March 28, 2024, 05:52:33 PM

Author Topic: 2018 World Cup Thread  (Read 144399 times)

Re: 2018 World Cup Thread
« Reply #750 on: June 17, 2018, 12:49:44 PM »
This Brazil team is well balanced in all areas and positions, hard to find a weakness

« Reply #751 on: June 17, 2018, 01:09:02 PM »
This is why you don't play with your food

« Reply #752 on: June 17, 2018, 01:27:44 PM »
Best thing for Neymar is that he isn't captain. Also Brazil has several players who have worn the armband. No shortage of "leaders".

« Reply #753 on: June 17, 2018, 01:46:45 PM »
This look like an Arsenal game.

Start off hot and sweaty, brilliant play,  then get done by a set piece

« Reply #754 on: June 17, 2018, 01:56:33 PM »
A well organized Swiss team fort for a point. They did excellent. Next game.

« Reply #755 on: June 17, 2018, 02:19:29 PM »
Several times and for the most part of the game Neymar, was decked on his backside, no problem putting him down.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2018, 03:19:38 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #756 on: June 17, 2018, 03:56:01 PM »
While it was admirable(if you not a Brazil fan) that the Swiss played a smart and well-organized game, they did commit fouls on Neymar. He did not have a good day, but he was out there trying to make something work. Unfortunaely, not much worked for him. So all the people who castigated Pogba and France. Look who have 3 points after the first set of games.

« Reply #757 on: June 17, 2018, 07:38:25 PM »
Although several of the Swiss fouls were tactical fouls (the so-called professional fouls), Neymar was also otherwise deliberately placing himself in situations to draw fouls. Classic example is one of the free kicks they had in the dregs when Miranda went forward.

What's an effective way of eliminating distance between the goal and the ball without losing possession when time to advance the ball is limited ? A free kick.

Of note, today both Germany and Brazil were in search of a decisive goal but the difference in approach between both teams (despite Germany's loss) showed where Brazil might be lacking in generating creativity (that's not dependent on one player) closer to the opponent's goal.

Good game by Switzerland but Zuber's goal would have been disallowed by refs in prominent leagues, ent?
« Last Edit: June 17, 2018, 08:03:10 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #758 on: June 18, 2018, 06:28:43 AM »
but Zuber's goal would have been disallowed by refs in prominent leagues, ent?

Probably not.  We only see the foul on the replay, in slow motion. I guess VAR will mean more of this stuff gets called, but even then it's still a judgement call. I don't think it was called much differently in the Bundesliga.

« Reply #759 on: June 18, 2018, 06:30:46 AM »
Sweden - Korea is... robust.
If you even look like you thinking of breaking free, then you getting kick down.

« Reply #760 on: June 18, 2018, 07:11:25 AM »

Probably not.  We only see the foul on the replay, in slow motion. I guess VAR will mean more of this stuff gets called, but even then it's still a judgement call. I don't think it was called much differently in the Bundesliga.
According to Wenger, had they used VAR to call a foul on that goal then they'll have to call fouls on every corner given the amount of pushing and shoving at that takes place. Miranda's positioning was poor. He was looking directly at the corner not with an open body posture to see man and ball to avoid getting pushed in the back.

« Reply #761 on: June 18, 2018, 07:12:59 AM »
Korea like they watched the TnT vs Sweeden game last night for inspiration

« Reply #762 on: June 18, 2018, 07:15:23 AM »
Korea like they watched the TnT vs Sweeden game last night for inspiration

I doh think we foul as much. But I biased.

« Reply #763 on: June 18, 2018, 07:20:40 AM »
VAR says...
Penalty!

I'd be shocked if this game ends with 22 on the pitch

« Reply #764 on: June 18, 2018, 09:36:37 AM »
The Panama fans remind me of T&T fans in the Stadium against Sweden and England.....more noise and vibes than the opposition.....

« Reply #765 on: June 18, 2018, 11:30:26 AM »

According to Wenger, had they used VAR to call a foul on that goal then they'll have to call fouls on every corner given the amount of pushing and shoving at that takes place. Miranda's positioning was poor. He was looking directly at the corner not with an open body posture to see man and ball to avoid getting pushed in the back.

I have a recollection of Howard Webb raining on somebody's parade after putting one like that in the net.

The pinnacle of the game is scoring goals. Pushing on a corner with an innocuous outcome should be distinguished from shoves that lead to the advantage of a goal. Yuh could always call the play back (as is done when an advantage materialises). Perhaps Miranda should have dropped to the deck to emphasize the contact.

