March 28, 2024, 06:04:15 AM

Author Topic: 2018 World Cup Thread  (Read 144287 times)

T&T 2018 World Cup campaign to start in November.
« Reply #30 on: January 12, 2015, 03:13:22 PM »
T&T 2018 World Cup campaign to start in November.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men’s Team will commence its 2018 World Cup Qualifying Campaign in November this year after being seeded among the top six teams in the region by CONCACAF.

The “Soca Warriors” based on its ranking in August 2014, will join the United States, Costa Rica, Mexico,  Panama and Honduras as the Confederation’s top six teams for Round Four.

For Round Four,  the six Round Three  winners will join six top seeds and the 12 teams will be grouped into 3 round-robin, home-and-away groups of 4 teams.

The six (6) group winners and runner-ups will then advance to Round Five which is the Final Round of CONCACAF qualification for the Russia 2018 World Cup Finals.

Round Four, T&T’s opening round in the campaign will run from  November 2015 to September 2016 and the Final Round will be staged between November 2016 and October 2017. qualifying three CONCACAF nations directly to the FIFA World Cup and providing a further intercontinental playoff spot for the fourth-placed team.

The match-ups and groupings for Rounds Three, Four and Five of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying will be determined at the FIFA World Cup Qualifying Draw in St. Petersburg, Russia, on July 25, 2015.

TTFA President Raymond Tim Kee commented on T&T’s seeding saying he was extremely pleased to be ranked among the top six of the Confederation which he said was evidence of the progress made by the “Soca Warriors” under Stephen Hart who was introduced as head coach in June 2013 under his leadership of the TTFA.

“It’s indeed pleasant news for us  that we are seeded among the top six nations in all of CONCACAF but it’s also a revelation that our journey officially begins this year based on the format and the dates released by the confederation for qualification for Russia 2018,” Tim Kee told TTFA Media.

“Therefore, while we have already commenced the planning stages for our campaign and our team has been active, finishing second in the Caribbean Cup and qualifying for the CONCACAF Gold Cup last year, there is a lot to be done to ensure we continue to be on the right path in relation to our preparations for what will by all means be a rigorous qualifying campaign.

“The Team has to be adequately prepared which means there is a critical need for training camps, training matches and an overall program supported by all the stakeholders. Our National team deserves all that is required for us to be successful in the quest for Russia 2018 and rightly so, we shall make every effort to see this happen,” Tim Kee added.

National Senior Team head coach Stephen Hart, at present in  Jamaica with the National Under 20 team,  also commented on the format, adding that intense preparations including international games would have to be  a part of the national team’s program between now and the start of its 2018 campaign.

“The draw is a double edge sword. On one had we avoid the early qualifications where anything can happen, but once your games come around you have to be mindful of the fact that you are playing teams that have been playing competitive international games. That being said, it is a more favorable position to be in,” Hart told TTFA Media.

Additional Notes

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced the details of the draw for the initial phases of the CONCACAF Preliminary Competition for the FIFA World Cup Russia 2018. The draw will be held in Miami at the W Hotel South Beach, at 7 PM ET on Thursday, January 15.

The event, involving 27 of the 35 CONCACAF Member Associations seeking to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup, will determine the match-ups for the first two rounds of the five-round regional qualifying tournament in CONCACAF, which begins in March and runs through 2017.

The seeding for the draw for this edition of CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying was based on FIFA rankings as of August 2014.The 35 Member Associations competing to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup have been ranked 1-35 (please see below for the full ranking).

The fourteen (14) national teams ranked 22 to 35 (St. Kitts & Nevis, Belize, Montserrat, Dominica, Barbados, Bermuda, Nicaragua, Turks & Caicos, Curacao, US Virgin Islands, Bahamas, Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla – in order of rank) will dispute Round One of the Preliminary Competition, which consists of seven home-and-away series to be contested from March 23-31 of this year.

For Round Two, the thirteen (13) Member Associations ranked 9-21 (Canada, Cuba, Aruba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Suriname, Guatemala, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, St. Lucia, Grenada, Antigua & Barbuda, Guyana, Puerto Rico – in order of rank) will join the seven (7) Round One series winners, for ten more home-and-away series to be held between 8-16 June, 2015.

Round Three, which consists of another series of home-and-away match-ups featuring the ten (10) Round Two series winners, joined by the two Member Associations ranked 7 and 8 – Jamaica and Haiti -- will be played August 31-September 8.

« Last Edit: January 12, 2015, 04:17:38 PM by Flex »

Offline Banter Banton

Re: T&T 2018 World Cup campaign to start in November.
« Reply #31 on: January 13, 2015, 08:39:39 AM »
Use the windows - we have 8 friendlies available with 2 in March, 2 in June before the Gold Cup, 2 in September and 2 in October PLUS at least 3 group games in the Gold Cup.

If we use our calender especially vs decent opposition we could have some quality preparation for the team.

Everyone has to be on the collective page. TTFA, Min of Sport etc.... TTFA have to book those friendlies early and the quality of opposition should always come from a top 50 team including at least 2 games from 8 vs top 15 If possible.

« Reply #32 on: January 13, 2015, 09:14:16 AM »
Why even bother with qualifications.........I have it from very good sources that we spot dun book in d dance

« Reply #34 on: January 13, 2015, 12:25:21 PM »
Let's see if Uncle Tim, Shell-done, MOS and others will get their act together this time.
Or would they like Lasana "yuh f**ker" Liburd to give them more critical write ups.
We watchin' ...

« Reply #35 on: January 13, 2015, 04:34:49 PM »
Let's see if Uncle Tim, Shell-done, MOS and others will get their act together this time.
Or would they like Lasana "yuh f**ker" Liburd to give them more critical write ups.
We watchin' ...

Why not ask all them businesses what they have against football.

« Reply #36 on: January 13, 2015, 05:48:08 PM »
Yuh cyah force businesspeople who have no obligation to give a shite, to care, especially when they see football sector leaders who "appear to be" unpatriotic, corrupt and seem bad to be associated with and be seen ribbon cutting with. Businessmen want return on their money not bad press by association. On the other hand, it is part of the sports leaders agendas to look like they are producing results, raising funds, planning early. The planning early is what I'm most interested in as the historical excuse is: "There was no application sent to my desk on time". "No visa applications on time so player x could not be selected". "Cardiff was not requested leave for player on time". "Central FC not told in time to release players". :Hart not given time to submit his favorite squad list". "Not enough time to request game against Colombia"  Enough.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2015, 05:53:07 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #37 on: January 14, 2015, 07:11:20 AM »
I understand all ah that, Breds. But still, they could request certain things from the TTFA. But I find they could more for football. What about the pro-league? They could help in sponsorship. How come very few helping Point or Palo Seco?

« Reply #38 on: January 14, 2015, 08:36:25 AM »
True. Few care.

« Reply #39 on: January 14, 2015, 09:22:29 PM »
Anyone else find the August 2014 cut off date a bit weird?

Copa centramericana was in September. Caribbean Cup was in October and November.

Just saying...

« Reply #40 on: January 15, 2015, 05:15:12 AM »
Why even bother with qualifications.........I have it from very good sources that we spot dun book in d dance

so the sources openly admitting to match fixing???? ???

bc by the dance if you mean round 5 we book, that's exactly what they insinuating... correct me if im wrong...

« Reply #41 on: January 15, 2015, 11:47:25 AM »
The Top 6 did not change from August to now in any case

« Reply #42 on: January 16, 2015, 02:32:55 AM »

I can't actually tell because of the way the new FIFA rankings page sucks...what's up with that?

« Reply #43 on: January 16, 2015, 07:27:52 AM »

I can't actually tell because of the way the new FIFA rankings page sucks...what's up with that?

I know right, I had to scour a bunch of other sites to confirm

« Reply #44 on: January 17, 2015, 12:14:38 PM »

bc by the dance if you mean round 5 we book, that's exactly what they insinuating... correct me if im wrong...
doh hurt up yuh head.....d pump is real.......we in d dance.......book yuh ticket and start practicing yuh Russian

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #45 on: January 17, 2015, 12:24:07 PM »

doh hurt up yuh head.....d pump is real.......we in d dance.......book yuh ticket and start practicing yuh Russian

Hull yuh c**t with that shit brudda man....

« Reply #46 on: January 17, 2015, 03:54:24 PM »

Hull yuh c**t with that shit brudda man....
yuh have d new passport?  If not go get a renewal pronto

« Reply #47 on: January 24, 2015, 02:55:02 PM »
Woot woot! Can't wait, we definitely need to maximise our preparation though.

Optimism, activity fuel Grenada ahead of WCQ
« Reply #48 on: February 22, 2015, 07:51:14 AM »

Optimism, activity fuel Grenada ahead of WCQ
www.concacaf.com
http://www.concacaf.com/article/optimism-activity-fuel-grenada-ahead-of-wcq

ST GEORGE’S, Grenada – A slate of international friendlies, the possibility of a new head coach and an intensive drive to recruit overseas players, represent exciting times ahead for Grenada as it prepares for 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying.

Grenada Football Association (GFA) President Cheney Joseph said his organization was working feverishly on a number of plans which, once realized, would enhance the national team’s chances on the Road to Russia.

Already, the GFA has scheduled a pair of friendlies at Bermuda next month and is in negotiations for other fixtures, before facing Puerto Rico in the second round of 2018 World Cup qualifiers starting in June.

“It is good news that for the first time in many years we are having very good preparation,” Joseph told CONCACAF.com.  “I think the advantage we have this time around is that most of the home-grown players are available for training.

“We are hoping that while according to the FIFA rankings, Bermuda may be seeded some 20 spots down, we’re going to use that friendly as a measuring stick to see where we are at, ahead of the World Cup qualifier in June.

“We are also currently completing discussions with Guyana to play two games there in April and we also go off to St Lucia to play the Windward Islands tournament, so we’re looking at about seven games that hopefully we’re going to have before we engage Puerto Rico.”

Grenada, fielding a squad comprised largely of domestic-based players, suffered an early exit from the CFU Caribbean Cup last September.

The GFA, though, is targeting several eligible players in England and Scotland, whom it believes can help strengthen the roster.

“We’re just hoping that complimenting the home grown players will be those international players that we are able to secure for the first game,” Joseph said.  “We are already in discussions with some of these overseas-based players.  This time around, we have a large pool to choose from, maybe more than 15 international players, playing not at the lower divisions, but at the Championship level [in England].

“We also know of two in Scotland – Myles Hippolyte and Anthony Straker – and we may just have Shalrie Joseph to give Grenadians the last chance to see him internationally.  We want to create a balance between home-grown and overseas-based players, but we are trying to ensure that every single player who qualifies to represent Grenada is contacted.”

It is also hoped that former England under-19 head coach Noel Blake can be brought on board to lead the technical staff.

“Presently, the technical staff is 100 per cent local,” finished Joseph.  “However, we have started discussions with an international coach and I think it is a matter of the GFA finalising arrangements.  We are hoping that we can close off on discussions and get him as soon as possible.”

Re: 2018 CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers Thread
« Reply #49 on: February 22, 2015, 10:06:39 AM »
Guys, GFA looking for technical help. Send Allyuh CV to them!!!

« Reply #50 on: February 22, 2015, 10:28:28 AM »

So whats is the TTFF doing ??

« Reply #51 on: February 22, 2015, 06:32:32 PM »

So whats is the TTFF doing ??

They go leh you know!

« Reply #52 on: March 01, 2015, 02:19:11 PM »
November right around the corner. ..gold cup in d summer...One match declared so far....we not preparing for nothing. ..what kind of plan we hv...any scouts working too see the best possible pool of players?  WCQ not gonna be easy. ..gone are the days of putting a team together on just talent and expect to get a result. We played a full strength team for the Caribbean cup and lose to jamaica on penalties. ...how we go stand against them central americans....I know hart must be asking himself d same thing...we in Trinidad not serious about football

2018 FIFA World Cup: Russia
« Reply #53 on: March 22, 2015, 07:22:41 PM »

Re: 2018 FIFA World Cup: Russia
« Reply #54 on: March 22, 2015, 07:29:48 PM »
USVI looks to youth for Barbados WCQ

CHARLOTTE AMALIE, US Virgin Islands -- The U.S. Virgin Islands (USVI) has invested heavily in the youth aspect of its squad and is confident the approach will pay dividends, when they visit Barbados in the first leg of their first round CONCACAF qualifying series for the 2018 FIFA World Cup on Sunday.

Sitting 197th in the latest FIFA World Rankings, the USVI is focussed on developing a strong national side and believes the youth element holds the key to a bright future.

Two weeks ago, the USVI fell 2-0 at Antigua & Barbuda in an international friendly.  Despite that defeat, head coach Ahmed Mohammed said there were encouraging signs.

