and not tackling. The Fox commentator talk about  it. Carter just loo out of depth. But I expected a draw and it was a great result.
We have to work harder against  Haiti cause they improve and looking good.
Just my view.

« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2013, 08:52:56 PM »
Good comments Bakes.  First time in a long while I watch a Trinidad and didnt cuss much.  Joevin Jones and Carter had poor games.  I think Joevin is better off playing in midfield like he does in the pro league, as a left back his positional play in defence is piss poor.  Carter looked lost, one time he ran and trip on de ball and fall down, I just had to laugh.

KJ worked hard, carlos and keon combined well with him.

throbald made his backward or later passes....a few times he tried to make forward passes but like he couldnt make up his mind and each time ah el salvador player came from behind him and took the ball.

I like mitchell in the back, he reads the game well.

I find Hart should have made change earlier in the game.

It is only 1 game but overall...positive performance.

« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2013, 09:04:27 PM »
Good positives.  My biggest concern was the back four and its susceptibility to be beaten by the ball played in behind their backs.  This is how you beat a flat back four, and time and time again, we were left exposed by a single pass played in behind the back four.  We gotta make that adjustment, cause we looking like school boys against that pass. 

Offline ZURITRESS

« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2013, 09:05:26 PM »
I think the most important fact you made was that you could watch the team and understand  the plan they had to get forward, something that was lacking in the previous teams. I think the fact they managed to do it for good stretches of the game with such little preparations is a good sign.
 Theobald is not a bad player but he has no impact on the games whatsoever , not defensively , offensively or in taking charge of the rhythm of the game ( like when KJ faked an injury to slow the pace and give the team a breather as the midfield was really blowing.
 I think if the structure and people being put in place for the new look TTFA are kept and become a consistent practice the future will be bright. Oh and though I singled out Theobald he does have a role to play just not on the field , I think he is the perfect bridge between the local and the foreign base because he has been there and seams to carry himself in a very professional manner , which the local base really need . I look forward to being proud again of my National team.

« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2013, 09:09:11 PM »
Yippie, I saw the game in its entirety; Only positives for me today!  WELL DONE SH - WELL DONE SOCA WARRIORS and all technical staff from Leo to de equipment manager!  Everything withstanding, the team to me looked sufficient to wrangle with the likes of Haiti and Honduras who I feel we beating if we continue upwards!

Ah miss Peltier on de right but what I saw from Daniel gives me a warm feeling inside to replace the loss,  of Guerra; Potentially of course.  Keon Daniel is de real deal and seems to have been wasted on de flanks for too long but members been singing dat song bout Keon and de middle of de park here forever.

KJ is our best striker and I believe that, that late combining of Gay and KJ, could become a catalyst for needed late goals.

Glad they replaced Keon (preserve our best player on the night)but would have preferred to see a creative option introduced also and it not be KJ, DRoberts and JGay on de field; with a tied-up Carlos and a faded Bleeder. Who will give them the ball? Molino will; thats who! (Especially since Hughton Hector not here)

I believe that D Roberts should be a direct swap for KJ and I probably wouldn't play them together. KJ only good for bout 76 minutes,IMO, at which point I would introduce Roberts. Super-SUB until Glen is fit to possibly retake that title.

Having said that, I would start D. Roberts in front of Kevon Carter on de right. I think Roberts can be lethal, playing with speedy Hoyte on de right flank.

Cya wait for de next game, Ah with-holding judgement but ah inspired.

A respectable unit who look like they could beat Jam-down in a friendly. The measuring stick right!

Offline BESBRAHN

• Football is life!
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2013, 09:47:32 PM »
I thought there was a vast improvement from the side that played in the Caribbean cup and recent friendlies. The coaching staff have this team for three weeks and already you can see the stamp of a better coacHed  team. Beenhakkers belief in possessing the football as long as possible already can be seen and now and then there is a switch up with long balls being aimed for big Kenwyne. The attempt to play constructively and to link up play was evident with a nice chemistry Between Carlos,hyland and Daniel. Our problems include a lack of communication between Power and Mitchell and our transition to defense from attack though improved is still not where it should be. Theobald is not fit for international football and this resulted in an overworked hyland. We need a fitter, more mobile mid to play between hyland and Daniel. Carter added nothing from the right and joevin did not have his best game. I believe that he has not even been playing left back recently for Wconn. Good effort and Kenwyne was phenomenal tonight. Lots to work on but I am encouraged by the fight and attempt to knock it around,form triangles and build plays with patience.

« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2013, 11:30:40 PM »
not surprised, been saying it for donkey years now b4 most, hartie will sort out that mid and left back situation, carter and j jones have no place on this team.

bleeder time expiring as well...

do your thing harty....  :beermug:

Offline Gazza

« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2013, 11:36:43 PM »
WELL WELL WELL. AH TELL ALLYUH THEOBALD IS  WASTE A TIME. SO I THINK HE BETTER HANG UP HE TUGS NOW

« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2013, 11:44:24 PM »
Allyuh was in the stadium??

KJ give we ah ummph more... and dais plenty. Some haitians was asking who is dat primadonna.

Everything else on point. Especially Carter... oh lord. I feel sorry for him

« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2013, 12:41:16 AM »
Keon Daniel is my player.  From ever since I first saw him playing Intercol for Signal Hill against St Anthonys in de Crawfie...I knew he was a cut above.  He is a superior talent IMO

BUT

He played carelessly today for me.  His lack of intensity meant that he was too easily muscled off the ball, and was caught napping in possession on several occasions.  He would win a ball, and then promptly lose it.  I wouldn't be surprised if he committed the most fouls by a T&T player in the game and often because he was caught unawares and trying to regain possession.  For me, it was a naïve display from him.

Now maybe I'm being too harsh on Keon.  On the plus side, he fought whole game and he had some deft touches as we all know he has.  He took his goal well and overall had a decent performance.  But I know he's capable of much better.  When he was at Signal Hill he was clearly in charge and played to suit.  I know this is a completely different arena and level of ball, but I firmly believe for him to be the player I know he can be, he has to be assertive. 

I always remember one of the first games he played for T&T and we were awarded a free kick.  Keon was (and probably still is) the best dead ball specialist in the team and went to take the kick.  He was promptly boofed by a senior player who took the kick and sent it into the stands. You could just see Keon wilt.  Peeps will say he needs to have a stronger character but from what I understand, he's a very quiet guy.  I hope for his & T&T's sake, he becomes more assertive.

Kenwyne Jones look like a action hero.  WOW!  If I was a defender I wouldn't enjoy going up against him when he in the mood and he was definitely in the mood today.

Carlos Edwards is simply one of the best footballers T&T has EVER produced.  Massive respeck.

Khaleem Hyland is an excellent player and we're lucky to have a player of his calibre.

I still trying to understand Theobald's role on the team.  I'm just a fan and not familiar with the intricacies of the tactics of the game so there are things I will miss.  This is the case with Theobald because every coach plays him.

I think Carter and Joevin Jones were simply very nervous and played like it.  I wouldn't write them off at all.

I had little problem with Mitchell and Power.  Mitchell in particular reads the game well.  Power is a heart and soul defender.  Hoyte played decently also.

Jan was shaky but made a hell of a save at the end.

In hindsight I would have taken Carter off at half time, but perhaps the coach felt his nerves would have settled after the break.

Congrats to the team.  Nice to see T&T play football without constantly steupsin throughout de game.

I could only imagine what we would have been like with the likes of fit Hughton Hector, Lester Peltier, Atullah Guerra, Robert Primus, Julius James, and J Lloyd Samuels to call on.

« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2013, 01:25:06 AM »
encourgaging signs in the early stages...when Hart first came in he kept on alluding to the mental/psyhchological deficiencies when he said his main observation was that "the players were trying too hard"...that stood out for me then and its evident now that theyre beginning to have more composure on and off the ball and playing much more smart and organised than we're used to seeing...good job fellas and hart/beenie

« Reply #15 on: July 09, 2013, 04:31:27 AM »
I still trying to understand Theobald's role on the team.  I'm just a fan and not familiar with the intricacies of the tactics of the game so there are things I will miss.  This is the case with Theobald because every coach plays him.

