March 28, 2024, 10:50:23 AM

Author Topic: Akeem Adams Thread.  (Read 79334 times)

Re: SWO is seeking $upport for Akeem.
« Reply #210 on: October 12, 2013, 02:58:15 PM »
given their track record of fiscal management .....  :-\

Given whose record of fiscal mismanagement... Tim Kee, Phillips etc?  This isn't Jack/Camps/Groden we talking about here.

« Reply #211 on: October 12, 2013, 03:03:07 PM »
Good idea Bakes, but one problem, is Flex idea, the TTFF, TT League and now d TTFA will not make this effort because they do not respect SWO and they did not come up with de idea first.

With them, its a peeing competition. I hope Sheldon can change that seeing that de SWO was always in support of him and Lincoln. Tim Kee already diss we here, so one down.

But time will tell.

« Reply #212 on: October 12, 2013, 04:07:58 PM »

Given whose record of fiscal mismanagement... Tim Kee, Phillips etc?  This isn't Jack/Camps/Groden we talking about here.

Exactly.

The bare minimum standard should be one 4-year qualification cycle to assess the situation with TTFA. see how that goes before a bigger commitment.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2013, 04:29:13 PM by ribbit »

« Reply #213 on: October 12, 2013, 06:55:02 PM »
Beyond Akeem (and certainly, let's help him as much as we can) the TTFF needs to take up Flex' suggestion and establish the 'Heart of a Warrior' fund as a permanent standing fund, a trust even, to be available to current and former Men's and Women's national team members in need.  It could be restricted to just medical expenses or just general assistance as funds are available.  This should be an on-going effort... but happy to see it being done all the same.
This is exactly what the TTFA are doing. Fuentes explained that on TV6 sporting morning edition on Friday. They even earmarked former players who are having medical problems including Sedley Joseph and Clyde Leon if I'm not mistaken.

« Reply #214 on: October 13, 2013, 05:46:43 AM »
Akeem knows.
T&T Express.

AKEEM ADAMS has only now been informed about what happened to him, but time is still needed for the national senior team player to truly comprehend and digest it. He is awake and being weaned off the ventilator.

However, due to deep anesthesia his muscles have become weak and he sleeps through a significant part of the day. The footballer continues to get large quantities of pain-killers and sleeping pills.

This information was revealed by BLIKK newspaper (Hungarian), which has extensively covered Adams’ condition since he suffered a massive heart attack on September 25 in Hungary, where he plays for the 28-time champions Ferencvaros Torna Club (FTC).

BLIKK said that Akeem’s mother (Ancilla Adams) visits him every day and described her as a very positive personality, who feels it is important now that close family be near her son. The mother, the newspaper reported, said the family members were happy to see each other. But these are difficult moments and Akeem is now faced with what happened to him in recent weeks while he was under deep anesthesia.

If necessary, psychologists will deal with his mental condition in time, but mom believes now is the time when loved ones are needed. Since his trauma, Adams underwent four life-saving surgeries, including the fitting of an artificial heart. He also had the lower part of his favoured left leg amputated six days ago, after lack of circulation caused decay in the limb.

The intervention appears to be successful, as Adams’ lab results and intensive care unit parameters have improved by leaps and bounds. Artificial heart blood flow remains stable and his fever also went down, so medical staff took a decision to awaken him.

His condition is reported as improved, but no official word about his medical condition has yet been revealed by the club, which has closely guarded medical disclosures. BLIKK reported their source as Dr Gentle Psalm, a medical staff member of the Ferencvaros club, who is also a member of the staff at the Department of Cardiology Center at the Városmajori Heart Clinic in Budapest, where Adams is housed.

BLIKK reports: “On Thursday, the man woke up from his coma, and communicated with those in the surrounding environment, with the hospital workers, his mother and brother. They told the footballer that they had to amputate his left leg which had become infectious, and also that in the last two and a half weeks he had been operated on four times.

However, according to our information, the player is not only concerned about himself, but regrets that the team (Ferencvaros) has suffered. BLIKK has learned that the Ferencvaros and T&T player has personally thanked the doctors for treating him.”

During his time in hospital, Adams’ team, Ferencvaros have gone into a form slump and have dropped down the standings from third spot. Opponents that have beaten them say Ferencvaros have not played the same since the defender’s injury, and team coaches say they are having a problem getting Adams’ teammates to concentrate fully on football since the tragedy.

BLIKK said Adams has apologised to his teammates for them not being able to rely on him, and was very disappointed because he cannot go back to action and help them.

“This shows how Akeem Adams means a lot to have included in the FTC ( Ferencvaros), and the close relationship with the club managers, co-workers, members of the frame,” said BLIKK.

« Last Edit: October 13, 2013, 06:04:48 AM by Flex »

« Reply #215 on: October 13, 2013, 06:14:26 AM »

Exactly.

The bare minimum standard should be one 4-year qualification cycle to assess the situation with TTFA. see how that goes before a bigger commitment.

With all respect, Ribbit, we can't wait 4 years before we trust these guys. For one, we'd miss out on WC2018. What we have to do is monitor their performance, offer critique and praise, so they can determine the views of supporters, and continue to express opinions and ideas.
Although there may appear to be a seperation between TTFA and SWO, I'm sure that after time, there will be better communication.

« Reply #216 on: October 13, 2013, 06:27:11 AM »
Good idea Bakes, but one problem, is Flex idea, the TTFF, TT League and now d TTFA will not make this effort because they do not respect SWO and they did not come up with de idea first.

With them, its a peeing competition. I hope Sheldon can change that seeing that de SWO was always in support of him and Lincoln. Tim Kee already diss we here, so one down.

But time will tell.

Sam, there is a disconnect between TTFA and SWO, but in situations such as this, there should be no competition. Everything that can be done, should be done. Separate entities have their own ideas on how to give support.

I can vouch that Sheldon Phillips has been supportive of helping Akeem since 26th September, because I personally advised him of the situation, along with the guys at Central. From that first day, we have exchanged many ideas. Unfortunately, Central do not have the financial muscle to move quickly, yet our players wore T shirts supporting Akeem when they took the field vs Connection. I believe these shirts will be on sale at the First Citizens final. Connection also donated their winnings - $10,000 - from the Community Shield.
We also offered to play a game vs Point Fortin before the New Zealand game.
There has also been talk of arranging either a match between T&T & Hungary in November or maybe Ferencvaros, but this takes a little more time to organise and may not be possible.
I also know that Phillips has spoken to the family in Hungary and has offered the assistance of a heart specialist from USA to the Hungarian medical team.
TTFA have to be seen to be taking positive steps, but not everything will see fruition. You can't send out press releases saying "we're thinking of doing this" or "we'd like to do that". But I know there has been a lot of concern and focus from Phillips, but the public don't get to hear this!

« Reply #217 on: October 13, 2013, 07:01:00 AM »
FS, my comments have nothing to do with Sheldon supporting Akeem, everybody support Akeem and should......

I talking about ever since the TTFF and now TTFA nothing has changed as far as support or respecting the SWO.

Flex came up with a great idea, but no one in T&T will make this happen or even TRY because it was not their idea first, everything in T&T is a toe-tea measuring competition.

It is a competition, who car faster, who idea it was, who site better. Give credit where credit is due and make it happen. I feel de ole heads have to be removed better we can see some change though, from Shaun go down.

This is not about Akeem.

Flex came up with a great idea to help people in Akeem situation and more and the head of all football in T&T is de TTFA, they should try and implement these things or TRY to nah.

« Last Edit: October 13, 2013, 07:06:56 AM by Sam »

« Reply #218 on: October 13, 2013, 07:17:33 AM »
FS, my comments have nothing to do with Sheldon supporting Akeem, everybody support Akeem and should......

I talking about ever since the TTFF and now TTFA nothing has changed as far as support or respecting the SWO.

Flex came up with a great idea, but no one in T&T will make this happen or even TRY because it was not their idea first, everything in T&T is a toe-tea measuring competition.

It is a competition, who car faster, who idea it was, who site better. Give credit where credit is due and make it happen. I feel de ole heads have to be removed better we can see some change though, from Shaun go down.

This is not about Akeem.

Flex came up with a great idea to help people in Akeem situation and more and the head of all football in T&T is de TTFA, they should try and implement these things or TRY to nah.

I hear you. Maybe, given a little more time, Phillips will reach out to SWO.

Re: Adams family creates bank account for donations
« Reply #219 on: October 13, 2013, 01:12:37 PM »

Why was the Akeem Adams section not sectioned off?
« Reply #220 on: October 16, 2013, 07:13:50 PM »
Don't get me wrong, I am happy that an avenue was presented for me and my friends to contribute towards Akeem. But the least they (ttfa) could have done was section off the area designated for these ticket holders. You pay $125 to join the same long line and enter the same gate and sit in the same section as uncovered ($75). What was the point of advertising it as a different section? Very poor logistics if you ask me! For that price we ain't get no jersey, no covered stands, not even a whistle to blow..... AT LEAST section off the damn section... Just my 2cents.

Offline Anbrat

Re: Why was the Akeem Adams section not sectioned off?
« Reply #221 on: October 16, 2013, 10:02:28 PM »
Don't get me wrong, I am happy that an avenue was presented for me and my friends to contribute towards Akeem. But the least they (ttfa) could have done was section off the area designated for these ticket holders. You pay $125 to join the same long line and enter the same gate and sit in the same section as uncovered ($75). What was the point of advertising it as a different section? Very poor logistics if you ask me! For that price we ain't get no jersey, no covered stands, not even a whistle to blow..... AT LEAST section off the damn section... Just my 2cents.
In other words, yuh want some recognition or special treatment fuh contributing TT $50.00 or US $8.00 "towards Akeem". Yes???

« Reply #222 on: October 17, 2013, 06:24:02 AM »
In other words, yuh want some recognition or special treatment fuh contributing TT $50.00 or US $8.00 "towards Akeem". Yes???
No! Recognition or attention is the last thing I want! If that was the case i would have quicker bought a jersey and wear it to the stadium (like you probably did). In fact I believe it would have been better if they jacked up all ticket prices by a mere $25 and give that amount from each ticket to the fund. My point is don't falsely advertise any 'special' section! To me this came off as being very disingenuous and untrustworthy! And that's the last impression you want to give especially as you're collecting funds for a charity!!!
« Last Edit: October 17, 2013, 06:42:05 AM by de_redman »

« Reply #223 on: October 17, 2013, 06:33:27 AM »
Good idea de_redman...

Special events, VIP and covered stands should have different lines.

This should be part of the perks and it will encourage more to partake.

You cant have first class linning up in de same line with economy, they pay plenty more.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #224 on: October 17, 2013, 06:33:53 AM »
Some people told me it was the Security staff from the HCS that did not follow instructions they were given to make it a section.... Don't think the TTFA at total fault here...not like they could ask Fuentes and Phillips to come and be ushers lol

Offline MilkyX

« Reply #225 on: October 17, 2013, 06:55:45 AM »
I was surprised myself when I got their and their wasn't any difference in seating. The add clearly stated that the $125 seating would be the seats central of the uncovered stand. It was all mixed up. Someone really screwed the $125 ticket holders.
Only the humble can be truly great!

« Reply #226 on: October 17, 2013, 07:15:33 AM »
Some people told me it was the Security staff from the HCS that did not follow instructions they were given to make it a section.... Don't think the TTFA at total fault here...not like they could ask Fuentes and Phillips to come and be ushers lol

No offence Banton but is that type of response which is so typical of our society and is probably exactly what they were thinking. Arrogant, uncaring, sarcastic, no sense of responsibility, take what yuh get attitude. The buck has to stop somewhere and for me that should be with the organizers... Well this is one trini who's not going to subject themselves to that type of bullsh!t anymore...

« Reply #227 on: October 17, 2013, 02:35:55 PM »
yeah i think there was some miscommunication..cuz I was told not to have the flag by the centre as that was supposed to be for akeem section pple only..but had no way of enforcing that

Re: Akeem Adams suffers a heart attack
« Reply #228 on: October 17, 2013, 03:04:11 PM »
Even with de sometimes jokey Google translation, the following article gives some good insights:
Adams is still on life support

« Reply #229 on: October 18, 2013, 09:26:11 AM »

Exactly.

With all respect, Ribbit, we can't wait 4 years before we trust these guys. For one, we'd miss out on WC2018. What we have to do is monitor their performance, offer critique and praise, so they can determine the views of supporters, and continue to express opinions and ideas.
Although there may appear to be a seperation between TTFA and SWO, I'm sure that after time, there will be better communication.

we go agree to disagree. crawl, walk, run.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #230 on: October 18, 2013, 08:30:30 PM »
No! Recognition or attention is the last thing I want! If that was the case i would have quicker bought a jersey and wear it to the stadium (like you probably did). In fact I believe it would have been better if they jacked up all ticket prices by a mere $25 and give that amount from each ticket to the fund. My point is don't falsely advertise any 'special' section! To me this came off as being very disingenuous and untrustworthy! And that's the last impression you want to give especially as you're collecting funds for a charity!!!
I hear yuh!

« Reply #231 on: October 19, 2013, 12:00:35 AM »
I saw today an Akkem Adams banner in the uncovered stand. I guess this was supposed to indicate the section.

« Reply #232 on: October 19, 2013, 02:14:08 AM »

IN SUPPORT OF AKEEM: A fan proudly displays a national flag with the picture of ex-national footballer, Akeem Adams, inset, during Tuesday's friendly match between the Soca Warriors and New Zealand at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo. (2013-10-17) ...Author: Azlan Mohammed

« Reply #233 on: October 19, 2013, 07:29:28 PM »
Students from Anthony Sherwood's Elite Football Academy.

« Reply #234 on: October 20, 2013, 10:20:02 AM »
Ok guys, a quick update, this donation for Akeem will be closed soon, if you haven't yet donated, feel free to do so now (if you could afford to).

Thanx.

Offline SWF Reporter

« Reply #235 on: October 20, 2013, 10:42:32 AM »
De redman. I agree totally. Makes no sense blaming the stadium management. If fans have a horrible time and refuse to  back, would you blame the stadium management?
It is a TTFA event and they should take responsibility for it and ensure it runs smoothly.

« Reply #236 on: October 20, 2013, 11:53:54 AM »
Give us an idea as to how successful the campaign has been once closed.

« Reply #237 on: October 20, 2013, 05:28:11 PM »
Give us an idea as to how successful the campaign has been once closed.

A report will be published....

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #238 on: October 21, 2013, 11:46:17 AM »
Any word yet on how much money was realized from these ticket sales and T shirts? Want to be sure my couple hundred dollars was well accounted for. Any updates?

« Reply #239 on: October 22, 2013, 05:14:17 AM »
Closing soon..... !!!!