March 29, 2024, 02:26:13 AM

Vote for your Most Valuable Soca Warrior at the 2013 Gold Cup.

Jan-Michael Williams
8 (10.5%)
Justin Hoyte
1 (1.3%)
Carlyle Mitchell
0 (0%)
Seon Power
0 (0%)
Radanfah Abu Bakr
0 (0%)
Daneil Cyrus
10 (13.2%)
Aubrey David
0 (0%)
Joevin Jones
0 (0%)
Andre Boucaud
10 (13.2%)
Keon Daniel
1 (1.3%)
Darryl Roberts
1 (1.3%)
Kevin Molino
2 (2.6%)
Carlos Edwards
0 (0%)
Kevon Carter
0 (0%)
Densill Theobald
2 (2.6%)
Christopher Birchall
0 (0%)
Jamal Gay
0 (0%)
Cornell Glen
4 (5.3%)
Kenwyne Jones
34 (44.7%)
Khaleem Hyland
3 (3.9%)
Other
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 75

Voting closed: July 29, 2013, 04:11:11 PM

Author Topic: SocaWarriors.net Most Valuable Soca Warrior at the 2013 Gold Cup  (Read 4814 times)

The MVSW will be announced after the poll expires on July 29th.

Re: SocaWarriors.net Most Valuable Soca Warrior at the 2013 Gold Cup
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2013, 04:15:35 PM »
Cyrus for me, then jan micheal was ah close second.

kenwyne jones was boss, jovin jones was also spectacular, too bad he got injured.  hope some top league picks him up, he doesn't deserve to play in that bush league they callin a pro league in trinidad.

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2013, 05:25:29 PM »
Kenwyn already voted

« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2013, 05:44:33 PM »
Should be JMW with-out a doubt, way more goals would of scored against us if he didn't pull off those saves in all four games, he kept T&T in the tournament. KJ second for the heart and fighting spirit he had while scoring a few. Cyrus only played two games but he was a beast though... Btw, KJ got alot of love from the guys on here. Nice...
« Last Edit: July 21, 2013, 06:01:53 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2013, 05:49:11 PM »
My top 5.. Not in any particular order:

Kenwyne Jones
Daniel Cyrus
Andre Boucaud
Jan Michael Williams
tie between Justin Hoyte + Jovin Jones

Molino because of the goal

« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2013, 05:49:44 PM »
Kenwyne Jones and Justin Hoyte  have my vote

« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2013, 06:54:09 PM »
I voted for Cornell Glen!  :beermug:

He was regularly causing the opposition trouble and generating fouls from them and Free kicks whenever he was on the field. I love players who give our opponents pure headaches running at defenders and stuff!!
« Last Edit: July 21, 2013, 06:57:49 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2013, 07:10:49 PM »
I picked KJ . . . yeah, I still can't believe it.

But Molino, KD, Cyrus among the younger ones whom I did not see much of before were great

Offline BESBRAHN

• Football is life!
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2013, 08:31:43 PM »
Kenwyne Jones.. Played every game. Work rate phenomenal even in games where we did not play well .Led by example

« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2013, 08:47:15 PM »
Jones boy. Like he had a life changing moment or something. He look Hungry. Wukking Hard. Glen a close second, he still have it.

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2013, 09:08:45 PM »
Cyrus and JMW stood out for me. KJ, Glen, Boucaud and Molino had great games as well.
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2013, 06:50:23 AM »
KJ...
Kenwyne finally show up as the player we all expected.  After this tourney, there is no doubt he's a first choice striker in any league worldwide.  He was calm and delivered when needed.  In tough times, you never saw any frustration in his face, he kept at it.

When I think of most valuable player, I think of "if this person was not on the team, would the team perform just as well?"  While JMW deserve honorouble mention for his saves and leadership in the back line, this was a KJ coming out party as the deserved marquee player for TnT.

Honourable mentions: JMW, Cyrus, Glen (you can't dislike this fella boy, his work rate is second to none)

Good job TnT, you make us proud.

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2013, 06:57:37 AM »
it have to be KJ he carry de team pushed dem and was a constant motivator
football in meh veins football in meh blood

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2013, 07:31:21 AM »
I vote for Glenn......He was a definite spark in TNT's offense.  He worked well with KJ up top
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2013, 07:37:55 AM »
It is a toss up for between Cyrus and Jones. I would go with Cyrus only because my expectation for Jones was high and he delivered. Cyrus, has definitely grown in his role and was eexceptional.

Glen did very well, but as he only plated 1.75 games, I could not select him over Cyrus. He gave the defense hell, which led to an opposing player red card as well as the penalty.

