March 28, 2024, 03:37:35 AM

Author Topic: Trinidad beat Chennai, top group to enter CLT20 semifinals  (Read 1716 times)

socafighter

Trinidad beat Chennai, top group to enter CLT20 semifinals
« on: October 02, 2013, 11:24:22 AM »

NEW DELHI:

An impressive all-round show by Lendl Simmons (2/10 & 63) helped Trinidad dislodge Chennai as Group B leaders to enter the Champions League Twenty20 semifinals.

With Trinidad's crushing 8-wicket victory over the Super Kings, the Champions League Twenty20 semifinal line-up has been decided.

While Rajasthan Royals will take on Chennai Super Kings in the first semifinal in Jaipur on October 4th, T&T will meet Mumbai Indians in the second semifinal in Delhi on October 5th.

Chasing a modest 119-run target, openers Simmons and Evin Lewis put up a crucial 79-run stand before Ravindra Jadeja scalped the latter to give the Indian side some respite in the match.

However, Simmons was in no mood to show mercy as he blasted his way to his half-century with the help of 5 smashing boundaries and 4 scintillating sixes to lead T&T to glory.

Earlier, rare batting collapse by the much vaunted Chennai Super Kings batting line-up saw them get bundled out for a paltry 118 in 19.4 overs against Trinidad &.

After putting CSK into bat, Denesh Ramdin marshalled his resources well as the bowlers performed as a unit with a disciplined effort. The 'Men In Yellow' didn't do their cause in any good with shoddy running between the wickets that led to three run-outs.

For T&T, Rayad Emrit (3 for 21) was the most successful bowler while Simmons and Ravi Rampaul claimed two wickets apiece.

Only three CSK batsmen - Murali Vijay (27), Suresh Raina (38) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (25) reached double figures while six of the other seven batsmen failed to even cross five-run mark.

There was middle-order collapse with Dwayne Bravo (2), Ravindra Jadeja (3), Albie Morkel (4) and S Badrinath (3) all getting out cheaply.

Earlier, Ravi Rampaul gave the visitors a perfect start when he removed Michael Hussey (1) in the second over of the innings. Rampaul, who went wicketless in the last two games after grabbing four in his team's opening match against the Titans, got the ball to come in from good length, castling Hussey's off-stump.

Vijay and in-form Suresh Raina then forged a 55-run stand in 39 balls for the second wicket to set up a decent platform for the hard hitters after Hussey went cheaply.

CSK made a decent start with 48 runs being scored in the six overs of mandatory Powerplay.

Just when the duo looked settled for more, Vijay played a loose shot off gentle medium pacer Lendl Simmons and played on to the stumps. Vijay failed to convert on a start (27, 23 balls) that included four exquisite boundaries on the off-side.

Dhoni walked in to a rousing welcome by a packed holiday crowd here at the Feroze Shah Kotla stadium. But the CSK skipper, who had been in brilliant touch, could not replicate the magical knock he played against Sunrisers Hyderabad as his careful run-a-ball knock of 25 included just two fours.

TofI

socafighter

Re: Trinidad beat Chennai, top group to enter CLT20 semifinals
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2013, 11:40:06 AM »

Now its beat dong time fer Polly and Smitty October 5 th 2013 ..

Are we ready ...Yesssssssssssssss

socafighter

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2013, 11:46:16 AM »

Only one West Indian Going home ..hehehehe

Yep Sir Frank Worrell Sammy ..the scab  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2013, 11:57:18 AM »

steups...........he may not be d brightest bulb but get's WI to play more than any othe cappo in recent history.......give d man his due

« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2013, 12:01:57 PM »
 :beermug: :beermug:

I said it before, I saying it again

T&T will have at least one player on all the teams in the semi-finals.

Love up weself! :wavetowel:

Haters gonna hate

T20 is our sport!

« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2013, 12:54:55 PM »
Well done,two games left to bring the ultimate prize home
WI pride..... :devil:

socafighter

« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2013, 01:39:44 PM »
I will never give Sammy any Credit .....he is a scab , a turncoat and uncle Tom for Hunte and Hillaire .

Sammy Captaincy was not due to merit but planned . Tell me any Captain who with Opiss as the

Coach followed Hillaire Orders . Only Sammy .

