March 28, 2024, 11:20:18 AM

Author Topic: Forum Rules and Guidelines comments.  (Read 21285 times)

Re: Forum Rules and Guidelines comments.
« Reply #90 on: August 12, 2013, 05:08:15 PM »

Flex,

how you come dong on de porn so man?? :'( :'(

Now my vast resovoir of knowledge will go to waste.  :o :o

Men like Palos go be at a loss.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Everybody know Palos so...  ;D

I feel this place will be better if we ban all Man Utd fans !!

« Reply #91 on: August 12, 2013, 05:44:14 PM »
I reported a comment to the moderators around July 22.  I got 1 response acknowledging so at least 1 mod received the report. 4 weeks later the posts are still there and I haven't received any more responses.

So what is the turnaround time for these things?  I know you mods are busy so maybe you need more time.
I doh need to know what was done either. Maybe you decided that no action was necessary, or somebody apologised, but I think you mods should tell me something.
How do we know that reporting a post has any effect?

How did you report it ?

If its using the report option button, sometimes it goes into the Junk mail section.

However, if a mod reply you, then I am sure there could be many reasons why the post is still there, and yes, one of them could be the Mod fault.

Where is the post ?

You guys dont have to nit pick for everything, the rules was drawn up today, give peace a chance nah.

And you are correct, the mod should have update you.

However, if sometimes I dont reply you please dont feel bad, sometimes it gets crazy here.

He reported this post:

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=60068.msg863853#msg863853

I responded and let him know the report was received.  Didn't really pay it any attention after that.

« Reply #92 on: August 12, 2013, 06:43:18 PM »

Flex,

First yuh take away meh thread, now yuh talking bout banning Man.United fans.. I think yuh going a little to far now. Consider yourseld ban from banning anybody for 30 days  ;D

« Reply #93 on: August 12, 2013, 06:48:16 PM »
Oh by the way bakes you where put in a tough spot ,being asked to monitor these men ,but yet retain your posting style .Look Triniairman ban a man before you did ,and hes not even a mod !
Anyway back to my exile !

It eh dat tough... the two aren't mutually exclusive.

« Reply #94 on: August 12, 2013, 06:52:52 PM »

Flex,

First yuh take away meh thread, now yuh talking bout banning Man.United fans.. I think yuh going a little to far now. Consider yourseld ban from banning anybody for 30 days  ;D

All we need is Rooney boss and it over...

« Reply #95 on: August 12, 2013, 07:01:02 PM »
I reported a comment to the moderators around July 22.  I got 1 response acknowledging so at least 1 mod received the report. 4 weeks later the posts are still there and I haven't received any more responses.

So what is the turnaround time for these things?  I know you mods are busy so maybe you need more time.
I doh need to know what was done either. Maybe you decided that no action was necessary, or somebody apologised, but I think you mods should tell me something.

How did you report it ?

If its using the report option button, sometimes it goes into the Junk mail section.

However, if a mod reply you, then I am sure there could be many reasons why the post is still there, and yes, one of them could be the Mod fault.

Where is the post ?

You guys dont have to nit pick for everything, the rules was drawn up today, give peace a chance nah.

However, if sometimes I dont reply you please dont feel bad, sometimes it gets crazy here.

He reported this post:

I responded and let him know the report was received.  Didn't really pay it any attention after that.

:rotfl: :rotfl: what a joke. de new moderator creating more work than he handling. good to know requests to the moderator getting ignored.

« Reply #96 on: August 12, 2013, 07:13:31 PM »
:rotfl: :rotfl: what a joke. de new moderator creating more work than he handling. good to know requests to the moderator getting ignored.

Being the half-wit that you are I'm really not surprised by this response.  All the moderators can see when a thread is reported.  It would be improper for me to take any kind of action when the report is about something I said/did.  It's up to the other moderators to act as they see fit.  It's a simple concept really... one you insist on struggling with.

« Reply #97 on: August 12, 2013, 07:47:51 PM »
Lol nah I doh respond to any and everything like I used to... or at least I doh take it as serious.  That's been the case years now.

« Reply #98 on: August 12, 2013, 09:52:55 PM »
when allyuh makin cow heel soup, allyuh does put de dumplin in first or last?

Dutty I nominate you to moderate the miscelleaneous page.

I co-sign that

« Reply #99 on: August 12, 2013, 10:29:15 PM »

Being the half-wit that you are I'm really not surprised by this response.  All the moderators can see when a thread is reported.  It would be improper for me to take any kind of action when the report is about something I said/did.  It's up to the other moderators to act as they see fit.  It's a simple concept really... one you insist on struggling with.

I agree that if a complaint is against a moderator, then they should not reply. However, in my view, a moderator should not be posting in a manner that may be felt to be insulting/offensive/dis respectful/aggressive/abusive, like the one above. Now it may be that it takes a time for a mod to become, shall we say, more passive.

You can tell when Flex or Tallman are getting vexed, but they are still respectful. Like a policeman is supposed to be. I still don't know why people want to be referees, and I can't understand why a forumite would become a mod, because you have to learn to button your lip.

Bakes, I take my hat off to you for volunteering, and I appreciate that, like a referee, your work will be often criticised and unappreciated, however, I feel that as much as you have mellowed out, some of your responses are still inflammatory and that kinda goes against my understanding of the moderator role. (That's not to say you should take abuse, but maybe a response should be made behind the scenes?)

« Reply #100 on: August 13, 2013, 12:02:08 AM »
I agree that if a complaint is against a moderator, then they should not reply. However, in my view, a moderator should not be posting in a manner that may be felt to be insulting/offensive/dis respectful/aggressive/abusive, like the one above. Now it may be that it takes a time for a mod to become, shall we say, more passive.

You can tell when Flex or Tallman are getting vexed, but they are still respectful. Like a policeman is supposed to be. I still don't know why people want to be referees, and I can't understand why a forumite would become a mod, because you have to learn to button your lip.

Bakes, I take my hat off to you for volunteering, and I appreciate that, like a referee, your work will be often criticised and unappreciated, however, I feel that as much as you have mellowed out, some of your responses are still inflammatory and that kinda goes against my understanding of the moderator role. (That's not to say you should take abuse, but maybe a response should be made behind the scenes?)

I appreciate everything you said.  However, see Qmire's post above... ribbit knows why he said what he said, and I'm sure he knows full well why I said what I said.  That aside, I think it also has a lot to do with you and others' understanding of the role of "moderator." I was asked to help out and that's what I'm doing.  I didn't 'volunteer' for sainthood or model poster or anything like that.  For all we know two months from now Flex and I might decide this ent working out... as well it might.  I plan on being myself either way.  Moderator or not, I am subject to the same rules as everybody else, no more, no less.  Same standard.

« Reply #101 on: August 13, 2013, 01:01:23 AM »

I appreciate everything you said.  However, see Qmire's post above... ribbit knows why he said what he said, and I'm sure he knows full well why I said what I said.  That aside, I think it also has a lot to do with you and others' understanding of the role of "moderator." I was asked to help out and that's what I'm doing.  I didn't 'volunteer' for sainthood or model poster or anything like that.  For all we know two months from now Flex and I might decide this ent working out... as well it might.  I plan on being myself either way.  Moderator or not, I am subject to the same rules as everybody else, no more, no less.  Same standard.

.....then you shouldn't be turning around and claiming any special protection as "moderator" and sending people no pm's with no yellow card warnings. If yuh want to c**t inue being a c**t....then play yuh role, wear the crown and accept whatever backlash comes with it.  FOH!

« Reply #102 on: August 13, 2013, 05:19:51 AM »
Guys, like everything else.

If Bakes or any moderator is constantly using offensive words to anyone, the SAME RULES APPLIES !!!!!

If you read the rules is says some obscene language can be used and Bakes did not use any Vulgarity here.

However, as a moderator, one has to carry himself a little better and Bakes IMO has improved.

Again, the rules applies to everyone.

Anyone gets out of hand just send us a PM and we will handle it.

FS have some valid points.

« Reply #103 on: August 13, 2013, 05:51:01 AM »

:yellowcard:
Since you volunteered to help out why don't you volunteer to quit!

« Reply #104 on: August 13, 2013, 06:05:47 AM »

It's funny, but this post kind of proves your responsibility to the role. I was wondering if I would get a "I doh give a s*it what yuh think" kinda response!!

I also think the whole "why is Bakes a mod" discussion has been well and truly rinsed and even the forum guidelines debate is becoming jaded.  Let's get back to football!!

« Reply #105 on: August 13, 2013, 10:01:30 AM »
Star Child, you said you don't contribute much, same here, I thank the mods for what they do and for the record this pales in comparison to the net positive from the site. When I saw the ban on Thur I did not have time to respond and was not going to, but I saw Flex's question at the top and so answered.

That said, we hold our players, admin and beloved TTFA to a level of transparency, consistency, and accountability -- Yes, I don't pay for use of the site but a question was asked to which I responded -- why would the very site that demands the above from the former be different?

Yes, rules are made to be followed, in a society, organization and this site is no different so all culpable posters deserved to be banned if they don't follow the rules, I did not disagree, where I took contention was the seeming lack of consistency, I know not Bakes from any walk of life, in fact there are precisely 2 people I really know on this site prior to its inception, so my issue with him is the seeming similar level of culpability. That said, I am told he has toned down, i'll give the benefit of the doubt, I don't read the site enough to really detect that difference...

