March 28, 2024, 02:39:20 PM

Author Topic: 2018 World Cup Thread  (Read 144374 times)

Re: 2018 World Cup Thread
« Reply #1050 on: July 11, 2018, 03:27:54 PM »
Cyar catch a break :devil:

« Reply #1051 on: July 11, 2018, 03:30:30 PM »
See in Qatar, or 2026!!!

« Reply #1052 on: July 11, 2018, 05:35:07 PM »
Trophy's coming home!!! 

NOT!!!!

Better luck next time Hengerland...... :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #1053 on: July 11, 2018, 09:31:44 PM »
Anyone noticed the T&T flag someone was waving at the game today? Was it a forum member?

« Reply #1054 on: July 11, 2018, 10:14:34 PM »
The brits were so badly wounded and beaten they ended up playing with ten men without any replacement cause they used all their subs. This is a cut arse they won't forget for decades.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2018, 10:29:05 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #1055 on: July 11, 2018, 10:16:44 PM »
Anyone noticed the T&T flag someone was waving at the game today? Was it a forum member?

Yes... visible in the first half and segments of the game.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 06:19:35 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #1056 on: July 14, 2018, 08:05:04 AM »
I see England have turned into England

« Reply #1057 on: July 15, 2018, 08:46:03 AM »

prediction France 2-0 Croatia

« Reply #1058 on: July 15, 2018, 08:46:50 AM »
I backing France

« Reply #1059 on: July 15, 2018, 08:55:44 AM »
To good football. I doh have a sentimental favourite but iz hard to distance myself from the sons of Thuram and Desailly.

« Reply #1060 on: July 15, 2018, 09:48:19 AM »
Now I'm firmly in the Croatian camp. They merit lifting this trophy. Hope they equalize and move on. France hasn't played anything deserving.

« Reply #1061 on: July 15, 2018, 09:52:46 AM »

We could be building to a 3-2 finish with the score at 2-1.

« Reply #1062 on: July 15, 2018, 10:27:46 AM »

Everybody wrong

Sent from my BLU STUDIO C 8+8 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1063 on: July 15, 2018, 11:11:26 AM »
This game can be cruel, Croatia played the better game but goals win matches.

« Reply #1064 on: July 15, 2018, 01:21:36 PM »

Would it be accurate to say Croatia played the better tournament?

« Reply #1065 on: July 15, 2018, 01:27:15 PM »
Two things that occurred in this match did not surprise me:

(1) Pitana's influence upon the match and (2) Lloris making that error.

Ah wonder how much licks de pitch invaders get?

« Reply #1066 on: July 15, 2018, 01:28:21 PM »

Everybody wrong

Sent from my BLU STUDIO C 8+8 using Tapatalk

Dead.

« Reply #1067 on: July 15, 2018, 04:00:53 PM »
Never hadFrancois in the final far less winning.

« Reply #1068 on: July 15, 2018, 07:57:47 PM »

Disagree with both.

France played a more intelligent game . . . Smarter and better.

But these are all opinions.

« Reply #1069 on: July 15, 2018, 08:29:12 PM »

Disagree with both.

France played a more intelligent game . . . Smarter and better.

But these are all opinions.

I see that too but I doh know whether France should be credited for playing the only quiver in its arsenal.  Ah mean if I only have one bullet and you have bullets, axes, hammers, bombs etc. deciding to shoot is a no brainer and deciding to hold my bullet for an opportune moment is a no brainer too.

But if I get lucky along the way and you get wounded or injured, without me firing a shot, then my bullet counts for more.

To me, France exhibited some of the traits that saw them lose to Portugal in 2016. The brilliance came only after Croatia was wounded and bleeding.

As a collective Croatia was better. France had individual brilliance but Croatia has had the same.

Without the bad luck, my sense is that Croatia was going to purge France.

On the day, France decided it wasn't inclined to go toe to toe with Croatia and Croatia understood it could play France on any terms (but that of a disputatious call and bad luck).

This France for all its genius parts was an unconvincing champion.

What's Deschamps' playing identity? Something Dungaesque and opportunistic. Reminds me of Argentina under Pasarella with better outcomes but the same lack of collective conviction.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2018, 08:54:06 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #1070 on: July 15, 2018, 09:01:28 PM »

Exactly. The score does not reflect the actual match. But so it does go sometimes.

« Reply #1071 on: July 16, 2018, 11:27:48 AM »
Disagree with Asylum and Tallman

To say that France played with the only quiver they have in their arsenal (unless that was a sly dig at arsenal) is disingenuous IMO.

France was the most COMPLETE team at this world cup.  Bar none.

They didn't lose a match
They didn't have to go to penalties
They were in the toughest part of the knockout draw and purge everybody they played.  In normal time.  With relative ease to boot.

So they didn't turn on the style often enough for our liking.  So?

They did what they had to do....efficiently....even ruthlessly at times.

People bawling bout Griezmann dive.  So he did.  He didn't dive for Mandzukic to put the ball in the net though.  Mandukic did that all on his own.  Griezmann put in a quality ball.  And Griezmann is not the first to dive in this tournament.  Every single team did it.

As for the penalty.  Ball hit hand in the area.  Penalty.  Simple enough.   Unfortunate?  To some extent yes.  But that's the game.  Everybody plays the same game.

France were more than worthy champions IMO.  And I am not a France fan.  My team is Brazil.....the 2nd most COMPLETE team in the competition IMO. 

Croatia played the better game but goals win matches.
Again I disagree.  Croatia played the better 1st half.  Much better than France.

But yuh doh always win a game after the 1st half.

As dominant as Croatia were in the 1st half, France were just as, if not more dominant in the 2nd half than Croatia was in the 1st half.

Very similar to the Belgium vs Brazil game.  Except......while Belgium were better than Brazil in the first half, they weren't "dominant".  Brazil hit the bar and had numerous chances.    In the 2nd half....Brazil were dominant but failed to score the required number of goals.   That's the difference in the 2 games.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2018, 11:35:48 AM by palos »

« Reply #1072 on: July 17, 2018, 05:41:30 AM »
List of prize money for 2018 World Cup

$8 million: Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Iran, Morocco, Peru, Australia, Nigeria, Iceland, Serbia, Costa Rica, South Korea, Germany, Tunisia, Panama, Senegal, Poland (knocked out in group stage)

$12 million: Portugal, Argentina, Mexico, Japan, Spain, Denmark, Switzerland, Colombia (reached Round of 16)

$16 million: Uruguay, Brazil, Russia, Sweden (quarterfinalists)

$22 million: England (fourth)

$24 million: Belgium (third)

$28 million: Croatia (runners up)

$38 million: France (winners)

« Reply #1073 on: July 17, 2018, 07:10:21 AM »
Damn, we missed out on that 38 million.

« Reply #1074 on: July 17, 2018, 08:22:50 AM »
Damn, we missed out on that 38 million.

« Reply #1076 on: September 11, 2018, 05:28:09 PM »
Maradona says Mexico vs Germany is the way football should be played and he seemed to recommend viewing the match again with a spliff at the ready. Said this during the media presentation of his unveiling as coach of Dorados (Ascenso MX).

Legend on and off the field.

« Reply #1077 on: September 11, 2018, 06:43:41 PM »
With a spliff!!! Fine example!

« Reply #1078 on: September 11, 2018, 06:48:57 PM »

It doh have tuh be ah spliff. Could be ah chillum. :devil:

« Reply #1079 on: September 11, 2018, 10:53:08 PM »

It doh have tuh be ah spliff. Could be ah chillum. :devil:

Long time I ain't hear that one