“The confidence level in the team is quite high because we had a game against Antigua and we were younger than the Antiguan players,” Mohammed told CONCACAF.com.  “What I have in the team are players as young as 16-years-old (Jacob Borden), a right full back player, and he is a great player and I have four to six players who are between the ages of 17 and 18.

“They are really, really willing and have a lot of talent and the mix between young players and experienced players, I am trying to get a collective well-organized team [in this regard].”

Borden will be one of several key players expected to feature in Barbados, along with midfielders Dusty Good and Garrick Mathurin, defender Dewayne Dyer and goalkeeper Erik Mezzo.

The squad has been in training twice weekly for six weeks and, in addition to the Antigua friendly, has played warm-up games against local opposition.

Mohammed has been pleased with the team’s development during that time.

“We worked on different topics, from conditioning to technical and tactical training, and collective and individual training,” he explained.  “Those were the main areas we focussed on.  The response has been very good.  I am really, really happy with this team because I have a lot of young players who are really willing to learn and who are giving 120 per cent.  I am satisfied with this team.”

In Barbados, the USVI will face an opponent that is undefeated in friendlies this year, posting a win (3-1) and draw (2-2) against St. Vincent & the Grenadines, while battling Guyana to a stalemate (2-2).

Mohammed expects to get a result in Bridgetown.

“I was looking at the highlights of the last game that they played and I know how they play and how they are organised,” finished the 35-year-old, who was hired in February.  “I also saw the highlights from the game against Guyana which they drew 2-2 so I am well prepared.

“What you can expect is a well organised, collective, well compact USVI team.  We are going there to win.”

« Reply #55 on: March 22, 2015, 07:34:29 PM »
Barbados 0 vs. US Virgin Islands 1 FT

« Reply #56 on: March 24, 2015, 10:26:03 AM »
Nicaragua 5 vs. Anguilla 0 FT

« Reply #57 on: April 22, 2015, 07:12:53 PM »
Been thinking about this a bit lately. ..my generation of warriors was the 06 crop. ..before that the closest we came was in 1990...I know about it from being a member here for so long. ..I was 4 at that time...and prior to that...was 74?

In the 06 squad we had an abundance of talent I believe with alot of our warriors plying their trade in top leagues in Europe and elsewhere. ...apart from the local talent like whitley,  and dwarika to an extent. ...

First question. ..was that bunch the highest caliber players/best squad/most prominent ballers...or the 89/90 or the 74 squad?

And finally. ..The current squad we hv....realistically do they hv the talent in comparison to the past ballers to carry us through...

100% die hard fan...through thick nd thin...even when I was deployed I was roaming this site the little I cld hv to see wuz d scene....imho...This crop does not hv the individual success the 06 crop had....how that translates into team play...I don't know. ..However I am optimistic

« Reply #58 on: April 22, 2015, 07:25:32 PM »
Been thinking about this a bit lately. ..my generation of warriors was the 06 crop. ..before that the closest we came was in 1990...I know about it from being a member here for so long. ..I was 4 at that time...and prior to that...was 74?

In the 06 squad we had an abundance of talent I believe with alot of our warriors plying their trade in top leagues in Europe and elsewhere. ...apart from the local talent like whitley,  and dwarika to an extent. ...

First question. ..was that bunch the highest caliber players/best squad/most prominent ballers...or the 89/90 or the 74 squad?

And finally. ..The current squad we hv....realistically do they hv the talent in comparison to the past ballers to carry us through...

100% die hard fan...through thick nd thin...even when I was deployed I was roaming this site the little I cld hv to see wuz d scene....imho...This crop does not hv the individual success the 06 crop had....how that translates into team play...I don't know. ..However I am optimistic

The 2002 squad was pretty talented.  Yorke at Man U, Shaka at West Ham, Latapy at Glasgow Rangers,  Dog at Livingston, Stern at Nottingham Forrest, Carlos Edwards and Dennis Lawrence at Wrexham.  I had great hopes for that team.

« Reply #59 on: April 23, 2015, 06:27:45 PM »
Yea I did a wiki search on the 2002 squad...what a flop....we finished last in the semi's. ..had some 06 stars in that squad too...we topped the group before the semi's tho...beating Mexico  ???  ???...anyways. ..looking forward too see how we do in the gc