March 29, 2024, 06:00:24 AM

Author Topic: 2013 Secondary Schools Football League Thread.  (Read 71463 times)

Offline Banter Banton

Re: 2013 Secondary Schools Football League Thread.
« Reply #300 on: November 07, 2013, 09:06:52 AM »
Creed son playing for Fatima... None of the refs like the CIC coaching staff as they are always a tad explosive and arrogant since they joined in 2007....but I really hope Creed etc understand the reaction...It was a harsh call to lose the biggest School game and he had the right to tell the referee off... a fine and a one or two game ban will suffice.

Secondly I hope Creed will look at the Police Officer who went in over the top with his force and pushed a bunch of CIC players excessively when they were asking the referee post game why he blew after 3 minutes and not the 5 minutes which were supposed to be given as extra time.

This coward f**k of a Police Officer pulled out his baton and swung at any player close to the referee and he should be suspended .

Harris the ref should get demoted too... Only in Trinidad refs can have a bias and do shit and not pay for their actions...If this was England he would be demoted to a lower league or suspended.

He and his assistants will probably get the National Intercol final  ::)

Referee Ruthven Harris speaks
« Reply #301 on: November 07, 2013, 12:23:05 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/3AspoRra1yY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/3AspoRra1yY</a>

« Reply #302 on: November 07, 2013, 12:48:15 PM »
CLICK HERE to see the video of the controversial goal.

CLICK HERE to see highlights of the other goals.

CLEAR GOAL.  The linesman made a VERY GOOD call.  The keeper was clearly in the goal before he got hit...and the hit was not a foul on the keeper, since both players had a play on the ball.   

I'm not being biased here on behalf of Pres...but this is one of the most impressive calls by a T&T football match official.

How you see that is a clear goal?

The keeper being in the goal does not constitute a goal.

They did not both have a play on the ball. The keeper got hit while still in the air. After the ball was in the keeper's hand then the player pushed the keeper further into the goal. That's a foul. Terrible calls all the way around. Immediately upon the hit by the player on the keeper, the referee should have blown his whistle and signaled for a free kick. He needed to make his intent clear.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #303 on: November 07, 2013, 01:49:45 PM »

CLEAR GOAL.  The linesman made a VERY GOOD call.  The keeper was clearly in the goal before he got hit...and the hit was not a foul on the keeper, since both players had a play on the ball.   

I'm not being biased here on behalf of Pres...but this is one of the most impressive calls by a T&T football match official.

They did not both have a play on the ball. The keeper got hit while still in the air. After the ball was in the keeper's hand then the player pushed the keeper further into the goal. That's a foul. Terrible calls all the way around. Immediately upon the hit by the player on the keeper, the referee should have blown his whistle and signaled for a free kick. He needed to make his intent clear.

@ elan --- The replay in the provided link CLEARLY shows that the ball crossed the line.

In-fact, the goal was scored by the fella who crossed the ball.  Any contact with the keeper was after the fact, incidental, and a clear non-foul.  Truth be told, a case could be made that the keeper fouled Henry, if you guys want to bring-up 'contact' being a foul.

All-in-all, the match officials made a brilliant call.  Take your losses like gentlemen and move-on. 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #304 on: November 07, 2013, 01:59:41 PM »
Creed son playing for Fatima... None of the refs like the CIC coaching staff as they are always a tad explosive and arrogant since they joined in 2007....but I really hope Creed etc understand the reaction...It was a harsh call to lose the biggest School game and he had the right to tell the referee off... a fine and a one or two game ban will suffice.

Secondly I hope Creed will look at the Police Officer who went in over the top with his force and pushed a bunch of CIC players excessively when they were asking the referee post game why he blew after 3 minutes and not the 5 minutes which were supposed to be given as extra time.

This coward f**k of a Police Officer pulled out his baton and swung at any player close to the referee and he should be suspended .

Harris the ref should get demoted too... Only in Trinidad refs can have a bias and do shit and not pay for their actions...If this was England he would be demoted to a lower league or suspended.

He and his assistants will probably get the National Intercol final  ::)

You doh fedup talk shit?  Players have no business crowding the ref... that shit needs to stop on all levels, all the way up the the Premier League.  Bad example set by the CIC coaching staff and the players just fed off of that.  Coupled with the fact that there was no one on the sideline to control them.  Police do the right thing.

« Reply #305 on: November 07, 2013, 02:54:18 PM »

@ elan --- The replay in the provided link CLEARLY shows that the ball crossed the line.

In-fact, the goal was scored by the fella who crossed the ball.  Any contact with the keeper was after the fact, incidental, and a clear non-foul.  Truth be told, a case could be made that the keeper fouled Henry, if you guys want to bring-up 'contact' being a foul.

All-in-all, the match officials made a brilliant call.  Take your losses like gentlemen and move-on. 

The video show nothing clearly in term of a goal being scored. The entire ball must cross the line for a goal to be awarded. Can you decisively say that it did.?

How did the keeper foul the player? The keeper concentration is all ball and trying to keep the ball out the goal. The player ran into the keeper while he is in the air. Daiz some good peng you smoking.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/rC2K8LQfsM0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/rC2K8LQfsM0</a>

Me eh no supporter of either team. P/Town

Online Peong

« Reply #306 on: November 07, 2013, 03:04:32 PM »
Whoever using the keeper's body position to determine if a goal was scored needs to have a seat.

« Reply #307 on: November 07, 2013, 04:31:57 PM »
There was a recent post about a ref who tended to issue cards for abusive language ... is this the same ref? Ah know he's a soldier.

« Reply #308 on: November 07, 2013, 04:37:52 PM »
TONIGHT ON ISPORTS ….WE DROP A BOMBSHELL ON REFEREEING IN THIS COUNTRY

AND IN PARTICULAR …THE ST MARYS COLLEGE VERSUS PRESENTATION COLLEGE

WWW.I955FM.COM

« Reply #309 on: November 07, 2013, 09:02:25 PM »
can we have a rundown of the bombshell?

« Reply #310 on: November 07, 2013, 11:00:42 PM »
Can't remember exactly, but I believe the head of the referees association said that he was against Harris being awarded the game and had recommended that he be taken off the referees list until he had undergone evaluation and re training.
Lasana said Harris had given an excessive amount of red cards including the Marcano sending off after 13 minutes in the First Citizens semi final followed by a red card for Fenwick because he said he was going to report Harris.

« Reply #311 on: November 08, 2013, 03:01:34 AM »
Champs St Anthony’s progress on penalties.
T&T Express Reports.

St Anthony’s College laboured to edge Malick secondary 5-4 on penalty kicks, while East Mucurapo Secondary cruised past Queen’s Royal College as both  advanced to the  semi-final round after victories  in their North Zone Secondary Schools Football League’s (SSFL) Coca Cola InterCol quarter-final matches yesterday.

St Anthony’s and Mucurapo will now meet in next Thursday’s opening match  of a North Zone semi-final double-header at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

At Fatima College, St Anthony’s played to  0-0 stalemate with Malick, before winning on spot kicks.  St But despite the way his team was extended, Anthony’s College coach Nigel Grosvenor had  a hearty  laugh afterwards.

“They just packed everyone in defence,” Grosvenor said of the Malick team which St Anthony’s had twice beaten this season, including by a huge 6-0 margin on one occasion. “I expected them to play defensively. So, we just had to knock the ball around and be patient. But penetration was difficult and we also wasted some chances.”

Meanwhile at Westmoorings, North Zone league runners-up East Mucurapo   had a comfortable 5-1 victory over Queen’s Royal College. Akil Campbell scored twice in the first half as Mucurapo  led 2-0 at the break. Joshua Sylvester, Akeem Roach and Michael Lansiquot scored to make it 5-0 before QRC ended their season with an 89th minute consolation goal.

Meanwhile, all four boy’s InterCol matches originally scheduled to be played in Tobago yesterday, were pushed back and will instead be played today.

The only action in Tobago yesterday saw Bishop’s High School edge Speyside 2-1 in a re-scheduled girls InterCol semi-final. They will now meet Scarborough Secondary in Sunday’s final from 3 p.m. at Shaw Park, following Scarborough’s similar 2-1 semi-final win over Signal Hill last week.

YESTERDAY’S INTERCOL RESULTS:

(North Zone)

St Anthony’s College 0 vs Malick Sec 0, Fatima Ground, 3.30 p.m.
After Penalties: St Anthony’s College 5 vs Malick Sec 4

East Mucurapo Sec 5 (Akil Campbell 34th & 36th, Joshua Sylvester 77th, Akeem Roach 82nd, Michael Lansiquot 87th) Queen’s Royal College 1

TODAY’S INTERCOL  MATCHES:

Tobago Zone

Mason Hall Sec vs Bishops High School, Plymouth, 3 p.m.
Roxborough Sec vs Signal Hill Sec, Plymouth, 5 p.m.
Speyside Sec vs Goodwood Sec, Louis D’Or, 3.30 p.m.
Scarborough Sec vs Pentecostal Light and Life, Montgomery, 3.30 p.m.

