March 28, 2024, 06:09:05 AM

Author Topic: 2018 World Cup Thread  (Read 144289 times)

Re: 2018 World Cup Qualification Thread
« Reply #390 on: November 15, 2015, 04:59:55 PM »
wow didn't know neymar was a creole, all this time i thought he was latino.   :rotfl:

lol...latino isnt a race, there's a lot of black latinos in brazil

neymar is most likely mulatto, everyone from brazil and grew up there speaking portuguese are latinos whether they white black or mixed

latino is basically like west indian..its not rly a race
dont take me seriously friend. i was only getting kicks on his nappy hairstyle look. before he was rocking the blond streaks which lead me to believe he was mullato. now he has a flannel ball afro. no offense.

I seen an article about the whitening of Neymar the other day. The article had pictures of him in his early teenage years. He appeared to be more "black" than "latino" in the pictures. Does not matter to me what race he is. However, in Brazil it does matter.
i said it in jest only because i didn't recognize him. i actually thought that dunga brought in another youth player, then i saw the number 10. it was just funny to see hime changed up and so differently. i was taken by surprise.

Re: 2018 CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers Thread
« Reply #391 on: November 16, 2015, 01:33:38 AM »
Higuita Impersonation Gone Wrong - GK Johnny Placide (Haiti) vs. Grenada

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/yuvDfKMo1WE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/yuvDfKMo1WE</a>

« Reply #392 on: November 16, 2015, 12:52:50 PM »
Costa Rica Coach Quits After Fight
By The Associated Press

Paulo Wanchope resigned as the coach of Costa Rica’s national team a day after he was involved in a fistfight at a match in Panama City.

Wanchope was an observer at Tuesday night’s game between the under-23 teams of Costa Rica and Panama. A scuffle broke out, and video of the incident shows Wanchope angrily opening a gate to the field, shoving a youth standing behind it and apparently receiving a shove from a man standing beside the gate. Wanchope then turns and punches the man, who kicks and hits him before the police intervene.

Wanchope, who took over Costa Rica’s team last year after a career as one of Central America’s most famous forwards, had approached the field several times to shout at officials that the match was fixed, said Ramon Cardoze, vice president of the Panama Soccer Federation.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/k-8qesS852U" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/k-8qesS852U</a>

Just ran into PW @ MIA. He doh seem to have a worry on his shoulders. But forget shoulders ... He definitely doh have a worry on his arm. A gem of a woman.

« Reply #393 on: November 17, 2015, 03:51:35 PM »
Guatemala 4 St Vincent 0

« Reply #394 on: November 17, 2015, 04:42:43 PM »
Wow. I just seen Corona on Mexico score a "BOSS" goal. You will know what I talking about when you see it.

Honduras 0-1 Mexico 20 mins left

« Reply #395 on: November 17, 2015, 04:50:43 PM »
Honduras has really fell off. They are down by two now. They have a huge hill to climb if they want to make the hex. If the game finishes as it is, Honduras will not make the hex. Especially if Canada gets a point tonight in San Salvador. Yes it's still a bit early. But it's looking that way now.

« Reply #396 on: November 17, 2015, 08:30:36 PM »
Wow. I just seen Corona on Mexico score a "BOSS" goal. You will know what I talking about when you see it.

Honduras 0-1 Mexico 20 mins left

Corona is PRESSHA

« Reply #397 on: November 17, 2015, 09:19:38 PM »
This Canada - El Salvador game is the worst game I've seen in a while. I don't know why I still watching it.

« Reply #398 on: November 17, 2015, 09:30:09 PM »
This Canada - El Salvador game is the worst game I've seen in a while. I don't know why I still watching it.
Ent! Thank God it's over now.

« Reply #399 on: November 17, 2015, 11:00:05 PM »
Ent! Thank God it's over now.

You still watching it because it was the only game on the tv. I was watching it also. Game tied 0-0.

