March 28, 2024, 03:54:22 AM

Author Topic: 2018 World Cup Thread  (Read 144267 times)

Re: 2018 CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers Thread
« Reply #420 on: February 09, 2016, 08:43:01 AM »
Guatemala plays Honduras tomorrow night in a friendly warm-up to prep for Klinsi and Co. Players started prep as a squad yesterday.

« Reply #421 on: February 09, 2016, 08:51:50 AM »
Guatemala plays Honduras tomorrow night in a friendly warm-up to prep for Klinsi and Co. Players started prep as a squad yesterday.
Klinsi and Co. also played Canada over the weekend to prepare for them. Other teams finding ways to get their friendlies in, even if it's with local based players.

« Reply #422 on: February 09, 2016, 08:59:21 AM »
Klinsi and Co. also played Canada over the weekend to prepare for them. Other teams finding ways to get their friendlies in, even if it's with local based players.

No Carnival in either place.  :P

Maybe we should pull a Trinidad XI v. a Tobago XI at the Oval and find a catchy name for de event.

« Reply #423 on: February 09, 2016, 09:20:35 AM »

No Carnival in either place.  :P

Maybe we should pull a Trinidad XI v. a Tobago XI at the Oval and find a catchy name for de event.

We could call it de Machel Cup, dat might get ppl's attention ;D

« Reply #424 on: February 10, 2016, 03:53:39 PM »
Mexico plays Senegal tonight. Rafa Marquez is in the squad. Game primarily about two things: commercial interest and observing players (some with a view of WC qualification and others the Olympics). Match being played in Miami at Marlins Park.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2016, 03:56:21 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #425 on: February 10, 2016, 10:58:31 PM »
Mexico 2 Senegal 0

Senegal showed the naivete of a team unfamiliar with the approach of Mexican squads to friendlies and qualifiers alike. In the second half the inevitable happened (twice): courtesy hungry ballers showing their hunger.

For much less £, several of the Senegalese played in a manner evocative of the term English commentators have pinned on Toure Yaya's back: "languid".

Guatemala 3 Honduras 1

Honduras opened the scoring at ~ 3 minutes; the eventual equalizer came from the Honduran-born, naturalised Guatemalan, Gerson Tinoco,  at ~ 19'). However, out of respect for his country of birth, Tinoco did not celebrate. It was uphill from there for Honduras and Jorge Luis Pinto. While it's true Honduras has been experiencing a bad patch, it seems Guatemala doesn't plan on lying down anytime soon.

P.S.

By the way, Pescado Ruiz is back courtesy a ruling from the Normalization Committee overseeing the Guatemalan federation. Ruiz initially had been awarded a six month suspension after rushing the ref following the ref's call (on a play that involved Mekeil Williams). In a significant turn of events, the powers-that-are now say that the six matches Ruiz has missed are punishment enough. It seems fairly certain that "someone" wanted his soldier around for WC qualifying. Even at 37, Pescadito is that important. Take note.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2016, 11:18:46 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #426 on: February 25, 2016, 02:22:51 AM »
Zardes v. Santos Laguna: played wide with movement towards central positions when in the final third. Overall not an impressive rendition on either side of the ball. Very innocuous, very tentative (movement) ... notably poor aerially. Not convinced as to the intangible he brought Arena.

In preseason, there are reports that Arena is considering/experimenting with Zardes up top with Keane ... opting to deploy Gio dos Santos from the flank.

Curious as to how Zardes' role and performances will develop in the coming weeks. Hard to see Klinsmann finding much comfort in today's effort. Of course not our immediate concern given the FIFA calendar, but there is something "not there" ...

On the other hand, Bradley was Bradley.

« Reply #427 on: February 25, 2016, 02:54:17 AM »
U.S. happy with camp, looks next to Guatemala
CONCACAF.COM

CARSON, California -- It needed very late goals in two separate games, but victories over Iceland and Canada, respectively, represented the first time since 2012 that the United States opened the year with two straight wins.

On Friday, Jozy Altidore’s 89th minute header off a cross from Ethan Finlay gave the Americans a 1-0 triumph over their visiting neighbor to the north.

The result ended a lengthy U.S. training camp on a positive note, creating good vibes ahead of a pair of World Cup qualifiers against Guatemala next month.

“Everyone takes this as a head start and got four weeks under their belt,” said U.S. head coach Jurgen Klinsmann after the Canada encounter. “They all worked really well. The whole spirit of the camp was great. I think they got rewarded tonight. We told them they’ve got to be patient. It is what it is. The more the game goes on, (Canada’s) going to get more defensive and make it more difficult.”

Klinsmann’s side leads its fourth-round World Cup Qualifying group on goal difference over Trinidad & Tobago after two games each (four points, GD: +4 to +1). The U.S. can put some distance between itself and the third-place Guatemalans (3 points) with wins on March 25 and 29, when it is expected to field a more experienced side.

“This is about the bigger picture,” the 51-year-old German noted. “That we are well prepared for Guatemala. Obviously, we’ll have the European players coming in.”

One of the bright spots has been the play of Altidore, who netted in both to take his international goal total to 33.

“He looked good the whole camp,” Klinsmann finished. “He's hungry, wants to prove himself. He deserved that goal (against Canada).”

« Reply #429 on: March 13, 2016, 01:40:36 PM »
(Panama will play Martinique in Martinique on April 27. Friendly).

« Reply #430 on: March 17, 2016, 02:41:32 PM »
Panama has made one change to its squad as it prepares to face Haiti. They have promoted 18 year old Ismael Diaz to the First Team. Diaz joins Blas Perez, Luis Tejada, Abdiel Arroyo, Roberto Nurse and Gabriel Torres as Panama's contingent of forwards. Diaz is Portugal-based (Porto), but plays for the "B" squad there.

« Reply #431 on: March 25, 2016, 06:03:00 PM »
I now about to watch JA vs CR. I notice the JFA got the new prime minister to come out and shake hands and give the boyz words of encouragement. Holness telling the boyz " Meh wan see five", "Mek sure yuh pass the ball", "We want a win". They even get Tessanne to come out and sing the anthem. National pride high in that stadium now.

« Reply #432 on: March 25, 2016, 06:15:29 PM »

Watching the JA vs CR game at the moment. It will be a surprise if JA win this game. let us see what will happen

« Reply #433 on: March 25, 2016, 06:15:52 PM »
I now about to watch JA vs CR. I notice the JFA got the new prime minister to come out and shake hands and give the boyz words of encouragement. Holness telling the boyz " Meh wan see five", "Mek sure yuh pass the ball", "We want a win". They even get Tessanne to come out and sing the anthem. National pride high in that stadium now.

they will need more than national pride. let us see what happens

« Reply #434 on: March 25, 2016, 06:20:38 PM »

they will need more than national pride. let us see what happens

As you say that Sando. They score. JA 1 - 0 CR.. And they are looking GOOD.

« Reply #435 on: March 25, 2016, 07:11:45 PM »
Haiti 0-0 Panama

Jamaica 1- 0 Costa Rica
Jamaica is playing very good. Costa Rica dont know what to do with the ball.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2016, 07:14:15 PM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #436 on: March 25, 2016, 07:17:15 PM »

Costa Rica may equalise. pressure does buss pipe

« Reply #437 on: March 25, 2016, 07:20:49 PM »

You watching the game? I am. Jamaica cleaning up everything!

« Reply #438 on: March 25, 2016, 07:28:02 PM »

You watching the game? I am. Jamaica cleaning up everything!

so what just happened? like I said pressure does buss pipe!

« Reply #439 on: March 25, 2016, 07:28:15 PM »

CR equalised..game now 1-1

« Reply #440 on: March 25, 2016, 07:28:30 PM »
Sando..

Goal Costa Rical. JA 1-1 CR

JA need all points in this game.

« Reply #441 on: March 25, 2016, 07:29:28 PM »

Yeah. But you think JA playing good? I think they outplaying CR

« Reply #442 on: March 25, 2016, 07:31:00 PM »

Listen if you want Jamaica to win that is ok but CR is and has always been one of the top teams in CONCACAF. This is a hard game for Jamaica to win

I am now going to turn to the USA vs Guatemala game

« Reply #443 on: March 25, 2016, 07:32:51 PM »

Listen if you want Jamaica to win that is ok but CR is and has always been one of the top teams in CONCACAF. This is a hard game for Jamaica to win

I am now going to turn to the USA vs Guatemala game

I only giving credit where its due. I think they playing much better than CR.. But the game is starting to shift. So maybe I'll be eating my words.

« Reply #444 on: March 25, 2016, 08:01:35 PM »
Ja and CR.  draw!

On to the US and Guat game!

« Reply #445 on: March 25, 2016, 08:14:40 PM »
Ja and CR.  draw!

On to the US and Guat game!

Guat 1-0 USA

« Reply #446 on: March 25, 2016, 08:21:54 PM »
The final countdown for Klinsmann?

« Reply #447 on: March 25, 2016, 08:22:03 PM »
2-0 Guate

« Reply #448 on: March 25, 2016, 08:25:34 PM »
Offside goal for Ruiz?

Anybody watching that Brazil - Uruguay Game?

« Reply #449 on: March 25, 2016, 08:32:22 PM »
Braz-Uru 2-2 in the 76 mins.