Ah jes vex Switzerland equalized.  :)
« Last Edit: June 18, 2018, 11:40:13 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #766 on: June 18, 2018, 12:39:26 PM »
So... Tunisia Penalty?

Harry Kane!!! Penalty?
« Last Edit: June 18, 2018, 01:03:17 PM by Bitter »

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #767 on: June 18, 2018, 01:07:21 PM »
The Panama fans remind me of T&T fans in the Stadium against Sweden and England.....more noise and vibes than the opposition.....

Panama was excellent today against Belgium: they defended well, good ball control and passing, and attacked when it was possible. In this world cup, I am strongly supporting both Belgium and Panama, although for slightly different reasons.  My fondest hope (for this match) was that Panama scored at least one goal and not collect too many from Belgium.  Love the spirit of my Panamanian brothers, from the time the game start (or before) they are on their feet cheering, really into the moment. A long time ago, when I lived in Los Angeles, when you hear the Panamanian Association of LA is throwing a party, it is a real party. To me, the Panamanians are one of the very few groups whose party can match the real vibes of a good Trini party.

It is my fondest hope that Panama beat England on Sunday.   

« Reply #768 on: June 18, 2018, 01:11:16 PM »
This officiating crew is terrible.

« Reply #769 on: June 18, 2018, 02:01:22 PM »
Harry Kane the hero, Ian Wright smiling from ear to ear.

« Reply #770 on: June 18, 2018, 02:05:25 PM »

I have a recollection of Howard Webb raining on somebody's parade after putting one like that in the net.

The pinnacle of the game is scoring goals. Pushing on a corner with an innocuous outcome should be distinguished from shoves that lead to the advantage of a goal. Yuh could always call the play back (as is done when an advantage materialises). Perhaps Miranda should have dropped to the deck to emphasize the contact.

Ah jes vex Switzerland equalized.  :)
I like Brazil too, I want them to win it all. Although the replay of the push was showing on the big screen for all to see, the ref still ignored going to VAR.

« Reply #771 on: June 18, 2018, 02:13:37 PM »
Congrats, Hengland. Sorry Panama lost by that wide margin. But next game. That first goal was thundah

« Reply #772 on: June 19, 2018, 05:57:54 AM »

Panama was excellent today against Belgium: they defended well, good ball control and passing, and attacked when it was possible. In this world cup, I am strongly supporting both Belgium and Panama, although for slightly different reasons.  My fondest hope (for this match) was that Panama scored at least one goal and not collect too many from Belgium.  Love the spirit of my Panamanian brothers, from the time the game start (or before) they are on their feet cheering, really into the moment. A long time ago, when I lived in Los Angeles, when you hear the Panamanian Association of LA is throwing a party, it is a real party. To me, the Panamanians are one of the very few groups whose party can match the real vibes of a good Trini party.

It is my fondest hope that Panama beat England on Sunday.   

Panama beating England wouldn't be good for a match prediction game I'm playing on FIFA's website but I eh goh mind at all if they beat England.  Especially after seeing England play against Tunisia yesterday.  England lacking something in the final 3rd......and someone who could bend it like Beckham.....

« Reply #773 on: June 19, 2018, 06:48:26 AM »
Yuh wake up prepared to play the match of yuh life and 3 minutes after taking the field yuh get a red card. Agony!

« Reply #774 on: June 19, 2018, 06:50:19 AM »
Yuh wake up prepared to play the match of yuh life and 3 minutes after taking the field yuh get a red card. Agony!

Boy.....

« Reply #775 on: June 19, 2018, 09:41:39 AM »

« Reply #776 on: June 19, 2018, 10:23:53 AM »
There's a Hitler joke in here somewhere...

How about a Polish joke...

Their defense!  :D :D

« Reply #777 on: June 19, 2018, 10:30:27 AM »
There's a Hitler joke in here somewhere...

How about a Polish joke...

Their defense!  :D :D

:D :D ;D

« Reply #778 on: June 19, 2018, 10:31:28 AM »
Senegal in dey waist!!!   

:duel: :flamethrower: :wavetowel: :party: :whip: :applause: :cheers: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :applause: :applause: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

« Reply #779 on: June 19, 2018, 12:43:23 PM »
Egypt and Russia playing at 100 mph. check them men for steroids.