How about the site is privately owned and funded?!  None of us are in a position to demand anything.  I understand some people not liking certain things but unless you have made it known before and it was ignored you can't just come now and start with accusations of favoritism and hypocrisy as some have done.  I personally know bakes over a decade now and I can say that I see a change in how he handles things on here.  When it start I can't say but is that really relevant?  Funny how this whole thing looks because it seems as if change was not necessary.  If someone change for the better then why so many dwelling in the past?  Is it that we feel JC wasn't going completely overboard and needed to be dealt with?  If 10 cars speeding down the highway and only one get's pulled over is the police biased or simply elected to deal with the one that caught his eye?  As a bystander would you say it's unfair that one got caught and the others got away?  Why or why not?

Flex if I were you I wouldn't change how you guys go about appointing mods at all because if people indifferent or like the choice they would not say a single word about transparency and fairness, they would simply roll with it and be cool.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2013, 10:05:06 AM by Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ »

« Reply #106 on: August 13, 2013, 10:51:10 AM »
Star Child, you said you don't contribute much, same here, I thank the mods for what they do and for the record this pales in comparison to the net positive from the site. When I saw the ban on Thur I did not have time to respond and was not going to, but I saw Flex's question at the top and so answered.

That said, we hold our players, admin and beloved TTFA to a level of transparency, consistency, and accountability -- Yes, I don't pay for use of the site but a question was asked to which I responded -- why would the very site that demands the above from the former be different?

Yes, rules are made to be followed, in a society, organization and this site is no different so all culpable posters deserved to be banned if they don't follow the rules, I did not disagree, where I took contention was the seeming lack of consistency, I know not Bakes from any walk of life, in fact there are precisely 2 people I really know on this site prior to its inception, so my issue with him is the seeming similar level of culpability. That said, I am told he has toned down, i'll give the benefit of the doubt, I don't read the site enough to really detect that difference...

How about the site is privately owned and funded?!  None of us are in a position to demand anything.  I understand some people not liking certain things but unless you have made it known before and it was ignored you can't just come now and start with accusations of favoritism and hypocrisy as some have done.  I personally know bakes over a decade now and I can say that I see a change in how he handles things on here.  When it start I can't say but is that really relevant?  Funny how this whole thing looks because it seems as if change was not necessary.  If someone change for the better then why so many dwelling in the past?  Is it that we feel JC wasn't going completely overboard and needed to be dealt with?  If 10 cars speeding down the highway and only one get's pulled over is the police biased or simply elected to deal with the one that caught his eye?  As a bystander would you say it's unfair that one got caught and the others got away?  Why or why not?

Flex if I were you I wouldn't change how you guys go about appointing mods at all because if people indifferent or like the choice they would not say a single word about transparency and fairness, they would simply roll with it and be cool.

I starting to feel the same way.

Because at the end of the day, I have to get people who will work with and for the SWO benefit to help ease some of the work load.

Thanx for your input.

« Reply #107 on: August 13, 2013, 11:19:26 AM »
just to be clear...contrary to what might be popular opinion. I on the site to get football info about TT, cause i'm a fan of the country where i was born. However, I'm on the Forum to make friends, and meet ppl with the same interest as me, and get different perspectives. Yes, I looking for friends, and have made quite a few already, they have met my family and I theirs, and we have had good limes in each other cities, and i consider them great people, full love and respect, me doh have no shame to express that.
 Otherwise, what's the point of posting, ah mean, you could instead just get yuh info an go or/and you could adversely try to make enemies, but I don't think that is a normal healthy adult goal in life.

« Reply #108 on: August 13, 2013, 11:28:57 AM »
I have an idea any tread that gets outta control ,which rarely ever happens here .Should be locked to the general public ! So the only way you can read that comess is to login and be nosey ,then get your self all offended on your own accord !
If that possible to do i.e.

« Reply #109 on: August 13, 2013, 11:32:41 AM »

Because at the end of the day, I have to get people who will work with and for the SWO benefit to help ease some of the work load.

Thanx for your input.

Aye Flex and Bakes, I only weighed in once to point out a couple a points that I felt characterized Bakes past on-line personality. He called my points "nitpicking" but what I wanted to point out that those two "nitpicking" points were central to the thesis regarding his past online personality as described by a few posters in this thread.

However, my take on Bake's online personality does not give me any right to demand anything of you (as noted by Scorpion) other than to report posts that violate the rules of the forum.

And if forum rules are constantly violated or ignored, I have the right to leave if I don't like it.

Nobody forcing me to stay on the site.

So Flex, hats off to you and the team for operating this site which is likely demanding at the best of times. Soliciting feedback is a healthy way to get input to make the forum successful. But people have to realize that there is a fine line between demanding change vs constructive feedback.

