April 25, 2024, 09:17:00 PM

Author Topic: Gambling & Casinos Thread.  (Read 7379 times)

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
Re: T&T Casinos Thread.
« Reply #30 on: August 13, 2013, 07:15:36 PM »
Bakes, every comment you have made thus far on this thread has missed the mark. 

The problem is you are giving the CORRECT answers but to absolutely different questions and scenarios.  The answers you are providing has nothing to do with what I was discussing at all.

One of my first points was earlier in the thread was discussing PRIVATE US Citizens living and working abroad, yet still being subject to US taxes (a policy I don't agree with, since that citizen would be paying taxes in not one, but TWO jurisdictions).   However, you brought up a point about money leaving the USA, which had ABSOLUTELY ZERO relevance to someone living and working abroad.  What does flight of capital from the US fears have to do with a US citizen who lives abroad and works abroad, where the money never enters the US in the first place, farless LEAVE the US?

Almost ever point you have brought up here has indeed been the correct answer, but for a DIFFERENT question.  That is where you're confused, and what you appear to be ashamed to admit.   
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #31 on: August 13, 2013, 07:22:20 PM »
Bakes --- Clearly you cannot read English.  Where did I say that US Government workers are taxed differently that US Private Citizens??? 

Seriously...where did I say that?

Dude...I am saying that I DO NOT AGREE with the policy that both are taxed the same when LIVING AND WORKING ABROAD. 

I actually have to write this in huge capital letters because you cannot seem to understand and comprehend plain old simple English.

you need to go back and re-read the comments, because you are now sounding very lost and confused. 

You trying to play smart with foolishness... and this will be my last response on this.

As with every country, IF you work for the government, but you are based overseas, therefore you will still be subject to your home government's taxes.  For instance:  If you are a Trinidadian Citizen who works for the T&T Government in the T&T Embassy in the US, then you WILL indeed be subject to T&T's taxes (not the US taxes)...because you work for the T&T Government.  Same goes for US soldiers and US military contractors who happen to be based overseas.  Just because a US military contractor is based in Iraq, does not mean that the don't pay US taxes.  Yes...they STILL pay US taxes.

My example however is with regards to a US CIVILIAN who is NOT affiliated with the US Government.  Just a regular private citizen (totally unaffiliated with the US Government) who is living overseas, and working for a private enterprise overseas.  The US Government is de ONLY government that is requesting that the US citizen living abroad is still required to file a tax return.

Your suggestion is that it makes sense for the government to tax anyone working for the government overseas... but that you have a problem with them taxing a private citizen with no government connections, earning money overseas.  Clearly you missed the point about the Equal Protection Clause.  Everybody has to be taxed the same... there is no "well this makes sense... but that doesn't".

I read and understand plain old simple English fine... maybe you should try using it.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #32 on: August 13, 2013, 07:51:40 PM »
Bakes --- Clearly you cannot read English.  Where did I say that US Government workers are taxed differently that US Private Citizens??? 

Seriously...where did I say that?

Dude...I am saying that I DO NOT AGREE with the policy that both are taxed the same when LIVING AND WORKING ABROAD. 

I actually have to write this in huge capital letters because you cannot seem to understand and comprehend plain old simple English.

you need to go back and re-read the comments, because you are now sounding very lost and confused. 

You trying to play smart with foolishness... and this will be my last response on this.

As with every country, IF you work for the government, but you are based overseas, therefore you will still be subject to your home government's taxes.  For instance:  If you are a Trinidadian Citizen who works for the T&T Government in the T&T Embassy in the US, then you WILL indeed be subject to T&T's taxes (not the US taxes)...because you work for the T&T Government.  Same goes for US soldiers and US military contractors who happen to be based overseas.  Just because a US military contractor is based in Iraq, does not mean that the don't pay US taxes.  Yes...they STILL pay US taxes.

My example however is with regards to a US CIVILIAN who is NOT affiliated with the US Government.  Just a regular private citizen (totally unaffiliated with the US Government) who is living overseas, and working for a private enterprise overseas.  The US Government is de ONLY government that is requesting that the US citizen living abroad is still required to file a tax return.

Your suggestion is that it makes sense for the government to tax anyone working for the government overseas... but that you have a problem with them taxing a private citizen with no government connections, earning money overseas.  Clearly you missed the point about the Equal Protection Clause.  Everybody has to be taxed the same... there is no "well this makes sense... but that doesn't".

I read and understand plain old simple English fine... maybe you should try using it.

As I have clearly stated on this thread, the US is the only country that does this --- the only country that taxes it's citizens who live and work abroad.  This puts Private US citizens in a distress position as they are then subject in many cases to DOUBLE taxation; taxation from both the US and the country they're living in.

Also, it's very key that you understand that the US is the only country that hounds it's citizens even if they do not live and do not earn income from the US. 

If a Trini moves to the US and lives and works in the US in the private enterprise, is the Trini subject to T&T taxes?  Does the Trini have to file yearly taxes returns in T&T, even though they don't live and earn money in T&T?