South Zone

St Benedict’s vs Pleasantville, Skinner Park, 3 p.m.
Naparima vs Princes Town West, Skinner Park, 5 p.m.

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #312 on: November 08, 2013, 03:49:18 AM »

Tobago Zone

Mason Hall Sec vs Bishops High School, Plymouth, 3 p.m.
Roxborough Sec vs Signal Hill Sec, Plymouth, 5 p.m.
Speyside Sec vs Goodwood Sec, Louis D’Or, 3.30 p.m.
Scarborough Sec vs Pentecostal Light and Life, Montgomery, 3.30 p.m.

Correct Info:

Tobago Zone

Bishop’s v Mason Hall, Shaw Park, 3 pm

Roxborough v Signal Hill, Shaw Park, 5 pm

Not sure about these two but they seem legit..

Speyside v Goodwood High, Richmond, 3.30 pm

Scarborough v Pentecostal L&L, Black Rock Recreation Ground, 3.30 pm
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

« Reply #313 on: November 08, 2013, 01:12:30 PM »
It was a harsh call...especially at that stage of the game. But harsh doesn't mean unfair. It was a goal. I only just looked at the footage and hearing all the comments before seeing it, I thought there was a big barge or push on the keeper....but there wasn't. Tough luck....and a poor decision by the keeper as well....

you must be the only saints man to have this view...at the end of the day the ref decision is final..People need to let the Pres fellahs enjoy their victory and move on.....Pres didnt award the goal....if people want to whine and complain then focus dey energy on de refs and even SSFL for apparently selecting ah lame ref.

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #314 on: November 08, 2013, 07:14:37 PM »
As a Saints man I was pissed at the result particularly with the 2nd goal Pres scored. Real hard luck way to lose a final, but, I can't excuse  the behaviour of Jason Edwards and the rest of the staff. No amount of complaining would make the ref reverse his decision. As a coach, you have to rise above things. It is by no means easy but, you have to set an example for the youthmen. Toughest thing for CIC is to dust themselves off, shake off the disappointment and focus on the Intercol. All them teams will be gunning now. Look St Anthony's had to win on PKs over Malick.
Good luck fellahs....
well yes

« Reply #315 on: November 09, 2013, 12:49:32 AM »
Plenty saints men totin real feelings over dis dung heap football sah  :devil:

But all ole talk aside....it's actually encouraging that schools football can still arouse these kinda passions.  It means all isn't lost and there IS something there to work with.

« Last Edit: November 09, 2013, 12:51:32 AM by palos »

« Reply #316 on: November 09, 2013, 03:08:20 AM »
Speyside put dozen past Goodwood
By Kern De Freitas (Express).

Tobago Zone League champions Speyside Secondary routed Goodwood Secondary 12-0 yesterday to move to the Tobago quarter-finals of the Coca Cola InterCol competition at Louis D’Or yesterday.

National youth striker Weah Adams hit the net four times to lead Speyside through easily, while Brandon Benjamin and Shaqueil Mahabar each registered hat-tricks as their team enjoyed a field day.

The other Speyside goals came from Tyshawn Gray and Simeon Skeete.

Mason Hall also cruised to reach Tobago’s final four with a 4-0 whipping of Bishop’s High School in the first match of a Plymouth double header, before watching Signal Hill edge Roxborough Secondary 1-0 later at the same venue.

The fourth team to progress was Scarborough Secondary, who had no problems disposing of Pentecostal Light and Life in Montgomery by a 4-2 margin.

The expected action in the South Zone, though, never materialised, as the Skinner Park double-header was postponed to Monday.

Another event was also scheduled for the venue, and the tents and other equipment were only being removed after the scheduled 3 p.m. start of the intended double-header.

The Express was told yesterday by a Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) official that the matches were called off because officials were not certain what time the clashing event would have ended.

Missing out on today’s play were St Benedict’s College, who were scheduled to meet Pleasantville Secondary at 3 p.m., while Naparima College and Princes Town West Secondary were made to wait a few days for their clash scheduled for Skinner Park at 5 p.m. yesterday.

