April 27, 2024, 10:54:08 AM

Author Topic: Trinidad & Tobago vs Mumbai Indians 10:30am T&T time  (Read 2320 times)

socafighter

Trinidad & Tobago vs Mumbai Indians 10:30am T&T time
« on: October 04, 2013, 07:32:17 PM »

Eden gardens

Trinidad & Tobago vs Mumbai Indians

Match scheduled to begin at 20:00 local time (14:30 GMT)T&t Time 10:30 am

Trinidad & Tobago squad
D Ramdin*†, S Badree, AB Barath, DM Bravo, RR Emrit, ST Gabriel, S Ganga, E Lewis, JN Mohammed, SP Narine, KYG Ottley, N Pooran, R Rampaul, LMP Simmons, ND Stewart

Mumbai Indians squad
RG Sharma*, AN Ahmed, NM Coulter-Nile, R Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, MG Johnson, KD Karthik†, GJ Maxwell, PP Ojha, AR Patel, KA Pollard, AT Rayudu, DR Smith, AP Tare, SR Tendulkar

socafighter

Re: Trinidad & Tobago vs Mumbai Indians 10:30am T&T time
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2013, 06:14:11 AM »
Mighty Mumbai Indians face guile of Trinidad and Tobago

NEW DELHI:
TNN | Oct 5, 2013, 12.38 PM IST

"Keeping it simple and trusting each other." That, believe it or not, is coach John Wright's lucid explanation for the reasons behind Mumbai Indians' phenomenal form this season.

The team faces Trinidad and Tobago in the second semifinal of the CLT20 on Saturday, and while intermittent showers put paid to the team's pre-match practice session, Wright had reasons to sound smug on the team's chances.

"We are hoping for a game. A washout will see us crashing out. We're hungry. You do research before every match, look at your opponents, but this is T20. Keeping it simple is the key. No one would have given us a chance in the last game (against Perth Scorchers) of pulling off that chase, but we did it."

What Wright left unsaid was that MI have also successfully insulated themselves from the unsavoury controversies hovering over some other IPL franchisees.

For one, the team has never been big on post-match parties and it takes its clean image very seriously. Discipline, say insiders, is paramount, with Wright being one of the key backroom motivators.

"We try not to overcomplicate things. We are a good franchise. We enjoy each others' company. In T20, the players prepare and trust themselves to compete," was all Wright would say. "We want to play in that final."

Mumbai, however, aren't the only ones with an attitude heading into Saturday's game. Neither are they are the only ones who wouldn't have expected to make it this far.

If there's one team which can test their line-up, it is T&T, with the likes of Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul, Samuel Badree, all-rounder Lendl Simmons and Rayad Emrit doing the bowling chores. They have also lost only three T20 games after posting totals of 150 or more.

"We have a history in this tournament. We played well in 2009 as well. We take a lot of confidence from the manner in which we beat CSK the other day.

"If we put 150-160 on the board, with this kind of attack, we know what we can do," said T&T coach David Williams. "Many people didn't expect us to be in this position. That's a plus for us. We are more accustomed to the low bounce and the skid here.
"

Wright, though, was unfazed when pointed out that Narine could be a handful on the Kotla pitch. "Look, we respect Narine but we just have a very good batting line-up. We have some outstanding players of spin."

One of those outstanding players, Sachin Tendulkar, hasn't got going so far, though Saturday offers another opportunity. "Sachin is just enjoying his cricket," said Wright, "He is hitting the ball beautifully but T20 is like that."

T&T would like to keep it that way.

PB,TofI
« Last Edit: October 05, 2013, 06:16:34 AM by socafighter »

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2013, 08:07:30 AM »
Mumbai Indians have won the toss & will field

« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2013, 10:10:44 AM »
Might have sent in Stewart before ottley in this case....
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2013, 10:12:34 AM »
Pooran taking up a Batsman spot. Barath should be in. How many chances he must get?

« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2013, 10:12:56 AM »
ottley played ah real good innings...mumbai bowl well...i think tnt did very well considering out batting fickle..

iz to try and outfox mumbai now and let pollard suck ah little salt!

« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2013, 10:13:37 AM »
T andT 153/5
Money time T and T

« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2013, 10:15:32 AM »
It appears that the ball is not on to the bat,let see how well Mumbi adjust

socafighter

« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2013, 10:16:42 AM »
CLT20: Trinidad and Tobago set 154-run target for Mumbai Indians

NEW DELHI:

Evin Lewis's 62 and Yannick Ottley's unbeaten 41 helped Trinidad and Tobago reach 153/5 against Mumbai Indians in the second semifinal of the Champions League Twenty20 at Ferozeshah Kotla Stadium in New Delhi.

