March 28, 2024, 12:23:43 PM

Author Topic: Bovell in 50 free finals today at World Aquatics Championships in Barcelona  (Read 3550 times)

Offline Swima

With all the talk about track and field coming up, and nothing to celebrate in local swimming burdened with immature behavior, I thought it would be nice to bring some good news.

George made it in as the last qualifier from the semis last evening, but did so in the fastest ever field. To put some perspective, his time in the semis in London had him 5th going into the final, and that would have left him out of today's final.

Good to see him still improving and repping well.

NBC has coverage from 1:00 today, but those who want to see it live can view

http://www.time4tv.com/2011/09/british-eurosport.html

I am on the World Juniors Team this month and will hopefully see some more success from a promising group of youngsters on that team.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/Bovell-into-Worlds-50--free-final-218179382.html

Trinidad and Tobago swimming Olympic medallist George Bovell secured his place in the final of the Men’s 50-metre freestyle event yesterday in Barcelona with a 21.74 seconds clocking at the 15th FINA World Long Course Championships in Barcelona, Spain.

The result edged Bovell into today’s final as the eighth and final qualifier after he finished fourth in the first semi-final from lane one at the Palau Sant Jordi pool. This despite the fact that the T&T swim ace had the slowest reaction time of 0.73 seconds of both semi-finals.

Bovell will now be looking to add to the 100m individual medley bronze medal he won at the World Short Course Championships last year in Turkey. He is T&T’s lone Olympic swimming medallist with 100 IM bronze from Greece in 2004.

Yesterday Bovell told the Express that he “did not feel fast” during the heats, but “a little sore and stiff”.

“I can’t express my satisfaction and relief in the way I turned that around tonight,” Bovell said. “I am into the fastest final ever in the premier event in the sport. Everyone knows T&T. I am also very happy about the time as it was my fastest ever, and shows that I am continuing to improve despite taking time off and finding the time to give back and going to Uganda resuming real training only in May.”

Bovell is hoping he can improve his time to aroud 21.5 seconds, which he feels can win him a medal.

Heat One was won by Adrian Natuan of the USA in 21.60 seconds from lane three, while Cesar Filho Cielo (also 21.60) of Brazil—the world record holder in the event with a 21.90 mark back in 2009—was a narrow second in Lane Four.

Third was Roland Schoeman, swimming in lane seven, the South African establishing a new African record with his time of 21.67.

Frenchman Florent Manaudou, though, was the top overall swimmer on the day. The Olympic champion clocked an impressive 21.37 to beat USA’s Ervin Anthony to the wall and win the second semi, the latter clocking 21.42.

Also lining up in the final will be Manaudou’s countryman Frederick Bousquet (21.62) and Russian Vladimir Morozov (21.63), who were third and fourth respectively.

Bovell made it to the semis on the strength of his fourth-place finish in Heat Ten of the preliminaries, achieving his time of 22.09 from Lane Three.

Manaudou was again the best in swimmer of the prelims, with a 21.72 clocking that saw him edge Cielo (21.76) from lane four. Neither Andrii Govorov (Ukraine; 21.96) nor Matthew Abood (Australia; 21.91), who were third and fourth in the prelims, made it to the final
Success will never take you by surprise.

Offline Swima

Bronze!!!!!!!!

Gold to Cielo of Brazil
Silver to Morozov of Russia

Almost 3 tenths faster than his time from last year.  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

WELL DONE GEORGE!!!!

Congrats George! Swima, post the final when u get a sec? Thanks in advance

Congrats George.  Went inthe final with the slowest time and had the worst reaction time in the final yet he managed to medal.

damn... ah forget.. anyway Swima good times to you and your group..

Offline Swima

Offline sinned

George is amazing yes - on an elite level for 10+ years now not to mention converting from a world-class 200IM specialist to a world-class sprint specialist, recovering from injuries and pushing through. That amount of longevity requires real dedication, discipline and passion - one of T&T's best athletes ever.

Just heard the good news  :beermug:

Congrats to George. Your performance makes TT punch above their weight. Lord now to hear Anil friggin mouth!

George is amazing yes - on an elite level for 10+ years now not to mention converting from a world-class 200IM specialist to a world-class sprint specialist, recovering from injuries and pushing through. That amount of longevity requires real dedication, discipline and passion - one of T&T's best athletes ever.

i rate him as our most consistent athlete over the last 10 years.  i hope our track athletes could take a page from his book.

From BBC

Why did GB swimmers miss their medal target in Barcelona?

It was heralded as the start of a new era for British Swimming and a chance to banish memories of a disappointing 2012 Olympics.

In London, Team GB won just three medals when they were aiming for five. In Barcelona, British swimmers could only claim one - a 50m freestyle bronze for Francesca Halsall.

It meant Great Britain finished level with Finland and Trinidad and Tobago  in 20th in the medal table, with their lowest tally of medals since the 1998 Worlds in Perth, Australia.

The team may have been deprived of retired former Olympic champion Rebecca Adlington. Yet with her former coach, Bill Furniss, leading the national programme, hopes were high. The target was a minimum of three medals in Spain.

"It's obviously a huge disappointment," Adlington told BBC Sport. "We all wanted to see more, or expected more."

Ahead of the competition Furniss had admitted it could be an "extremely tough" event, however no-one anticipated Britain would struggle quite as much as they did.

He does not fear a UK Sport funding cut for a second year running, but insists that "drastic changes" will be made to the British Swimming programme over the coming months.

Here, BBC Sport's leading swimming pundits give their assessment of the British performances at the 2013 World Championships - and what should happen next.

I did not print the entire article
« Last Edit: August 06, 2013, 04:11:25 PM by Deeks »

My biggest concern with swimming in TT is, who will  the next person be to take the baton from George after Rio. This man has been swimming for TT for the past 10 years. Man of mental steel!

Offline Swima

If the concern is who is NEXT, at the end of this month is world juniors. Stay tuned…

What!!! The way you talking, we don't have to worry about the next Trini Baracudas(Male and Female). We in for a surprise!!!!

G E O R G Ewin again at world Cup

CARTER                                  JABARAI                                  ROMANY                                                  maybe More
« Last Edit: August 07, 2013, 03:14:15 PM by maxg »

Offline TdotTrini

Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

Offline Swima

Two national Short Course records yesterday for George in the 50 breast and the 100 IM. I suspect another is in the cards in the 50 free today.

By the way, his time in Barcelona in the long course 50 free was his best in a textile suit, but not a national record, as the papers have been announcing.

Ah have ah lil punkin vine cousin.
8 years old...last name is Blackman
Ah hope allyuh scoutin him strong

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/2QAHVfAWsTc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/2QAHVfAWsTc</a>

Bovell to feature at 100 IM
Saturday, August 10 2013

GEORGE BOVELL III will feature in the men 100-metre individual medley today when the second leg of the 2013 FINA Swimming World Cup begins at the Europapark, Berlin, Germany.

The 30-year-old Trinidad and Tobago ace swimmer got gold in the 100m IM in the first leg at Eindhoven, Netherlands on Wednesday.

But he will not participate in the men’s 50m breaststroke today — the event in which he was eliminated in the preliminary round phase, also on Wednesday.

Today, in the first round of the 100m IM, Bovell will be competing in the third and final heat, from lane four.

The other six competitors in his race are Donald Cameron of Switzerland (lane one), Mitchell Larkin of Australia (lane two), Dimitri Colupaev of Germany (lane three), Markus Deibler of Germany (lane five), Ryosuke Irie of Japan (lane six) and Alexander Pohl of Germany (lane seven).

George Bovell and Vlad Morozov press conference, 2013 world championships
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/TgbxYQRJ1DQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/TgbxYQRJ1DQ</a>
George Bovell and Vlad Morozov talk about winning bronze and silver in the 50 freestyle at the 2013 world championships.

Offline Swima

I know Nico. I was head coach at his club. But I ehn able. Had to strike out on my own. But me and family real good still.

Yeah, I figured you would know him...if he get his father's height, he should be interesting

I eh know yuh strike out on yuh own.. good for you boss.  Ah hope yuh smartman brother helpin yuh build the family business ;)