Congrats to the team.  Nice to see T&T play football without constantly steupsin throughout de game.

Especially agree with these comments. Like you I am no coach and struggle to see what Theobald offers that others don't. Don't get me wrong he is a competent player and holds his own at this level but he is not a match winner and I would not call him a creative midfielder. Like Banton was saying; he is best as a DM but if Hyland does it better a more creative option should be considered in his place.

Looking at how Theobald plays (tends to keep it simple, lateral or backward passes), I imagine coaches consider him to be a more stabilising influence to the teams play.  clearly I am an outsider looking in and there may be more intangibles to his game that I am not experienced enugh to pick out, but I just find that there are others who can do what he does better. Definitely a player worth having in the squad; but not a starter. Just my opinion.

« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2013, 04:52:39 AM »
It seem to me like plenty teams have a 'Bleeder' who coaches and players appreciate but fans see no value in.  De player who 'doh do nothing' but make the easy pass. I just assume there's some unspectacular value in those plays that most people ain't inclined to appreciate. If coach after coach like you and using you, their objective consideration matters enough for me to accept.

« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2013, 05:04:30 AM »
Jones boy you make me hush meh mouth. Bess goal

« Reply #18 on: July 09, 2013, 05:51:23 AM »
The fact that people think this is perhaps the best game we've played post 2006, indicates what kind of football we've been playing.

Pros: Not bad considering the limited prep that the Coach had and a ridiculous three days to select the team.
KJ has beefed up. No defender is going to manhandle him - he worked hard and perhaps could do better if served better.
Joevin Jones looked good going forward. Poise and good skill in a crowded area.
Carlos is Carlos whether on the left or right, wouldv'e been more deadly on the right but we do what's best for the team.
Hyland had a decent game but actually expected better from him. How he runs back in def. and has ability in that area.
Keon looked good becz he was playing in his natural position. I was one who for yrs wanted KD on the left for the sake of the team. But it's obvious he not doing much in that position.

Negs. DEfense, defense, defense, the days of Sancho, Grey, Dog and Avery looking real good.

God help me for what I'm about to say. But I could see a use for Bleeder. He made a few good passes, tackles and even exhibited a beats here and there.
Did he have a great game - no. But the fact that he showed some usefulness in front of the defense shows you how BAD our defense was.
I  have never seen a purpose for Bleeder. Even when I saw him in the FA cup final last yr. vs DF, he looked like a mobile lamp post. Surely we could have KD or Birch play deep midfield.
Hyland, Birch in mf and Keon behind would be a very nice combo.

I sympathise with any coach who has to figure out TT's defense. Some men may have to play out of position for the sake of the team.

We are also missing a serious player maker, a man with skill, speed, flair that could bamboozle the opposition. Hector would've been useful.
Surprised Birch eh get a game. Wonder if he was injured or out of shape.

Offline Gazza

« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2013, 06:15:41 AM »
who is de vice captain?

Offline Lifeisgood

• Lively Up Yourself!!
« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2013, 06:17:34 AM »
Wow.  :banginghead:
I am all for keeping things in perspective (1st game under new coach, very little prep time etc) but come on people ... leh we raise the expectations a little more nah?....that last night was BRILLIANT?

Trinidad speed of play, speed of thought and movement off the ball was poor.  This is international football people, and when compared to Haiti and Honduras, our level is well below both of those teams.  Haiti played with pace, were disciplined defensively by maintaining their shape and pressing the ball as Honduras tried to build it. 

If we do not make the appropriate adjustments we are in for a proper washing in the next 2 games...Hyland was our best player last night in possession (he was poor tracking back defensively) as fitness seems to be an issue with this team,  as many players looked ROAST after 20 minutes -- which is why we were so stangnant.  How much MEANINGFUL possession did we keep?  Anybody could knock the ball side to side, when there is no pressure in the defensive half.

Any time El Salvador ran at the defense with any kind of pace, they were a threat to score, because they were afforded waaaaay to much room to play in midfield -- had it not been for some emergency defending, the post and a couple spectacular saves...the game would have finished 6 - 3. 

