March 28, 2024, 07:46:02 AM

Author Topic: Forum Rules and Guidelines comments.  (Read 21281 times)

Re: Forum Rules and Guidelines comments
« Reply #60 on: August 12, 2013, 08:01:24 AM »
I have been on this site since its inception and although I do not post as often. I am an avid reader of many of the post and topics.  Over the years, we have seen many posters come and go either because TNT football was active or not.  We have also had several moderators and the point of having a FAIR moderator in many ways is what makes this SOCAWARRIORS PLATFORM work.

Yes this platform is FREE and I am sure ALL of the posters are thankful....however, lets not forget it is also the views and input of the people that make this site what it is. This USE to be and I am of the belief it can still be a Positive SOCA WARRIORS COMMUNITY. It is with this, why a MODERATOR/MODERATORS should be someone that people respect and feel comfortable expressing there thoughts.   

You need a moderator/s who KNOW what there responsibilities are.....TO GUIDE constructive DISCUSSION, take criticism and from time to time lead discusssions, offer ideas. 

So if Flex and Tallman own this site...yes it is there forum but this forum would not be what it is without the people.  Here are a some Recommendations

1Have a vote for a Moderator -people can nominate u or can nominate yourself. 

2.Moderator elections are a 3 month maximum (if the SOCA WARRIORS Community is not happy, call new elections within 1 month).  A selection panel of people who have more than a 1000 post of 5 people who can oversee the elections.

3.Instead of having 1 moderator where there is over focus on one...what not have 2-3 moderators who can collaborate and be forced to work hand in hand to ensure a better and more progressive socawarrior online community.

4.You could have a moderator specifically for the football discussion, another for cricket, another for everything else...However, they should all be able to provide incite in each other discussions.

5.Allow moderators regardless of sex, age disparity, et al.  A mix, diversity, young moderators and older moderators, male, females. 

6. Create a red flag system whereby if the online community arent happy...and an individual gets 5 hits..He/She has to face the penalty of being banned for 3 months or be given consent by the moderators after discussion with Flex and Tallman regarding why the individual was red flagged.

7.Flex/Tallman must also abide by fair rules and ensure that there is NO favouritism for anyone...This is your platform...Don't lower your standards because he/she say "well ah wuz only kicksing" .....

8.Bring back respectability to this online community by ensuring we all stop targeting each other and show why as MaxG pointed out "Every Creed and Race can find an Equal place" and respect Ourselves. 

Thanx for your feedback. We already have moderators for the different categories.

However, for future references, when choosing a next moderator, we will post a thread for nominees from the board to choose who they want. In the past, I was looking for a local female moderator but the few I asked declined.

Also, we have in every board, 3 or more moderators. In this section, we have 4.

As for you guys, most of you are valid members, some though, adds nothing positive and just complaint about everything.....

« Reply #61 on: August 12, 2013, 08:59:38 AM »
Flex, ah surprised honestly that you make bakes a mod without even reading the mess he does post. Ah mean really?! Well maybe that is a rule to add: review posts of prospective mods.

I wonder if I had given you (as any other) a mod position if you would have echoed the same sentiments?

respectfully, i would have never put you in that position. i know there are a few forumites that doh agree with my point of view on things and i've had a few blowups (JC most recently) and it's common sense that a moderator role should be widely acceptable to the forum. frankly bakes should have recused or excluded himself from consideration but apparently he unaware or delusional of his c*ntish ways.

flex, you, tallman, e-man, socapro, andre samuel do fine jobs as moderators and this is based on respect. like tony soprano say, those how get respeck give respeck and bakes doh have this kinda track record sad to say.

Anyways, the situation with Bakes as Mod has been over and done with. He is here to stay.

well, de forum go apply a cyber "code red" if/when bakes fall outta line  ;)

Next time, I will post a poll and do it differently and yes, fairer. I also said this a while ago, but people dont read and then come back and asked the same questions 6 months later.

fair enough. doh get me wrong flex, you is a boss. thanks for all the work you do.  :beermug: :beermug:

Re: Forum Rules and Guidelines comments.
« Reply #62 on: August 12, 2013, 09:16:41 AM »
Flex, thanks for the explaining the process behind the scenes.