So here is to many more years of an entertaining forum  :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #110 on: August 13, 2013, 12:51:37 PM »
just to be clear...contrary to what might be popular opinion. I on the site to get football info about TT, cause i'm a fan of the country where i was born. However, I'm on the Forum to make friends, and meet ppl with the same interest as me, and get different perspectives. Yes, I looking for friends, and have made quite a few already, they have met my family and I theirs, and we have had good limes in each other cities, and i consider them great people, full love and respect, me doh have no shame to express that.
 Otherwise, what's the point of posting, ah mean, you could instead just get yuh info an go or/and you could adversely try to make enemies, but I don't think that is a normal healthy adult goal in life.

Dan it ha no shame in dat whatsoever.  I feel similar to you.  I like the idea of liming and enjoying football whether is talk about it, watching it, or even takin ah lil chook.  I stay here so I know wha goin on with we country football but I doh mind de banter. 

Everybody personality different so I not trying to tell nobody what to be or not be offended by.  I just find sometimes people does get carried away (not just on this site) with what they feel is their rights online.  People need to keep in mind that unless they contributing to the administration and upkeep of the site they have no true rights to try and dictate based on what they like how things should be.  Daz like bein in yuh parents house, doh pay no bills an actin like you should ha say.  I bet half of who complainin was never pullin da stunt at home with their parents.  Me eh ha no dog in defendin nobody buh ah man who does say de kinda tings Chow does say eh ha no business bringin nobody decorum into question.

« Reply #111 on: August 13, 2013, 12:54:54 PM »
The responses indicate that people really enjoy this hear lil forum. This forum hear serve a lil purpose as you know if it was not for Eman astuteness the warriors would not have known how much money they were entitled to.

So stop being like someTrinis and try to spoil vomit.

« Reply #112 on: August 13, 2013, 01:01:44 PM »

Thanx for your input.

Aye Flex and Bakes, I only weighed in once to point out a couple a points that I felt characterized Bakes past on-line personality. He called my points "nitpicking" but what I wanted to point out that those two "nitpicking" points were central to the thesis regarding his past online personality as described by a few posters in this thread.

However, my take on Bake's online personality does not give me any right to demand anything of you (as noted by Scorpion) other than to report posts that violate the rules of the forum.

And if forum rules are constantly violated or ignored, I have the right to leave if I don't like it.

Nobody forcing me to stay on the site.

So Flex, hats off to you and the team for operating this site which is likely demanding at the best of times. Soliciting feedback is a healthy way to get input to make the forum successful. But people have to realize that there is a fine line between demanding change vs constructive feedback.

So here is to many more years of an entertaining forum  :beermug: :beermug:

Thanx Pecan and you are right, sometimes its the small stuff that makes a difference and how we say things too.

Anyways, we thankful for you guys continued support.

« Reply #113 on: August 13, 2013, 01:02:27 PM »
The responses indicate that people really enjoy this hear lil forum. This forum hear serve a lil purpose as you know if it was not for Eman astuteness the warriors would not have known how much money they were entitled to.

First time ah hear tha one.

« Reply #114 on: August 13, 2013, 01:04:19 PM »
I have an idea any tread that gets outta control ,which rarely ever happens here .Should be locked to the general public ! So the only way you can read that comess is to login and be nosey ,then get your self all offended on your own accord !
If that possible to do i.e.

We had mention something like this before where public is not allowed to view post. But I dont have the technicalities to do such. Tallman is de man for that.

« Reply #115 on: August 13, 2013, 01:30:49 PM »

What I really want to know iz, who thief Weary login info and constructing these long post...
Iz years not we get used to de co-sign responses...But bear with us as dis go obviously take some time to soak een...
Any way keep it up, as yuh input is always valued no matter the length... ;D

« Reply #116 on: August 13, 2013, 01:31:39 PM »

How did you report it ?

Where is the post ?

He reported this post:

« Reply #117 on: August 13, 2013, 01:41:48 PM »

He reported this post:

Steups yuh ha to be fackin jokin!!!

Peong what exactly you want done with that?  Should it be deleted?  If yes what about all the other posts that have similar language?  Do you feel as if people who have their own living to tend to should be pouring over every post that is made in order to clean it up?  Were you actually offended by that or is it about the poster himself?  You lucky yuh get ah response caw if was me I jess steups an on to de nexx one.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2013, 01:50:23 PM by Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ »

« Reply #118 on: August 13, 2013, 02:10:08 PM »

What I really want to know iz, who thief Weary login info and constructing these long post...
Iz years not we get used to de co-sign responses...But bear with us as dis go obviously take some time to soak een...
Any way keep it up, as yuh input is always valued no matter the length... ;D

U very idle just sayin. Feel free to co-sign

« Reply #119 on: August 13, 2013, 02:12:33 PM »

First time ah hear tha one.

Feel free 2 borrow. No need to pay back tomorrow.