April 19, 2024, 07:39:08 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Mexico Game (20-Jul-2013).  (Read 68128 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Mexico Game (20-Jul-2013).
« Reply #30 on: July 16, 2013, 05:01:17 PM »
Contrary to popular opinion, I think boucaud & Theobald will do well.

« Reply #31 on: July 16, 2013, 06:15:58 PM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013_CONCACAF_Gold_Cup

For more details on this topic, see 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup squads.

Each team can register a squad of 23 players; 3 of them must be goalkeepers. Between the completion of the group stage and the start of the knockout stage, any team that reaches the quarter-finals can replace up to four players in the squad, where the new players must come from a provisional list of 35 players

yeah but what is  the fitness level of those other players in the pool now
Six of one half a dozen of the other.
All 35 must be fit where as the fitness level of the nucleus squad should be up to par and so on and so on...
« Last Edit: July 16, 2013, 08:07:17 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #32 on: July 16, 2013, 07:33:38 PM »
If that was the arrangement that was the arrangement

Hyland has to please these people to keep his contract.

We can't pull rank bc hyland will not back the rank

At the end of the day it comes down to money

« Reply #33 on: July 16, 2013, 07:45:26 PM »
Racing Genk midfielder Khaleem Hyland will not be available for Saturdays match, having been recalled to his club for a Cup clash. It was part of an arrangement between the TTFA and Genk management which stemmed from a late initial request for the player’s release for the tournament. Genk subsequently turned down the request before allowing him to join the squad ahead of the first game in agreement for his return ahead of the July 21st match with Anderlecht.

This is going to hurt alot. Lord I hope Hart don't bring in Theobold as a result! I will reallll cuss in the Dome if he do that! It was refreshing seeing positive play from our midfield last night.

The team will be just fine, Boucard is very capable, Birchall probably chomping at the bit hoping for a chance and even Theobald probably smarting from that drop and will want to prove a point. Could even throw Daniel in that role. We have decent cover
I agree. Missing Hyland won't be a big deal. He's suspended anyway. He loses the ball too dam much and was also responsible for much of the bad passing in the first two games. I think the bigger blow is that Molino is also suspended. He and Boucaud played well. Fortunately we have great choices. We should keep boucaud and bring back Daniel with Birchall. Also, we could drop Roberts and put Edwards into the right midfield, playing Glenn and Jones up front. It could go a bunch of ways as long as Theobald stays on the bench.

:shameonyou:

roberts played his best game last night...

« Reply #34 on: July 16, 2013, 08:06:34 PM »
T&T plays the second game on Saturday at 5:30 pm. Cuba and panama play first at 3.

« Reply #35 on: July 16, 2013, 08:35:13 PM »
By the way if we beat Mexico we play either Cuba or panama in the semis  :thinking: ... Very beatable sides... I'm just saying.

« Reply #36 on: July 16, 2013, 08:40:55 PM »
T and T!

« Reply #37 on: July 16, 2013, 08:42:46 PM »
Warren Barton on Fox say TT is he Dark Horse lol.

Offline chinaman10

« Reply #38 on: July 16, 2013, 09:48:47 PM »
Let's hope playing in the 2nd games is our rabbit's foot.

« Reply #39 on: July 17, 2013, 01:54:47 AM »
T&T vs Mexico:
Any feedback on what is allyuh possible starting line up for Saturday's game?

Offline 9th wonder

« Reply #40 on: July 17, 2013, 03:52:08 AM »
(This is jus my opinion).The Warriors can definitely beat Mexico. Hyland  needs to be a little bit quicker with his link up passes from the back, there passes are to slow in the attacking half of the field. Jones needs to not let the ball take so many bounces he could of easily had four goals (find that Death Touch). Molino stay aggressive my mvp of the last game. Glenn should always be in the starting line up once he is healthy he has a imagination on the ball and confidence a little rusty but with more playing time he will be fine. To the back Four Keep it basic just make the smart play nothing fancy, also, communicate know where each other is at all times on the field. Overall, possession of the ball is good, but possession with no progress is useless. dont mistake activity for achievement. Lets GO GET THIS WIN 
« Last Edit: July 17, 2013, 03:56:52 AM by 9th wonder »

Offline 9th wonder

« Reply #41 on: July 17, 2013, 04:01:02 AM »

Theobald tends to look to nervous for me and makes a lot of mistakes.

« Reply #42 on: July 17, 2013, 06:09:45 AM »
By the way if we beat Mexico we play either Cuba or panama in the semis  :thinking: ... Very beatable sides... I'm just saying.

panama has seriously improved, dem boys can seriously ball now......in fact due to their serious dev program they could be better than us...lehwe take it one game at a time please ;)

« Reply #43 on: July 17, 2013, 06:14:11 AM »

Theobald tends to look to nervous for me and makes a lot of mistakes.

nice fella he just doh assert himself as he should..........when he does it he can be something else though....I have seen that live in manny Ramjohn Stadium

« Reply #44 on: July 17, 2013, 07:23:43 AM »
Touches beat me to the punch. Dwight left mid-tournament when we were rolling and made it to the semis I believe. I saw some posters refer to that team as the best T&T team ever.

Hyland is valuable because he is a physical ball winner. Boucaud is as well, but I think we benefitted from having two of these guys on the field at the same time. I think Birchall played a similar role in the World Cup, but not sure where his form or fitness is these days.

Have a sinking feeling that number 18 will be asked to the fill the role. The sad thing is that he is neither physical, nor good in possession. Seems to me like he is short of confidence and tries to play the ball off so quickly that he gives it away a lot.

Either way, we could poison this Mexico side with a strong effort and a little bit of luck.

« Reply #45 on: July 17, 2013, 07:27:21 AM »
Is Mexico missing any players through suspension ?

Offline Jay10

« Reply #46 on: July 17, 2013, 07:36:02 AM »
Carlos can replace Molino, and Keon could replace Khaleem. Would opt for Power over Bakr at cb.

Another option is Aubrey David at lb and pushing Jovin to the lm, starting Cyrus at cb and Carlos at rb

Cyrus's recovery speed could be very vital down the centre

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #48 on: July 17, 2013, 07:41:46 AM »
TTff has always ballsed up our big players in this tournament...Dwight Left us in 2000 to go running back to Alex mid tournament.

Go back an check dat. We cuss same way for that too.

From what I understand, it may be less a case of administrative foul up on TTFF part regarding the release of players and more about a FIFA "timing" issue

If I understand correctly, for the first time in the tournament's history, FIFA designated the CONCACAF Gold Cup as an official FIFA tournament which means clubs have no choice but to release players for any tournament designated as such. 

The announcement of this new designation from FIFA came AFTER the deadline for submitting player requests had passed resulting in several players not being available for their national teams for THIS tournament.  It should not be a factor in the future.

« Reply #49 on: July 17, 2013, 08:01:10 AM »
I for one am relieved that we have someone like Theobald to call on in the absence of players like Hyland and Molino.

I'm not a Bleeder fan like kiffysmooth, but de fella has the experience and the technique to do the job for us.

He is not a physical ball winner and he's not the greatest offensive player, but he does take care of the ball and tends to not give it away needlessly.  That IN THIS TEAM is a major asset.

Those that out are Hyland and Molino.  Hoyte eh seem as if he coming back and Joevin Jones got subbed off  the last game with an injury so he might be doubtful.

XI might look like this:

Williams - goalie
Mitchell - CB
Power - CB
Cyrus - RB
Aubrey David - LB
Boucaud - CM
Theobald or Birchall - CM
Edwards - LM
Roberts - RM
Glen - Striker
Jones - Striker

So dat is Power, David, Theobald or Birchall, and Edwards all with "fresh" legs coming in.

While Abu Bakr did decently against Honduras, I fear his lack of pace will be exposed against the speedy Mexico forward line....especially Fabian.  So hopefully Power is fit because he may be a better option in that case.

Regardless of who plays, I know they will do their best and have my full support.

« Reply #50 on: July 17, 2013, 08:15:52 AM »
nice team Palos have to say I get frighten when I see d team go out in 4-4-2 but ah was pleasantly surprised to see the team not getting isolated in their zones "good movement" it also looked like glen was either playing slightly behind kenwin or would fall back to CAM to pick up the ball when needed so I was happy

« Reply #52 on: July 17, 2013, 08:51:06 AM »
if the defence hold out we can beat mexico

we have to defend with 9 and go back to leaving jones alone up front and bring Glen off the bence or

rush mexico and hope we can outscore them

curious to see which approach hart take.

we have nothing to lose best we go at them with 2 or 3 forwards.

« Reply #53 on: July 17, 2013, 08:52:02 AM »
TTff has always ballsed up our big players in this tournament...Dwight Left us in 2000 to go running back to Alex mid tournament.

Go back an check dat. We cuss same way for that too.

From what I understand, it may be less a case of administrative foul up on TTFF part regarding the release of players and more about a FIFA "timing" issue

If I understand correctly, for the first time in the tournament's history, FIFA designated the CONCACAF Gold Cup as an official FIFA tournament which means clubs have no choice but to release players for any tournament designated as such. 

The announcement of this new designation from FIFA came AFTER the deadline for submitting player requests had passed resulting in several players not being available for their national teams for THIS tournament.  It should not be a factor in the future.

if this is true Lasana has to be more careful accurate with his reporting.

« Reply #54 on: July 17, 2013, 10:02:59 AM »
Honestly. . Bakr more than power right now...waitt dem mexicans farsee...

« Reply #55 on: July 17, 2013, 10:10:11 AM »
ATL crew,

who in the dome saturday? leh we organize ah lime. ah coming down on de train.

Do you know what section the Trini's in? Anyone?

Offline fredej

« Reply #56 on: July 17, 2013, 10:43:24 AM »
no milino an hyland :frustrated: big loss but i rather start with 10 men than theobald :-\ mnt

valdes

cyrus               mitchel                         bakr         j.jones

boucard                daniel                birchel               edwards/roberts

k. jones                     glen

yes a pick bakr >:( lack of speed but physical and tall >>>>>>>and i kinda jus prefer him ::) doh kill me alyuh

« Reply #57 on: July 17, 2013, 10:52:57 AM »
Aye when lass we beat Meheeco?

« Reply #58 on: July 17, 2013, 11:07:05 AM »
Aye when lass we beat Meheeco?
Qualifiers leading up to 2006 w/c. Ask Stern John.

« Reply #59 on: July 17, 2013, 11:39:28 AM »
You bring a smile to my face with that Stern John memory.

All those who putting Keon in th middle with Boucaud, Keon Daniel cah play in the middle without another centre mid covering for him. If he's playing he needs freedom to create.

And like palos forgetting that Theobold's carelessness led directly to goal #2 against Haiti. Despite that, i would gie him a bligh. He has a chip on his shoulder and should come out with some intensity