The US does this --- the US taxes you regardless of if you live and make a living OUTSIDE of the US.  Anyhows, I stopped paying US taxes a LONG time ago, since my corporations are based offshore, and therefore not subject to US taxes.  As far I'm concerned, the US can fund their illegal wars and invasions and corporate bailouts with someone elses hard work and money. 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #33 on: August 13, 2013, 08:00:20 PM »
Bakes, next time I suggest you read the comments before you decide to post, because your earlier comments here send a clear message that you have trouble fully comprehending sentences presented to you.  The replies you posted is evidence that you do indeed have some intelligence, but you not quite there yet, as most of those responses were correct but for COMPLETELY DIFFERENT questions.

It's almost like I stated that "2+3 = 5", but you decide to jump in and belligerently proclaimed, "NO! THE SUN IS A STAR!!!"      ???

Again...you're giving the correct answers but for a completely different question that was not even brought up.  I actually thought you were posting in the wrong thread for a while to tell u de truth.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #34 on: August 13, 2013, 08:18:25 PM »
Bakes, another thing I wanted to add is that although I 'disagree' with your last comment, I wanted to extend a hand of congratulation to you since you FINALY at least decided to address the topic at hand, instead of going off-topic as you did in ALL your prior comments.

Good job finally coming to the topic, unlike the unrelated diatribe you subjected us to in basically every previous comments.  ;)  :beermug:

« Reply #35 on: August 13, 2013, 08:46:29 PM »

As I have clearly stated on this thread, the US is the only country that does this --- the only country that taxes it's citizens who live and work abroad.  This puts Private US citizens in a distress position as they are then subject in many cases to DOUBLE taxation; taxation from both the US and the country they're living in.

Also, it's very key that you understand that the US is the only country that hounds it's citizens even if they do not live and do not earn income from the US. 

If a Trini moves to the US and lives and works in the US in the private enterprise, is the Trini subject to T&T taxes?  Does the Trini have to file yearly taxes returns in T&T, even though they don't live and earn money in T&T?

The US does this --- the US taxes you regardless of if you live and make a living OUTSIDE of the US.  Anyhows, I stopped paying US taxes a LONG time ago, since my corporations are based offshore, and therefore not subject to US taxes.  As far I'm concerned, the US can fund their illegal wars and invasions and corporate bailouts with someone elses hard work and money. 

Canada does it:

"For example, your foreign income — even if it's a few hours a week serving coffee at a local café — may be taxed at source in that country. In all likelihood, you will also have to report that same income on your Canadian tax return because you are still a resident of Canada.

"In such a circumstance, the individual could be subject to tax in both countries on the same income," Brideau said."

The UK does it:

UK income tax is chargeable on any UK source income received by an individual in the UK if they are UK resident. Foreign income is subject to UK tax where the individual is either:

1. domiciled in the UK;
2. not domiciled in the UK but the income is remitted to the UK; or
3. not domiciled in the UK but the individual chooses to be taxed on the arising basis of taxation.

Germany does it:

"Personal income tax is imposed on the income of individuals, who are resident in Germany or have their normal place of abode there, have full income tax liability. All the income earned at home and abroad is subject to German tax."

Who else? France... Spain... Italy... Japan... the list goes on and on.

And as far as Double taxation (paying taxes to a foreign government abroad then having to pay US taxes on the same income)... there are treaties in place for just that.  Note that Trinidad is on the list... hence why Trinis earning money in the US don't pay a double tax.

The United States has tax treaties with a number of foreign countries. Under these treaties, residents (not necessarily citizens) of foreign countries are taxed at a reduced rate, or are exempt from U.S. taxes on certain items of income they receive from sources within the United States. These reduced rates and exemptions vary among countries and specific items of income. Under these same treaties, residents or citizens of the United States are taxed at a reduced rate, or are exempt from foreign taxes, on certain items of income they receive from sources within foreign countries. Most income tax treaties contain what is known as a "saving clause" which prevents a citizen or resident of the United States from using the provisions of a tax treaty in order to avoid taxation of U.S. source income.

I think is time you shut up and acknowledge that yuh talking without knowing what the hell yuh talking about.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #36 on: August 13, 2013, 08:57:27 PM »

Canada does it:

"For example, your foreign income — even if it's a few hours a week serving coffee at a local café — may be taxed at source in that country. In all likelihood, you will also have to report that same income on your Canadian tax return because you are still a resident of Canada.

"In such a circumstance, the individual could be subject to tax in both countries on the same income," Brideau said."

The UK does it:

UK income tax is chargeable on any UK source income received by an individual in the UK if they are UK resident. Foreign income is subject to UK tax where the individual is either:

1. domiciled in the UK;
2. not domiciled in the UK but the income is remitted to the UK; or
3. not domiciled in the UK but the individual chooses to be taxed on the arising basis of taxation.

Germany does it:

"Personal income tax is imposed on the income of individuals, who are resident in Germany or have their normal place of abode there, have full income tax liability. All the income earned at home and abroad is subject to German tax."

Who else? France... Spain... Italy... Japan... the list goes on and on.

And as far as Double taxation (paying taxes to a foreign government abroad then having to pay US taxes on the same income)... there are treaties in place for just that.  Note that Trinidad is on the list... hence why Trinis earning money in the US don't pay a double tax.

The United States has tax treaties with a number of foreign countries. Under these treaties, residents (not necessarily citizens) of foreign countries are taxed at a reduced rate, or are exempt from U.S. taxes on certain items of income they receive from sources within the United States. These reduced rates and exemptions vary among countries and specific items of income. Under these same treaties, residents or citizens of the United States are taxed at a reduced rate, or are exempt from foreign taxes, on certain items of income they receive from sources within foreign countries. Most income tax treaties contain what is known as a "saving clause" which prevents a citizen or resident of the United States from using the provisions of a tax treaty in order to avoid taxation of U.S. source income.

I think is time you shut up and acknowledge that yuh talking without knowing what the hell yuh talking about.

Bakes...you realize that you are not posting from reliable sources, right?  I'm guessing that you went on Google, and copy and pasted a few select responses from people who have no clue what they are talking about, and you're presenting it here as fact.

Why don't you also provide the source of the those postings that you copy and pasted.  I'll tell you this...you cannot believe everything you come across de internet.

I'll say it again:  The US is one of the only countries that requires private US citizens to file and pay taxes on income that they earn while living and working overseas.  Any other country that requires the filing of taxes on foreign earned income of their citizens living abraod, would be countries typically where the subject citizen in question has certain ties or commitments, or is still probably receiving some sort of government assistance or grants etc. 

However, typically if there are zero ties to the said government/country, the citizen of those other nations are not required to file, report, and pay taxes.  The US Government on the other hand requires US Citizens to file, report, and pay taxes regardless (though based on the double taxation issue, some of the income may not be taxed). 

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #37 on: August 13, 2013, 09:08:31 PM »
Bakes, since you were completely dishonest and shady in your last post with the poor examples you displayed, I want you to check out the link that goes into more detail about Canada.  And pretty much ALL other jurisdictions (except the US) treats taxation of their citizens living abroad in a similar fashion.   

Please note the details presented in point (1):

"....To cease residency in Canada, and cease paying taxes to Canada, you have to go about the process of severing residential ties. This means you must no longer have a place to live in Canada, that you have set up a place to live somewhere else, set up financial accounts in a new place, and, if married, have taken your family with you.

Tollstam said that the CRA used to use a 24-month time period to determine non residency, but that has since been eliminated from its guide. She said that basically a minimum of 18 to 24 months away from Canada is now required to be a non-resident."

http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/taxseason/story/2012/04/18/f-taxseason-filing-taxes-living-abroad.html

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #38 on: August 13, 2013, 09:18:15 PM »
Bakes, the example I posted above regarding Canada completely blows your long-winded copy-and-pasted shady post out of the water.  The link I posted does indeed show that Canadians would not be subject to foreign taxes if they are living and working abroad if they maintain no residences in Canada (and this rules applies to pretty much all other countries out there EXCEPT the US).  Again...the assumption in my earlier statement is that the foreigner living abroad has MOVED completely abroad and has pretty much severed all ties with their country of birth.  And again...I made the statement that I do not agree with the US policy of taxing a US citizen after have moved and from the US to another country to start a new life, basically severing ties with the US.   

Anyway, your argument has been proven lacking...invalid...nonsensical...and frankly misinformed and dishonest.   It's a shame that you cannot find the dignity and honour in admitting that u were wrong.  There is no dishonour in admitting that you were wrong.  Sometimes you need to man-up and put on your big-boy shorts, my friend.

There is no indignity or dishonour in admitting that you were wrong here, Bakes.   

« Reply #39 on: August 13, 2013, 09:35:42 PM »
Bakes, since you were completely dishonest and shady in your last post with the poor examples you displayed, I want you to check out the link that goes into more detail about Canada.  And pretty much ALL other jurisdictions (except the US) treats taxation of their citizens living abroad in a similar fashion.   

Please note the details presented in point (1):

"....To cease residency in Canada, and cease paying taxes to Canada, you have to go about the process of severing residential ties. This means you must no longer have a place to live in Canada, that you have set up a place to live somewhere else, set up financial accounts in a new place, and, if married, have taken your family with you.

Tollstam said that the CRA used to use a 24-month time period to determine non residency, but that has since been eliminated from its guide. She said that basically a minimum of 18 to 24 months away from Canada is now required to be a non-resident."

http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/taxseason/story/2012/04/18/f-taxseason-filing-taxes-living-abroad.html

Please shut up.

Questions of bona fide residence are determined on a case-by-case basis, taking into account such factors as your intention or the purpose of your trip and the nature and length of your stay abroad. You must show the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) that you have been a bona fide resident of a foreign country or countries for an uninterrupted period that includes an entire tax year. The IRS decides whether you qualify as a bona fide resident of a foreign country largely on the basis of facts you report on Form 2555, Foreign Earned Income. The IRS cannot make this determination until you file Form 2555.

http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/International-Taxpayers/Foreign-Earned-Income-Exclusion---Bona-Fide-Residence-Test

« Reply #40 on: August 13, 2013, 09:37:45 PM »
Bakes, the example I posted above regarding Canada completely blows your long-winded copy-and-pasted shady post out of the water.  The link I posted does indeed show that Canadians would not be subject to foreign taxes if they are living and working abroad if they maintain no residences in Canada (and this rules applies to pretty much all other countries out there EXCEPT the US).  Again...the assumption in my earlier statement is that the foreigner living abroad has MOVED completely abroad and has pretty much severed all ties with their country of birth.  And again...I made the statement that I do not agree with the US policy of taxing a US citizen after have moved and from the US to another country to start a new life, basically severing ties with the US.   

