April 23, 2024, 10:26:56 PM

Author Topic: Independent Liberal Party (ILP) Thread.  (Read 15101 times)

Independent Liberal Party (ILP) Thread.
« on: August 19, 2013, 05:12:53 AM »
Jack: ILP to fight all 131 local seats
By SEAN DOUGLAS Monday, August 19 2013

CHAGUANAS West MP Jack Warner urged Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar to call the local government elections (due by October), saying his Independent Liberal Party (ILP) would contest all seats in all corporations in Trinidad. He was addressing a lively and well-attended ILP rally at the recreation ground at Ojoe Road, Sangre Grande, on Saturday evening.

While having previously said the ILP would target the corporations of Chaguanas, Tunapuna and Sangre Grande, on Saturday Warner expanded his horizons to say, “We decided to fight all 131 seats. Screening starts in two weeks,”. Next Sunday the ILP would hold its Local Government Convention at Centre Pointe Mall, Chaguanas, said Warner, and next Saturday do a walkabout in Laventille, and on August 27 hold a “green brigade” motorcade from Carenage to Port-of-Spain. Warner said the ILP is launching a free hotline, 800-4ILP. “Any corruption you want to report, any question you want to ask, it is not costing you,” he said.

Warner began by thanking the police for earlier ejecting two female hecklers from the rally, one dressed as a dancehall queen in an elaborate yellow afro-style wig whom he said looked like a parrot and described as “the last dregs of the PNM”.

On the local polls, Warner said the Government could postpone the election date but could not prevent their inevitable loss. He alleged the Government had called a late election date in the July 29 Chaguanas West bye-election, hoping to spread his resources thin, but that had failed, just as he said the local government results would be the same. “The right to choose leaders is not a privilege but a right in the Constitution,” he said. “Let’s tell them what we think. Put them out of office!”.

Warner was unimpressed by rumours of reassignments of ministerial portfolios. “Don’t reshuffle your Cabinet. Fire them!” he urged Persad-Bissessar. “You should not reshuffle the same pack of jokers.”

Warner boasted of his own service to his constituents, saying at 2 am earlier on Saturday, he had some 400 persons in his constituency office waiting to see him, of whom he had to reschedule many to come back to see him. Later Warner asked listeners if they thought all these persons came to see him because they simply like him or because they cannot sleep. He asserted, “It is because they have nowhere else to turn”. Warner said racial slurs made against him in the bye-election had failed.

“I went to Chaguanas West and fought an entire Government and won. They don’t understand that we have now passed that stage,” he said. Warner said he was unafraid of any lawsuits against him on the basis of allegations he had made against public figures, and he even urged, “Put me in the (witness) box! Put me in the box!”

Re: Independent Liberal Party (ILP) Thread.
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2013, 07:20:20 AM »
Warner was unimpressed by rumours of reassignments of ministerial portfolios. “Don’t reshuffle your Cabinet. Fire them!” he urged Persad-Bissessar. “You should not reshuffle the same pack of jokers.”
Jack coming with some real good lines boy!  :joker: :rotfl:
Warner said he was unafraid of any lawsuits against him on the basis of allegations he had made against public figures, and he even urged, “Put me in the (witness) box! Put me in the box!”
Jack in the box!!!   :joker:  :D

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2013, 08:23:24 AM »
In addition to their ineptitude and incompetence, the PP have now inadvertently unleashed this man to wreak havoc on the nation.

« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2013, 02:48:34 PM »
In addition to their ineptitude and incompetence, the PP have now inadvertently unleashed this man to wreak havoc on the nation.

... there's something to this comment.

« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2013, 07:55:00 PM »
Jack scary yes

« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2013, 02:04:50 AM »
Warner cries foul
Chag West MP tells country ‘sorry’ he helped PP into office
By Richard Lord (Guardian).

Chaguanas West MP Jack Warner said yesterday he would beg forgiveness every day for helping to bring the People’s Partnership Government into power. He said it was worse than the former PNM Government and he was misled into supporting it. Speaking in the budget debate, in the Lower House, Tower D, Waterfront Centre, Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, he said he not only helped remove the PNM Government but had made things worse for the country and had heard allegations of corruption like never before in the country’s history. “Corruption in this country has become institutionalised and I, Jack Warner, contributed to that,” he said. Warner, who is now the leader of the Independent Liberal Party (ILP), said if he had to go on his knees every day to say sorry to this country for what he did, he would.