As some might say this site is a home away from home.

Let's keep the positive vibes going!!

« Reply #63 on: August 12, 2013, 09:21:27 AM »

Decent post, however, posters like Mango Chow is not making the site a pleasant place to be. His constant cussing at members
I am sure is scaring away many. If anything he is making the site into a worst place.

I think the moderators need to do something about this guy, he has absolutely no respect for anyone. He uses cuss words constantly, not sometimes yuh know, constantly. My wife use to post here and refuse because of people like this chap.

This site I am sure now does not need this forum. The forum was built for a luxury for use to use is like big men and women, not some babyish behavior all off the time.

*yawn* listen, hoss, my posts wasn't scaring away nobody dat "bakes" own wasn't, neither in quantitative nor qualitative terms of obscenity and it is not POSSIBLE for anybody on this forum, let alone  me, to have had as much confrontation with great a number of different posters as he has so tell yuh wife it safe now, she could come out from de bomb shelter where yuh have she hidin'.  Ah know yuh go say yuh either doh have de time or interest, but you are free (especially for the sake of your own credibility) to go and look at 99.9% of my posts, going all the way back to 2006.  Yuh miss it yesterday when yuh was climbing all dem stairs but I threw out my stats and unfortunately, the mods and dem deleted my post.  I will repeat them (paraphrase because it is not exact or scientific) for your benefit and that of anyone else that may be running to join your wife in holy protective seclusion:  99% of my posts are obscenity-free. (+/- 2 or 3 %)  Of the ones that ARE laced with obscenities, 99.9% of them have been, especially over the past 2-3 years, have been all directed towards ONE person/thing and I do not offer any apologies for that. The other 1% that has been directed at, as you put it, "ALL the other posters"  ::) is well within the forum's precedented levels of acceptability.   Even the other people whose views I may have been the most opposed to, or I have had the most disagreements and/or confrontations with, like Kicker, Ryan, Just cool, ribbit, and a few others, even THEY would tell you yuh talkin' shit.  Now if yuh want to say that my "tirades" towards King Jackass has been a turnoff, then I can totally accept that....but be the big man you say you are and stop exaggerating like^^that.  It makes your post look downright untruthful and THAT, my boy, suggests a character trait your wife should REALLY running and hiding from.

Flex, before allyuh delete this one, too, here is a suggestion I would like to make: for the sake of this so-called "transparency" that everybody is talking about, but for what I see more as "credibility", maybe allyuh could implement a program like what YouTube has, that flags and hides our (my) posts instead of deleting them.  It is downright laughable to see the kinda nonsensical claims that people like errol here are making without the ability on his part to support his claim or my (our) ability to refute them.  Even your claim that people are "only complaining" is a bit exaggerated.  Maybe we are discussing a specific subject for too long (but that. clearly speaks volumes in and of itself, considering what it is) but that statement cyah be true. and, by the way, what constitutes or what does it take to be a "valid member"? It have forms yuh hadda full out? I want one, please.  Respeck  :beermug: 

Offline Debbie

« Reply #64 on: August 12, 2013, 09:49:09 AM »
I have been here a while now just do not post. And for your information Flex, when posters cuss and act stupid it does scare one from posting because you do not want to be picked or cuss on.

I do not mind be corrected, just don't like some of the confrontation here (I:E: Mango Chow and just cool are two I normally stay away from).

Bakes, is also sometimes confrontational, but he keeps things in prospective, he as a moderator, needs to now set examples and other should not judge him from past incidents, I ASSUME he has clean up his act?

I do like reading posts from, Football supporter, coops, Socapro, D.H.W, rotatopoti3, Brownsugar, Palos, royal, Preacher, Sando, Errol, A.B Trini, Big magician, Sam, Deeks, Trini _2018 and now maxg. Sorry if I miss a few but I am still getting use to things around here.