Anyway, your argument has been proven lacking...invalid...nonsensical...and frankly misinformed and dishonest.   It's a shame that you cannot find the dignity and honour in admitting that u were wrong.  There is no dishonour in admitting that you were wrong.  Sometimes you need to man-up and put on your big-boy shorts, my friend.

There is no indignity or dishonour in admitting that you were wrong here, Bakes.   

For as long as I've known you, you have been a master bluffer and shit talker.  Always making yuhself out to be something that you're not.  Now yuh working "in MLA" and have foreign corporations offshore...   ::)

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #41 on: August 13, 2013, 09:39:32 PM »
Bakes, sorry I have to do this to you, but you left me no choice but to make-you-out and blow your spot:

France NON-resident citizens living overseas are NOT subject to French taxes.

FRANCE:

"Once you establish residency in France, you are taxed here on your world-wide income. Under French law, you are a resident in France for tax purposes if you meet any one of the following four conditions: Your permanent home (habitual home for you and/or your family) is in France. You spend most of your time in France (at least 183 days during a calendar year, or even less if you spend more time in France than in any other country). Your professional activity is in France. The centre of your economic or financial interest is in France."

http://www.expatica.com/fr/finance_business/tax/how-to-fill-out-a-dclaration-des-revenus-40172_11924.html

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #42 on: August 13, 2013, 09:42:00 PM »
Bakes, pardon me again eh, but I have to blow-up your spot YET AGAIN and expose you:

Spanish NON-resident citizens living abroad are not subject to Spanish taxes.  In-fact, this reputable international tax website even mentions
the fact that the US is the ONLY COUNTY THAT TAXES IT's NON-RESIDENT CITIZENS WHO ARE LIVING ABROAD:

SPAIN:

WHO PAYS

There is a difference between being a Spanish resident for civil purposes (ie. by having a residence card) and being a resident for tax purposes. If you live in Spain for more than 182 days per year, you are automatically considered a Spanish resident for tax purposes.

This means you will be liable to pay income tax (Impuestos sobre la renta de las personal físicas, IRPF) on your worldwide income when you complete a declaration (Declaración de la Renta) during May or June the following year.

The current government is in the process of drawing up a new law on income tax, which will affect tax declarations from 2007. At the moment, Personal Income Tax starts at 15 percent and rises to 45 percent. It is a direct tax levied on the income of individuals, minus the expenses deductible according to Spanish law. At present if you earn less than EUR 22,000 you do not have to fill in an income tax return.

Non-residents Income Tax (IRNR) is calculated according to any income derived in Spain, including a money deposit with a Spanish bank, a property in Spain or income made from any business in Spain. The United States, however, is the only country that taxes its non-resident citizens on income earned abroad.

Residents are taxed on their worldwide income. But you may deduct income tax paid in your home country to avoid double taxation.

http://www.expatica.com/es/finance_business/tax/Tax-in-Spain_15681.html

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #43 on: August 13, 2013, 09:52:44 PM »
Bakes...I'm patiently waiting for you to admit that you were wrong.

I've provided CLEAR and CONCRETE evidence that the USA is the ONLY country in the world that levies taxes on NON-RESIDENT US CITIZENS living and earning money abroad.

Again...the key word is NON-RESIDENT US CITIZENS...in other words US Citizens who have indeed still maintained their citizenship status, but have severed residency ties to the US.  The US still taxes this class of individual. 

A reputable source I shared with you even mentions this.

It's time you man-up bro, and admit that you have no clue what you were talking about, and that you were wrong.  It's no scenes...you could come back and be right on another topic one day a long long time from now in a galaxy far far away.  heh heh heh heh heh

« Reply #44 on: August 13, 2013, 09:57:02 PM »
You eh blowing up no spot fella... but keep trying.  The US has the same exemption for people who qualify as bonafide foreign residents.  In your haste and glee to self-masturbate yuh apparently missed that.  MANY countries, not just the US, require you to pay taxes on income earned outside the US.  MANY countries, including the US, grants an exemption if you qualify as a bonafide foreign resident.

I fully expect some bullshit, half-hearted, poorly-reasoned smoke and mirror argument in response.  An argument you will be having by yourself.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #45 on: August 13, 2013, 10:05:14 PM »
Blowing up your spot yet again, Bakes.  Just admit that you're wrong.  That long list you copy and pasted and provided as evidence that ALL countries tax their NON-RESIDENT citizens is being RESOUNDINGLY proven to be a bunch of BS.  My friend, YOU are the one who put that post out there for the world to see...remember that.  YOU are the one who posted invalid incorrect jokey info, and presented it as fact. 

Bakes, you brutally murdered your case.

Anyway...back to me dismantling you here:

ITALY

"Who is liable?

Tax residents of Italy are subject to tax on their worldwide income. Individuals who are not tax

resident in Italy are subject to tax on their Italian-source income only.Residence status for tax purposes

An individual is considered resident for income tax purposes if, for the greater part of the tax year, he

or she satisfies any of the following conditions:

 His or her habitual abode is in Italy.

