March 28, 2024, 04:15:43 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Mexico Game (20-Jul-2013).  (Read 67490 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Mexico Game (20-Jul-2013).
« on: July 16, 2013, 07:16:38 AM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Mexico 2013 Gold Cup quarter-final game at the Georgia Dome at 6:30pm (Atlanta) on the 20th of July 2013 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To Be Updated.

Possible TV Station.

FSC.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (St Ann’s Rangers), Cleon John (North East Stars), Marvin Phillip (Central FC).

Defenders

Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps/Canada), Seon Power (Chainat FC/Thailand), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Radanfar Abu Bakr (FC Vostok/Kazakhastan), Joevin Jones (W Connection), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Aubrey David (Caledonia AIA), Justin Hoyte (Middlesbrough FC/England - injured).

Midfielders

Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Kevin Molino (Orlando City/United States - Suspended), Andre Boucard (Notts County/England), Kevon Carter (Defence Force), Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town/England), Christopher Birchall (Port Vale/England), Darryl Roberts (Samsunspor/Turkey), Keon Daniel (Philadelphia Union/USA), Kevan George (Columbus Crew/USA).

Forwards

Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City/England), Cornell Glen (Shillong Lajong/India), Jamal Gay (Caledonia AIA).

Mexico Squad

Goalkeerpers
To be updated.

Defenders
To be updated.

Midfielders
To be updated.

Forwards
To be updated.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2013, 12:01:40 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Mexico Game (20-Jul-2013).
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2013, 07:17:03 AM »
Racing Genk midfielder Khaleem Hyland will not be available for Saturdays match, having been recalled to his club for a Cup clash. It was part of an arrangement between the TTFA and Genk management which stemmed from a late initial request for the player’s release for the tournament. Genk subsequently turned down the request before allowing him to join the squad ahead of the first game in agreement for his return ahead of the July 21st match with Anderlecht.

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2013, 07:28:42 AM »
Racing Genk midfielder Khaleem Hyland will not be available for Saturdays match, having been recalled to his club for a Cup clash. It was part of an arrangement between the TTFA and Genk management which stemmed from a late initial request for the player’s release for the tournament. Genk subsequently turned down the request before allowing him to join the squad ahead of the first game in agreement for his return ahead of the July 21st match with Anderlecht.

This makes no sense :bs:

« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2013, 07:30:28 AM »

This is going to hurt alot. Lord I hope Hart don't bring in Theobold as a result! I will reallll cuss in the Dome if he do that! It was refreshing seeing positive play from our midfield last night.

« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2013, 07:33:49 AM »
This is really stupid.

Can we call in any replacements ?

« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2013, 07:37:34 AM »
Rel bullshit. TTFA alyuh cah be that big of a imps

« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2013, 07:38:46 AM »
BTW I thought hyland was suspended for that game

« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2013, 07:38:53 AM »
ah guess we have to roll with the punches.let's see who fills his role.looks like everybody want to step up their game now,no place is guaranteed.

« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2013, 08:48:31 AM »
Bring in Birchall....at least he go hustle and move the ball forward. ;)

« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2013, 08:49:08 AM »

Flex, if we progress beyond Mex, can he re-join the team?  He's suspended at any rate for the Mex game based on his 2 yellows in the group phase

« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2013, 09:14:12 AM »
Anyone knows if we're playing the 3 or 6PM game on Sat?

« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2013, 09:30:48 AM »
Should be the first game

« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2013, 09:43:15 AM »
Anyone knows if we're playing the 3 or 6PM game on Sat?

At the moment it is the first game; the order of games will be finalised once all participants in the QF are known i.e. at some point tomorrow. As we playing Mexico (yes its their B/C team) it's possible the games may be swapped as the Mexicans have the biggest potential TV audience.

Thread for the T&T vs Mexico Game (20-Jul-2013).
« Reply #13 on: July 16, 2013, 09:50:19 AM »

This is going to hurt alot. Lord I hope Hart don't bring in Theobold as a result! I will reallll cuss in the Dome if he do that! It was refreshing seeing positive play from our midfield last night.

The team will be just fine, Boucard is very capable, Birchall probably chomping at the bit hoping for a chance and even Theobald probably smarting from that drop and will want to prove a point. Could even throw Daniel in that role. We have decent cover

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2013, 09:51:51 AM »
It was due to a late request from the management to release Hyland in the 1st place

Wallace, Muhammed..DO ALLYUH JOBS

First it was failing to apply for a VISA for Guerra, then a late request for Bateau and another late request for Hyland have the boy going home and missing a QF for his country

Stewpssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

It BETTER be Birchall and Boucaud in the center

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #15 on: July 16, 2013, 10:23:22 AM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013_CONCACAF_Gold_Cup

For more details on this topic, see 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup squads.

Each team can register a squad of 23 players; 3 of them must be goalkeepers. Between the completion of the group stage and the start of the knockout stage, any team that reaches the quarter-finals can replace up to four players in the squad, where the new players must come from a provisional list of 35 players
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #16 on: July 16, 2013, 10:26:17 AM »

Each team can register a squad of 23 players; 3 of them must be goalkeepers. Between the completion of the group stage and the start of the knockout stage, any team that reaches the quarter-finals can replace up to four players in the squad, where the new players must come from a provisional list of 35 players

Doubt we will ... none of the excluded can really come in now and make a difference

Just go with Birchall and Boucaud and figure out the rest of the team around that

« Reply #17 on: July 16, 2013, 10:32:45 AM »
Rel bullshit. TTFA alyuh cah be that big of a imps

I think it was the TTFF that did this Bullshit.. I mean, what's kinda of stupid deal is that, and why did they take that long to request the player?