He said the budget was a hoax, and while Finance Minister Larry Howai presented a $61 billion budget, several schools, including Union Presbyterian in Claxton Bay, remained closed weeks after the new term began. He accused the Prime Minister of seeking to divide the country by implementing many projects in government-controlled constituencies. Warner and Works and Infrastructure Minister Surujrattan Rambachan had a brief verbal clash during yesterday’s budget debate. Warner was accusing Rambachan of discrimination against PNM and ILP supporters.

He said Rambachan had told two individuals who asked for a certain road to be paved that he would not do that because of their allegiances. Warner said Rambachan had sworn that he was not going to assist people who were not supporting the government.

Rambachan, who was sitting opposite, challenged Warner to say where and when he had spoken those words. Rambachan accused Warner of paying people to make those claims on public platforms. Commenting on the appointment of Fyzabad MP Chandresh Sharma as Tourism Minister, Warner asked what sin Tobago had  committed to deserve that minister. Tobago’s economy is dependent on the tourism industry. Warner was also critical of moves to reintroduce the property tax, saying the Government should level with the population but  was afraid because of next month’s local government elections. In outlining some of his ILP positions if it were to become Government after the 2015 general election, Warner said constitutional reform was paramount; the term of Parliament should be increased from five years to seven and every government should have only one term. He said he would also propose that term of local government officers be increased to four years.

« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2013, 04:00:44 AM »
Warner cries foul

Chaguanas West MP Jack Warner said yesterday he would beg forgiveness every day for helping to bring the People’s Partnership Government into power. He said it was worse than the former PNM Government and he was misled into supporting it. Speaking in the budget debate, in the Lower House, Tower D, Waterfront Centre, Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, he said he not only helped remove the PNM Government but had made things worse for the country and had heard allegations of corruption like never before in the country’s history. “Corruption in this country has become institutionalised and I, Jack Warner, contributed to that,” he said. Warner, who is now the leader of the Independent Liberal Party (ILP), said if he had to go on his knees every day to say sorry to this country for what he did, he would.

He said the budget was a hoax, and while Finance Minister Larry Howai presented a $61 billion budget, several schools, including Union Presbyterian in Claxton Bay, remained closed weeks after the new term began. He accused the Prime Minister of seeking to divide the country by implementing many projects in government-controlled constituencies. Warner and Works and Infrastructure Minister Surujrattan Rambachan had a brief verbal clash during yesterday’s budget debate. Warner was accusing Rambachan of discrimination against PNM and ILP supporters.

He said Rambachan had told two individuals who asked for a certain road to be paved that he would not do that because of their allegiances. Warner said Rambachan had sworn that he was not going to assist people who were not supporting the government.

Rambachan, who was sitting opposite, challenged Warner to say where and when he had spoken those words. Rambachan accused Warner of paying people to make those claims on public platforms. Commenting on the appointment of Fyzabad MP Chandresh Sharma as Tourism Minister, Warner asked what sin Tobago had  committed to deserve that minister. Tobago’s economy is dependent on the tourism industry. Warner was also critical of moves to reintroduce the property tax, saying the Government should level with the population but  was afraid because of next month’s local government elections. In outlining some of his ILP positions if it were to become Government after the 2015 general election, Warner said constitutional reform was paramount; the term of Parliament should be increased from five years to seven and every government should have only one term. He said he would also propose that term of local government officers be increased to four years.

Sound like he work out how much longer he have to live. if he is 72 now that is 81 either he retire or pass like Eric.
Anyhow not going to happen the madness in him starting to surface.

« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2013, 06:26:25 AM »
Warner cries foul

Classic!

« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2013, 12:55:45 PM »
I LOVE POWER
I LOVE PEOPLE
I LOVE PRISON

The meaning of the ILP as my peeps see it.

« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2013, 12:57:24 PM »

No we unleash Jack on ourself. D fact that he was in the bowels of the PP was enough grounds not to support them but Manning had to go Teacher Percy X him out and we all Do So so leh we hug up Jack.

« Reply #10 on: September 26, 2013, 04:25:32 AM »
... so wha happened in Point last night? Who was dey? Wha Jack say?

« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2013, 03:18:22 PM »

No we unleash Jack on ourself. D fact that he was in the bowels of the PP was enough grounds not to support them but Manning had to go Teacher Percy X him out and we all Do So so leh we hug up Jack.