Yesterday’s Results:

Tobago Zone

Mason Hall 4 vs Bishop’s 0

Roxborough 0 vs Signal Hill 1

Speyside 12 (Weah Adams 4, Brandon Benjami 3, Shaqueil Mahabal 3, Tyshawn Gray 1, Simeon Skeete) vs Goodwood 0

Scarborough 4 vs Pentecostal Light and Life 1

« Reply #317 on: November 09, 2013, 09:02:59 AM »
Plenty saints men totin real feelings over dis dung heap football sah  :devil:

But all ole talk aside....it's actually encouraging that schools football can still arouse these kinda passions.  It means all isn't lost and there IS something there to work with.

Is only SSFL does bring this level of excitement in we football. When San Juan made the intercol final the last time I c people that I did nit see since I was backin San Juan when I was in school. We even got a Touches Match Report because is Fatima we did beat.

« Reply #318 on: November 09, 2013, 10:25:59 PM »
You doh fedup talk shit?  Players have no business crowding the ref... that shit needs to stop on all levels, all the way up the the Premier League.  Bad example set by the CIC coaching staff and the players just fed off of that.  Coupled with the fact that there was no one on the sideline to control them.  Police do the right thing.

It is not the job of the TT Police to fix all of football's discipline problems. The police officer's action was similar to trying to out a fire with gasoline. It is easy to be overly critical when it is not your blood, sweat and emotion invested. I agree that at least one of the coaching staff should have attempted to remove the boys from surrounding the referee, but that does not excuse the inflammatory manner in which the police dealt with that situation. Using aggression and intimidation to stop aggression and intimidation? I'm sure we can come up with something better. 

« Reply #319 on: November 09, 2013, 11:36:56 PM »

It is not the job of the TT Police to fix all of football's discipline problems. The police officer's action was similar to trying to out a fire with gasoline. It is easy to be overly critical when it is not your blood, sweat and emotion invested. I agree that at least one of the coaching staff should have attempted to remove the boys from surrounding the referee, but that does not excuse the inflammatory manner in which the police dealt with that situation. Using aggression and intimidation to stop aggression and intimidation? I'm sure we can come up with something better. 

so how you feel the police should have handled the situation?  It is easy to say the police wrong but it is a next thing to have a better approach.

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #320 on: November 11, 2013, 05:04:04 AM »
Tobago Girls Intercol Final (yesterday 10th Nov. 2013)

1 Scarborough Secondary vs Bishop's High 0

BHS dethrowed as Tobago Intercol Champs.
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

« Reply #321 on: November 11, 2013, 05:23:38 AM »
Edwards apologises for Big-Five spectacle.
By Andrew Gioannetti (Guardian).

Head coach of St Mary’s College, Jason Edwards has issued a formal apology in a letter to the Secondary Schools’ Football League for his behaviour in the closing moments and after his team’s loss in the controversial SSFL Big-Five final to Presentation College of San Fernando, a week ago.

Edwards, who along with two other members of St Marys’ technical staff were sent to the stands for protesting a decision to allow a goal to Presentation College moments left in the match by the referee in charge, Rodphin Harris, in the last Monday’s Big-Five final, conceded that he overreacted.

“I would like to issue a formal apology to the league administration, sponsors and supporters of both teams (St Mary’s College and Presentation College of San Fernando) involved in the game for my reaction to the referee’s decision to allow the match winning goal,” said Edwards in a letter issued via St Mary’s College to SSFL general secretary Azaad Mohammed-Khan, on Friday.

He added: “My passion for the game, coupled with the contentious decision caused me to overreact and in hindsight, I can see that my reaction, as well as that of my coaching staff was wrong, and for that, I do apologise.”

“I would also like to apologise for advising the players to refrain from collecting their medals. Emotions were running high at the time and due to the fact that the players had to go through the crowd to collect the medals, I thought it was better that we did not collect these medals in the interest of the safety of the players and fans alike,” noted Edwards, who joined St Mary’s in 2006.

He concluded by saying that he looked forward to putting the matter behind him.

Edwards, following the final whistle of the Big-Five final, which ended three minutes into the five minutes of stoppage time, made his way back onto the pitch to confront Harris on his decision to allow Presentation College a controversial goal with just moments left in regulation time.

When Edwards approached Harris, along with a host of St Mary’s players, a police officer came onto the scene and drew a baton.

The play which drew the moment of confusion for the St Mary’s bench, came with approximately five minutes left in the fixture.

St Mary’s College goalkeeper Christian Attong was pushed by Presentation College forward Shackiel Henry after holding onto a cross on his goalline. The contact put Attong, who was in mid-air, over the goalline, but it was unclear whether the ball also crossed the line. Harris looked over to the assistant referee before making his decision to allow a goal. Players from both Presentation College and St Mary’s College seemed surprised by the decision.

Speaking to the media after the match, a member of St Mary’s technical staff, Ryan Shim, who was also sent to the stands by the referee, questioned why the goal was awarded instead of a free-kick in favour of St Mary’s.

Contacted yesterday, Edwards said he never received a ban or sanction by the league, although the league advised his that it will deliberate on whether or not action should be taken. He, however, acknowledged that the match could not and would not be replayed.

Harris, who is the brother of SSFL president Anthony Creed, was subsequently removed on the Fifa list of referees for T&T, allegedly for a series of questionable performances, including that in this year’s Dallas Cup, an annual international football tournament staged in the USA, as well as in local cup tournaments.

Edwards and St Mary’s will be back in action today in the first match of a Coca-Cola InterCol North Zone quarterfinal double-header at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo. St Mary’s faces senior division champion Trinity College, and a win will put it into the semifinal against either Fatima College or Diego Martin North Secondary, the two teams which will contest today’s second North Zone match.

« Reply #322 on: November 11, 2013, 06:32:41 AM »
This development is quite interesting,the Referee was not banned but was removed from the FIFA list of T&T Reeferees for questionable performances,but the St Mary's Coach and his staff who created/caused this whole scenario just apologised and they continue to play Football.

Why is it because is some big man family we can't make proper decisions,i'm sure Jason Edwards is related to somebody too,don't worry we sure to hear of more incidents like this,if this was schools like Malik,SanJuan etc the outcome would be different,you hear how they call it Big 5 Spectacle. 

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #323 on: November 11, 2013, 10:10:10 AM »
So everybody from CIC is big man family? That attitude is a big reason why over de years a lot of good players have not been around the national teams, and every national youth coach came in and selected his crew. Everything have to be seen with a dotish bias in we country? Clearly stated that the ref had a recent history of bad performances and get marked down, but Coop's wanna compare it to punishment meted out to big man family. Time to get over da village vs city kinda dotish mentality
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #324 on: November 11, 2013, 05:15:53 PM »
So everybody from CIC is big man family? That attitude is a big reason why over de years a lot of good players have not been around the national teams, and every national youth coach came in and selected his crew. Everything have to be seen with a dotish bias in we country? Clearly stated that the ref had a recent history of bad performances and get marked down, but Coop's wanna compare it to punishment meted out to big man family. Time to get over da village vs city kinda dotish mentality
     This is not a village vs City mentality,i'm sure u don't live here,this is a T&T mentality,this is life in T&T,every thing we do from government to the small man in the street you will find it,it's a means of getting bye,you better wake up Breds.

« Reply #325 on: November 11, 2013, 06:10:25 PM »
This development is quite interesting,the Referee was not banned but was removed from the FIFA list of T&T Reeferees for questionable performances,but the St Mary's Coach and his staff who created/caused this whole scenario just apologised and they continue to play Football.

Why is it because is some big man family we can't make proper decisions,i'm sure Jason Edwards is related to somebody too,don't worry we sure to hear of more incidents like this,if this was schools like Malik,SanJuan etc the outcome would be different,you hear how they call it Big 5 Spectacle. 

Coops, welcome to T&T, thats the mentality of people in Trinidad, from de top to de bottom, Jack Warner is a typical Trini who tried to show the world how Trinis really are. Corrupted, disorganized and greedy.

In T&T anything can happen and is a slap on de risk.

This ref was drop by FIFA and he is here referring.

« Reply #326 on: November 11, 2013, 07:28:43 PM »

Coops, welcome to T&T, thats the mentality of people in Trinidad, from de top to de bottom, Jack Warner is a typical Trini who tried to show the world how Trinis really are. Corrupted, disorganized and greedy.

In T&T anything can happen and is a slap on de risk.

This ref was drop by FIFA and he is here referring.

So what happen,Tim Kee and Sheldon Phillips did not know that?i guess is JW fault,he gone and alyu still calling his name.

« Reply #327 on: November 12, 2013, 03:10:53 AM »
St Mary’s, Fatima move on in Inter-Col.
By Kern De Freitas (Express).

St Mary’s College saw themselves safely into the North Zone semi-finals of the Coca Cola InterCol competition yesterday with a 1-0 win over Trinity College at Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo.