« Reply #18 on: July 16, 2013, 10:54:42 AM »
Just to switch focus a bit here. Are we justified in being unhappy? not with our accomplishments to date but with our expectations of success? Realistically, teh coach set the bar at making quarterfinals- now what if we adjusted the bar and set our sights on the ultimate prize?

Look this Mexican team  if at any time is ripe for the pickings- in reviewing the Martinique game, them boys fight down Mexico to the last whistle.  The issue is that Mexico will make yuh pay when yuh lapse.

Question; do you think Mexico or the USA come into this tournament  just wanting to make quarterfinals? I say we begin to set the bar a little higher for ourselves and begin to see ourselves as having a real legitimate chance like anyone else on any given day. Big players need to play big ball fuh we.

« Reply #19 on: July 16, 2013, 11:00:23 AM »
ATL crew,

who in the dome saturday? leh we organize ah lime. ah coming down on de train.

« Reply #20 on: July 16, 2013, 11:19:00 AM »
That picture is pure joy and happiness as they hold on to Glen #13, Jones and celebrate together. Truly therapeutic and healing for us on the website to see. No hating, no dissing, no cussin' orf anybody. Big up my Warriors! Respec' and Thank you.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2013, 11:22:14 AM by dreamer »

« Reply #21 on: July 16, 2013, 01:08:00 PM »

yeah but what is  the fitness level of those other players in the pool now

Offline MilkyX

« Reply #22 on: July 16, 2013, 01:21:50 PM »

The team will be just fine, Boucard is very capable, Birchall probably chomping at the bit hoping for a chance and even Theobald probably smarting from that drop and will want to prove a point. Could even throw Daniel in that role. We have decent cover
I agree. Missing Hyland won't be a big deal. He's suspended anyway. He loses the ball too dam much and was also responsible for much of the bad passing in the first two games. I think the bigger blow is that Molino is also suspended. He and Boucaud played well. Fortunately we have great choices. We should keep boucaud and bring back Daniel with Birchall. Also, we could drop Roberts and put Edwards into the right midfield, playing Glenn and Jones up front. It could go a bunch of ways as long as Theobald stays on the bench.
Only the humble can be truly great!

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #23 on: July 16, 2013, 01:38:34 PM »
Granted Hyland would have been suspended due to the two yellows, is this 'arrangement' made between TTFF and Genk legal? I only ask because the gold cup is sanctioned by FIFA and if his name is on this list then he should be available.
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #24 on: July 16, 2013, 01:50:13 PM »
It could go a bunch of ways as long as Theobald stays on the bench.

:praying: :praying:

« Reply #25 on: July 16, 2013, 03:00:41 PM »

I agree. Missing Hyland won't be a big deal. He's suspended anyway. He loses the ball too dam much and was also responsible for much of the bad passing in the first two games. I think the bigger blow is that Molino is also suspended. He and Boucaud played well. Fortunately we have great choices. We should keep boucaud and bring back Daniel with Birchall. Also, we could drop Roberts and put Edwards into the right midfield, playing Glenn and Jones up front. It could go a bunch of ways as long as Theobald stays on the bench.

agreed, like i have said numerous times from the onset that hyland is not special, Guerra is special and should start over him on any given day, he could dribble, pass and possess a football...

hyland give away 3 balls that could have cost us a goal against hond, i happy he out the midfield

« Reply #26 on: July 16, 2013, 03:13:54 PM »
Waiting to see more evidence of BOLD moves by the coach:

move one - consider he bench the captain- outcome for Kj boost confidence and lead by example.

Move two- bench one star boy who eh having big impact- ummm -I speculating   what if the Ipswich Town reporter was quoting  CE- ah go join the team once we get eliminated- is ah fact he would join the team but timing of quote.

Move three  bench starter KD- need to hussle back and help def
Move four- shake up defense
Move five- bring on CG

These strategic  moves should not be understated in light of teh fact that a previously coached team by Hart get 8- different motivation different players but yuh know what- yuh cyar tell me Honduras was playing to lose- Them must of figure they B team could  pound we so take that.

Now leh we see what moves  going to play out against Mexico- a good feeling is that Mexico may  have that superiority complex and may want to take we lightly- kinda how we does want to take Guyana!!!!

Leh we hope that whatever moves are taken that we get a favourable result- one thing we cyar over-think the game as we did against Haiti- we just need to battle through and through. Fight to the end- show up nd compete.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #27 on: July 16, 2013, 03:37:42 PM »
The Belize/Cuba pre-game show on Fox Sports, the idiot Eric Wynalda (or however his name is spelt) done declare that Mexico defeating T&T on Saturday.  Hear nah...as much as many of us like to criticize our team, it's all out of love and national pride.  Ah hope we prove these so-called experts like Wynalda wrong on Saturday. 

The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #28 on: July 16, 2013, 03:53:53 PM »

agreed, like i have said numerous times from the onset that hyland is not special, Guerra is special and should start over him on any given day, he could dribble, pass and possess a football...

hyland give away 3 balls that could have cost us a goal against hond, i happy he out the midfield

Actually I think Hyland, Guerra and Boucaud would make a good midfield trio. Guerra is an attacker with some speed and good height. I prefer Hyland in the defensive position. Is a pity Hector ain't available.

« Reply #29 on: July 16, 2013, 04:52:41 PM »
TTff has always ballsed up our big players in this tournament...Dwight Left us in 2000 to go running back to Alex mid tournament.

Go back an check dat. We cuss same way for that too.