Flex, Tallman, you guys are doing a splendid job here and you need to put some of these posters in they place instead of trying to convince or explain anything to them.

Star Child, triniairman and maxg are some of the post I tend to side with.

My 2 cents, please go easy on me.  ;)

PS: Good luck to our team in the World Championship, I hope to see us medal in the 4x1 relay both men and women.

« Last Edit: August 12, 2013, 10:01:04 AM by Debbie »

« Reply #65 on: August 12, 2013, 10:09:03 AM »
when allyuh makin cow heel soup, allyuh does put de dumplin in first or last?

« Reply #66 on: August 12, 2013, 10:11:50 AM »
Inaddition to the above rules Tallman posted.

What is considered a violation.

1. "Excessive" obscene language. Discretion is being asked of members, and will be applied by the moderators, but please keep any obscene language to a minimum. Many here use the occasional obscene language, and while the preference is that NO ONE uses obscene language, we have decided against a zero-tolerance policy for now.

2. Racism in any form is not welcomed on this site and will not be tolerated at all. This includes references to anyone’s race in a derogatory manner, whether it involves the use of racial pejoratives or not.  Racial pejoratives (such as the “N-word” and “C-word” [examples]) will ABSOLUTELY NOT BE TOLERATED.

3. Pornographic links, videos and photos.

4. Spamming and Advertisements.

5. Constant bashing of anyone (players, coaches, members and especially moderators) in public. It is not our intent to censor anyone’s comment or tell anyone that they cannot criticize players, coaches etc.  However, please keep any criticism in context.  Remember, SW.net is a unique resource/outlet/window on talent from TnT.  The site is more comprehensive and interactive than the TTFA’s website and the PFL… probably more than both combined.  We are a destination site for players, coaches, journalists, foreign scouts, agents, parents etc.  It does not look right for players to be constantly targeted with relentless bashing.  More importantly, forget how it “looks”, it may be harmful to their career/reputation when a foreign scout who may not be as familiar with the player, comes to the site, only to constantly read that “Player X is a rank shithong.”  Please keep the criticism constructive where you can, and where you can’t, then please limit the negativity.  Remember, we are a SUPPORTER site first… by definition, one cannot support and tear down at the same time.

6. Bumping your thread so it will constantly be on the top.

7. Posting news without proper credit/source/link. We work hard here at SW.net to get interviews and to put out information to the public that we get as the result of our unique relationships within the footballing community.  We do not take kindly when anyone else re-posts our material elsewhere without proper attribution and in the past have even had to threaten legal action in some instance.  THEREFORE, please include links to any newspaper or website article taken from elsewhere and posted on socawarriors.net.  We are happy that individuals are taking the initiative to bring information to share with others, but please be responsible in how you do it.  Even if you do not provide a link, let the reader know where the article is being taken from, and format like this;

Your Headline Here
By Inshan Mohammed (or whomever the author is), Socawarriors.net (or name of publication/website here)

This will help make the site look more professional, consistent, and will improve our relationships with outside sources all the time.  If you forget then the moderators will try and pick up the slack, but if you can remember to comply then please do, it will make things easy on everyone.  Repeated violators of this policy will be subject to the usual warnings etc. if in the estimation of the moderators it is being done willingly.  No one want that however, we appreciate posters bringing and sharing info as said, we are just trying to streamline things.

Note: Identities cannot be revealed.  People use sobriquets, noms de plum, “handle” what have you for many reasons, none of which we care about.  This privacy decision has been in place from day one and MUST be respected. Anyone caught posting private information about others on the site, including moderators using their privilege for this purpose, WILL BE BANNED. However, if constant spamming is taking place then identities will be revealed via PM and further action will be taken.

Solutions

1. If someone gets you angry or is constantly picking on you. Send a Personal Message (PM) to a moderator and CC in the culprit too (if you like) - so that he/she is aware of the situation.