Patos had to go!

« Reply #12 on: September 26, 2013, 04:07:32 PM »

Patos had to go!

Yea he gone and his replacement is so much betta. We seeing our bestest days under the astute leadership Of KPB.

« Reply #13 on: September 26, 2013, 04:51:32 PM »

Patos had to go!

Yea he gone and his replacement is so much betta. We seeing our bestest days under the astute leadership Of KPB.

The outcome is an acceptable component of the democratic process ... Patos earned his exit and Kamla earned her entry. Right now, she's on her way to earning her exit. Normel.

« Reply #14 on: September 26, 2013, 07:50:02 PM »

Patos had to go!

The outcome is an acceptable component of the democratic process ... Patos earned his exit and Kamla earned her entry. Right now, she's on her way to earning her exit. Normel.

I have no problem being showed d door but yuh mash up d country because of 1 man. Nixon was showed d door but how did d US suffer because of his action. All yuh still hating on Patos because he was arrogant but all yuh replace 1 arrogant man wit Anil/d Annointed Goat etc but all yuh still sayin Patos got to go. Continue.

« Reply #15 on: September 27, 2013, 06:21:49 AM »
Doh make joke nah, the PNM was unsuccessful at the last Gen Elections fuh reasons beyond Manning's arrogance.

« Reply #16 on: September 27, 2013, 07:29:39 AM »
Doh make joke nah, the PNM was unsuccessful at the last Gen Elections fuh reasons beyond Manning's arrogance.

D entire campaign was arround Manning must go. PP was Axe the Tax but Manning must go was the theme he arrogant, he only build tall buildings he build a church for his spiritual adviser. That was the reason why d PNM lost he made some stupid selection like in Arima but Manning cost the PNM the election.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2013, 01:29:42 PM »
People in Point have to be mad to listen to Jack and his tata.

Was it not the same Jack Warner who when with UNC, who did nothing, I say nothing for the People of Point Fortain.  :puking:
Nowhe promising the World.  :violin:Sly mongoose doh know yuh name

As a matter of fact Jack Warner stated clearly while with UNC that NOTHING will be given  for those whom did not vote for UNC. Referring to the
constituency.

People in T&T need to wake up from their slumber. If  Warner fools the T&T public they deserve what they get.

« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2013, 01:38:46 PM »
People in Point have to be mad to listen to Jack and his tata.

Was it not the same Jack Warner who when with UNC, who did nothing, I say nothing for the People of Point Fortain.  :puking:
Nowhe promising the World.  :violin:Sly mongoose doh know yuh name

As a matter of fact Jack Warner stated clearly while with UNC that NOTHING will be given  for those whom did not vote for UNC. Referring to the
constituency.

People in T&T need to wake up from their slumber. If  Warner fools the T&T public they deserve what they get.

We deserve what we get ahready. They will just compound matters if they vote 4 Green Lantern. We does 4get quick. people should have been at that meeting with nutten 4 Point signs but everybody want to eat ah food.

« Reply #19 on: September 27, 2013, 04:49:09 PM »

Patos had to go!

I have no problem being showed d door but yuh mash up d country because of 1 man. Nixon was showed d door but how did d US suffer because of his action. All yuh still hating on Patos because he was arrogant but all yuh replace 1 arrogant man wit Anil/d Annointed Goat etc but all yuh still sayin Patos got to go. Continue.

For Patos to go, PNM had to go! That is the set up of our political system. Patos aka PNM was only listening to his financiers not his constituents. Damn if he do, damn if he don't. The financiers backing him with money, so they have his ears. The constituents got his arse!

« Reply #20 on: September 27, 2013, 07:25:37 PM »

Patos had to go!

For Patos to go, PNM had to go! That is the set up of our political system. Patos aka PNM was only listening to his financiers not his constituents. Damn if he do, damn if he don't. The financiers backing him with money, so they have his ears. The constituents got his arse!

D constituents are so much better now. All the crap Kamla and she cabal shove down we throat all still talkin bout Patos had 2 go. All yuh eh big enough 2 say we made a mistake in gettin rid of Patos. He, Pena and Calder worse day betta than this crew. So keep buryin all yuh head in d sand and Patos had to go.

« Reply #21 on: September 27, 2013, 07:43:54 PM »
... and Weary, dahis how we know yuhs ah PNM yardfowl.

« Reply #22 on: September 27, 2013, 07:54:08 PM »

YEA I will scan and send u a copy of my party card. I will also compile you a list of all the young persons whose contract has not been renewed simply because they were unlucky to be hired when the PNM was in power. So u and all d PP lovers can say what you want but how much of you know people who had Courts reposes their stuff because they are now unemployed. Not to mention how many of u men who hear say d end justify d mean Patos gone have their friends call them Mr. Mom because their wife is working and they are not. So if by empathising wit d persons I know who life got turn upside down because Patos had 2 go well I am the biggest PNM yard fowl on PLANET EARTH. 

« Reply #23 on: September 27, 2013, 09:26:11 PM »

YEA I will scan and send u a copy of my party card. I will also compile you a list of all the young persons whose contract has not been renewed simply because they were unlucky to be hired when the PNM was in power. So u and all d PP lovers can say what you want but how much of you know people who had Courts reposes their stuff because they are now unemployed. Not to mention how many of u men who hear say d end justify d mean Patos gone have their friends call them Mr. Mom because their wife is working and they are not. So if by empathising wit d persons I know who life got turn upside down because Patos had 2 go well I am the biggest PNM yard fowl on PLANET EARTH. 

Weary, you don't have to apologize to anyone about who you vote for or your party affiliation. That is your choice. I have voted only once in TT. I left at an early age and I did vote PNM. I had strong feeling for Tapia at one point, but just felt the "masses" did not understand Lloyd.

But honestly Weary, the political parties need to know when the leaders have to go. And since there is no constitutional mandate for term limits, that is the only way for parties to know you no longer want the leader. Vote the party out. Had Patos step aside and allow a person with different ideas lead, PNM might still be there. But the financiers told him when to call election. Why the arse he did not ride it out for the full term?

« Reply #24 on: September 27, 2013, 09:57:31 PM »

Weary, you don't have to apologize to anyone about who you vote for or your party affiliation. That is your choice. I have voted only once in TT. I left at an early age and I did vote PNM. I had strong feeling for Tapia at one point, but just felt the "masses" did not understand Lloyd.

But honestly Weary, the political parties need to know when the leaders have to go. And since there is no constitutional mandate for term limits, that is the only way for parties to know you no longer want the leader. Vote the party out. Had Patos step aside and allow a person with different ideas lead, PNM might still be there. But the financiers told him when to call election. Why the arse he did not ride it out for the full term?

Who I vote 4 is not the issue the issue is that people eh willing to admit that these jokers worse than d previous jokers. I have said b4 d only party I have ever supported was the NAR. But because I say Patos was a choir boy compared 2 this group I iz PNM. That is y as a country we are so immature and petty.

« Reply #25 on: September 27, 2013, 11:17:17 PM »
Well Weary, there is a misconception with this people thing. Half the people feel they doing wrong and the other half feel they doing just perfect. So it depends on which side of the coin you belong. I think it was time to shake up PNM. The rank and file needed to take back or at least have some say in the running of the party, because in the final analysis their votes count just as much as the financiers.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2013, 11:20:00 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #26 on: September 28, 2013, 01:21:02 AM »
Weary I support you all the way. It have certain people only does bump they gum and appear to have their political bias  based on everything else except common sense.

For so long it have a group who had this "perceived sense " of disenfranchisement that given the present political climes they are rejoicing in the murky and baseless wrongs of this governance. They will not look at corruption if it beats them on the head instead they are quick to blame blame the past government.

Our sense of a national culture has been severely eroded by some of these ministers who have stirred divisive elements into  our national heritage. They have  stirred the tides of unity and all that we stood for in Together we aspire and Together we achieve. Instead it is who is of a particular grouping  and persuasion that will achieve. There are too many ministers in this government that ran a campaign based on utter hatred of the PNM and seduced people to think that they would be abetter alternative- today the fruits of deception lays heavy upon our nation- it's burdens we are bearing like our cross. They have turned the tide to be ripe for the picking yet they linger and languor in " name calling" and decrying the PNM  . What have they done that is any better ? 

I am No supporter of Petty Politics or  ministers lacking the basic competences to deliver on what seems like baseless promises; I was open and objective during the election victory speech made by our PM ; I was moved by the talk of unity by the PM sadly her ministers and subsequent actions on the part of this government has made that speech seem like nothing but foul air expiring after a heavy meal.