« Reply #15 on: July 22, 2013, 08:12:06 AM »
ah rush and vote Jones, but when i gave it more consideration, wish I could change it to BouBou- he & KD forced Mexico to go elsewhere and then there was Glen, had all teams jumpy and panicing, he have to get "give them salt" award - doh I think we can't keep him taking this measure of pounding much longer. My most outstanding player would be Cyrus, I feel between he and Hoyte we have the right back position lock down, and could thus maybe move Hoyte Central, in addition to Power, Mitchell and the young David, a hopefully improving Abu and the missing Primus things starting to look real good defensively. Hard decisions to be made in midfield though. Especially with the availabilty of those missing players (Guerra, Hector, Peltier), if they can maintain or improve their form & level of play, and the young Jones, Daniel, Hyland, BouBou,we setting real nice, selection could be a real headache. And that's not even considering the young hungry crop from U17 & U21- once they understand the plan - to throw in the mix.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #16 on: July 22, 2013, 09:01:25 AM »
Jones, he did everything he could and more. Scored in 2 of 4 games and was unlucky not to have scored vs Haiti. He worked real hard and definitely was the leader of this team.

ah rush and vote Jones, but when i gave it more consideration, wish I could change it to BouBou- he & KD forced Mexico to go elsewhere and then there was Glen, had all teams jumpy and panicing, he have to get "give them salt" award - doh I think we can't keep him taking this measure of pounding much longer. My most outstanding player would be Cyrus, I feel between he and Hoyte we have the right back position lock down, and could thus maybe move Hoyte Central, in addition to Power, Mitchell and the young David, a hopefully improving Abu and the missing Primus things starting to look real good defensively. Hard decisions to be made in midfield though. Especially with the availabilty of those missing players (Guerra, Hector, Peltier), if they can maintain or improve their form & level of play, and the young Jones, Daniel, Hyland, BouBou,we setting real nice, selection could be a real headache. And that's not even considering the young hungry crop from U17 & U21- once they understand the plan - to throw in the mix.

I also think Cyrus has earned that RB spot and that Hoyte could move to CB. So ideally we could be looking at this as a back 4 vs the Saudis

Williams
Bateau
Mitchell
Hoyte
Cyrus

« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2013, 09:52:22 AM »
Mitchell/ Julius James as Centre back. MVP of the gold Cup- Williams and Jones K with Cyrus third

« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2013, 10:23:18 AM »
Densill Theobald... by playing shite he make the rest of the side realize yuh could get bench easy  ;)

« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2013, 10:58:20 AM »
The only outfield player to play every game was Kenwyne Jones.

He was dominant in the first game and did a lot of good work in all of the others.  Worked tirelessly, defended, held the ball up to bring teammates into play, and provided some deft link up play.  Given better service, he could have been even more of a handful.

Williams was outstanding in the Mexico game and made an amazing save to preserve a point against El Salvador.  He was ok the rest of the way.

For me....it's KJ by some distance.

Honourable mention to Daniel Cyrus who is one for the future and Cornell Glen who showed what mobility can do to opposing defences.  Too bad he was unfit for the first 2 games.

« Reply #20 on: July 22, 2013, 11:05:11 AM »
The only outfield player to play every game was Kenwyne Jones.

He was dominant in the first game and did a lot of good work in all of the others.  Worked tirelessly, defended, held the ball up to bring teammates into play, and provided some deft link up play.  Given better service, he could have been even more of a handful.

Williams was outstanding in the Mexico game and made an amazing save to preserve a point against El Salvador.  He was ok the rest of the way.

For me....it's KJ by some distance.

Honourable mention to Daniel Cyrus who is one for the future and Cornell Glen who showed what mobility can do to opposing defences.  Too bad he was unfit for the first 2 games.

Almost exactly my thoughts. I thought one or two players had more impact per minute than KJ, but at the end of the day KJ did a whole lot more than everybody else. If he had a little more luck and finished just two more of his wasted chances, I wouldnt have even been posting. Just voting.

KJ all the way. keep it up.

« Reply #21 on: July 22, 2013, 11:14:08 AM »
I know KJ showed up big but Jan got my vote. I really appreciated his saves this tournament.  The man made a bad mistake vs Haiti and he still needs to work on crosses, but damn this man saved us many many times, sometimes in spectacular fashion. Goalkeepers are always under-appreciated anyway so he gets extra credit.

Offline fredej

« Reply #22 on: July 22, 2013, 11:30:18 AM »
cyrus and j.jones

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #23 on: July 22, 2013, 05:32:16 PM »
There are a lot of players who I can vote for, but I'll give Roberts my vote. He played solid, consistent ball right through, and I respect that.

« Reply #24 on: July 22, 2013, 05:45:25 PM »
the CBs eh get no love in dat poll boy..........even densil get ah vote, kiffy have no shame ;D ......gave KJ d nod though he real wuk in this competition :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
« Last Edit: July 22, 2013, 05:48:46 PM by lefty »

« Reply #25 on: July 22, 2013, 07:41:08 PM »
KJ
Cyrus
JMW
Molino.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #26 on: July 26, 2013, 07:54:12 AM »
Keep de votes coming!

Offline Majestic

« Reply #27 on: July 26, 2013, 01:38:07 PM »
Jan.
He Is Highly

Offline Jay10

« Reply #28 on: July 26, 2013, 11:55:28 PM »
Cyrus had always played cb so he should play there alongside mitchell. joven and hoyte was wingbacks.

Boucad and khaleem holding.

Front 4 of Molino, daniel, hector, KJ

then we have guys like primus, bateau, birchall,peltier, guerra, roberts, ........

« Reply #29 on: July 29, 2013, 09:36:04 AM »
Apparently voting closes today, so today is your last chance to cast your vote if you haven't yet voted!  :beermug: