April 23, 2024, 05:06:45 PM

Author Topic: OSN Cup: T&T edged 7-6 on penalties by United Arab Emirates  (Read 4364 times)

OSN Cup: T&T edged 7-6 on penalties by United Arab Emirates
« on: September 05, 2013, 03:09:42 PM »
OSN Cup: T&T edged 7-6 on penalties by United Arab Emirates
By Amith Passela (The National)

What looked like the UAE heading to a comfortable victory turned into a great escape of sorts Thursday night after they surrendered a three-goal lead before struggling to win a 7-6 sudden-death penalty shootout over Trinidad and Tobago.

Ali Kasheif, the UAE captain and goalkeeper, saved Kevan George's effort to clinch the victory after nine sets of penalties in the OSN Cup, a four-team friendly tournament, in the opening round at the King Fahd International Stadium in Riyadh.

Habib Fardan put the UAE ahead in the ninth minute and Ali Mabkhout doubled the lead with a 35-yard shot that caught the Trinidadian goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams napping.

Ahmed Khalil extended the lead in the second half when he collected a looping pass from Omar Abdulrahman to tap it past Williams for a 3-0 advantage.

The UAE were still celebrating Khalil's goal when Trinidad moved quickly to score almost immediately, through substitute Willis Plaza, who headed a cross from a Lester Peltier.

Kenwyne Jones, the Stoke City striker, reduced the lead further from a spot kick after Kasheif felled Willis Plaza.

Kevin Molino then headed the equaliser off a cross from Robert Primus. The UAE were unlucky when a volley in the waning moments of regulation from Seed Al Kathiri crashed against the post.

Read More...

Re: OSN Cup: T&T edged 7-6 on penalties by United Arab Emirates
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2013, 03:10:12 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/q3Ns8ofgMdc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/q3Ns8ofgMdc</a>

« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2013, 03:42:46 PM »
FYI - I think most of these members met already at the under 20 level in 2009, UAE won 5-0. Leston Paul was the captain then.

« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2013, 04:01:49 PM »
Venue: King Fahd International Stadium, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

T&T Lineup:
21. Jan-Michael Williams, 2. Aubrey David (4. Sheldon Bateau 52'), 6. Radanfah Abu Bakr, 12. Robert Primus, 3. Justin Hoyte, 14. Andre Boucaud, 8. Khaleem Hyland (5. Kevan George 81'), 7. Ataullah Guerra (11. Willis Plaza 55'), 9. Kenwyne Jones, 16. Marcus Joseph (10. Kevin Molino 70'), 19. Lester Peltier

Unused subs: Marvin Phillip, Glenroy Samuel, Curtis Gonsalves, Mekeil Williams, Densill Theobald
Coach: Stephen Hart

UAE Lineup:
Ali Khaseif, Mohamed Ahmad (Saad Surour 68'), Mohanad Salem, Ismail Ahmed, Omar Abdulrahman, Abdelaziz Husain, Amer Abdulrahman  (Majed Hassan 85'), Habib Fardan Abdualla, Khamis Esmail, Ahmed Khalil (Mohamed Al Shehhi 62'), Ali Ahmed Mabkhout (Saeed Al Kathiri 62')
Coach: Mahdi Ali

Referee: Fahad Al Oraini

Scoring Summary:
T&TScoreUAE
0-1Habib Fardan 9'
0-2Ali Mabkhout 37'
0-3Ahmed Khalil 54'
Willis Plaza 56'1-3
Kenwyne Jones 87' (pen)1-3
Kevin Molino 92'1-3

Discipline:
Khaleem Hyland 75'
Abdelaziz Husain 79'
Ali Khaseif 86'

Penalty Shootout Summary:
T&TScoreUAE
0-1
Kenwyne Jones1-1
1-2
Lester Peltier2-2
2-3
Andre Boucaud2-3
2-3
Radanfah Abu Bakr3-3
3-4
Kevin Molino4-4
4-4Saeed Al Kathiri
Willis Plaza4-4
4-5
Justin Hoyte5-5
5-6
Robert Primus6-6
6-7
Kevan George6-7
« Last Edit: September 06, 2013, 04:31:49 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2013, 04:16:42 PM »
FYI - I think most of these members met already at the under 20 level in 2009, UAE won 5-0. Leston Paul was the captain then.

Yeh, all three UAE goalscorers today were on de 2009 UAE U-20 squad. Some of the players are:
Amer Abdulrahman
Mohamed Ahmed
Hamdan Al Kamali
Ahmed Ali
Habib Fardan
Abdulaziz Hussain
Ali Mabkhout

T&T current squad who were part of de 2009 U-20 squad are:
Aubrey David
Kevin Molino
Marcus Joseph
Glenroy Samuel
Mekeil Williams
Daneil Cyrus
Curtis Gonsalves

We played the UAE two games. We lost the other one 1-0.

« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2013, 05:01:42 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/3zHL6D4Lg08" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/3zHL6D4Lg08</a>

« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2013, 05:05:43 PM »
From the highlights... Jan-Michael Williams can't be serious.

« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2013, 05:33:05 PM »
Great fightback in Riyadh... But T&T fall 7-6 on pks.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior men’s football team almost pulled off an amazing comeback victory in Riyadh on Thursday night but the misery of the “Lottery” kicks had the final say with the game ending  in a 7-6 victory for the United Arab Emirates in the opening match of the 2013 OSN Cup at the King Fahd International Stadium.

The men in the Red created history by coming from three goals down to level the scores at 3-3 in added-on time to take the match into kicks from the penalty spot.  T&T had never before come from three goals down in an international tournament. But Columbus Crew midfielder, a second half substitute, making his debut for T&T, saw his kick saved by goalkeeper Al Khaseif Housani resulting UAE ‘ passage into Sunday’s final.

T&T will now meet Saudi Arabia in Monday’s third place playoff after the hosts were beaten 1-0 by New Zealand in Thursday’s second match before a sparse but enthusiastic crowd at the Stadium.

The “Soca Warriors” recovered from a miserable start, trailing 2-0 at half time after goals by Ismail Mohamed, a free header in the 8th minute from a left side corner and a long range strike by Ali Ahmed Alhajeri in the 40th minute left UAE comfortably ahead.

Arriving in Riyadh just over twenty four hours ahead of kick off, T&T struggled to settle in the first half and playing in 42 degrees made it even tougher for skipper Kenwyne Jones and his teammates.

T&T did have its moments with right winger Lester Peltier making some dangerous runs on the flank and causing problems with his quick runs. At the start of the second half Jones went close to pulling a goal back but Emirates got a third goal which at that stage appeared to have been the final nail in T&T’s coffin.

Midfielder Omar Alamoudi was clearly UAE’s most dangerous player on the pitch and he played a clever ball into the box for Ahmed Aljunaibi to hit past Jan Michael Williams in the 54th to push UAE 3-0 in front.

Head coach Stephen Hart introduced Vietnam-based forward Willis Plaza in place of Ataullah Guerra who lined up alongside Racing Genk midfielder Khaleem Hyland and Andre Boucaud in the middle of the park.

Plaza, last appearing for T&T in the Caribbean Cup in December, found the target with his first touch of the ball in the 56th, sending a glancing header into the left of the net from Peltier’s right side cross.  Plaza brought some added zest to T&T’s attack and the visitors began taking the game to the Emirates.

Orlando City midfielder Kevin Molino, arriving in Riyadh at 7am on the day, was thrown on by Hart and was unlucky to see his snap effort saved by Housani.

Soon after Jones stepped up to clinically convert a penalty kick  in the 87th after Plaza was hacked down in the penalty box.

Molino, who had earlier replaced debutant Marcus Joseph,  then completed the late comeback when he guided his header home from Robert Primus’ left side delivery a minute into added on time. Seed Al Kathiri almost stole soon after when his effort crashed off the woodwork.

The game headed straight into penalty kicks. Andre Boucaud missed his kick but Jones, Peltier, Radanfah Abu Bakr and Molino all converted for T&T inside the first five kicks.

Williams kept T&T in the game when he blocked Majed Alahmadi’s attempt. And after Willams made another good stop, Plaza had the task of scoring what would have been the winner but his tame effort was saved.  Primus and Hoyte scored in sudden death before George missed the final attempt.

Hart: No easy feat to comeback from three down

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Stephen Hart, though disappointed with a losing finish, commended his players for their courageous and determined showing in Thursday’s defeat to the United Arab Emirates.

Coming from three goals down is no easy feat and the display by Kenwyne Jones and his teammates must be acknowledged Hart felt.

“I’m pleased with the fact that we scored goals and  we showed a desire to come back from 3-0 nothing. That in itself is something we can take from this  game and build on,” Hart told TTFA Media.

“We knew the game would be difficult. I thought we were very sloppy in the first half both when in possession and particularly defensively,” Hart said.

“They created maybe three or four chances. We had a much better rhythm in the second half. Willis Plaza came on and did very well for us. He started to run behind and Peltier started to get behind also and we got ourselves back in the game and maybe could have even gone on to win it. Then of course anything was possible when it went to penalty kicks.

“My intention was not to play Kevin (Molino) because of his late travel but he was on the edge of his seat. And I thought he felt he looked like he had that kind of enthusiasm and passion to come off the bench and I gave him twenty minutes and he rewarded us with the tying goal.”

Jones was equally pleased with the effort.

“We didn’t have a good first half by any means but we did a lot better in the second half. We showed great fight to comeback and I don’t think this has ever happened in the history of the senior team, at least not for the past two decades or so. I think everyone from the staff to my teammates deserve credit for pulling off this kind of performance and comeback.

Unfortunately we lost out on penalty kicks but I think this was a performance and a match that we could feel good about and it shows some kind of progress with the National Team from the Gold Cup and that is the most important thing for us at this stage,” Jones said.

« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2013, 05:34:21 PM »
From the highlights... Jan-Michael Williams can't be serious.

He made a good effort during the penalties.

But the long shots keep killing him. He gave up one in the Cuba game, another in the Mexico game and another during todays game. I think Haiti might have even scored on a long shot.

Not a bad game. The early goals continue to seal our fate.

« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2013, 06:30:53 PM »
The quality of the crosses for the goals was good.

« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2013, 06:34:04 PM »
Jan is becoming Dr. Jek. and Mr. Hyde. He keep getting beat by those long shots. Then he will save the most difficult ones.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2013, 07:38:20 PM »
Did anyone record the game i wasnt able to watch it today.

« Reply #12 on: September 05, 2013, 09:00:04 PM »
Finally we have midfielders who know how to cross ball. Both crosses were pin point

« Reply #13 on: September 05, 2013, 09:10:26 PM »
Finally we have midfielders who know how to cross ball. Both crosses were pin point

De second cross was by a defender, Robert Primus.

Our crosses are too inconsistent. About 3/10 may be decent. We generally over hit them or try to send de ball into orbit.

« Reply #14 on: September 05, 2013, 09:19:18 PM »
Let's not get carried away. Most of our crossing was below par.

What's good to know is, when we do make good crosses, we have players making them count.

Used to be a time when crosses going in de box and not a red shirt in sight.

« Reply #15 on: September 05, 2013, 09:50:38 PM »
Excellent performance. :wavetowel: :cheers: :thumbsup: :applause:

« Reply #16 on: September 06, 2013, 06:04:49 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/UrlUtP4yjAo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/UrlUtP4yjAo</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/7oDh-uYY2kw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/7oDh-uYY2kw</a>

« Reply #17 on: September 06, 2013, 06:34:21 AM »
Niceness man. As FF pointed out, you could really see the chemistry gelling with the team. Hart still has to experiment and it will take some time, but good to watch this unfold. Please pay the coaching staff and let's keep this going. Much more to be done football-wise as a whole, but just focusing on the senior squad. 

One thing puzzling to me every time I see Molino, as Pfister had said "million dollar legs", don't know why he hasn't gotten a look yet outside of the USL.

Press on guys, let's grab 3rd place

« Reply #18 on: September 06, 2013, 08:46:27 AM »

This was a game of contrasting halves.

In the sec. hlf, we had crosses with intent and men fighting to meet it.
We had corners that actually landed for players in the box instead of over everybody head and on the other side of the box.

The penalty was won based on pure fight from Plaza.

Those crosses and the execution that followed for the first and third goal was pure class.

We need some men now to give them beans in defense. The kind that people fraid to tackle.
Imagine Peltier with Cyrus behind him.

And Hector still to come.

Slowly but surely it's coming together.

« Reply #19 on: September 06, 2013, 09:02:41 AM »
This is the best Trinidad team I ever see in years..This is the kind of football I like to see. Thank You Mr Hart ..de football in yuh blood..we building on this..Go T+T!

« Reply #20 on: September 06, 2013, 12:06:04 PM »
This is the best Trinidad team I ever see in years..This is the kind of football I like to see. Thank You Mr Hart ..de football in yuh blood..we building on this..Go T+T!

True the second half and gold cup remind me of how i knew Trinidad use to play. After 2006 our football looked toothless, well except for the game against Costa Rica in Tobago when Latas was in charge

« Reply #21 on: September 06, 2013, 01:03:31 PM »
A different perspective on yesterdays game

The reactions on this board to yesterdays result and performance gives rise to the saying "It's not how you start but how you finish is what's important"

Kudos to the team in doing something most of us never thought they could do.  Just to reiterate, here's what we were up against:

1 - Arriving in Saudi 1 day before the match after a 20 hour journey from T&T (8 hours from London)
2 - Serious jet lag
3 - Unfamiliar environment in very hot conditions
4 - New (to this national team) central defender (Primus), midfielders (Peltier & Guerra), striker (Plaza)
5 - Horrible performance (understandably to some extent given the above) in the first 50 minutes of the game.
6 - Being 3-0 down after 50 minutes
7 - UAE #10 running the show
8 - No practice matches prior to this tournament

To come back from that shows tremendous character and ability....especially away from home and all the factors listed above.

That said.....glossed over with the positives from yesterday's match is a real and very critical defensive problem.  The mistakes that were made for the first 2 goals are simply inexcusable.

Jan Michael Williams has a flash of brilliance here and there but he seriously lacks the consistency required at this level.  This affects the confidence of the entire team and in particular the defence, because if they're not confident that their goalie will bail them out every so often, they'll make even more mistakes.

The defending from the corner for the first goal was schoolboyish at best.  No jet lag or unfamiliar environment can justify that.

It's great to see the team performing like how they have with the little resources available to them, but we cannot continue to "defend" the way we have and expect to beat people.  It simply is not on and is in my opinion the most critical aspect of our play that needs remedying.

Once again, kudos for the comeback.  But we didn't win and we shouldn't be happy about losing...no matter how gallantly. 

Winning is a habit.  We had the opportunity to win this game and squandered it.  We have to take the positives from the game yes.....but not be satisfied with 40 minutes of a 90 minute game. 

We now need to build on the last 40 minutes of that game and do even better against the Saudis.  We should be better acclimatised and rested.  Lets see how we do.  Good luck to the team and coaching staff
« Last Edit: September 06, 2013, 01:43:42 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #22 on: September 06, 2013, 01:54:45 PM »
UAE did not make the final rounds of qualification in Asia and finish last in the previous qualification rounds.

Not sure how good of a team they are.

hard to make a judgement on this type of game, but the fight back effort is good.

just general observations since I did not see the game.

« Reply #23 on: September 06, 2013, 02:00:05 PM »
Once again, kudos for the comeback.  But we didn't win and we shouldn't be happy about losing...no matter how gallantly. 

Winning is a habit.  We had the opportunity to win this game and squandered it.  We have to take the positives from the game yes.....but not be satisfied with 40 minutes of a 90 minute game.

Remember, Hart say he is focussing on performance first. If he is able to raise the performance levels, the results will come. No one is ever happy about losing, but in this case we were happy with the performance although we acknowledge that we were woeful in the first-half. I believe our defensive frailties are well known. The same defensive issues have been plaguing us for years, as well as our poor crossing and set plays. Also, we are not deep at the goalkeeper position. One thing I did like is that we created quite a few scoring chances, and if not for some good goalkeeping and defensive work at times, we could have won the match in regulation time.

Work in progress.

« Reply #24 on: September 06, 2013, 02:45:39 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Nyo3yWnroe4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Nyo3yWnroe4</a>

« Reply #25 on: September 06, 2013, 03:19:26 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/VWmayqizliU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/VWmayqizliU</a>

Karma strikes down a soccer thug
« Reply #26 on: September 06, 2013, 03:49:46 PM »
Karma strikes down a soccer thug
By Paul Oberjuerge (oberjuerge.com)

As I have mentioned, the UAE national team has become one of my favorite sports teams, so I made my way down to the Caffe di Roma shop, down on the ground floor of the apartment tower, to watch the match on TV with 25 guys in kanduras.

And the match ended in far more dramatic fashion than I anticipated.

The Emiratis were all over the Trinidadians for about 50 minutes, holding the ball, doing tricks, making the “we play like Brazil” comment sometimes heard here seem not as silly as it often does.

It got up to 3-0, and T&T is generally not an awful team (and their captain, Kenwyne Jones, plays for Stoke City, in the Premier League), and T&T became, I believe, embarrassed. Or perhaps had been instructed (or decided internally) to make the game less fluid and more, ahem, rugged.

The rest of the 90 minutes was T&T guys barging over Emiratis, or pushing them aside, just handling them roughly.

But the worst was yet to come.

Read More...

« Reply #27 on: September 06, 2013, 04:54:42 PM »

I eh too sure about that. But it was a pleasant surprise seeing 2 goals came from crosses. But the players was also just as significant. Plaza and Molino made good timely runs to put themselves in the right positions to score.

« Reply #28 on: September 06, 2013, 04:59:38 PM »
Interesting take by Mr Oberjuege; I agree that George's challenge demanded a yellow for being reckless but it was not a red. It was not deliberate or intentional. IMO the UAE guy connected with George's arm rather than the other way around. You could clearly see that George was completely focus on winning the ball rather than trying to take out the player.

As for the game being 'Rugged' he must be somewhat naive when it comes to the modern game, everyone knows most middle eastern sides are a bit lightweight and can't handle the physical stuff too well. Fancy football only gets you so far, you need a suitable mix of both. South Americans learned that decades ago and the East & South East Asians are learning too. The good sides do it they just better at making it less obvious. Personally T&T should have been doing that from the beginning, might have been a different outcome.

« Reply #29 on: September 06, 2013, 05:06:49 PM »
Interesting take by Mr Oberjuege; I agree that George's challenge demanded a yellow for being reckless but it was not a red. It was not deliberate or intentional. IMO the UAE guy connected with George's arm rather than the other way around. You could clearly see that George was completely focus on winning the ball rather than trying to take out the player.

As for the game being 'Rugged' he must be somewhat naive when it comes to the modern game, everyone knows most middle eastern sides are a bit lightweight and can't handle the physical stuff too well. Fancy football only gets you so far, you need a suitable mix of both. South Americans learned that decades ago and the East & South East Asians are learning too. The good sides do it they just better at making it less obvious. Personally T&T should have been doing that from the beginning, might have been a different outcome.

Yep!!!