March 29, 2024, 09:12:13 AM

Author Topic: Bradford City's tale of Trinidad and Tobago  (Read 1241 times)

Bradford City's tale of Trinidad and Tobago
« on: July 25, 2013, 05:40:31 PM »
Bradford City's tale of Trinidad and Tobago
By Ian Hemmens (widthofapost.com)

Whilst we’re all chomping at the bit waiting for the new season to start, I thought I’d pass the time by telling you all a tale from years gone by.

Now Bradford City have always had a great history of diversity in their side stretching back to the multitude of Scots, Welsh and Irish players, but what about the even more exotic early pioneers? We had the first mixed race player in the  first division in Willie Clarke in 1907, we had Lithuanian Jew Louis Bookman, a naturalised Irishman in 1912 – so diversity is nothing new to City.

Jump to the early 70s and City had two legends in their ranks in Ces Podd and Joe Cooke. Two giants of the club’s history, who served the Bantams with distinction for many years.

In the mid 2000s, Colin Todd appeared to have some sort of connection with Jamaican football, and we saw the arrival of four very decent players in Jermaine Johnson, Omar Daley, Donovan Ricketts and Damion Stewart. All are fondly remembered to varying degrees.

I’d like to mention another phase in the mid 90s which was pretty odd to say the least. In 1994, we brought over a very young Russell Latapy from Trinidad on trial. I think Ces recommended him and, despite being very highly talented, he was a bit lightweight. We also had problems trying to gain a work permit due to the poor standing of Trinidad internationally at that point and the fact he was still technically a junior.

Read More...

Re: Bradford City's tale of Trinidad and Tobago
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2013, 07:02:00 PM »
Doh worry! We coming back.

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2013, 09:14:54 PM »
here was the giant Ross Russell in goal. Ansil Elcock, the cousin of Stern John, at centre back, followed by the wonderfully named Richard Theodore, Marvin Faustin and Alvin Thomas.

Big Big players!!!

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2013, 11:45:29 PM »
What a great story. It's nice to see that so many British clubs have links with T&T and warm memories of Trini players. You don't see the same warmth when they talk about U.S. players. No matter about CONCACAF standings, there aren't the same stories about Honduras or Costa Ricans or Mexicans or Cubans or other Caribbean nations (aside from Jamaica, but even those guys don't seem to bring out the warmth that Trinis do)

Take pride that T&T footballers are always welcomed and always remembered.

« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2013, 02:43:58 AM »
Lata's trial was around '87/'88. He was around 17.

Alvin Thomas was a fine midfielder who held the fort down in the 90s whilst Latas was away.

« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2013, 07:19:53 AM »
Wha size have to do with it, still nobody could get de ball of he feet.

Ent Silva small like Latas and playing for Man City in de EPL.

Bradford chupid.

« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2013, 12:17:01 PM »
behind the scenes story here is dat Bradford had asked for Clayton Morris and Jack sent Latas instead.