« Reply #400 on: November 18, 2015, 04:13:29 AM »
Concacaf World Cup Qualifiers Full Results

Group A

Mexico 2 (Jesus Corona 67, Jurgen Damm 72) v Honduras 0

Canada 0 v El Salvador 0

Group B

Costa Rica 2 (Bryan Ruiz 66, Marcos Urena 69) v Panama 1 (Luis Tejada 71)

Jamaica 1 (Clayton Donaldson 64) v Haiti 0

Group C

USA 0 v Trinidad and Tobago 0

St Vincent 0 v Guatemala 4 (Brandon de Leon 24, Minor Campollo 33, Dennis Lopez 50, Gerson Tinoco 81)

« Reply #401 on: November 18, 2015, 05:57:45 AM »

As of now I see Costa Rica and Panama coming out of Group B. One reason because it's hard for JA to win in Panama. See what happens

« Reply #402 on: November 18, 2015, 06:52:14 AM »

As of now I see Costa Rica and Panama coming out of Group B. One reason because it's hard for JA to win in Panama. See what happens

Breds, CR has to to go Kingston. JA will catch themselves by then.

« Reply #403 on: November 18, 2015, 07:24:28 AM »
No for the weak hearts.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/yEhVfPF9Zdw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/yEhVfPF9Zdw</a>

« Reply #404 on: November 18, 2015, 07:29:04 AM »

No for the weak hearts.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/yEhVfPF9Zdw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/yEhVfPF9Zdw</a>

Ah sorry for that fella because that look like a career ender...

« Reply #405 on: November 18, 2015, 08:22:33 AM »

Breds, CR has to to go Kingston. JA will catch themselves by then.

Breds you talking like if that is a fact. It is more likely for CR to win in Kingston than JA winning in Panama. Like I said time will tell.

« Reply #406 on: November 18, 2015, 12:36:16 PM »
No for the weak hearts.

career done!!

Offline Adam Lake

« Reply #407 on: November 18, 2015, 01:10:06 PM »
No for the weak hearts.

career done!!

JAH! Dat is PAIN!!

« Reply #408 on: November 18, 2015, 10:51:59 PM »
And check the stupid Mexican grimacing and acting like he get hurt.
Watch how he jump up as soon as he see the extent of the injury.

Re: T&T Journey To USA To Face Latin Competition.
« Reply #409 on: December 24, 2015, 07:45:17 AM »
Guatemala coach quits amid chaos.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Guatemala is in search of a new head coach ahead of its next set of 2018 World Cup qualifying matches in March after Argentina Ivan Sopegno quit his position and returned to club Comunicaciones. His contract was set to expire at the end of 2015.

Guatemala lost at home 2-1 to T&T in November before defeating St Vincent and the Grenadines 4-0 on the road. Guatemala will face the United States twice in March in upcoming World Cup qualifiers.

Guatemalan football federation president Bryan Jimenez, and its secretary general, Hector Trujillo, were indicted by US authorities, along with its former representative on the FIFA executive committee, Rafael Salguero. And reports are that amid the chaos, Sopegno opted to quit his position.

« Reply #410 on: December 24, 2015, 09:42:33 AM »
El Salvador has declined to fine 8 players who abandoned training camp in October. According to the federation, the players involved (who have been named) need to issue statements of apology to the nation. More to follow.

« Reply #411 on: December 24, 2015, 10:05:17 AM »
As far as Sopegno quitting Guatemala: he is probably overstating the reason he is stepping down. Convenient time to exit for him personally.

FIFA's intervention in the federation's affairs, marks the second time in roughly a decade that FIFA has had to step in to right things in Guatemala. At the moment, a lot of daylight exists between now and March. Too early to declare how it affects outcomes on the field.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2015, 10:07:41 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #412 on: December 30, 2015, 07:17:53 AM »
More chaos in Guatemalan football is benefit to T&T during a WC campaign since we in the same group  :)

« Reply #413 on: December 31, 2015, 12:31:33 PM »
Word out is that "Winnie" might be leaving Jamaica soon. He is owed a few months wages. An African team is interested in him.

He is probably the best coach the Reggaeboyz has had in a long time. If he goes, goodbye Russia 2018 for them.

« Reply #414 on: January 02, 2016, 08:36:20 PM »
Interesting development. Looks like the Reggae Boyz may lose the best coach they have had in years. Although, Winnie released a statement promising to stay until the end of his contract, there are reports that he is in Muscat finalizing a deal to be Oman's national coach.

https://twitter.com/ahdaafme   

« Reply #415 on: January 03, 2016, 06:08:53 AM »
Interesting development. Looks like the Reggae Boyz may lose the best coach they have had in years. Although, Winnie released a statement promising to stay until the end of his contract, there are reports that he is in Muscat finalizing a deal to be Oman's national coach.