2. If problem continues send the moderator involved a PM and CC all other moderators.

3. No one is to go public and accuse, assume or make any public attack (directly confronting) on any moderator. If you have a problem we advise you to take it via PM. Remember, we are not full time here and may require a little assistant from posters to help point out offensive posts. Do not assume we are not doing our jobs or are favoring anyone, if no one says anything then we more than likely will not be aware there is a problem, so by you pointing out the problem you will allow us to address it.

4. If there is a thread that someone takes exception to, but the thread doesn’t really contain any offensive or prohibited conduct, then that is more of a personal problem and action (if needed) will be taken at the moderators’ discretion.

5. We also advise you that when replying to someone whether on the forum or via PM please use the QUOTE option this way everything said can be recorded making your argument a little more valid.

Note: If someone is making a joke and says its a joke, no offence is committed, the solution is; the post will be edited or deleted at the moderator's discretion. Guys let me also remind you that there is an ignore option in your settings where you can add ones name to it and all of his or her post will not show up on your signing. You do not need to constantly PM us for small stuff. And off course if its a really bad offense then we will get immediately involved.

DISCIPLINE

1st offence will be issued a yellow card and the offending post deleted.

2nd offence will be a temporary 30-day suspension and the offending post deleted.

3rd offence will be a longer ban at the discretion of the moderators and the offending post deleted.

Note: If the violator acts in the extreme then punishment will be more severe and may vary and, violators will be revealed to the public so other posters are aware. Feel free to contact any moderator via e-mail to find out the length of the ban.

N.B. This list by no means is intended to be comprehensive and can be amended at any time without notice.  By continuing to visit and post on www.socawarriors.net, you the member acknowledge that you have read and agree to abide by the terms of membership of www.socawarriors.net. By continuing to the forum you agree with the terms of membership and with the forum rules and disciplinary procedures.

There are 3 types of members:

1) Criticizer - One who chooses to criticize everything and everyone despite its situation.

2) Traumatize - One who adds to everyone misery by blaming, whining and complaining. He/she complains about everything and everyone and adds nothing positive or constructive and does not process the ability to succeed.

3) Winners - One who possesses the strength of character to keep supporting, contributing and working through less-then optimal situations. The die-hard supporters who support and contribute in any situation or circumstances.

Now its your choice who you would like to be.

Guys, some members on the forum get carried away from time to time and now we are forced to make adjustments because we had one or two complaints. We are all big people here, why cant we carry-on like we should and can I mean, Trinis love old talk, but please don't take it to the extreme, no one wants to ban anyone. We really appreciate everyone contributions here, you are all valid members and we want to keep it that way. Make your contributions constructive, funny or however you like but cut out the excessive nonsense.

« Last Edit: August 12, 2013, 10:17:27 AM by Flex »

« Reply #67 on: August 12, 2013, 10:15:30 AM »
I have been here a while now just do not post. And for your information Flex, when posters cuss and act stupid it does scare one from posting because you do not want to be picked or cuss on.

I do not mind be corrected, just don't like some of the confrontation here (I:E: Mango Chow and just cool are two I normally stay away from).

Bakes, is also sometimes confrontational, but he keeps things in prospective, he as a moderator, needs to now set examples and other should not judge him from past incidents, I ASSUME he has clean up his act?

I do like reading posts from, Football supporter, coops, Socapro, D.H.W, rotatopoti3, Brownsugar, Palos, royal, Preacher, Sando, Errol, A.B Trini, Big magician, Sam, Deeks, Trini _2018 and now maxg. Sorry if I miss a few but I am still getting use to things around here.

Flex, Tallman, you guys are doing a splendid job here and you need to put some of these posters in they place instead of trying to convince or explain anything to them.

PS: Good luck to our team in the World Championship, I hope to see us medal in the 4x1 relay both men and women.

FYI it have  a track and field page how yuh go post bout track on the football page.

Debbie I joking eh. Like everything in life it have d good d bad and d ugly. So it have posters here in that category and some in the extremely bad and extremely ugly. Learn who in what category and when u see they post just skip it. It is a cyber rum shop and in the scheme of things when TTMF and TTEC and TSTT come calling and I cyah pay the very bad and very ugly posters here will not even be a thought. Some persons need a life and cyber space have given them 1.

