March 28, 2024, 04:37:15 PM

Author Topic: Trinis in Action (Aug 9-11, 2013)  (Read 2893 times)

Trinis in Action (Aug 9-11, 2013)
« on: August 09, 2013, 02:43:45 PM »
Friday, August 9th

United Soccer League Pro Division
Wilmington Hammerheads
2-1 Dayton Dutch Lions
Bentick, Uriah (full game)

Saturday, August 10th

English League Championship
Blackpool
1-0 Barnsley
Scotland, Jason ( 58')
Ipswich Town
3-0 Millwall
Edwards, Carlos (started, 63')
Charlton
0-1 Middlesbrough
Hoyte, Justin (out injured)
English League One
Notts County
2-4 Peterborough
Boucaud, Andre (unused sub)
Colchester
1-0 Port Vale
Birchall, Chris (unused sub)
Scottish League One
Forfar Athletic
3-3 Airdrieonians
Andrews, Marvin (full game)
Belgian Jupiler League
Waasland-Beveren
0-0 KV Mechelen
Bateau, Sheldon (started, 62')
Hungarian National Championship
Győri ETO FC
1-2 Ferencvárosi
Adams, Akeem (full game)
Finnish Premier League
JJK Jyväskylä
0-0 FF Jaro
Winchester, Shahdon (out sick)
Persian Gulf Cup
Esteghlal FC
1-0 Saba Qom
Samuel, Jlloyd (not selected)
Major League Soccer
Columbus Crew
2-0 New York Red Bulls
Philadelphia Union
2-0 DC United
Daniel, Keon (full game)
Vancouver Whitecaps
2-0 San Jose Earthquakes
Mitchell, Carlyle (full game)
Cato, Cordell (started, 76')
North American Soccer League
Atlanta Silverbacks
1-1 Carolina Railhawks
James, Julius (full game, 66')
Ft. Lauderdale Strikers
1-2 Minnesota United
de Silva, Sean (unused sub)
Harrisburg City Islanders
3-1 VSI Tampa Bay
Richards, Damani (not selected)
Toby, Darren (started, 74')

Sunday, August 11th

Belgian Jupiler League
Racing Genk
0-2 Standard Liège
Hyland, Khaleem (started, 71')
Slovak Superliga
Košice
0-1 Slovan Bratislava
Peltier, Lester
Finnish Premier League
Rovaniemen Palloseura
0-2 Mariehamn
Guerra, Ataullah (not selected)
Vietnam Super League
Song Lam Nghe An
0-0 Ha Noi T&T
Hector, Hughtun
Plaza, Willis
Thai Premier League
Samut Songkhram
1-0 Chainat FC
Jagdeosingh, Kendall
Power, Seon
Thai Division 1
Phuket FC
2-0 Nakhon Pathom United
Samuel, Kordell
Orlando City
2-0 Seattle Sounders Reserves
Molino, Kevin (started, 1', 89')
Pittsburgh Rivehounds
3-2 VSI Tampa Bay
Toby, Darren (full game)
« Last Edit: August 11, 2013, 08:56:57 PM by Tallman »

Re: Trinis in Action (Aug 9-11, 2013)
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2013, 04:55:07 PM »
Nice to see Carlos back to playing "Real" football. Adams playing against Eto? Nice.

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2013, 05:33:14 PM »
Nice to see Carlos back to playing "Real" football. Adams playing against Eto? Nice.

And Hector and Plaza playing against T&T.

;)

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2013, 08:08:34 PM »

And Hector and Plaza playing against T&T.

;)

« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2013, 07:36:14 AM »
Nice to see the "Trinis in action" thread back in action again. Nice seeing a widening crop of players gradually spreading over the world, gaining new experiences for T&T's benefit and hopefully putting food on the table for their dependents

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2013, 09:29:37 AM »
Great to see this thread back! Hopefully our overseas players will put on a better showing than the homegrowns did this week in Champions league. Well maybe not W since half their team are from other countries.

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2013, 11:31:44 AM »
James Vaughan of Huddersfield Town is eligible and finally looking like he is over his injury problems. Started the season in good form, hopefully he will feature in "Trinis in Action" soon.

« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2013, 11:55:00 AM »
James Vaughan of Huddersfield Town is eligible and finally looking like he is over his injury problems. Started the season in good form, hopefully he will feature in "Trinis in Action" soon.

So far he is leaning towards representing Jamaica:

James Vaughan still waiting for Reggae Boyz call

Vaughan confirms interest in playing for Jamaica

« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2013, 05:49:10 PM »

I was told by someone in TTFA he is not eligible for T&T.

« Reply #9 on: August 11, 2013, 09:26:03 AM »
When I look at boucaud play, I can't read his story.  when I see any league one club, and our players could only make bench.., I really wonder if they, league one coaches, know what they doing and is just pub teams in ah organized administration setting. Birchall on range of experience alone, should be benching at least premier, and BouBou, could start any team at that level, In my opinion.. So what is it I not seeing or understanding...or do they only try they best for TT ?. Because I look at premier, and besides the high profile players, don't see any greater value, nor strength on those teams..and countless midfielders down in league one, is where these boys are...bs..something wrong with that system..

« Reply #10 on: August 11, 2013, 10:13:30 AM »
When I look at boucaud play, I can't read his story.  when I see any league one club, and our players could only make bench.., I really wonder if they, league one coaches, know what they doing and is just pub teams in ah organized administration setting. Birchall on range of experience alone, should be benching at least premier, and BouBou, could start any team at that level, In my opinion.. So what is it I not seeing or understanding...or do they only try they best for TT ?. Because I look at premier, and besides the high profile players, don't see any greater value, nor strength on those teams..and countless midfielders down in league one, is where these boys are...bs..something wrong with that system..
Boucaud does start and play plenty for Notts, man. He play the full game last week. He mostly in the mix.

But you letting sentiment blind you. Is a huge gulf in class between League One and Premiership. Huge. Remember Scotty ripping up League One, then ripping up the Championship, then going to the Prem and couldn't make a note (although, to me, he was playing good just couldn't score).

Them men might be good by our expectations, but that doh mean they's Prem quality. Even mighty Mexico/USA/Costa Rica dem fielding players who cyah make in de Prem, and still dey beating we steady. Man doh make Premiership (or even Championship) just so because dey could pass a ball or hustle good.

« Reply #11 on: August 11, 2013, 11:00:09 AM »
Boucaud does start and play plenty for Notts, man. He play the full game last week. He mostly in the mix.

But you letting sentiment blind you. Is a huge gulf in class between League One and Premiership. Huge. Remember Scotty ripping up League One, then ripping up the Championship, then going to the Prem and couldn't make a note (although, to me, he was playing good just couldn't score).

Them men might be good by our expectations, but that doh mean they's Prem quality. Even mighty Mexico/USA/Costa Rica dem fielding players who cyah make in de Prem, and still dey beating we steady. Man doh make Premiership (or even Championship) just so because dey could pass a ball or hustle good.

no no..i realize all that..i am aware of the difference in level, talent and monies of Premiership & League one. I fully understand why. I myself punched above my weight in Canada, and was on tour in Europe- different mentality already, and although having a successful tour - Denmark & Sweden, realized I was not ready to be in the class of National players, and at the time, not sure I could ever be....just playing in front of crowds of thousands can be intimidating..and that was practice game for them...I couldn't get rid of the ball fast enough, and didn't play my game..but these guys grow and live there, develop there, know the culture..so what the average mids in PFL do that is different, cause, my boys - Bou & Memum, didn't show me to much wrong on the field, recently and in the past, so is it also in their cases, off the field, or is it small fish in big pond syndrome, as you might suggest.. 
but just to pull names out of  a hat as an example..
Isaiah Brown,Chris Brunt,Graham Dorrans,James Morrison,Youssuf Mulumbu,Kemar Roofe,George Thorne,Claudio Yacob
2 levels better than our boys - doh I don't see it at all ? I not on the ground to see them day in dayout, then if they are as it seems everybody who is, seem to think so, what is it/they do that makes them so ? What is it, that our boys need to do ? Then we can work on our boys home, to raise their levels too..not so they can make English lauegue, but so we can raise our level and developmental awareness.
yes i biased, but I see them fellas play, not often, i'll admit, but them didn't show me much, ON the field, that I didn't see my boys give. Even including Memum changed game, which I feel is for the better, if not for TT. Gues my question must be then, what do those guys do, that I don't/not in a position to see ? I know the big game on the field.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2013, 11:02:19 AM by maxg »