Kieron Pollard struck to give Mumbai Indians huge breakthrough by dismissing Trinidad and Tobago's Evin Lewis.
Trinidad suffered another blow in quick succession when Mumbai's spinner Mitchell Johnson dismissed Denesh Ramdin to leave T&T 111/4 in 15.3 overs.

Lewis cracked 46-ball 62 with the help of six fours and four sixes. He slammed a 34-ball quick-fire fifty to put Trinidad and Tobago on top.

Lewis led Trinidad and Tobago from the front with his powerful hitting despite losing Lendl Simmons early. The southpaw smacked six fours and three sixes during the course of his half-century.
Lewis took West Indies outfit past 50 runs in eight over with a six over long-off on the bowling of Harbhajan Singh.

Mumbai spinner Pragyan Ojha broke the crucial second wicket partnership between Lewis and Darren Bravo by removing the latter when he got stumped by Dinesh Karthik.

Harbhajan Singh struck in his first over to remove T&T opener Lendl Simmons for nought. Lewis gave Trinidad a brisk start as he hammered a four and six off Mitchell Johnson in the first over of the innings.

Earlier, Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to field against Trinidad and Tobago.

Mumbai made one change, bringing in Mitchell Johnson in place of Glenn Maxwell while Trinidad retained the same playing eleven.

It would be a contest on even keel as both the teams are coming off big wins. While Mumbai thrashed Perth Scorchers by six wickets, T&T annihilated two-time IPL champions Chennai Super Kings by eight wickets in their respective last league encounters.

Both the teams fought their way to the semifinal after being left with no other option but to win their final group matches and they did it in style on October 2 at Kotla.

2011 champions Mumbai and T&T seem evenly-matched on paper as both the teams boast of big match-winners in Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Smith, Sunil Narine, Lendl Simmons, Ravi Rampaul and Darren Bravo.

Teams:

Mumbai Indians: Dwayne Smith, Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma (capt), Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik(wk), Rishi Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Johnson, Pragyan Ojha.

Trinidad & Tobago: Lendl Simmons, Evin Lewis, Darren Bravo, Yannick Ottley, Nicolas Pooran, Denesh Ramdin (capt/wk), Sunil Narine, Rayad Emrit, Navin Stewart, Ravi Rampaul, Samuel Badree.

TofI to socafighter

« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2013, 10:41:58 AM »
come on yannick yuh see tendulkar coming tuh hit yuh and yuh let him do it

« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2013, 10:47:51 AM »
Not looking good right now

« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2013, 10:54:10 AM »
need ah couple wickets and some rain

« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2013, 11:26:16 AM »
Oh well it was a good run.

« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2013, 11:42:21 AM »
still  :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: plenty tort we wouldn't get far

« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2013, 11:55:00 AM »
d fellas did us proud...

if yuh check d amount of money Mumbai spend on dey players vs we players...

yuh could say that we OVERACHIEVED in this tournament...

Well done TNT

« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2013, 11:57:21 AM »
Also I can't believe they pick Pooran over Barath who was actually in decent form.

Red Steel need to pick alot more local players and make good buys for CPL next year. The idiots that pick Guillen over Lewis need to stay far away from the selection process.

« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2013, 12:46:51 PM »
Also I can't believe they pick Pooran over Barath who was actually in decent form.

Red Steel need to pick alot more local players and make good buys for CPL next year. The idiots that pick Guillen over Lewis need to stay far away from the selection process.

Run meh cell ph dead dead all AM and early PM takin in de game; ph get hot hot  :rotfl:.  After we finished at 153 I said to myself we about 15-20 runs short.  Then when Emrit get injured ah was like damn.  Even with that we still made a fight of it; proud of the boys, great run.

Yes, Lewis in front of Guillen any day, night, season.  Hopefully Narine gets the golden ball, he finished w/how many 13?

Well done fellas, enjoy the rest of your trip, return safe....

Offline sinned

« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2013, 12:54:08 PM »

Yeah hard for me to believe we didn't give Barath a chance. Pooran did very little and was overrated largely based on that 1 game in the Caribbean Premier League. Barath is a more complete batsman and would have had a pretty good strike rate as well. I think we also need to look at where our next strike bowler is coming from. Rampaul and Narine are very good but we really need 1 more quality bowler to complete our bowling attack.