The “Saints” did not look like the same team that lost a tight Secondary Schools Football League “Big Five” final to Presentation College San Fernando last week in controversial circumstances, but did enough to ensure their spot in the final four. They will face Fatima College, who beat Diego Martin North 4-1 in the late match at the “Hasely Crawford”.

In the early match, the Saints always looked the stronger team, more organised and likely to score, but their lack of sharpness in front of goal was there biggest hindrance.

The Senior Division champs, Trinity, showed great fight, but not enough composure to make use of a few defensive errors by the North Zone winners. InterCol does not forgive an inability to score, so that’s where the season ended for the Moka Boys.

Rashad Hyacenth provided the only goal in the game, starting with a long throw by Aaron Noel close to the right corner flag. Poor Trinity defending gave St Mary’s the chance at a close range pass, and the play ended with a simple tap-in in the 20th minute.

But it was for sheer goal shyness that Hyacenth’s remained the only strike.

The Senior Division champs, Trinity, showed great fight, but not enough composure to make use of a few defensive errors by the North Zone winners. InterCol does not forgive an inability to score, so that’s where the season ended for the Moka Boys.

Yesterday’s Scores:

North Zone

St Mary’s 1 (Rashad Hyacenth 20th) vs Trinity 0

Fatima 4 vs Diego North 1

South Zone

Naparima 0 vs Princes Town 1

St Benedict’s 2 vs Pleasantville 1

« Reply #328 on: November 12, 2013, 03:12:38 AM »
St Augustine humiliate Five Rivers
T&T Newsday Reports.

AKEEM GARCIA scored a beaver-trick as St Augustine humiliated Five Rivers 13-0 yesterday, in the first game of an East Zone double-header at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya.

Action was in the Quarter Final Round of the Coca Cola Intercol.

Garcia found the back of the net in the 60th, 65th, 66th and 81st minutes, while Akim Andrews contributed a hat-trick, in the 19th, 42nd and 44th.

Ricardo John notched a pair, in the 14th and 39th, while Mickal Johnson (84th), Jordan Devenish (87th), Triston Hodge (88th) and Keshorn Marcelin (89th) added one apiece.

Trinity East overcame a setback to edge San Juan 2-1 in the second game at Macoya.

National Under-17 forward Brent Sam put San Juan in front after 43 minutes before Tyrek John equalised a minute into the second half. The game seemed destined for a penalty shoot-out before Taja Commissiong notched the winner in the 87th.

St Mary’s rebounded from their controversial loss in the Big Five Final against Presentation San Fernando last Monday with a narrow 1-0 win over Trinity, in the first of back-to-back North Zone Quarter Final matches.

The fans at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo saw Rashad Hyacinth score the game’s only goal, in the 20th.

Fatima cruised into the last four with a come-from-behind 4-1 spanking of Diego Martin.

Christopher Biggette put Diego Martin ahead, on the half-hour mark, before Fatima responded in emphatic fashion, in the second half.

Kyle Lancaster scored twice, in the 54th and 68th, while Brendon Creed (65th) and Dominic Jangoo (77th) chipped in with one apiece.

St Benedict’s and Princes Town both progressed to the South Zone Semi Final Round, following yesterday’s pair of Quarter Final games at Skinner Park, San Fernando.

In the opening game in the South, Shaquille Ferrier netted a pair, in the 13th and 60th, to guide St Benedict’s to a 2-1 victory over Pleasantville. Yohannes Richardson found the back of the net for Pleasantville in the 56th.

And Anderson Toussaint struck in the 65th as Princes Town knocked out Naparima 1-0. The final set of Zonal Quarter Finals will take place tomorrow at Skinner Park.

« Reply #329 on: November 12, 2013, 10:40:20 AM »
Still baffled how big men who we can assume are football fans on here can actually say without a doubt that that goal vs CIC was a fair call and the replay shows it clearly!

Only reasoning there is that those peeps are Presentation fans or serious anti-CIC fellas

I cant support CIC at all being that i went Fatima but that call was utter toots and the replay def. does not show conclusive evidence that the ball crossed the line.
It does show that the striker "try a ting" and bumped into the keeper. So that is def. a foul ont he striker

That whole scn after...how the hell ppl could try to defend coach and players there??
As any law-abiding citizen, how is it right in any way to rush into a police officer? Firstly, it's just a football game. It doesnt warrant that kinda assness
And it's a police officer, he has every right to push u away if u get in his face. This isnt someone u can oppose on the side of the street, he doing his wok