« Reply #68 on: August 12, 2013, 10:16:25 AM »

Dutty I nominate you to moderate the miscelleaneous page.

« Reply #69 on: August 12, 2013, 10:20:04 AM »

I think we need to open a Trini Food or Cooking Tips Section for people like you....

« Reply #70 on: August 12, 2013, 10:21:50 AM »
waayyy 30 days ban... I feel I go dead... imagine when de site down for a day how it does be.

Solution: have some blasted behaviour! Ignore posts/posters that rile you up. be respectful. don't fraid to apologize.

30 days with no SW online... I wouldn't wish that on nobody.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #71 on: August 12, 2013, 10:26:00 AM »

1. "Excessive" obscene language. Discretion is being asked of members, and will be applied by the moderators, but please keep any obscene language to a minimum. Many here use the occasional obscene language, and while the preference is that NO ONE uses obscene language, we have decided against a zero-tolerance policy for now.

2. Racism in any form is not welcomed on this site and will not be tolerated at all. This includes references to anyone’s race in a derogatory manner, whether it involves the use of racial pejoratives or not.  Racial pejoratives (such as the “N-word” and “C-word” [examples]) will ABSOLUTELY NOT BE TOLERATED.

5. Constant bashing of anyone (players, coaches, members and especially moderators) in public. It is not our intent to censor anyone’s comment or tell anyone that they cannot criticize players, coaches etc.  However, please keep any criticism in context.  Remember, SW.net is a unique resource/outlet/window on talent from TnT.  The site is more comprehensive and interactive than the TTFA’s website and the PFL… probably more than both combined.  We are a destination site for players, coaches, journalists, foreign scouts, agents, parents etc.  It does not look right for players to be constantly targeted with relentless bashing.  More importantly, forget how it “looks”, it may be harmful to their career/reputation when a foreign scout who may not be as familiar with the player, comes to the site, only to constantly read that “Player X is a rank shithong.”  Please keep the criticism constructive where you can, and where you can’t, then please limit the negativity.  Remember, we are a SUPPORTER site first… by definition, one cannot support and tear down at the same time.

7. Posting news without proper credit/source/link. We work hard here at SW.net to get interviews and to put out information to the public that we get as the result of our unique relationships within the footballing community.  We do not take kindly when anyone else re-posts our material elsewhere without proper attribution and in the past have even had to threaten legal action in some instance.  THEREFORE, please include links to any newspaper or website article taken from elsewhere and posted on socawarriors.net.  We are happy that individuals are taking the initiative to bring information to share with others, but please be responsible in how you do it.  Even if you do not provide a link, let the reader know where the article is being taken from, and format like this;

Your Headline Here
By Inshan Mohammed (or whomever the author is), Socawarriors.net (or name of publication/website here)

This will help make the site look more professional, consistent, and will improve our relationships with outside sources all the time.  If you forget then the moderators will try and pick up the slack, but if you can remember to comply then please do, it will make things easy on everyone.  Repeated violators of this policy will be subject to the usual warnings etc. if in the estimation of the moderators it is being done willingly.  No one want that however, we appreciate posters bringing and sharing info as said, we are just trying to streamline things.

Note: Identities cannot be revealed.  People use sobriquets, noms de plum, “handle” what have you for many reasons, none of which we care about.  This privacy decision has been in place from day one and MUST be respected. Anyone caught posting private information about others on the site, including moderators using their privilege for this purpose, WILL BE BANNED. However, if constant spamming is taking place then identities will be revealed via PM and further action will be taken.

Solutions

1. If someone gets you angry or is constantly picking on you. Send a Personal Message (PM) to a moderator and CC in the culprit too (if you like) - so that he/she is aware of the situation.

2. If problem continues send the moderator involved a PM and CC all other moderators.

3. No one is to go public and accuse, assume or make any public attack (directly confronting) on any moderator. If you have a problem we advise you to take it via PM. Remember, we are not full time here and may require a little assistant from posters to help point out offensive posts. Do not assume we are not doing our jobs or are favoring anyone, if no one says anything then we more than likely will not be aware there is a problem, so by you pointing out the problem you will allow us to address it.

4. If there is a thread that someone takes exception to, but the thread doesn’t really contain any offensive or prohibited conduct, then that is more of a personal problem and action (if needed) will be taken at the moderators’ discretion.

5. We also advise you that when replying to someone whether on the forum or via PM please use the QUOTE option this way everything said can be recorded making your argument a little more valid.

Note: If someone is making a joke and says its a joke, no offence is committed, the solution is; the post will be edited or deleted at the moderator's discretion. Guys let me also remind you that there is an ignore option in your settings where you can add ones name to it and all of his or her post will not show up on your signing. You do not need to constantly PM us for small stuff. And off course if its a really bad offense then we will get immediately involved.

DISCIPLINE

2nd offence will be a temporary 30-day suspension and the offending post deleted.

3rd offence will be a longer ban at the discretion of the moderators and the offending post deleted.

Note: If the violator acts in the extreme then punishment will be more severe and may vary and, violators will be revealed to the public so other posters are aware. Feel free to contact any moderator via e-mail to find out the length of the ban.

N.B. This list by no means is intended to be comprehensive and can be amended at any time without notice.  By continuing to visit and post on www.socawarriors.net, you the member acknowledge that you have read and agree to abide by the terms of membership of www.socawarriors.net. By continuing to the forum you agree with the terms of membership and with the forum rules and disciplinary procedures.

1) Criticizer - One who chooses to criticize everything and everyone despite its situation.

2) Traumatize - One who adds to everyone misery by blaming, whining and complaining. He/she complains about everything and everyone and adds nothing positive or constructive and does not process the ability to succeed.

3) Winners - One who possesses the strength of character to keep supporting, contributing and working through less-then optimal situations. The die-hard supporters who support and contribute in any situation or circumstances.

Guys, some members on the forum get carried away from time to time and now we are forced to make adjustments because we had one or two complaints. We are all big people here, why cant we carry-on like we should and can I mean, Trinis love old talk, but please don't take it to the extreme, no one wants to ban anyone. We really appreciate everyone contributions here, you are all valid members and we want to keep it that way. Make your contributions constructive, funny or however you like but cut out the excessive nonsense.

Flex, thanks for posting those rules, man!  That's awesome! 

(Now I can break each rule one by one...heh heh heh)   

The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #72 on: August 12, 2013, 10:30:53 AM »
waayyy 30 days ban... I feel I go dead... imagine when de site down for a day how it does be.

Solution: have some blasted behaviour! Ignore posts/posters that rile you up. be respectful. don't fraid to apologize.

30 days with no SW online... I wouldn't wish that on nobody.

I had ah few a those and acknowledge that ah went overboard on more than ah couple times wit mih responses but ah does try to temper that dese days................try

« Reply #73 on: August 12, 2013, 10:31:32 AM »

IN my defense, Debbie, I have never engaged in any confrontation with nor have I ever been disrespectful towards any of the ladies on this form and that is something even the new moderator cannot say for himself or any of the mods or posters could say about me.  I could even tell you of one female poster that we no longer see on here, whose departure can be attributed in some way, to said moderator's conduct.  Even if we disagreed on anything or everything  under the sun, you would never have had to worry about my responses directed at you being out of hand in any way....I am sorry that you feel insecure about my posts, but it may surprise you to know that even I have standards.  I don't disrespect women or children and I do not make racist/racial attacks.   

« Reply #74 on: August 12, 2013, 10:38:59 AM »
FF.. Yuh thief meh thread, it's a conspiracy I tell yuh!  ;D

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #75 on: August 12, 2013, 10:49:43 AM »
In all seriousness...though I've had some run-ins with a couple of individuals on this site, who seem to initiate their approach to people the 'wrong way' to present a differing opinion, I always believe in moving past that petty 'debate' and may even gladly agree with that same individual on one of their own subsequent posts if I agree with that post.