Today some people does still be sucking that wind and proclaiming merit to all the incompetences of governance. At least Tobago got it right!!!!!!!!!
« Last Edit: September 28, 2013, 01:33:46 AM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #27 on: September 28, 2013, 02:15:41 AM »
Voters choose their preferred poison at the time of the particular election, not subsequent to it. To harp about the repercussions of having voted in a particular government is proper fodder for opposition voices and disgruntled former political bedfellows (like Jack). Even individual voters may regret where they put their X, but part of their democratic responsibility is to live with such consequences as they emerge.

However, to not accept that the electorate made a properly informed, majority decision at the time of the Gen Election polls is to not accept that, for some voters, an unpleasant odour emanated from the PNM at or about the time the elections were called ... and that for other voters there was an overwhelming compulsion to vote otherwise (whatever their motivation, pernicious or benign) ...

A discriminating sense of smell (as yuh putting yuh X) could be informed by objectivity, subjectivity, ignorance or indifference. Whatever the basis for one's choice, any of those four things spells doom in a two-party structure. There are always losers and winners on the political stage. Some of them at the bottom of the food chain, some of them at the top.  It's predictable that those embedded in political patronage arrangements will suffer. It's time to shake that cycle ... even if it means initially having multiple patrons. Repossession from Courts and unemployment go hand in hand with that patronage. It is a product of consequences rooted in Westminster, not vindictiveness bred in Andhra Pradesh.

Success of the PP government at the polls was a good thing for democracy and political maturity in Trinidad & Tobago. Point blank! This is a distinct matter from whether it ultimately was (or proves to be) a good thing for the economy, international prestige, financial markets, domestic policy and the national welfare, state security, regional harmony, public confidence, and so on.

Did Patos/the PNM "deserve" to get booted out of office? Yes, because the party as a collective, and Mr. Manning as the embodiment of that PNM government, governed in such a manner as to raise issues regarding that government's efficacy in office. The PP may be making egregious governance decisions now, but this does not negate the validity of the choice made by voters at the time of the Gen Elections.

This is the crux of my disagreement with Weary's position.

« Last Edit: September 28, 2013, 02:21:11 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #28 on: September 28, 2013, 02:38:22 AM »
Weary I support you all the way. It have certain people only does bump they gum and appear to have their political bias  based on everything else except common sense.

For so long it have a group who had this "perceived sense " of disenfranchisement that given the present political climes they are rejoicing in the murky and baseless wrongs of this governance. They will not look at corruption if it beats them on the head instead they are quick to blame blame the past government.

Perceived disenfranchisement? Make your losing case.

Our sense of a national culture has been severely eroded by some of these ministers who have stirred divisive elements into  our national heritage. They have  stirred the tides of unity and all that we stood for in Together we aspire and Together we achieve.

As would a statement concerning "a perceived sense of disenfranchisement".

Instead it is who is of a particular grouping  and persuasion that will achieve. There are too many ministers in this government that ran a campaign based on utter hatred of the PNM and seduced people to think that they would be abetter alternative- today the fruits of deception lays heavy upon our nation- it's burdens we are bearing like our cross. They have turned the tide to be ripe for the picking yet they linger and languor in " name calling" and decrying the PNM  . What have they done that is any better ? 

I am No supporter of Petty Politics or  ministers lacking the basic competences to deliver on what seems like baseless promises; I was open and objective during the election victory speech made by our PM ; I was moved by the talk of unity by the PM sadly her ministers and subsequent actions on the part of this government has made that speech seem like nothing but foul air expiring after a heavy meal.

Today some people does still be sucking that wind and proclaiming merit to all the incompetences of governance. At least Tobago got it right!!!!!!!!!

You don't paint a pretty picture, and even where your comments are grounded in fact, none of it denies that the PP properly deserved an opportunity in office. The opportunity is/was theirs to squander.

« Reply #29 on: September 28, 2013, 08:06:23 AM »
...However, to not accept that the electorate made a properly informed, majority decision at the time of the Gen Election polls is to not accept that, for some voters, an unpleasant odour emanated from the PNM at or about the time the elections were called ... and that for other voters there was an overwhelming compulsion to vote otherwise (whatever their motivation, pernicious or benign) ...

That's quite the assumption...