 The centre of his or her vital interests is located in Italy.

 He or she is registered at the Office of Records of the Resident Population in Italy.

Italian citizens who move their residence for tax purposes to countries considered to be tax havens

(“black list” countries) are deemed to be tax resident in Italy in all cases, unless they provide specific

evidence of their non-resident status."

[Bakes, please note that the last point on this quote deals with if the Italian citizen is trying to pull a smart-man move by still living in Italy, but on paper claiming to have a foreign address...however once the claim of foreign residency is proven true, then the Italian NON-RESIDENT is not subject to Italian taxes].

http://www.expat.hsbc.com/1/PA_ES_Content_Mgmt/content/hsbc_expat/pdf/en/global_tax_navigator/leaving_italy.pdf

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #46 on: August 13, 2013, 10:07:13 PM »
Bakes, I feel guilty for exposing you and basically abusing you here on your own forum, bredaman.  People will probably be looking to call the police on me up in here...hahahahaha

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #47 on: August 13, 2013, 10:13:20 PM »
Bakes...LOOK OUT!   Ah proving you wrong too on de German example you gave in that false dishonest post earlier, that you wrongly claimed was fact...hahahahahahaha

GERMANY:

Who is liable?

Individuals are subject to tax on their worldwide income if they meet either of the following conditions:

• They have a domicile in Germany for their personal use.

• They have a “customary place of abode” in Germany. This means that they are present in

Germany for an uninterrupted period of 6 months that may fall in 2 calendar years.

The citizenship of a taxpayer usually is not a consideration in determining residency. However, under

the provisions of certain tax treaties entered into by Germany, citizenship may be one of the factors to

consider if a taxpayer qualifies as a resident under the domestic laws of both Germany and the other

treaty country. Individuals not resident in Germany are generally subject to tax on income derived

from German sources only.

Non-residents may elect to be treated as residents if either their income subject to German taxation

amounts to 90% or more of their worldwide income or their income not subject to German taxation

does not exceed the amount of €8,004 per calendar year. This provision allows non-residents to file

German income tax returns like residents and to claim all deductions and allowances normally

granted to residents.

[Bakes, please note that the last paragraph here states that German NON-RESIDENT Citizens may opt to pay German taxes if they elect to do so...however, it is not something that the German Government demands as mandatory...it's all up to the Non-Resident Citizen.  Again, the US is the ONLY country that mandates that NON-RESIDENT US Citizens file, report, and pay taxes if living abroad].

http://www.expat.hsbc.com/1/PA_ES_Content_Mgmt/content/hsbc_expat/pdf/en/global_tax_navigator/leaving_germany.pdf

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #48 on: August 13, 2013, 10:17:47 PM »
Bakes, at this point I'm honestly feeling sorry for you, bredaman.  I don't like making a fool of people...it does absolutely nothing for OutsideMan's ego. 

I'm honestly trying to leave you with a shred of dignity.  But I want you to be honest with all here (who care about the truth), and ADMIT that you were wrong as you were clearly and resoundingly proven to be.

You might be wrong, but at least you'll finally earn at least some semblance of respect. Consider that an olive branch.   

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #49 on: August 13, 2013, 10:24:32 PM »
Bakes, as an FYI...the Japan example that you gave is also completely incorrect.  Japanese Non-Resident Japanese Citizens living abroad are not subject to Japanese taxes.

Again, the USA is the only country that levies taxes on it's NON-RESIDENT Citizens living abroad:

JAPAN:

Income Tax

Income tax is paid annually on income earned during a calendar year.
For tax purposes, people living in Japan are classified into three categories. This categorization is not related to visa types:

NON-RESIDENT

A person who has lived in Japan for less than one year and does not have his primary base of living in Japan. Non-residents pay taxes only on income from sources in Japan, but not on income from abroad.

NON-PERMANENT RESIDENT

A person who has lived in Japan for less than five years, but has no intention of living in Japan permanently. Non-permanent residents pay taxes on all income except on income from abroad that does not get sent to Japan.

PERMANENT RESIDENT

A person who has either lived in Japan for at least five years or has the intention of staying in Japan permanently. Permanent residents pay taxes on all income from Japan and abroad.

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2206.html
« Last Edit: August 13, 2013, 10:26:14 PM by OutsideMan »

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #50 on: August 13, 2013, 11:50:16 PM »

For as long as I've known you, you have been a master bluffer and shit talker.  Always making yuhself out to be something that you're not.  Now yuh working "in MLA" and have foreign corporations offshore...   ::)

Buh wait nah...how come I missed this lil' jab you posted at me???   

So now you're claiming to KNOW ME???   :rotfl:

Bredaman, check this out: I've been subject to this kind of jealously before from my own people, so how about you and I make a deal where you can forget where I said that I 'WORKED' in AML and currently own a couple of Offshore LLCs, and instead you can pretend that I told you that I'm uneducated, homeless, jobless, desperate, and living under a bridge somewhere, if that will make you feel much better about yourself.   ;)    :beermug:

Would that work for you?  Do you feel better about yourself now???  Is the 'jealous' exorcised from you???  You want me to add some more Charles Dickens character type of desperation to my story to ease your lil' bro-envy???  Lemme' know and I will make sure and throw in some tales of struggle and plight just to make you feel better about yourself.

You can't win a 'debate' on content, so you attempt to attack the character of the person who soundly beat your ass in this lil' debate.   

Shows how small your are. 

Rats in a cage.   Crabs in a barrel.  ;)
« Last Edit: August 13, 2013, 11:53:57 PM by OutsideMan »

« Reply #51 on: August 14, 2013, 01:48:46 AM »
Secret money transfers
By JADA LOUTOO
Wednesday, August 14 2013

The AMERICAN owner of the Island Club Casino in Grand Bazaar, who is on tax evasion charges in the United States (US), has other business interests in Trinidad and according to persons who have worked for him “everything is in a mess.”

On Monday, David Migliore, 50, of Brielle, New Jersey, appeared before a federal court in Newark, charged with using a series of shell companies to secretly transfer income from the casino, located at Grand Bazaar, Valsayn, into accounts he controlled to pay for his personal expenses in New Jersey and elsewhere. It is alleged that he failed to pay income taxes on US$3.9 million in casino profits.

Migliore also owns La Soufriere Maritime Inc, a marine services company located in Chaguaramas which is also listed among the firms named in the US indictment.

Contacted yesterday, an employee said he knew nothing about the charges against Migliore in the United States (US) and while the New Jersey man was still the owner of La Soufriere, he had not spoken to him in three years.

“They left everything in a mess. I cannot help you with anything,” the employee said. He refused to elaborate.

Norman Sabga, chairman and CEO of the Ansa McAl Group of Companies, which includes Grand Bazaar, yesterday said he first learnt of the story involving Migliore through newspaper reports.

“I suppose that’s his issue,” Sabga said. “I mean, we’re just landlords. As far as I know they (Island Club Casino) are very good tenants. They pay their rent. I don’t know the gentleman but it just goes to show you how efficient the law authorities are in the United States of America.”

Migliore turned himself into special agents of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) on Monday, hours before his court appearance before US Magistrate Judge Mark Falk.

Tax evasion is not the only legal challenge facing the Island Club Casino owner, as he is facing cocaine and other drug related charges, also in the US.

According to media reports in the US, Migliore was arrested in January on charges of possession of cocaine, possession of cocaine with intent to distribute it, possession of cocaine with intent to distribute it within 500 feet of a park, possession of oxycodone and possession of drug paraphernalia.

Assistant US Attorney Zahid Quraishi said Migliore was indicted on three counts of tax evasion and three counts of willfully failing to file personal tax returns.

He was released on US$1 million bond secured by two properties and ordered to submit to electronic monitoring.

Migliore, according to the report in the Star Ledger, was described by his attorney as a business consultant. He owned the Island Club Casino and also held a number of limited liability corporations registered in New Jersey, including Brielle Investment LLC, Brielle Investments & Management Co LLC, and La Soufriere Maritime Inc.

According to the US Attorney’s Office, Migliore used bank accounts in the US in the name of his business entities to pay his expenses. He also had casino employees wire him money through Western Union.

According to the US indictment, the Island Club Casino paid its owner more than US$3.9 million, but federal law enforcement authorities said he tried to hide that from the tax man.

Between 2009 and 2011, prosecutors said he failed to file personal tax returns on this income, resulting in a US$1 million loss to the IRS.

His attorney, Robert Weir of Red Bank, did not discuss the charges, but said Migliore was a “self-made man” who had done consulting for the casino before buying it outright. He owned the Island Club Casino for ten years, but no longer holds an interest, said Weir.

Attempts by Newsday to speak with Island Club Casino manager Abbas Khaladi were again futile as it was said he was not at the office each time calls were placed to the casino.

According to a former employee at the Island Club Casino, Migliore was hardly ever in Trinidad and all they were told was that he “had some immigration challenges”.

“He would come once per year and has hardly been around for a few years,” the former casino worker said.

Minister of Finance Larry Howai told the media yesterday that he was not in a position to comment on the Migliore investigations in the US, saying the work of the Board of Inland Revenue Criminal Tax Investigation Unit remained confidential.

He also would not say if the local authorities were aware of the US investigation or if they cooperated with their counterparts in the US.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #52 on: August 14, 2013, 02:23:54 AM »
Flex --- From this new article and from the one posted yesterday, David Migliore's main 'mistake' was not filing and paying US taxes once the funds were wired to his personal accounts from his US based LLC accounts. 

Once he transferred the funds he made from the casinos in T&T, to his PERSONAL bank account (regardless of the account being in the US or abroad), then the US IRS demands their cut of the action. 

Though not entirely 'legal' in the eyes of the US IRS, if he had instead kept the funds offshore and domiciled in bank accounts under the corporate/LLC name (instead of his actual individual name), and made all purchases in the corporate name in which he acted simply as an "employee", then he may have avoided the greedy hands of the US IRS.   But his error was that he transferred those funds from the bank account belonging to the LLC, and then transferred it to his personal bank account without filing paying taxes.  Additionally, when the funds were transferred initially to the US based LLCs from his overseas based LLCs,he may not have had his US based LLCs file taxes. 

As he his the owner/president/CEO of his US based LLCs, then the IRS would've come down hard on him for not having those US LLCs pay taxes.  Moral of story:  If you own casinos in T&T, and you don't want to pay US taxes, then DON'T move funds from those T&T operations to your da#n personal banks accounts.    ;D    :beermug:

« Reply #53 on: August 14, 2013, 02:25:43 AM »

Bredaman, check this out: I've been subject to this kind of jealously before from my own people, so how about you and I make a deal where you can forget where I said that I 'WORKED' in AML and currently own a couple of Offshore LLCs, and instead you can pretend that I told you that I'm uneducated, homeless, jobless, desperate, and living under a bridge somewhere, if that will make you feel much better about yourself.   ;)    :beermug:

Would that work for you?  Do you feel better about yourself now???  Is the 'jealous' exorcised from you???  You want me to add some more Charles Dickens character type of desperation to my story to ease your lil' bro-envy???  Lemme' know and I will make sure and throw in some tales of struggle and plight just to make you feel better about yourself.

You can't win a 'debate' on content, so you attempt to attack the character of the person who soundly beat your ass in this lil' debate.   

I have not read all the posts between you 2 but I know for a fact that UK citizens working abroad are subject to income tax once they spend more than a total of 90 calendar days back in the UK  per year.

So for instance the guys I work with who are on rotation  most of them own property in Spain or Turkey and they would go there to avoid the tax

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #54 on: August 14, 2013, 02:38:38 AM »

I have not read all the posts between you 2 but I know for a fact that UK citizens working abroad are subject to income tax once they spend more than a total of 90 calendar days back in the UK  per year.

So for instance the guys I work with who are on rotation  most of them own property in Spain or Turkey and they would go there to avoid the tax

fish's --- This is true if (and only IF) the UK Citizen fails to meet certain criteria that makes them eligible to be considered Non-Resident UK Citizens.  If the UK Citizen living and working abroad still maintains ties with the UK (owns a house; wife & kids still living there; stays in the UK for a certain period of time during the calendar year; receiving certain government benefits etc), then they would indeed be subject to UK taxation.

If however they has severed residential ties with the UK, and are living overseas, then they will not be subject to UK taxation on the income earned abroad.

The US is the only country that mandates that ALL Non-Resident US Citizens living abroad still report, files, and possibly pay US taxes.

Btw, here's a link which also supports what I state about UK's Non-Resident Tax policy.  (Your friend would be subject to the tax since they still maintain UK residency, as per how the UK defines residency...however, if they qualified for true UK Non-Resident status, then they don't pay UK taxes):

http://www.lowtax.net/lowtax/html/offon/uk/uktax.html

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #55 on: August 14, 2013, 03:04:11 AM »
fishs --- Btw, thanks for posting that comment about your friend in the UK.  This what I've been trying to explain to Bakes, but he seems to be totally lost here, and just arguing to save face or something.   :beermug:

I'm glad that someone else also stated (and inferred) that other countries will not tax their citizens if they meet certain criteria which makes them Non-Resident Citizens, obviously living and earning funds abroad.  I'm glad you also inferred that your friend in the UK, would not be subject to UK taxes if he or she spent less than 90 calendar days in the UK per year.  :beermug:

Bakes does not seem to understand the concept that the USA is the only nation that does not care if the Non-Resident US citizen living abroad NEVER visits and never sets foot on US soil for 50 years or 100 year.  That Non-Resident US citizen would STILL be subject to the US IRS.

This simple concept that ONE particular person on this forum seem not to be able comprehend, is what this senseless debate has been about.       

*Bleh*  :rotfl:

« Reply #56 on: August 14, 2013, 09:21:04 AM »
Flex --- From this new article and from the one posted yesterday, David Migliore's main 'mistake' was not filing and paying US taxes once the funds were wired to his personal accounts from his US based LLC accounts. 

I would argue it was the cocaine. That arrest is probably what set off the broader investigation into his affairs. Of course the co-mingling of funds is the red flag for the IRS.

The lesson here kids is to stay away from drugs.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2013, 09:23:15 AM by grimm01 »

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #57 on: August 14, 2013, 11:00:04 AM »

I would argue it was the cocaine. That arrest is probably what set off the broader investigation into his affairs. Of course the co-mingling of funds is the red flag for the IRS.

The lesson here kids is to stay away from drugs.

grimm01 --- True talk...I think you may very well be right on that.  It could indeed be the case if the amount of cocaine quantity was large enough to warrant a closer look at his finances.

But playing Devil's advocate, if it was a first offense charge where the quantity was a relatively small amount though still sufficient enough make an "attempt to distribute" case against him, I would be surprised if they were making this tax evasion case against him as the main charge due to the "first-time" drug offense assumption.

Ah have a nagging suspicion that there is probably much more to this particular story; it could be one where the Feds have been tracking his movements for a while now in relation to larger-scale drug trafficking, and where they probably view him as a large figure in a fairly bigger drug operation.  In that case, the tax evasion charges could just be a 'smokescreen' of sorts while they build their main case against him.

But that's just me speculating, so I could be wrong.   :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 14, 2013, 11:20:20 AM by OutsideMan »

Gambling & Casinos Thread.
« Reply #58 on: February 08, 2020, 01:12:20 PM »
Imbert: Cheating at betting is now a crime
By SEAN DOUGLAS (NEWSDAY).

CHEATING at gambling is to be deemed a criminal offence under a new law, Finance Minister Colm Imbert told the House of Representatives on Friday. He was moving a motion for the House to adopt the report of the Joint Select Committee on the Gambling (Gaming and Betting) Control Bill 2016.

He justified the censure by saying cheating at gambling can undermine the local gaming sector. Imbert read out other acts banned by the law, such as bringing a gun onto gambling premises. He justified the restrictions as being needed for gambling to occur in an environment that is “fair, honest and free of criminality.” He said the Government had gone beyond the normal requirements in interrogating the bill, yet unnamed individuals had sought to drag out and delay the JSC’s work.

“A comprehensive examination of legislation was overdue for 20 years,” Imbert said. “I can’t see any reason, unless there is some motive, for members opposite not to support the bill. In an aside, he said the definition of betting under the bill has been expanded from wagers on traditional animal sports to include novel wagers such as betting on the world price of oil. “The gambling and betting industry will be regulated properly for the first time.”

Re: Gambling & Casinos Thread.
« Reply #59 on: February 08, 2020, 01:26:34 PM »
Gambling revenue to help addicts
T&T Guardian Reports.

Pro­posed leg­is­la­tion to reg­u­late the gam­bling and gam­ing in­dus­try will re­quire op­er­a­tors to con­tribute a per­cent­age of their rev­enue to two funds to help gam­bling ad­dicts and de­vel­op var­i­ous sec­tors.

Fi­nance Min­is­ter Colm Im­bert spoke about the pro­vi­sion, which is among the 90 claus­es in the pro­posed Bill to reg­u­late the sec­tor dur­ing de­bate in Par­lia­ment on a re­port from a Joint Se­lect Com­mit­tee which had ex­am­ined the leg­is­la­tion since 2018.

“This Bill has had a long, tor­tu­ous his­to­ry,” Im­bert said, not­ing that the law had been in the works since 1989.

He said in­ter­na­tion­al ex­perts had told him T&T was the on­ly coun­try with such a large un­reg­u­lat­ed gam­bling and gam­ing sec­tor. He al­so re­vealed that JSC de­lib­er­a­tions on the Bill had in­volved many stake­hold­ers, from casi­no per­son­nel to po­lice, and had been fine-tuned with in­ter­na­tion­al ex­perts. He added that Gov­ern­ment had “bent over back­wards” on the mat­ter but one JSC mem­ber had dragged out the de­lib­er­a­tions.

Im­bert said he couldn’t con­tem­plate, af­ter four years of work on the long-over­due Bill, the Op­po­si­tion not sup­port­ing it “un­less they had a mo­tive.” He said the Bill was the same one from the Peo­ple’s Part­ner­ship Gov­ern­ment.

Op­po­si­tion leader Kam­la Per­sad-Bisses­sar in­ter­ject­ed: “It’s not the same Bill.”

Among pro­vi­sions, Im­bert not­ed, in­dus­try op­er­a­tors would have to con­tribute two funds to as­sist ad­dicts, NGOs and with de­vel­op­ment of lo­cal sec­tors in­clud­ing health, sports and com­mu­ni­ties.

Im­bert said there might al­so be le­git­i­mate con­cerns about al­low­ing casi­nos in res­i­den­tial ar­eas.

Oth­er claus­es in the Bill ex­pand the bet­ting de­f­i­n­i­tion to in­clude bet­ting on the oil price and oth­er sit­u­a­tions. Cheat­ing is cov­ered by and some claus­es per­tain to a Com­mis­sion to gov­ern the sec­tor.

Cit­ing the vol­ume of li­cens­es in the leg­is­la­tion, Im­bert said “if and when” it is passed the bill will prop­er­ly reg­u­late the sec­tor. How­ev­er, it will have to be passed first and reg­u­la­tions for the sec­tor dealt with af­ter.

Op­po­si­tion MP Rudy In­dars­ingh ac­cused Im­bert of be­ing disin­gen­u­ous by ac­cus­ing JSC mem­bers of “drag­ging out” de­lib­er­a­tions.

He said Im­bert him­self had said that the JSC lacked ex­perts and as such much ex­am­i­na­tion was need­ed.

In­dars­ingh not­ed that the gam­ing in­dus­try em­ploys 20,000 peo­ple with 75 per cent be­ing women, in­clud­ing sin­gle moth­ers. He read the tes­ti­mo­ny of Ayan­na Fran­cis, of Laven­tille, on how her job as­sist­ed her fam­i­ly.

Al­so yes­ter­day, Pub­lic Util­i­ties Min­is­ter Robert Le Hunte said plans for im­prov­ing the wa­ter sup­ply to Table­land and oth­er ar­eas is be­ing ex­am­ined. He couldn’t give a def­i­nite time­line for im­prove­ments to Table­land which he ad­mit­ted had been get­ting wa­ter on­ly once a week for a “long time”. The min­is­ter said the im­prove­ments will cost $70 mil­lion.