March 28, 2024, 03:39:34 PM

Author Topic: 2018 World Cup Thread  (Read 144385 times)

Offline Banter Banton

Re: TnT...USA..Guatemala/Antigua..SVG/Aruba..WCQ
« Reply #180 on: July 25, 2015, 11:54:07 AM »
FIFA World Cup 2018 Draw..TnT..Guatemala/Antigua..USA..and SVG/Aruba..Starts in Nov 2015...4 FIFA friendly dates available before we start...lets get prepared.

what are the four fifa dates available???

2 match days in September and 2 in October. So far we only have Mexico lined up in September. We need 3 more games because I guarantee you the top 10 teams in concacaf will play 4 games of good quality.

Let's get it done TTFA and Min of Sport ...don't f**k around with my national team

Re: 2018 CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers Thread
« Reply #181 on: July 25, 2015, 11:55:34 AM »
Also relevant... The playoff draw has pitted Concacaf vs Asia and Conmebol vs Oceania for the half spots

japan and s.korea i assume... but how many guaranteed spots do they get?

Most likely not. They have 4.5 spots. Korea and Japan usually qualify in the automatic spots

i just checked out the groups... you are right about japan and s.korea, i believe australia and iran may get in as well, unless china does well..

« Reply #182 on: July 25, 2015, 11:56:14 AM »
FIFA World Cup 2018 Draw..TnT..Guatemala/Antigua..USA..and SVG/Aruba..Starts in Nov 2015...4 FIFA friendly dates available before we start...lets get prepared.

what are the four fifa dates available???

2 match days in September and 2 in October. So far we only have Mexico lined up in September. We need 3 more games because I guarantee you the top 10 teams in concacaf will play 4 games of good quality.

Let's get it done TTFA and Min of Sport ...don't f**k around with my national team

« Reply #183 on: July 25, 2015, 12:03:57 PM »
Has anyone seen FIFA's official response re: Guyana's SVG challenge?

« Reply #184 on: July 25, 2015, 12:07:22 PM »

no, what happened?

« Reply #185 on: July 25, 2015, 12:22:10 PM »
I disagree! Group B is the group of death.  Providing that Jamaica and Haiti win their game.  All of them will be teams who got to the quarter finals of the gold cup. Anyway T&T can't afford to take any game for granted.

check my post again... i said group b was the group of death... ::)

Contro how you always looking to pick fight so  ;)

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #186 on: July 25, 2015, 12:31:30 PM »
The J'cans go btch, they get a tough group.  ;D
the teams that advance out of group b will be well prepared for the hex.  if Jamaica continues on its current trajectory, they will be fine home and away vs these teams. Teams in form today can be woefully out of form when qualifiers roll around. This gold cup, plus Copa America Chile has transformed Jamaica...we would have played Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay, Mexico, USA, Costa Rica, Venezual, in the past month and a Hal alone. We are as prepared as anyone in Concacaf
« Last Edit: July 25, 2015, 12:40:50 PM by reggae-fan »

Offline Fyzo10

« Reply #187 on: July 25, 2015, 12:58:22 PM »
Guys will Molino be fit and healthy for the qualifications?

« Reply #188 on: July 25, 2015, 01:13:29 PM »
Guys will Molino be fit and healthy for the qualifications?

The semifinal round is from November 2015 to September 2016.
We shouldn't need him for the semis but he will be available while it's still in progress.

« Reply #189 on: July 25, 2015, 01:24:07 PM »

no, what happened?

The last article I read about this said that the SVGF provided a passport stamp as proof of the player's SVG nationality. Although, the player holds a British passport, SVG can use the stamp as temporary proof of citizenship. The stamp does say something along the lines of "this stamp is proof that the person who owns this passport is a national of St Vincent and the Grenadines". The situation is still foggy.. Because according to FIFA rules, the player must have a passport from the country they are playing for.  FIFA viewed all the passports before the game, and they never had an issue with it. So I guess the protest failed. GUY FA has already moved on. FIFA will probably update the rules to avoid this situation again.

« Reply #190 on: July 25, 2015, 02:05:41 PM »
Just looked at Antigua's roster. They have about 7 brit-antiguans. 3 are playing for in the championship and premier League.  The others are playing for teams well below league 2. I think they might pull it off against Guatemala.

Group B is serious. Whoever makes it out will be well prepared for the hex. I will take a stab at it and say Jamaica and Panama will be going to the Hex. 

« Reply #191 on: July 25, 2015, 02:10:26 PM »
Just looked at Antigua's roster. They have about 7 brit-antiguans. 3 are playing for in the championship and premier League.  The others are playing for teams well below league 2. I think they might pull it off against Guatemala.

Group B is serious. Whoever makes it out will be well prepared for the hex. I will take a stab at it and say Jamaica and Panama will be going to the Hex. 

JA and Haiti...

« Reply #192 on: July 25, 2015, 03:56:25 PM »
Group B: Costa Rica, Panama, Grenada/Haiti, Jamaica/Nicaragua this is a hard group .....

that's a group of death right there... good prep for JA though...

If Guatemala were to revamp by then and let's say beat SVG, it will not be any walk in the park for TT. Our WC record with Guat. is fairly even.

« Reply #193 on: July 25, 2015, 04:27:35 PM »
Group B: Costa Rica, Panama, Grenada/Haiti, Jamaica/Nicaragua this is a hard group .....

If Guatemala were to revamp by then and let's say beat SVG, it will not be any walk in the park for TT. Our WC record with Guat. is fairly even.

Head to Head World Cup Qualifiers vs Guatemala:
Played: 11
Won: 4
Lost: 3
Drawn: 4

Offline hg495

« Reply #194 on: July 25, 2015, 05:17:13 PM »
we already playing against mexico in sept. a good tough eurpoean team could be good warmup for america, and either a south american team like venezula or bolivia in they altitude or someone like australia or something.
if yuh never get ah buss toe playing small goal den yuh never play football in trini when yuh was small hehehehe

« Reply #195 on: July 25, 2015, 05:35:30 PM »
why worry about jamaica they will be just fine lets worry about our selves. one thing is certain we will either see panama or costa rica out of the hex because none of them will beat jamaica in that group.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2015, 05:44:41 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #196 on: July 25, 2015, 06:38:59 PM »

Head to Head World Cup Qualifiers vs Guatemala:
Played: 11
Won: 4
Lost: 3
Drawn: 4

SVG is playing Aruba. Antigua is playing Guatemala.

I think there will be an upset in the next round. My guess is GUA or SLV. The CFU teams have gotten stronger. So it will not be a surprise when it happens.

Jamaica, shouldnt take Nicaragua lightly. Nicaragua has pumped some resources into their national team recently. They are also scouting foreign born players from USA and Spain. They pulled off good results against Suriname. I think they will either play very well or very poorly against Jamaica.

We need to get some quality matches so we can stay sharp.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2015, 06:42:44 PM by gawd on pitch »

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #197 on: July 25, 2015, 07:55:49 PM »
Jamaica, shouldnt take Nicaragua lightly. Nicaragua has pumped some resources into their national team recently. They are also scouting foreign born players from USA and Spain. They pulled off good results against Suriname. I think they will either play very well or very poorly against Jamaica.

We need to get some quality matches so we can stay sharp.

Jamaica will take no one lightly, not with this coach that we have. I dont consider Nicaragua a weak team, we saw them a couple years ago at the Gold cup and they looked a decent side then. I can imagine they have gotten better.

With that said, Jamaic will be strengthening, Jason Puncheon of Chrystal Palace is set to join he squad. I imagibe with jamaicas recent success there might also be othet players looking to get a run in the squad as well.

« Reply #198 on: July 25, 2015, 08:29:46 PM »
What puncheon rum in the house. Or in the yard.

« Reply #199 on: July 25, 2015, 09:38:59 PM »
Let us not take our group for granted, all games will be difficult.

« Reply #200 on: July 25, 2015, 10:46:18 PM »
Nicaragua is a weak team. Doh dance around de ting.

Also, as things stand, SVG should whip Aruba. Barbados had dem busy and Barbados is/was itself not the picture of footballing virtue.

« Reply #201 on: July 26, 2015, 12:56:39 AM »
So what friendlies do we need to prepare besides Mexico..

Suggestions?

« Reply #202 on: July 26, 2015, 04:29:36 AM »

Suggestions?

Venezuela is a stones throw away. They have improved tremendously. We should be playing them more often. I glad we not seeing much games with the Grenadas, the SVGs etc. However, it might not hurt to get in a game as we will be playing another CFU team.

Might be hard to set up friendlies with the teams not in Concacaf.

« Last Edit: July 26, 2015, 04:32:26 AM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #203 on: July 26, 2015, 06:28:29 AM »
Group A: Mexico, Honduras, Curacao/El Salvador, Canada, Belize

Group B: Costa Rica, Panama, Grenada/Haiti, Jamaica/Nicaragua

Group C: USA, Trinidad & Tobago, St Vincent & the Grenadines/Aruba, Antigua & Barbuda/Guatemala

The top two in each group then go to Round 5...

Not a bad group...This will be a marathon until the end, but with alot of hard work, dedication and a bit of luck, We can qualify for Russia 2018.

Good draw for T&T but is always de small teams wha does give yuh trouble.

Ah hope we take all serious.

« Reply #204 on: July 26, 2015, 02:31:23 PM »

Suggestions?

Mexico
Canada
Jamaica
El Salvador

Barbados
Venezuela
Germany would be nice
Sweden

« Reply #205 on: July 26, 2015, 04:20:44 PM »

Suggestions?

Mexico
Canada
Jamaica
El Salvador

Barbados
Venezuela
Germany would be nice
Sweden

Good choices...

I was thinking Ecuador, Chile, Denmark, Wales, Chile, South Korea...

« Reply #206 on: July 28, 2015, 08:09:54 PM »
Group A: Mexico, Honduras, Curacao/El Salvador, Canada, Belize

Group B: Costa Rica, Panama, Grenada/Haiti, Jamaica/Nicaragua

Group C: USA, Trinidad & Tobago, St Vincent & the Grenadines/Aruba, Antigua & Barbuda/Guatemala

The top two in each group then go to Round 5...

Not a bad group...This will be a marathon until the end, but with alot of hard work, dedication and a bit of luck, We can qualify for Russia 2018.

Good draw for T&T but is always de small teams wha does give yuh trouble.

Ah hope we take all serious.

Costa Rica, Panama , Haiti and Jamaica

Mexico, Honduras, curaçao and Canada

Trinidad , USA , Guatemala and St Vincent

« Reply #207 on: August 02, 2015, 07:55:08 AM »
FIFA rules in favour of SVG in WC protest
T&T Express

Football world's governing body, FIFA, has turned down a protest by the Guyana Football Federation (GFF) alleging that St Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG) used an ineligible player during a World Cup Qualification game in June.

The GFF had requested FIFA to investigate and rule on the status of the player, James Gavin of St Vincent and the Grenadines, and the status and outcome of the game played in the preliminary competition for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia on June 14 between both teams at the Guyana National Stadium.

The GFF was questioning the eligibility of Gavin and whether he was in possession of a St Vincent and the Grenadines passport during the qualification games.

However, in a letter to the GFF, FIFA's Disciplinary Committee ruled that “after careful examination of all the requested information and documentation, it was considered that no further intervention was necessary in such context”.

The GFF said that it is currently seeking legal advice on whether to appeal the ruling to the FIFA Appeals Committee. St Vincent and the Grenadines advanced on away goals after a 2-2 draw in Arnos Vale followed by a 4-4 tie in Georgetown.

« Reply #208 on: August 02, 2015, 10:02:57 AM »
Shabazz take yuh licks and hush yuh mouth!

« Reply #209 on: August 02, 2015, 10:35:43 AM »
This GFF/SVG thing presents a lesson regarding compliance with the rules, but it also presents insight into how FIFA's wording has steered clear of stimulating controversy.