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #12 on: August 11, 2013, 08:03:29 PM »

no no..i realize all that..i am aware of the difference in level, talent and monies of Premiership & League one. I fully understand why. I myself punched above my weight in Canada, and was on tour in Europe- different mentality already, and although having a successful tour - Denmark & Sweden, realized I was not ready to be in the class of National players, and at the time, not sure I could ever be....just playing in front of crowds of thousands can be intimidating..and that was practice game for them...I couldn't get rid of the ball fast enough, and didn't play my game..but these guys grow and live there, develop there, know the culture..so what the average mids in PFL do that is different, cause, my boys - Bou & Memum, didn't show me to much wrong on the field, recently and in the past, so is it also in their cases, off the field, or is it small fish in big pond syndrome, as you might suggest.. 
but just to pull names out of  a hat as an example..
Isaiah Brown,Chris Brunt,Graham Dorrans,James Morrison,Youssuf Mulumbu,Kemar Roofe,George Thorne,Claudio Yacob
2 levels better than our boys - doh I don't see it at all ? I not on the ground to see them day in dayout, then if they are as it seems everybody who is, seem to think so, what is it/they do that makes them so ? What is it, that our boys need to do ? Then we can work on our boys home, to raise their levels too..not so they can make English lauegue, but so we can raise our level and developmental awareness.
yes i biased, but I see them fellas play, not often, i'll admit, but them didn't show me much, ON the field, that I didn't see my boys give. Even including Memum changed game, which I feel is for the better, if not for TT. Gues my question must be then, what do those guys do, that I don't/not in a position to see ? I know the big game on the field.
Why did u only list players affiliated with West Brom?? Izzy Brown is now with the Chelsea U21s and he's starting @ age 16, also he played for West Brom in the prem last season aged 16. Good case with Kemar Roofe though who is not prem quality thats why he DOES NOT PLAY or even make the bench. Seems as if u tried to pick out weak players, u cant just  "pull names out of the hat" and get all players affiliated with West Brom but barring Kemar Roofe the rest are quality players.

« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2013, 08:41:53 PM »
the idea of using the WBA players as an example, was not by any means to say they are bad players, but to indicate that these not generally regarded big name players are not a cut, no, 2 cuts above our National players. It's not a matter of foreign player caps, nor lack of ability. They were used as reference to indicate our players are just as good, as opposed to just as bad. I can't call any player who makes his living playing in the Premiership weak, but relatively speaking, they may not be as influential in a match as say a Manboo or Chelski, big money player.Yes, I can pull players out of a hat, if I am to show, my boys are as good, if not better than the level they are riding pine in. Especially when their teams lose with them on the bench. League one is still plenty damn good, yet in my biased observation, I think my boys are just as good as some of the lesser known Top level players. So my question is, what is missing from their game, that they are not getting the opportunity to move up,as reglar starters within their own clubs or shoot for even higher goals with higher league players ? It must be something we not seeing on the field or it could be politics. I do not know. Just hoping somebody who lives there and experience or observe these selections might. Once we know, then I or anybody else can develop a plan to improve all our players chances for selection in whichever league we trying for. o you see where i'm going, if not where I'm coming from ?

« Reply #14 on: August 12, 2013, 09:59:05 AM »
Guerra is out of favour

« Reply #15 on: August 12, 2013, 11:00:53 AM »
Guerra is out of favour
For club, country or both?

« Reply #16 on: August 12, 2013, 12:03:52 PM »
Highlights of Kevin Molino's goal against the Seattle Sounders Reserves. Scored after just 36 seconds into the game, it is the fastest goal in the history of the Orlando City Soccer Club.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/KiymIBX_3Po" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/KiymIBX_3Po</a>