I will say that nerves came into play, a lack of fitness and cohesion between new players/system coach were all factors --- but have no doubt about it...we must be better for the next game.  Some of these posts sound like people dont actually watch how football is played, or is it that our level has been so poor over these last 5 yrs that we will accept anything?

Next game: same back 4, Hyland, Birchall, Edwards, Roberts, Daniel in midfield, Jones up front .... need men that comfortable on the ball, understand DEFENSIVE SHAPE and have the work rate to compete at this level.

Come on people, this is the national team - expect more.

Bless.  :beermug:
Never be afraid ....
To turn over your uncertain Future
..to our certain God.

Love one another.  Life is not a dress rehearsal.

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2013, 06:28:23 AM »
its surprisin how different we look from the romainia game last month
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2013, 06:41:16 AM »
Give thanks for the point...

Improvements noted in all areas of the field.

Haiti will run hard but we will beat them off experience like Honduras.

If Honduras wraps up the next match, I am hoping they field a reserve team when they play us and we catch them.

Again people keep your expectations low...and you will seldom be disappointed.

« Reply #23 on: July 09, 2013, 06:42:54 AM »
Give thanks for the point...

Improvements noted in all areas of the field.

Haiti will run hard but we will beat them off experience like Honduras.

If Honduras wraps up the next match, I am hoping they field a reserve team when they play us and we catch them.

Again people keep your expectations low...and you will seldom be disappointed.

Any lower and I go hadda start watching Limbo.

« Reply #24 on: July 09, 2013, 07:17:41 AM »
I wouldn't use the word 'brilliant' - no disrespect but we was playing ES (I know a step up from who was giving we thunder). Some positives to take with us. It seem like it fashionable to be on theobald nuts but I'd like to hear who else on the team you could pass the ball to that will not lose it with two or more opposing players tackling.

« Reply #25 on: July 09, 2013, 07:21:28 AM »
The man applying 'brilliant' to the success of the coaching staff, not de team performance. The brilliance, as I take it, was in bringing the team to competency within such a short space of time.

« Reply #26 on: July 09, 2013, 07:54:31 AM »
The man applying 'brilliant' to the success of the coaching staff, not de team performance. The brilliance, as I take it, was in bringing the team to competency within such a short space of time.

It says it right there in the title actually. All the criticisms lobbed at the individual players are fair, but as you said I was commenting on the job Hart did with the team on such short notice. By no means was it a disastrous performance, which would not have been acceptable, but which, under the circumstances would have been entirely understandable. Instead we got one of the best performances by a senior Men's National Team since 2006... and men quibbling with the use of "brilliant"?

« Reply #27 on: July 09, 2013, 07:57:51 AM »

Agreed, I understood what Bakes was saying. To put out that performance with about 2/52 prep from the mess we was producing in the build-up to this game. It was impressive, dosen't mean we think all the teams issues are now solved! He clearly explained the reasoning of his prononcement in his first paragraph. Why some people taking issue?  :frustrated:

« Reply #28 on: July 09, 2013, 08:01:37 AM »

Especially agree with these comments. Like you I am no coach and struggle to see what Theobald offers that others don't. Don't get me wrong he is a competent player and holds his own at this level but he is not a match winner and I would not call him a creative midfielder. Like Banton was saying; he is best as a DM but if Hyland does it better a more creative option should be considered in his place.

Looking at how Theobald plays (tends to keep it simple, lateral or backward passes), I imagine coaches consider him to be a more stabilising influence to the teams play.  clearly I am an outsider looking in and there may be more intangibles to his game that I am not experienced enugh to pick out, but I just find that there are others who can do what he does better. Definitely a player worth having in the squad; but not a starter. Just my opinion.
I imagine Bleeder plays an integral role in this team but I too believe that Boucaud would add mobility and I for one can't wait to see him in that spot!

« Reply #29 on: July 09, 2013, 08:14:27 AM »
What's the story with Sheanon Williams???? Looking to the future he can play on right with Hoyte moving to the left..would definitely add quality to the defense