I will take it seriously when I see something official that he is leaving until then its speculation and rumours.

« Reply #416 on: January 03, 2016, 08:11:22 AM »

I will take it seriously when I see something official that he is leaving until then its speculation and rumours.

It always starts with speculation. One thing is certain though, Winnie has quite a name in the football international sphere. He is owed a few months salary  by the JFF and for him to jump on a plane and go to Muscat for negotiations, I think it is more than speculation. I think he is prepping a back up plan. We will see what happens..

« Reply #417 on: January 04, 2016, 02:10:39 PM »
Report: Canadian national team to land dual-nationals Steven Vitoria, Scott Arfield

http://www.mlssoccer.com/post/2016/01/04/report-canadian-national-team-land-dual-nationals-steven-vitoria-scott-arfield

Benito Floro's pool of players is growing larger in 2016.

Former Philadelphia Union centerback Steven Vitoria and current Burnley midfielder Scott Arfield are set to pledge their international soccer allegiances to Canada, according to a report from Vancouver publication The Province. Vitoria and Arfield are expected to be called in by Floro in the coming months, and they will be the latest dual nationals to join the Canadians as they attempt to reach the World Cup this cycle.

Vitoria, 28, was born in Toronto but played for Portugal at the Under-20 level. He was never capped by the senior squad, however, and is apparently ready to play for Canada. The 6-foot-5 defender is currently under contract with Benfica, but spent last season on loan with the Union.

The 27-year-old Arfield was born in Scotland, but is eligible to suit up for Canada because his father was born in Toronto. Arfield currently plays for English Championship side Burnley, and has previously represented Scotland's youth teams.

Canada are currently in the midst of their CONCACAF World Cup qualifying campaign. They next play against Mexico on March 25.

« Reply #418 on: January 19, 2016, 10:18:35 PM »
Claveri named Guatemala head coach
CONCACAF.com

GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala – Walter Claveri was presented as the new head coach of Guatemala at a press conference on Monday.

The 58-year-old leaves a similar position with Suchitepequez and replaces Ivan Sopegno, who resigned in December after the Chapines opened the fourth round of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup with a 1W-0D-1L record in Group C play.

"With well-defined principles, we hope to lay the foundations for our football to succeed," said Claveri. "Guatemala is changing and we hope that we can all contribute to its improvement.”

As a player, Claveri was a member of Suchitepequez, when it captured its only Guatemalan league title in 1983 and he won the bronze medal with Guatemala at the 1983 Pan American Games.

Guatemala resumes World Cup qualifying with games against the first-place United States (1W-1D-0L, 4 points) at March 25 (home) and March 29 (away).

"This team is already formed,” Claveri commented. “Ivan (Sopegno) formed a basis. We seek to add one other player. The team has several players and Municipal Communications".

Claveri will be assisted by former Guatemala internationals Juan Carlos Plata, David Gardiner and Rogelio Flores.

« Reply #419 on: January 21, 2016, 10:19:47 PM »
CAS rules in favour of SVGFF
Antigua Observer

Striker Gavin James, according to GFF, was not the holder of a St Vincent and the Grenadines passport when he played in a World Cup qualifier against Guyana

LAUSANNE, Switzerland (CMC) — The Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) has ruled in favour of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Football Federation (SVGFF) in a dispute with the Guyana Football Federation (GFF).

A judgment handed down by sole arbitrator Luigi Fumagalli, of Milan, Italy, was delivered to the SVGFF last week, outlining the substance of the ruling.

GFF lodged a complaint with FIFA last year claiming that the SVGFF had used an ineligible player, Gavin James, when the two teams met in a Russia 2018 World Cup Qualifier in Guyana on June 14.

GFF’s complain was rejected by FIFA’s Disciplinary Committee as well as its Appeals Committee.

GFF then took its case against FIFA and the SVGFF to the CAS on the eligibility of UK–based James.

The GFF contended that James was not the holder of a St Vincent and the Grenadines passport at the time the game was played as was required by Article 19(3) of the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Regulations.

Reports say that at the time of the game, James was the holder of a United Kingdom passport with a stamp inserted indicating he was a citizen of SVG by descent.

Reports say that after assessing the matter and looking at all the evidence, Fumagalli, a lawyer, found the case put forward by the GFF to be flawed in a number of ways.