Although this thread is about rules and guidelines, as the topic has changed I'll add my piece further:  I think what causes most of the friction here on all sides is when we hold grudges against each other.  And I'm ashamed to say that what we do here on this site is a bit of a microcosm of what we see on the roadways, the pavements, the business places, and the hallways of schools and government in T&T.  People are just too angry at each other.  We drive angry.  We shop angry. We work angry.  We debate and disagree angry.  We convene, compare, and contrast with each other angry.  We fight...we brawl...we shoot at the simplest infraction.  This isn't a nation where disagreements are amicably discussed.  This is an angry nation, and it definitely shows in how we conduct ourselves on social forums.

Everything we seem to do in T&T is done with an edge of bitterness, mistrust, and anger as the main ingredients in our doubles, bake and shark, roti, and red solo. 

People want to see a real positive change on T&T based website and forums???  Then look within and let’s avail ourselves with decorum and respect...and this applies for all members including moderators, and regular posters regardless of how much or how few comments we have.

Anyway, it is indeed okay to disagree and offer dissenting opinions...but it need not be done in anger ALL THE TIME.

In the end, as Shakespeare said: To thine own self be true.   

The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #76 on: August 12, 2013, 11:00:34 AM »
In all seriousness...though I've had some run-ins with a couple of individuals on this site, who seem to initiate their approach to people the 'wrong way' to present a differing opinion, I always believe in moving past that petty 'debate' and may even gladly agree with that same individual on one of their own subsequent posts if I agree with that post.

Although this thread is about rules and guidelines, as the topic has changed I'll add my piece further:  I think what causes most of the friction here on all sides is when we hold grudges against each other.  And I'm ashamed to say that what we do here on this site is a bit of a microcosm of what we see on the roadways, the pavements, the business places, and the hallways of schools and government in T&T.  People are just too angry at each other.  We drive angry.  We shop angry. We work angry.  We debate and disagree angry.  We convene, compare, and contrast with each other angry.  We fight...we brawl...we shoot at the simplest infraction.  This isn't a nation where disagreements are amicably discussed.  This is an angry nation, and it definitely shows in how we conduct ourselves on social forums.

Everything we seem to do in T&T is done with an edge of bitterness, mistrust, and anger as the main ingredients in our doubles, bake and shark, roti, and red solo. 

People want to see a real positive change on T&T based website and forums???  Then look within and let’s avail ourselves with decorum and respect...and this applies for all members including moderators, and regular posters regardless of how much or how few comments we have.

Anyway, it is indeed okay to disagree and offer dissenting opinions...but it need not be done in anger ALL THE TIME.

« Reply #77 on: August 12, 2013, 11:47:14 AM »

Is the mods do it! Ban Flex!  ;D

« Reply #78 on: August 12, 2013, 12:10:33 PM »

O.M., I kind of agree, but I would exchange the word "anger" with the word "selfish". I think people, particularly on the roads, think of themselves first rather than considering the consequences of their actions on others. Using indicators is a prime example (and I can't believe you can fail your driving test if you use indicators!)
The site is the same. People want to talk how they want to without considering the effect of their post on their target or indiscriminate posters. Their need to vent their spleen can turn other posters away. But, as an open forum, I suppose everyone has a right to vent their feelings. But also, the Mods have the moral right to remove offending posts if they are brought to their attention.

« Reply #79 on: August 12, 2013, 12:17:59 PM »
and for the record, since everyone knows the mods and they have been transparent and we know eachothers real names, maybe bakes should also stop with the cowardly acts he does be on by talking about peoples names and parents and come out and be a real man and identify himself, rather than hiding behind a computer screen and sobriquet.

he should do the honorable thing since he is a mod and it demands transparency and objectivity. once again jmho

This thread is not about Bakes, we have the Bakes thread 5 months ago. It is also not about Flex or Tallman.

Its about Forum Rules and Guidelines.

bakes being a mod and abusing the rules and guidelines is an issue that should be addressed, its very relevant to this thread, its contradictory having a poster like him enforce rules on this site, when he is anything but objective and unbiased

« Reply #80 on: August 12, 2013, 12:43:17 PM »

Flex, Tallman.. I want meh thread back.. Or else!!

