March 28, 2024, 06:06:30 AM

Author Topic: 'KoolAid' inTnT Politics  (Read 1948 times)

'KoolAid' inTnT Politics
« on: July 30, 2013, 09:12:08 AM »
Once more the link with Guyana is present in our political landscape. In past elections there were allegations of  importation and an influx of Guyanese to Trinidad with an intent to sway the ethnic vote. In this election we had the presence of a Guyanese national  making outlandish statements on our shores and what could amount to inciting hate yet many appeared to ignore the ethics of a leader aligning with someone who could stand on his platform and make these statements.Is this what  the electorates are seemingly endorsing in politics today?

After reading and all the publishing of alleged wrong doings, it puzzles me as to how  sane and consciously law abiding citizens would in all good faith support a candidate for leadership . What has happened  here in this by election seemed to have mirrored what occurred nation wide in the last election when people willingly voted current MPs who allegedly were either divisive in their politics, who had firm views along matters of race and some whose political records were tarnished. Yet the 'rabblement ' and fickle  voters , apathetic or not against the establishment cast their votes seemingly oblivious to the corruptible elements associated with these individuals.

Look at the transient nature of  some of the political leaders in governance today? many have had a history of different political affiliations.  This leads to beg the question as to what firm principles do they stand for? or are they chasing any party that would deliver them  the pipeline and access to $$$? How many current Mp's are waiting in the wings to follow in the steps of this current leader of the Green party? These actions seem to indicate that what we have here is an erosion of ethics and principles. Are these politicians the  beacons that we wish for our young people to emulate?  Is this the way in which the young people should aspire and  achieve if ' they bound to have success?'

Today people are now suggesting that this seemingly charismatic leader is on a pathway to changing the political landscape of our country and the tremors of this election victory may reverberate on a national landscape. I say people of TnT what could we be sacrificing  if we chose to follow in this trend? H ave we drunk from the cup of residual ' Jim Jones' Kool Aid? have we been blinded in a drunken stupor? Have rum really   numbed our collective senses of ethics and morality? Are we doomed in our political destiny? We are living today with a government which  the media has exposed time in and time out for its lack of competence and we have read about allegations of ministers and their accumulations of wealth while the majority of this land is infested with crime and people live in dire poverty?

We are not duncy people- How else do you explain this quirky  political  merry go round? Is someone  feeding  the kool aid  in the water.  This Nectar of the masses, must have  the sweetest tantalizing , intoxicating taste of any drink now in TnT. Mixed with rum upon consuming this sweet, sweet nectar, people probably instantly realize that it is by FAR the best thing they have ever tasted in their entire life, or they lose all sense of judgement.  I am afraid that  if we don't stop the drinking, our political future is doomed like Jonestown.  Please stop Kool and The Gang

Ps ; Two calypsos come to mind:
Gypsy- would he ever do a rendition of his song 'Captain this ship is sinking'
Chalkdust- 'Ah Fraid Karl' -substitute Karl for any one of your favourite ministers and you will get the same refrain.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2013, 08:25:24 AM by AB.Trini »

Re: The Jim Jones'KoolAid' factor
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2013, 12:00:34 PM »
Ah 'FRAID Jack
apologies to Mighty Chalkdust

Like my friends and them don't like me, they want police hold me
For the things they want me sing 'bout, this minister go silence me
They want me to sing and say, "Move the government to Chaganuas from up dey
And have the whole  ah central be the heart of Whitehall."
But not me, ah 'fraid  Jackl, ah 'fraid  Jack
I 'fraid hit me like he  hit Sepp Blatter...uhmm
They want me sing 'bout  FIFA  bobol
 TTFF and all ah dem break down and cry
But ah 'fraid, not me, [ah 'fraid]
They say a young sports minister was found in a hotel with a call girl in town
But I ent singing 'bout that, ah 'fraid the Act 34.

Like my friends, them ent consider what happen to Volny and Salandy
Is when they  drop my  backside that they go be satisfied
But I smarter than all of them, the government I won't offend
I really can't  beg , the stale foodon teh streets will starve meh tail
You see why ah 'fraid Jack , ah 'fraid Jack
I talking 'bout the new baron of  Chaganaus... uhmm
They say PP  was nearly wrecked by the Cabal
But ah 'fraid, I don't know, [ah 'fraid]
They say by Renzi Complex building,
Jack tell  Jennings to axe he mother and how she making
But I know nothing 'bout that, ah 'fraid the  Ac 34..

Like my friends, them don't understand why I really 'fraid that man
You see  Williams and  Gibbs, when Jack talk they have to hear
Government have no money, they say, for last year's public servants' backpay
No big thing, Jack got on the phone and ordered Kamla to give them a loan
That's why ah 'fraid  Jack, ah 'fraid  Jack
'Cause he eating like curry barb wire and dahl...uhmm
In the FIFA  he did so well
That he leave he home and  buying million dollar hotels
But I 'fraid, [ah 'fraid]
They say the  fella, who investigate him here
Still  cyar make the trip over here
But I keeping out of that, ah 'fraid the  Ac 34t.

Like my friends, dem want to retreat but pushing me in the heat
They say them big boys was small, now they walking ten feet tall
Who used to live just like rats, now all over more Trinidad and North America
 they building flats
Another used to sell  doubles, now he buy out the whole highway  lot
Doh ask me, ah 'fraid Jack, ah 'fraid Jack
The Better  Kingpin  from  Felicity...uhmm
They say he is ah  is an ace in running football but also a damn good people buyer
But ah 'fraid, [ah 'fraid]
They say government pass the 34 bill so that all they pals could get off at will
But I keeping out of that, ah 'fraid the Act 34.

Re: 'KoolAid' inTnT Politics
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2013, 12:12:06 PM »
The Sinking Ship…
Apologies to Gypsy   
This is an SOS from the Trinidad
Location seven miles off the coast on Venezuela
SOS! SOS! Mayday! Mayday! Mayday!
Help! Help!
The Trinidad a luxury liner
Sailing the Caribbean Sea
With an old captain named Eric Williams
For years sailed smooth and free
But sadly, Eric Williams passed away
The ship hit rough water that day
Someone turned the bridge over
To a captain named  Kamla
Meh blood crawl, thinks start to fall
Hold meh head when a sailor bawl
Chorus
Captain this ship is sinking
Captain these seas are rough, oh yes
We gas tank almost empty
No electricity, we oil pressure reading low
Shall we abandon ship
Or shall we stay on it and perish slow
We doh know, we doh know
Captain you tell we what to do
Vs 2
The Trinidad, oh she was a beauty
With wealth that few surpass
And in her day she sailed majestically
There were few in her class
Faithfully she fulfilled her sailors need
Some were overpowered by greed
And so they pilfered slow
Some took by bulk and go
Now she look dull, she ís at a lull
She could barely sit on her hull
Chorus
We gas tank almost empty
Shall we abandon ship
We doh know, we doh know
Vs 3
The Trinidad, in her day of sailing
She was a friend to one and all
She never once ever hesitated
To answer all SOS calls
And yes, well she always did her best
To help out those in distress
Now it ís so sad to see
She ís  in difficulties
Though she help jeer
Some ah dem cheer
And sarcastically declare
Chorus
Captain these seas are rough
We gas tank almost empty
Shall we abandon ship
Or shall we sit on it and perish slow
We doh know, we doh know
If only there is something I could have done to restore the credibility of this beautiful vessel
Money is no problem
Vs 4
Now there is a lot of fingers pointing
Suspicion PP running strong
Who ís to be blamed for all her failures
Who ís to be blamed for doing her wrong
Now please remember I’m warning you
For thirty years, she had the same crew
Who hold the keys to her vault
So we know who ís at fault
Now it ís up to you, it ís up to me
To make her worthy to go back to sea
Chorus
We gas tank almost empty
Shall we abandon ship
We doh know, we doh know
You tell we what to do
We doh know, we doh know
Captain you tell we what to do Put up a flag
Oh gosh we doh know
Can we turn to the MP from Chaganus for help

« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2013, 12:48:07 PM »
So what exactly is your point as it eludes me as you are mixing racial politics, self-aggrandizement and ethics or the lack thereof.

« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2013, 01:25:45 PM »
So what exactly is your point as it eludes me as you are mixing racial politics, self-aggrandizement and ethics or the lack thereof.

+1

« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2013, 04:52:53 PM »
Take out of it what you want. I am not sympathizing with any party; I am simply commenting on teh state of politics as I read about it from the dailies. If people's political bias are offended, that was not the intent as I see in each existing political entity in TnT  flaws that presents little to instill hope for a positive and affirmative future for all.

If you see politics based on race then that is ones prerogative to side that way if you see it as something more then so be it- one could surmise that the politics which now exist in TnT is a combination of all. In my opinion, principles, ethics morality are all tossed absent - it would also be naive to think that race/ethnicity are not factors in how power is now being accorded.

« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2013, 08:00:37 AM »
What is the flavour of the month? It never seems to amaze me than some leaders would attribute the results to "tribalism" yet when they were campaigning in the east and bringing in Guyanese to speak on their platform, there was no mention of tribalism. When some politicians was big time leader yuh never see foot or tail of that person in places like Lavantille or hear of that person appealing to certain sectors of the population now that leader want to come say that the newly created party is for all. Getting booted from Renzi complex must force people to see they other colour.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2013, 08:31:43 AM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2015, 08:39:08 AM »
Here we go again on the eve of another  election- THINK TnT before you Ink!
DONT DRINK the YELLOW or GREEN kool aid- too much what appears to be sugar go make yuh sick!
« Last Edit: September 06, 2015, 10:04:19 AM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2015, 10:06:30 AM »
When  citizens refuse to take heed of what is going on and adhere to sentimental voting  you will witness the turning of power on the  masses leading them away like rats into a swer a cesspool of corruptible abyss.

In much the same way as the  Pied Piper who like a symbol of hope to the people of Hamelin which was attacked by plague we have  presently some parties fabricating doom and destruction- and allegations of utter proportions  if people don't return them to power.

“The evil in the world comes almost always from ignorance, and goodwill can cause as much damage as ill-will if it is not enlightened. People are more often good than bad, though in fact that is not the question. But they are more or less ignorant and this is what one calls vice or virtue, the most appalling vice being the ignorance that thinks it knows everything and which consequently authorizes itself to kill. The murderer's soul is blind, and there is no true goodness or fine love without the greatest possible degree of clear-sightedness.”
― Albert Camus, The Plague