March 28, 2024, 05:16:09 PM

Author Topic: Your very first tugs.........  (Read 5366 times)

Your very first tugs.........
« on: July 21, 2013, 04:33:14 PM »
Tugs,  hahahahaha.

i remember my very first tugs was ah addidas rubber ducky my dad gave me, a thirteen pegger, and although it was five sizes bigger than my feet i cherished that tugs like ah golden boot.

does anyone remember their first tugs? and don't tell me allyuh had a six pegger out the box, bc it was very expensive and very few parents would oblige $$.    :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
« Last Edit: July 22, 2013, 06:21:18 AM by Flex »

Re: your very first.........
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2013, 04:50:25 PM »
Probably a Mitre I think. Rubber pegs.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2013, 05:15:30 PM »
My first was a Mitre when I was still in Primary school in standard 4 or 5 in the early 80s. 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline Coach

« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2013, 05:31:17 PM »
And BATA bullet for small goal, man ah need to sue BATA, them BATA bullets only lasted a few weeks sah.

« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2013, 05:32:45 PM »
Second hand pair of rugby boots! Then a second hand pair of Adidas. Think my first new pair were Mitre as well!

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2013, 06:03:03 PM »
Total 90

« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2013, 08:11:50 PM »
I had a pair is tallcut adidas boots when I was 2 years old and could barely walk. When I learned to jog and run right I got a Puma....I grew up in a football household.

« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2013, 08:21:53 PM »
addis, seemed like a million pegger.  Best tugs ever was meh tunits, fit meh foot like a glove

« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2013, 08:32:00 PM »
Was either ah Bata Dog or ah Doric.

« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2013, 08:41:22 PM »
AHH VOLT

« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2013, 09:04:04 PM »
mih two bare foot.

but seriously...some old black adidas from a uncle. first boots I ever buy new a the adidas beckenbauer...cheaper version of the copa mundial.

« Reply #11 on: July 21, 2013, 09:27:00 PM »
Was either ah Bata Dog or ah Doric.  :rotfl:
Oh gosh Tallman. At least some Bata Shoes had pegs underneath. Dem Doric real suck boy. For those who eh know, Doric eh no football shoe either. Seeing dat yuh is a dread, ah feel yuh must be stick some thumb tacks with rasta colours at de back. Cyah believe men did actually come up with a style like dat, far less coast it and act tizik.

« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2013, 09:53:56 PM »
Second hand Mitre that I had the local shoe doctor sew up with nylon to make last a bit Longer , then my father hooked me up with my first pair...Beckenbauer Addidas, but Umbro was my boots for intercol, I use to like the lil flap over the laces. I thought it was kool lol. Today I rock Predators.

Re: Your very first tugs.........
« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2013, 06:51:29 AM »
airman,

umbro still making boss boots. mih first choice right now is the speciali 4. WSS selling them real cheap.

http://www.worldsoccershop.com/departments-footwear-umbro-fg-soccer-cleats.html

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2013, 06:56:00 AM »
green and black lotto followed ah week later by ah black and blue mitre  ;D aint thought ah dat in ah while lol
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #15 on: July 22, 2013, 06:58:57 AM »
Meh padnah and I both had a pair of white batas.
We take black markers and colour the adidas 3 stripes on.  :D

After that it was a mitre.  I remember when I was 10 the first time walking in the school hall floors getting ready to head to the field for a match and all the students in the classes turning and looking at us hearing the "click clacks"
We felt like heroes

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #16 on: July 22, 2013, 07:24:53 AM »
diadora...black
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2013, 07:29:02 AM »
Diego maradonna boots from Sports and Games in Tunapuna

It had an image of maradona on the tongue
I was not even sure who he was

it was a multistudd turf shoes

It cost $130

This was back in 1984 85 time frame

My mother cuss meh father for days for wasting that money on a football boots.

That boots last me for must have been 3 years till it get too tight and start to dry rot

best boots i ever had.

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2013, 07:42:27 AM »
a pair of pumas back in 1985
back then its real leather
ever week I would work in the dubbin into the tugs
lasted 3 years until the sole cracked

« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2013, 10:01:24 AM »
I seriously can't remember I do know it was a cheap Brazilian brand as the sole drop off after leaving it wet in ah bag for a week. Ah know it was the only ones my parents could afford - after some serious negotiation - that actually looked like football boots. Sorry, could'nt face the humiliation of rockin up with Bata Dogs.

After they perished; went to S&G's in San' Do to get new ones and the fella ah spoke too said they were bought out by topper so did'nt sell them anymore. Got some Puma's on sale as they was missing three studs.

On the point of Bata's, they were clearly ahead of their time. I remember the cheap canvasse ones had these plastic molded ridges fuh studs, or was it Doric? Anyway, they were much like blades on boots today. And there I was turning meh nose up at a ground breaking brand!

« Reply #20 on: July 22, 2013, 11:10:31 AM »
I had a Puma and den a Alix

Them Alix was d worse ting ever...bought from Tansley Thompson Store on Ariapita ave opposite cowheel soup center.

« Reply #21 on: July 22, 2013, 11:53:46 AM »
I feel me and grimm01 boots might be first pair to be mentioned twice in this thread.

A 3 or 4 years old mitre hand me down. By the time I get it, the leather was hard hard hard. No amount of dobbin was bringing that back.
But I used to imagine it make me kick harder.

Hand me downs. the lot in life for younger siblings.

« Reply #22 on: July 22, 2013, 12:22:06 PM »
Ah pair ah Gola ... if not de first, mighta been de second.

« Reply #23 on: July 22, 2013, 01:04:49 PM »
Like I was the only Umbro man or what? Umbro had that flexi bend. Talk about curlers I use to hit with it lol

« Reply #24 on: July 22, 2013, 01:17:09 PM »
Alix was my first boots..then got a mitre

« Reply #25 on: July 22, 2013, 02:22:02 PM »
A red bata bullets

« Reply #26 on: July 22, 2013, 04:16:51 PM »
I could have only afford tugs until I got a second-hand pair of addidas at the end of football season in 2nd form. I could not even afford a pair of JetShot which cost about 17 or 18 bucks at the time. When I see the type of boots I use to by my son, I  use to shake meh head. If he only knew how lucky he was.

« Reply #27 on: July 23, 2013, 12:17:01 AM »
.....a pair of Patrick in Primary school....once I did start earning my own money is only adidas WC and CM ever since....but for 1 pair each of Diadora (WICKED "CRD 90")and all black Puma King rubbers....

Kinda off-topic but kinda relative, too, anybody remember a store did name "Wots Sports" (or sumting so), used to be on Tragarete Road, over dey by Roxy?
« Last Edit: July 23, 2013, 02:24:57 AM by Mango Chow! »

Offline Trevor

« Reply #28 on: July 23, 2013, 09:47:53 AM »
My mom bought the first football tugs for me from Carly Dore’s (Ian “Chala” Dore’s father) Sports Store on Henry Street around 1963.  I was so proud when I got it.  That was a true tugs – pure leather, pegs  nailed in, and it had a cadet boot front.  In those days we used dubbin to maintain our boots.

Offline Majestic

« Reply #29 on: July 23, 2013, 11:35:17 AM »
ah black 6peg white sole Pony in primary school as ah new handown...my older brodda work hard to buy it then decide he doh want to play no more we, dat boots get stuff with relll paper
He Is Highly