They canned the Seniors and only when they came back we started to win.

On the team now their is serious animosity towards that coward Sammy . Remember he was rested

so he didn't show up in Jamaica . How many other were rested ...NOOOOne

Opiss the Coach blames all the seniors  at the World Cup in India /SL ..Sammy had piss poor numbers

but he escaped criticism . Why ? Godfathers Hunte and Hillaire .

The recent trophy we won we could have had a Frog as the Captain and we would have won.We

won because of Gayle , Bravo , Narine  and Samuels ..Not Scab Sammy. The numbers don't lie .

He asked Players not to attend WIPA awards in Trinidad , is that what a Captain does ?

In my books he will always be a rat , a scab and a traitor.

Then Opiss  Gibson got rid of Lil Willie , for an englishman .Now tell me West Indies Team

Or Red Force which has shown the most improvement. The Coach is Lil Willie .

I don't support West Indies Teams , I support the Trini's in the team . T&T Cricket comes first .

I doh Care who vex ,  lose . I will always boooo that SOB at games.

I have proof for what I stated above. :pissedoff: :pissedoff:
« Last Edit: October 02, 2013, 01:51:32 PM by socafighter »

« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2013, 01:59:32 PM »

Nah Roach join he scab captin on d way back to the WI.

« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2013, 02:06:00 PM »
I will never give Sammy any Credit .....he is a scab , a turncoat and uncle Tom for Hunte and Hillaire .

Sammy Captaincy was not due to merit but planned . Tell me any Captain who with Opiss as the

On the team now their is serious animosity towards that coward Sammy . Remember he was rested

Opiss the Coach blames all the seniors  at the World Cup in India /SL ..Sammy had piss poor numbers

The recent trophy we won we could have had a Frog as the Captain and we would have won.We

won because of Gayle , Bravo , Narine  and Samuels ..Not Scab Sammy. The numbers don't lie .

He asked Players not to attend WIPA awards in Trinidad , is that what a Captain does ?

Then Opiss  Gibson got rid of Lil Willie , for an englishman .Now tell me West Indies Team

I don't support West Indies Teams , I support the Trini's in the team . T&T Cricket comes first .

what forums are you from?

« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2013, 02:07:14 PM »

steups...........he may not be d brightest bulb but get's WI to play more than any othe cappo in recent history.......give d man his due

Agreed.

socafighter

« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2013, 03:45:36 PM »

what forums are you from?

Does it matter what forums I post on ? ah just asking .

I post at talkyuhcricket.net ..a new site  and afew others.

Lets put it this way ICC , WICB , WIPA , Cricket players , Journalist they know socafighter . ;D
« Last Edit: October 02, 2013, 03:49:02 PM by socafighter »

socafighter

« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2013, 04:03:34 PM »

In the four times they have played the CLT20, T&T have had only one bad campaign - last year when they were knocked out after one loss and a washout in the qualifiers - and this table-topping performance underlined why they are among the best T20 sides in the world.

Siddarth Ravindran is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo
RSS Feeds: Siddarth Ravindran

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by  Chunkey Pandey on (October 2, 2013, 19:59 GMT)

What people don't know is the T&T team is stronger than the West Indies team

Posted by Rally_Windies on (October 2, 2013, 19:28 GMT)

poor Jadeja ...

I have said it before and I will say it again ...

People "say" WI does not produce good spinners.... But it is more accurate to say the WICB does not like to PLAY SPINNERS ...
Swann is the only current Test Spinner who is good enough to play for T&T .....

Jadeja , Arshwin and Ohja are not good enough to make the T&T team.

socafighter

« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2013, 06:59:02 PM »

Lil Willie and Lara unbeatable combo ...

Lets bring it home Red Force..

« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2013, 08:58:00 PM »
What time is the semis?

socafighter

« Reply #14 on: October 02, 2013, 09:11:24 PM »

Saturday approx 10:30 am  T&T time

socafighter

« Reply #15 on: October 02, 2013, 09:31:52 PM »
Lil Willie boys who performed today in Pictures ..

Ravi with a beauty

Simmo bowling

R Emrit

Narine

L Simmons

E Lewis

Bravos
« Last Edit: October 02, 2013, 09:37:21 PM by socafighter »