April 20, 2024, 05:27:42 AM

Author Topic: How to select our best pool of back four ...  (Read 830 times)

How to select our best pool of back four ...
« on: September 07, 2013, 11:11:33 AM »
We need analysis of our widening defender pool.  As we have growing options (a beautiful blessing actually) we need to know which combination of these defenders’ characteristics gets the job done.  Ah waitin’ to get a video of the recent  T&T  vs  UAE game to help me make the latest analysis of Primus and company. Say we have a back 4, with 2 central defenders  and 2 wing-backs, one each on the left (L) and right (R). Some players are good on both L & R (B). How do we get the best out of the following players listed below. Would we aim for some specific characteristics such as must-have speed (S) & recovery on the wings, (hence Cyrus, Gonzalez, Jones, Hoyte, Power) and aerial power (A)  and sure footedness centrally (Mitchell, Bateau, Primus, Cyrus,) and additional issues of L footedness (Aubrey) , right footedness (Gonzalez?), marking skills, setting offside trap, composure (C) and how prone to give away yellow and red cards. Also who contributes to scoring goals (G) and who can pass (P) the ball like a midfielder nicely and intelligently like some saw in Sancho, Jamerson etc.  Probably more importantly, who has glaring weakness that makes the team vulnerable.  At the time of selection for a tournament we may have to add code (F) for optimal fitness level to handle 90 mins of full concentration. Maybe (H) for who is all heart. Wish to make a table of players and coded characteristics and compare to see where we stand and how much good duplication/ options we have. Will add others  players as they come to mind.

L         R        B         S         A        C       P       G      F      H

1.   Cyrus
2.   Mitchell
3.   Power
4.   Bateau
5.   Julius James
6.   Primus
7.   Hoyte
8.   Gonzales
9.   Mekeil Williams
10.   Joevin Jones
11.   Radanfah
12.   Aubrey David (cyah quit figure out this yout’ yet)
13.   JLloyd Samuel
« Last Edit: September 07, 2013, 11:17:13 AM by dreamer »