« Reply #81 on: August 12, 2013, 12:46:26 PM »
I reported a comment to the moderators around July 22.  I got 1 response acknowledging so at least 1 mod received the report. 4 weeks later the posts are still there and I haven't received any more responses.

So what is the turnaround time for these things?  I know you mods are busy so maybe you need more time.
I doh need to know what was done either. Maybe you decided that no action was necessary, or somebody apologised, but I think you mods should tell me something.
How do we know that reporting a post has any effect?

« Reply #82 on: August 12, 2013, 01:52:50 PM »
I reported a comment to the moderators around July 22.  I got 1 response acknowledging so at least 1 mod received the report. 4 weeks later the posts are still there and I haven't received any more responses.

Musta not have been anyting I say...pm's and warnings woulda been dispatched with the expediency and alacrity of a "Matrix" sentinel.  ::)

« Reply #83 on: August 12, 2013, 02:15:12 PM »

IN my defense, Debbie, I have never engaged in any confrontation with nor have I ever been disrespectful towards any of the ladies on this form and that is something even the new moderator cannot say for himself or any of the mods or posters could say about me.  I could even tell you of one female poster that we no longer see on here, whose departure can be attributed in some way, to said moderator's conduct.  Even if we disagreed on anything or everything  under the sun, you would never have had to worry about my responses directed at you being out of hand in any way....I am sorry that you feel insecure about my posts, but it may surprise you to know that even I have standards.  I don't disrespect women or children and I do not make racist/racial attacks.   

Agreed.  :beermug:

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #84 on: August 12, 2013, 03:07:48 PM »
A previous post said that all this is a microcosm of our country....couldn't be more true.

So a couple members get ban for overdoin it....well done.....whats the big deal? Folks really expect a Flex et al to scroll through the thousands and thousands of posts here to ban ppl?? Come nah man....give Flex a lil break nah.

So Bakes is a moderator.....whats the big deal? Does that make him more or less of a cyat? So he does rub a lot of ppl d wrong way....so what? This is a forum....we cyah like everybody and every decision d owners of d site make.

So ppl does get cuss up and get dey feelins hurt....so what? Las i check dis site aint oprah or dr phil....man/woman up and move on.

Jus grow to hell up and move on!!

« Reply #85 on: August 12, 2013, 04:14:38 PM »

Leh him come...  :devil:

« Reply #86 on: August 12, 2013, 04:17:06 PM »

So what is the turnaround time for these things?  I know you mods are busy so maybe you need more time.
I doh need to know what was done either. Maybe you decided that no action was necessary, or somebody apologised, but I think you mods should tell me something.
How do we know that reporting a post has any effect?

How did you report it ?

If its using the report option button, sometimes it goes into the Junk mail section.

However, if a mod reply you, then I am sure there could be many reasons why the post is still there, and yes, one of them could be the Mod fault.

Where is the post ?

You guys dont have to nit pick for everything, the rules was drawn up today, give peace a chance nah.

And you are correct, the mod should have update you.

However, if sometimes I dont reply you please dont feel bad, sometimes it gets crazy here.

« Last Edit: August 12, 2013, 04:19:21 PM by Flex »

« Reply #87 on: August 12, 2013, 04:20:10 PM »

Sweet !!!

« Reply #88 on: August 12, 2013, 04:21:01 PM »
Everyone has been positive thus far.

Thank you guys, lets keep the consistency..

« Last Edit: August 13, 2013, 09:08:26 AM by Flex »

« Reply #89 on: August 12, 2013, 04:33:06 PM »

Your Headline Here

Solutions

DISCIPLINE

Flex, thanks for posting those rules, man!  That's awesome! 

(Now I can break each rule one by one...heh heh heh)   

Flex,

how you come dong on de porn so man?? :'( :'(

Now my vast resovoir of knowledge will go to waste.  :o :o

Men like Palos go be at a loss.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: