March 28, 2024, 09:54:08 AM

Author Topic: 2018 World Cup Thread  (Read 144323 times)

Re: 2018 World Cup Thread
« Reply #840 on: June 22, 2018, 11:05:21 AM »

« Reply #841 on: June 22, 2018, 11:06:58 AM »
Argentina just need some help from Nigeria tomorrow, as a avid fan of the sport it would be a travesty not to see Argentina and Messi in the 2nd round.

If you are a true fan of the sport you'd want to see teams who deserve to be there make it, not a collection of mismanaged and underperforming stars.  Other teams are playing real ball for the opportunity to advance.  Even teams not expected to challenge are showing much more fight and resilience while losing than Argentina has thus far.  Between qualification and performance thus far Argentina needs to be put out of their misery and go home.
I move to second this argument part of Argentina downfall is dey sense of entitlement and allowing one man to instigate a disrespectful show of player power. .....messi is ah arrogant  twat with no leadership quality

Sent from my SM-J105B using Tapatalk

« Reply #842 on: June 22, 2018, 04:06:57 PM »
Al Davis was right. Just win, baby!

« Reply #843 on: June 22, 2018, 04:18:59 PM »
The funny thing yesterday after the game was all about Messi, Argentina and Sampaoli. The better playing team got less than half the write up. I like Argentina because they play great football. And Messi, because he is the best attacking mid-fielder in this geration. But the better team won yesterday. Croatia scored 3. Argentina should not even cry. Is not like they got 7 in they own backyard. All they have to do is beat the Naija-Men. This will be the real final of the first round.If they cannot beat Nigeria, homeward bound.

« Reply #844 on: June 22, 2018, 09:44:43 PM »

2010 World champion Fabregas says Germany is walking a tight rope and talks about why the big stars including Ronaldo have failed to shine thus far

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/44567806

« Reply #845 on: June 23, 2018, 06:16:58 AM »
I was now about to write off Tunisia

« Reply #846 on: June 23, 2018, 06:19:46 AM »
Serious cracker this one

« Reply #847 on: June 23, 2018, 06:44:34 AM »
At d rate Tunisians getting injured dey mightn finish d game with 11 men

« Reply #848 on: June 23, 2018, 06:47:41 AM »

« Reply #849 on: June 23, 2018, 07:43:09 AM »

The Wildest, Craziest-Dressed Fans Of The World Cup ..So far

https://socamusictv.blogspot.com/2018/06/the-wildest-craziest-dressed-fans-of.html

« Reply #850 on: June 23, 2018, 09:25:46 AM »
That was no PK.

« Reply #851 on: June 23, 2018, 09:50:08 AM »
On display is what Vela can do when his head is in the right place.

Somebody will buy Hirving Lozano this summer.

What a day of football and there is still more to come!

« Reply #852 on: June 23, 2018, 12:26:02 PM »
I blame Ozil for this Germany performance

« Reply #853 on: June 23, 2018, 01:26:54 PM »

You know Ozil on the bench for this match. By the way ah the German forward try a flick to score.That reminds me of Tom Phillip trying that in a WC game in the oval many moons ago.

« Reply #854 on: June 23, 2018, 01:40:01 PM »
Shims. Red for Boateng on that tackle.

« Reply #855 on: June 23, 2018, 01:53:24 PM »
Sweden, Sweden, Sweden!!!!!

« Reply #856 on: June 23, 2018, 08:32:41 PM »

You know Ozil on the bench for this match. By the way ah the German forward try a flick to score.That reminds me of Tom Phillip trying that in a WC game in the oval many moons ago.

Was a joke breds. They blaming Ozil for the Mexico game.

That free kick was worthy of a world cup though.   :flamethrower:

« Reply #857 on: June 24, 2018, 06:08:10 AM »
Panama ent even hold out for 10 minutes...  :-[

« Reply #858 on: June 24, 2018, 06:26:54 AM »
Game done.

« Reply #859 on: June 24, 2018, 06:39:38 AM »
Panama even trying?

« Reply #860 on: June 24, 2018, 06:42:52 AM »
This Panama team making concacaf look bad. So let's  rewind to 2006 where a substantial amount of people chastised Bernie-man for playing defensively. Panama is not even doing that. They falling apart. Now another penalty. Lord.

« Reply #861 on: June 24, 2018, 06:47:55 AM »
Panama even trying?

They are not even contesting balls in areas where they always contest the ball aggressively.

« Reply #862 on: June 24, 2018, 07:01:50 AM »
Ronaldo is advising Neymar in Russia
Marca

The strain of carrying a nation's hopes and dreams on his shoulders seemed to get to Neymar on Friday, as he broke down in tears on the pitch after Brazil's 2-0 victory over Costa Rica.

The 26-year-old is under intense pressure and, in order to help him cope with this burden, he has been receiving advice from Ronaldo Nazario.

Ronaldo knows what it's like to be in Neymar's position, given that he went through similar experiences in 1998 and in 2002, experiencing tremendous heartbreak in France and then incredible joy in South Korea and Japan.

The pair have been friends for several years and are regularly talking to each other during this World Cup, speaking face-to-face the day before a match.

Ronaldo's visits to the Brazil camp have become regular, with the legendary striker greeting the whole squad and then spending some private time with Neymar.

As well as this, Ronaldo has been publically backing the PSG star during his appearances as a pundit for O'Globo.

"We cannot forget that Neymar is just back from a very significant foot injury and that he is regaining his confidence right now," he said at the end of the Costa Rica win.

"I am sure that his goal will help to boost his morale and that things will go better for him now.

"He is trying everything, as he dribbles, runs, fights and looks for solutions.

"His goal will give him a lot of strength to be the leader of the Selecao."

Neymar's father is also offering support to the player and has regularly been visiting the hotel.

In fact, Neymar Sr. even has official Brazil team accreditation, rather than being listed as a fan like most other player relatives are.

Thiago Silva: Neymar insulted me when I returned a ball to Costa Rica

Neymar's attitude during Brazil's 2-0 victory over Costa Rica has been criticised by many, including by teammate Thiago Silva.

The defender, who wore the Brazil armband on Friday, has spoken of how the forward hit out at him when he kicked a ball back to Costa Rica in an act of fair play.

"He is like a little brother to me and I try to look out for him, but today I feel sad because he insulted me when I returned a ball to Costa Rica," Silva told the Brazilian press.

"He had a point as they had given him a lot, but this one ball wasn't going to earn us the victory.

"I was saddened by his attitude and I told him that afterwards."

Discussing the forward's post-match tears, Silva said that he could understand the outpouring of emotion.

"It's normal that Neymar needs to let off steam," the defender said.

"He carried a heavy weight.

"He'll now be a lot more relaxed for the third game."

That third match of the group will be against Serbia and will take place at 20:00 CET on Wednesday.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2018, 07:11:21 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #863 on: June 24, 2018, 07:34:28 AM »
Fans cheering like they score the winning goal

« Reply #864 on: June 24, 2018, 07:46:33 AM »
Well done, Baloy. Way to cap a memorable career.

« Reply #865 on: June 24, 2018, 07:54:52 AM »
And of course, Alexi Lalas uses the opportunity to lament how the US home and this shit side getting licks in the World Cup.

« Reply #866 on: June 24, 2018, 08:04:48 AM »
And of course, Alexi Lalas uses the opportunity to lament how the US home and this shit side getting licks in the World Cup.
leh dem stay dey,

in 2006 we were beaten but not humiliated, panama maybe can be faulted for being a bit too ambitious in their approach, Beenhakker knew what he had and what he could do with it, still say Latas coulda come after England score and started against paraguay, but ah goh take giving england and sweden fits ah frustration over being ah whipping pole any day

« Reply #867 on: June 24, 2018, 10:07:59 AM »
Japan will stick one in Senegal arse. They better score.

« Reply #868 on: June 24, 2018, 10:33:54 AM »
WDA Senegal was doing there?

« Reply #869 on: June 24, 2018, 10:47:11 AM »
Started with a needless back pass. We did something similar in Costa Rica, except we hadn't scored and the match had just started. But essentially the same principle.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2018, 10:49:26 AM by asylumseeker »