April 29, 2024, 05:34:24 AM

Author Topic: Near and yet so far for Warriors  (Read 1564 times)

Near and yet so far for Warriors
« on: July 23, 2013, 05:56:24 AM »
Near and yet so far for Warriors
By Alvin Corneal (T&T Guardian)

It was a game which we may wish to remember as the night when the warriors attempted to derail the mighty Mexico.

It is fair to compliment the efforts of the team on the result and their success in reaching the quarter finals in the tournament.

It is not good developmental football sense to start consoling ourselves over the distance that the team had reached before we take a closer view at the statistics and the occurrences of the matches themselves.

The previous comments on the matches which brought them to the quarter finals were well justified and if not taken out of context, should have offered some level of hope for the future.

Nevertheless, the field of play is where it all happens and it is exactly where there is need for analysis in order to determine whether we have progressed in our doings over the length of this tournament from it’s beginning.

After seeing the performance against Honduras, we were certainly left with hope that maybe, just maybe, the lads may be driven by the wonderful feeling of a victory against one of the leading teams in the competition.

My first observation prior to the start of the match was the unusual formula of the starting team and was truly taken aback by the players in their selected positions.

Read More...

Re: Near and yet so far for Warriors
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 06:27:57 AM »
Why do I not learn! Yet again I have read an Alvin Corneal article only to get frusrated by an article written in a sage like manner but with obvious errors that show a clear lack of knowledge about our own players.

A lot of things seem to be passing the man by and not just the game of football.

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2013, 06:50:34 AM »
I wonder what accounted for our success against Romania and Estonia?

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2013, 07:40:07 AM »
 ::)
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2013, 11:33:38 AM »
Sigh.....  ::)

« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2013, 04:46:16 PM »
Was this wise sage ever so critical of Anton.... :devil:
Or is this his way of trying to stay relivant

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2013, 08:14:45 PM »
Scratching my head.   :bs: 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2013, 09:33:12 PM »
Garbage oui. Why he didnt talk about the same changes he crying down in the Mexican game is the same changes that made us win the Honduras game. Furthermore, most of the changes in the Mexican game was as a result of injury, suspension or unavailability. Dem does jus talk without thinking i swear!! :beermug:

« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2013, 11:26:15 PM »
Have not read that Alvin Corneal article and will not read it.
Just seeing who wrote the article was enough to tell me I have read enough and most of the comments in this thread confirm that I made the right decision!  :beermug: