April 26, 2024, 02:07:14 PM

Author Topic: wdf happening in syria?  (Read 20469 times)

wdf happening in syria?
« on: August 29, 2013, 09:28:36 PM »
UK parliament vote and de brits eh going syria.

red red line make he forget but like obama forget he cyah vote "present" for this one.

he paint himself in a corner trying to outplay russia.

Re: wdf happening in syria?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2013, 05:38:46 AM »
UK parliament vote and de brits eh going syria.

red red line make he forget but like obama forget he cyah vote "present" for this one.

he paint himself in a corner trying to outplay russia.

yuh lorse mih with de second line,,wha da mean?

« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2013, 07:46:24 AM »
Dutty, iz ribbit!

Red, red wine line ... makes me forget ... cyah vote present ... cyah sit on de fence, he hattuh man up and make de decision.

(Ah take a quick course from Weary  :) ...)

« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2013, 11:57:46 AM »

US President Barack Obama says he is to seek Congressional authorisation for military operations against Syria bbc.in/18f1XuL

« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2013, 09:35:58 AM »
Dutty, iz ribbit!

Red, red wine line ... makes me forget ... cyah vote present ... cyah sit on de fence, he hattuh man up and make de decision.

(Ah take a quick course from Weary  :) ...)

de brevity suits you.

« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2013, 09:54:26 AM »
has obama articulated what the goal is in syria?

« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2013, 11:25:31 AM »
Obama gone senile and grey...i feel dey hypnotize him!

« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2013, 02:53:11 PM »

Ent...pure Bazodee
especially since dat 'red line' phrase was ah Netanyahu-ism

Poor Obama, some adviser cause de man to jam up heself on the global stage

« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2013, 10:30:44 AM »

Ent...pure Bazodee

hezbollah warring with al qaeda in syria and obama want to jump in de middle and play ref?

STEUUPPPPPPPSSSSSSS  :frustrated:   :banginghead:

and putin only pushing basket in russia - calling kerry an outright liar while he trying to work congress.

who else obama have on deck? susan rice? hills? notice how bubba staying out of this one.

« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2013, 04:37:29 PM »
So Russia says give up the weapons to avoid a strike - back room diplomacy or another chess move.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/09/09/russia-syria-chemical-weapons-international-control_n_3893951.html?utm_hp_ref=fb&src=sp&comm_ref=false

« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2013, 02:03:08 PM »
So Russia says give up the weapons to avoid a strike - back room diplomacy or another chess move.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/09/09/russia-syria-chemical-weapons-international-control_n_3893951.html?utm_hp_ref=fb&src=sp&comm_ref=false

kerry say dat was de master plan all along  :D

ah think is time to send in Secretary Rodman to iron out the details

« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2013, 03:09:20 PM »
Everybody who says that the US should stand back and let the Syrian civil war play really don't know  or they playing they don't know mid East politics. Anything happening in Egypt, Syria, Iran, Iraq, Turkey, Lebanon, Cyprus will alway draw in the US because of Israel. I will tell you, the Israelis don't need US congress approval to bomb. And as soon as one rocket mistakenly land in Israel is old mass. Allyuh think if the rebels win they will deal with Israel they way Assad does. Them go want to fight Israel and you know the Israelis eh backing down. So all of allyuh who think Obama was bluffing go right ahead. Obama does not want any 9-11 incident on his watch and he will probably have the air force shoot down a plane full of passengers who move to close to any federal bldgs to prove his point. I glad the Ruskies and Syrians come to their senses on the chemical weapons.

« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2013, 08:05:15 PM »

« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2013, 09:40:11 PM »

LOL he might end up coaching de basketball team as part of de treaty

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2013, 08:11:59 PM »

Ent...pure Bazodee

hezbollah warring with al qaeda in syria and obama want to jump in de middle and play ref?

STEUUPPPPPPPSSSSSSS  :frustrated:   :banginghead:

and putin only pushing basket in russia - calling kerry an outright liar while he trying to work congress.

who else obama have on deck? susan rice? hills? notice how bubba staying out of this one.

The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #15 on: September 11, 2013, 08:20:03 PM »
Everybody who says that the US should stand back and let the Syrian civil war play really don't know  or they playing they don't know mid East politics. Anything happening in Egypt, Syria, Iran, Iraq, Turkey, Lebanon, Cyprus will alway draw in the US because of Israel. I will tell you, the Israelis don't need US congress approval to bomb. And as soon as one rocket mistakenly land in Israel is old mass. Allyuh think if the rebels win they will deal with Israel they way Assad does. Them go want to fight Israel and you know the Israelis eh backing down. So all of allyuh who think Obama was bluffing go right ahead. Obama does not want any 9-11 incident on his watch and he will probably have the air force shoot down a plane full of passengers who move to close to any federal bldgs to prove his point. I glad the Ruskies and Syrians come to their senses on the chemical weapons.

Deeks --- That is one way to sugar-coat all of the mis-steps Obama has made with the Syria issue...and the entirety of the crooked US/Israeli mis-deeds in the Mid-East.  Fact is, Israel by their actions in 1948 outrightly stealing land from the Palestinians, with the help of the UN, and the US staunch support of this behavior, is what has led to all the bad-blood in the region in the past 70 odd years. 

Prior to that, all of this tension in the region did not exist in the scale that it does today.  You have to thank the US and Israel for being the main culprits with their meddling ways and outlandish agenda.  There's lots of blame to go around even with the Arab nations...but the US and Israel have been a blight to EVERYONE in that region. 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #16 on: September 11, 2013, 10:47:20 PM »

Deeks --- That is one way to sugar-coat all of the mis-steps Obama has made with the Syria issue...and the entirety of the crooked US/Israeli mis-deeds in the Mid-East.  Fact is, Israel by their actions in 1948 outrightly stealing land from the Palestinians, with the help of the UN, and the US staunch support of this behavior, is what has led to all the bad-blood in the region in the past 70 odd years. 

Prior to that, all of this tension in the region did not exist in the scale that it does today.  You have to thank the US and Israel for being the main culprits with their meddling ways and outlandish agenda.  There's lots of blame to go around even with the Arab nations...but the US and Israel have been a blight to EVERYONE in that region. 

You are correct of the past policies of the US and Euros are the cause of all this tension. The Euros and the American allowed the Euro-Jews to partitioned Palestine. Where did these Jews come from. All over Europe. The US now have to carry their baggage. I am no apologist for US or Obama policies. Barak just continuing what all American president do when Israel existence is threatened. And the next ones will do exactly the same.

Tell us what mistep barak has done. He drew a so called red line? So!!??

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #17 on: September 11, 2013, 11:02:30 PM »

You are correct of the past policies of the US and Euros are the cause of all this tension. The Euros and the American allowed the Euro-Jews to partitioned Palestine. Where did these Jews come from. All over Europe. The US now have to carry their baggage. I am no apologist for US or Obama policies. Barak just continuing what all American president do when Israel existence is threatened. And the next ones will do exactly the same.

Tell us what mistep barak has done. He drew a so called red line? So!!??

Well the red-line thing and all the statements made by him regarding Syria is actually a HUGE mis-step no matter how much some may try to down-play it.  For one he has lost even more credibility (though to be frank with you, I didn't think he ever had any credibility in the first place at any point in time).  My personal opinion on Obama's credibility aside, the fact remains that for someone who ran on the platform of 'peace' and a US policy of non-meddling, he has lost the credibility of his base support with his constant drone strikes and call for unprovoked military intervention against a sovereign state.  This was a guy who was awarded a Noble Peace Prize for reasons still unknown to most.   

The red-line thing has also lost him AND the US credibility and respect in the world's eyes as it relates to brokering agreements and peaceful solutions.  He has basically made an Ex KGB assassin in Vladimir Putin, look like Mahatma Ghandi.   

The red-line Syria thing, and all the rhetoric and bumbling of this has made the US look like a banana republic, unworthy of giving advice or brokering any diplomatic deals on the world's stage. 

That was a HUGE deal --- but count on the administration to play it down as usual.  This country is a joke.   

« Reply #18 on: September 12, 2013, 12:10:28 AM »
Well the red-line thing and all the statements made by him regarding Syria is actually a HUGE mis-step no matter how much some may try to down-play it.  For one he has lost even more credibility (though to be frank with you, I didn't think he ever had any credibility in the first place at any point in time).  My personal opinion on Obama's credibility aside, the fact remains that for someone who ran on the platform of 'peace' and a US policy of non-meddling, he has lost the credibility of his base support with his constant drone strikes and call for unprovoked military intervention against a sovereign state.  This was a guy who was awarded a Noble Peace Prize for reasons still unknown to most.   

The red-line thing has also lost him AND the US credibility and respect in the world's eyes as it relates to brokering agreements and peaceful solutions.  He has basically made an Ex KGB assassin in Vladimir Putin, look like Mahatma Ghandi.   

The red-line Syria thing, and all the rhetoric and bumbling of this has made the US look like a banana republic, unworthy of giving advice or brokering any diplomatic deals on the world's stage. 

That was a HUGE deal --- but count on the administration to play it down as usual.  This country is a joke.   

Circuitous nonsense. 

All you keep repeating is "red line", "red line" without ever once articulating how it was a "misstep."  Conclusory statements aside... list for us all these "missteps" and "bumbling" that took place.  Doh worry, we have time.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #19 on: September 12, 2013, 06:04:36 AM »

Circuitous nonsense. 

All you keep repeating is "red line", "red line" without ever once articulating how it was a "misstep."  Conclusory statements aside... list for us all these "missteps" and "bumbling" that took place.  Doh worry, we have time.

The response I posted clearly articulated what the misstep was --- CREDIBILITY. (Though you wish to ignore what was written).

But all-in-all, anyone with a shred of common-sense and some knowledge of the region, is aware that all this hype with Syria is due to the NATURAL GAS.  Syria is one of the most strategically located natural gas port in the Mid-East.  If Syria is 'lost' by the Russians and the Chinese, then the entire European region is basically held at gunpoint by the Middle Eastern energy interests.  You see, due to Syria's location, you can basically avoid requiring to have pipelines over countries like Qatar and Saudi Arabia, and instead have those pipelines feed directly into the European market via Syria.  It's been a huge source of contention.

There's more to it than that, but in a nutshell, we could potentially experience a World War 3 for absolutely no real reason other than one party wanting to have a pipeline running through a certain country...while ANOTHER country on the other side of the planet, who has their own mostly unexploited natural gas reserves and don't exactly stand to benefit either way from the gas-lines passing through Syria, is STILL meddling and playing de ass over there with irresponsible rhetoric about red-lines just because they want to 'stick-it' to Russia.  STEUPPES!!!!!!!   
« Last Edit: September 12, 2013, 06:10:11 AM by OutsideMan »

« Reply #20 on: September 12, 2013, 11:45:06 AM »

The response I posted clearly articulated what the misstep was --- CREDIBILITY. (Though you wish to ignore what was written).

This is what you said:

"Deeks --- That is one way to sugar-coat all of the mis-steps Obama has made with the Syria issue...and the entirety of the crooked US/Israeli mis-deeds in the Mid-East."

"Well the red-line thing and all the statements made by him regarding Syria is actually a HUGE mis-step no matter how much some may try to down-play it."

"The red-line thing has also lost him AND the US credibility and respect in the world's eyes as it relates to brokering agreements and peaceful solutions."

"The red-line Syria thing, and all the rhetoric and bumbling of this has made the US look like a banana republic, unworthy of giving advice or brokering any diplomatic deals on the world's stage."

Simply repeating "the red-line Syria thing" or screaming "CREDIBILITY" isn't going to make your case for you.  First off you spoke about "all the missteps" but could only now come up with some nebulous "credibility" charge.  So what are the other missteps?

And let's look at "the red-line Syria thing"...

“Mr. President, could you update us on your latest thinking of where you think things are in Syria, and in particular, whether you envision using U.S. military, if simply for nothing else, the safe keeping of the chemical weapons, and if you’re confident that the chemical weapons are safe?”

Note that the question has to do with whether the Syrian government has enough controls on its stockpile of chemical weapons that such weapons would not fall in the hands of terrorist groups. Obama gave a long answer, but here’s the key section:
“I have, at this point, not ordered military engagement in the situation.  But the point that you made about chemical and biological weapons is critical.  That’s an issue that doesn’t just concern Syria; it concerns our close allies in the region, including Israel.  It concerns us.  We cannot have a situation where chemical or biological weapons are falling into the hands of the wrong people.
“We have been very clear to the Assad regime, but also to other players on the ground, that a red line for us is we start seeing a whole bunch of chemical weapons moving around or being utilized.  That would change my calculus.  That would change my equation.”
http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/fact-checker/wp/2013/09/06/president-obama-and-the-red-line-on-syrias-chemical-weapons/?clsrd

So in response to a question about the security of the Syrian chemical weapons stockpile, the President said that having them moving around and falling into the wrong hands OR being utilized would be a red line... has caused him to lose credibility how?  How does this stand in contrast to his position (as you put it) of being for "'peace' and a US policy of non-meddling"?

Assuming you are correct that he ran for peace and non-meddling... does that mean that he cannot authorize military strikes at ANY time?  How is it "meddling" to say that the US will help enforce international law (the 1992 CWC)?  Does non-meddling mean we stop supporting UN Conventions?  As I said... you have failed to articulate all these claims you're making about "red-line" and "credibility."

« Last Edit: September 12, 2013, 11:49:03 AM by Bakes »

« Reply #21 on: September 12, 2013, 11:49:43 AM »

But all-in-all, anyone with a shred of common-sense and some knowledge of the region, is aware that all this hype with Syria is due to the NATURAL GAS.  Syria is one of the most strategically located natural gas port in the Mid-East.  If Syria is 'lost' by the Russians and the Chinese, then the entire European region is basically held at gunpoint by the Middle Eastern energy interests.  You see, due to Syria's location, you can basically avoid requiring to have pipelines over countries like Qatar and Saudi Arabia, and instead have those pipelines feed directly into the European market via Syria.  It's been a huge source of contention.

There's more to it than that, but in a nutshell, we could potentially experience a World War 3 for absolutely no real reason other than one party wanting to have a pipeline running through a certain country...while ANOTHER country on the other side of the planet, who has their own mostly unexploited natural gas reserves and don't exactly stand to benefit either way from the gas-lines passing through Syria, is STILL meddling and playing de ass over there with irresponsible rhetoric about red-lines just because they want to 'stick-it' to Russia.  STEUPPES!!!!!!!   

This is shit talk.  Natural gas IS indeed a factor, but for Russia... not for the US.  You saying that a pipeline directly to Europe will put Europe at gunpoint from the Middle Eastern interests.  How... by bringing competition to the European market?  That alone reveals the paucity of your analysis.  Currently Europe is being held at "gunpoint" by the Russians, who supply close to 40% of European energy.  Putin doesn't want a competing source being made available to Europe by the Qataris, he wants to perpetuate the market advantage Russia has.  I fully expect you to ignore this point, because it so effectively undermines your claims about the "Middle Eastern interests" holding Europe at gunpoint. 

Not only that, but you also conveniently overlooking the fact that the Naval station at Tartus is Russia's sole remaining foreign military installation outside the old Soviet Union, and it gives Russia ready access to not only the Mediterranean but also the Atlantic by extension.  NOT ONLY THAT... but it's a refueling and provisioning port, so any part of the naval fleet deployed west of the Mediteranean, could simply stop in Tartus rather than have to go all the way back to the Black Sea to refuel.  It is a HUGE strategic base for the Russians.  This isn't just about propping up the Russian economy with a natural gas monopoly back in Europe.

Which brings us to you laughable claim that the US' only involvement is so that they could "stick it to the Russians"... as though poison gas getting into the wrong hands (al Qaeda elements, Hezbolla or Hamas for example) isn't a concern of Israel, the Saudis and the US... just as Obama said.  You trivialize the US interests in order to try and force the square peg of reality into the round hole of your conspiratorial narrative.  And all this without even mentioning the moral imperative, with the full appreciation that that would be the rationale most vulnerable to criticism.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #22 on: September 12, 2013, 11:51:31 AM »

This is what you said:

"Deeks --- That is one way to sugar-coat all of the mis-steps Obama has made with the Syria issue...and the entirety of the crooked US/Israeli mis-deeds in the Mid-East."

"Well the red-line thing and all the statements made by him regarding Syria is actually a HUGE mis-step no matter how much some may try to down-play it."

"The red-line thing has also lost him AND the US credibility and respect in the world's eyes as it relates to brokering agreements and peaceful solutions."

"The red-line Syria thing, and all the rhetoric and bumbling of this has made the US look like a banana republic, unworthy of giving advice or brokering any diplomatic deals on the world's stage."

Simply repeating "the red-line Syria thing" or screaming "CREDIBILITY" isn't going to make your case for you.  First off you spoke about "all the missteps" but could only now come up with some nebulous "credibility" charge.  So what are the other missteps?

And let's look at "the red-line Syria thing"...

“Mr. President, could you update us on your latest thinking of where you think things are in Syria, and in particular, whether you envision using U.S. military, if simply for nothing else, the safe keeping of the chemical weapons, and if you’re confident that the chemical weapons are safe?”

Note that the question has to do with whether the Syrian government has enough controls on its stockpile of chemical weapons that such weapons would not fall in the hands of terrorist groups. Obama gave a long answer, but here’s the key section:
“I have, at this point, not ordered military engagement in the situation.  But the point that you made about chemical and biological weapons is critical.  That’s an issue that doesn’t just concern Syria; it concerns our close allies in the region, including Israel.  It concerns us.  We cannot have a situation where chemical or biological weapons are falling into the hands of the wrong people.
“We have been very clear to the Assad regime, but also to other players on the ground, that a red line for us is we start seeing a whole bunch of chemical weapons moving around or being utilized.  That would change my calculus.  That would change my equation.”
http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/fact-checker/wp/2013/09/06/president-obama-and-the-red-line-on-syrias-chemical-weapons/?clsrd

So in response to a question about the security of the Syrian chemical weapons stockpile, the President said that having them moving around and falling into the wrong hands OR being utilized would be a red line... has caused him to lose credibility how?  How does this stand in contrast to his position (as you put it) of being for "'peace' and a US policy of non-meddling"?

Assuming you are correct that he ran for peace and non-meddling... does that mean that he cannot authorize military strikes at ANY time?  How is it "meddling" to say that the US will help enforce international law (the 1992 CWC)?  Does non-meddling mean we stop supporting UN Conventions?  As I said... you have failed to articulate all these claims you're making about "red-line" and "credibility."

This is shit talk.  Natural gas IS indeed a factor, but for Russia... not for the US.  You saying that a pipeline directly to Europe will put Europe at gunpoint from the Middle Eastern interests.  How... by bringing competition to the European market?  That alone reveals the paucity of your analysis.  Currently Europe is being held at "gunpoint" by the Russians, who supply close to 40% of European energy.  Putin doesn't want a competing source being made available to Europe by the Qataris, he wants to perpetuate the market advantage Russia has.  I fully expect you to ignore this point, because it so effectively undermines your claims about the "Middle Eastern interests" holding Europe at gunpoint. 

Not only that, but you also conveniently overlooking the fact that the Naval station at Tartus is Russia's sole remaining foreign military installation outside the old Soviet Union, and it gives Russia ready access to not only the Mediterranean but also the Atlantic by extension.  NOT ONLY THAT... but it's a refueling and provisioning port, so any part of the naval fleet deployed west of the Mediteranean, could simply stop in Tartus rather than have to go all the way back to the Black Sea to refuel.  It is a HUGE strategic base for the Russians.  This isn't just about propping up the Russian economy with a natural gas monopoly back in Europe.

Which brings us to you laughable claim that the US' only involvement is so that they could "stick it to the Russians"... as though poison gas getting into the wrong hands (al Qaeda elements, Hezbolla or Hamas for example) isn't a concern of Israel, the Saudis and the US... just as Obama said.  You trivialize the US interests in order to try and force the square peg of reality into the round hole of your conspiratorial narrative.  And all this without even mentioning the moral imperative, with the full appreciation that that would be the rationale most vulnerable to criticism.

Bakes, my apologies but I haven't read your long-winded QUOTATIONS of my prior comments, and your additional long-winded narrative.

I have already posted my comment...STATED clearly my reasoning...and even FULLY answered your question, whether you agree with the statements or not.   

Feel free to again QUOTE and highlight this comment also, and compose another long-winded boring narrative that frankly no one will bother reading.  *Yawn*

By the way, my prior comments stands.   ;)

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #23 on: September 12, 2013, 11:53:23 AM »

Not bothering to read your comment Antonio...oops, 'Bakes'.

My prior comment still stands. 

« Reply #24 on: September 12, 2013, 12:16:50 PM »
The upshot to all of this is Putin now writing Op-Eds calling for diplomacy, and lecturing the US on ignoring international law ::)  How did that work for Georgia... when he ran thru that country when it dared threaten to supply gas directly to Europe?  How is diplomacy working out for his political opponents in Russia today?  Or is diplomacy conducted at the end of a Dioxin pill?

« Reply #25 on: September 12, 2013, 12:28:13 PM »

Bakes, my apologies but I haven't read your long-winded QUOTATIONS of my prior comments, and your additional long-winded narrative.

I have already posted my comment...STATED clearly my reasoning...and even FULLY answered your question, whether you agree with the statements or not.   

Feel free to again QUOTE and highlight this comment also, and compose another long-winded boring narrative that frankly no one will bother reading.  *Yawn*

Not sure who "Antonio" is supposed to be, but no need to apologize to me fella, don't assume my comments are strictly for your benefit.  If you choose to ignore them or not is up to you, it doesn't insult me in the least that you choose to dwell in your ignorance.   

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #26 on: September 12, 2013, 01:00:42 PM »

Not sure who "Antonio" is supposed to be, but no need to apologize to me fella, don't assume my comments are strictly for your benefit.  If you choose to ignore them or not is up to you, it doesn't insult me in the least that you choose to dwell in your ignorance.   

Not sure why I'm still being quoted by you.  I've already commented...so not exactly too sure what your problem is again.     :talktothehand:

« Reply #27 on: September 12, 2013, 01:12:23 PM »
"...make Putin look like Mahatma.." You and all the want-Obama-to-fail drinking too much Cirok. As far as I am concern whether Putin in Boots handed Barak a lifeline to save face or Putin realize Barak could still the rockets with or without congressional approval are all mute. The fact is there appears to be a diplomatic solution. If he send rockets he is a warmonger, if he doesn't, then Putin outsmarted coward boy Barak, according to you all. What do you all want? You want this thing to be resolved or continued? Let the new initiative takes it course. And by the way, nominate your boy Putin-Boot for a Noble Piece of the Action Prize.

« Reply #28 on: September 12, 2013, 01:19:23 PM »
Not sure why I'm still being quoted by you.  I've already commented...so not exactly too sure what your problem is again.     :talktothehand:

That's how the internet works fella... you always have the option of not responding instead of carrying on like some kinda drama queen, talking about why you're still being quoted.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #29 on: September 12, 2013, 01:22:31 PM »

That's how the internet works fella... you always have the option of not responding instead of carrying on like some kinda drama queen, talking about why you're still being quoted.

Ummmm...hello...de only drama-queen here is you.  Quoting people and highlighting lines in colored boldfaced, like some chick arguing with her man.

Breda, I didn't even read your initial comments, because from the time I see the silly quotes, boldfaced, highlights, and underlined lines, it remind me of a couple of Exes I once knew.  I'm surprised you didn't add de finger-snaps at the end of your comments (Then again, you might have, because I honestly did not read a single line).   :rotfl: