Yeah Lefty it feels a lil more natural for me. It feels like an overcast day. Is there a way to match ur resolutions? It seems like your pic and character are at different resolutions. That VFX thing is a science in itself. Would have liked to know more about that.
the day was overcast and thankfully so.....shooting video for vfx is indeed a science, it requires a lot of planning, I shot video about 8 times for various attempts and had to discard the both the footage and the projects for various reasons relating to the video being "untrackable" and "unsolvable"
(the video processing stage) or to many shadows ...............in fact the footage for this attempt is the only clip left of 10 shot on the day and still the F-stop was set a bit too high...... live-view on the t3i doesn't seem to be 100% faithful.....didn't look this low contrast on the camera screen
so I have two choices I can saturated the footage a bit or "defocus" the robot so that they match up
once I get this looking right I plan to do about 3-5 clips, then work up a few other ideas I have in my head with new shoots of course...........one issue I grapple with right now is that the 50mm lens on an APS-C sensor is a pain in tight spaces...but also creates challenges for out videos too been lookin at
this though....it was made with follow focus in mind
as for visual fx it's basically adding digital elements to live action footage, look a good VFX breakdown vid dat explain the processes better than words.... u can also google vfx break down to see more...
http://www.youtube.com/v/NdJYlKfyjg8I use
blender 3d it free but d interface ent to friendly, but it have most of what u need for indie VFX work though be it on a level or two below d big boys like 3ds max, after effects, Silo, Maya and such
still u get a:
Compositor
video editor\sequencer - lil finicky
audio management
(not audio editing eh)3d modelling and animation
particle effects - fire, water(finicky), smoke
physics
camera motion tracking ( dais what I doin now)
and plenty more but read tutorials and be patient if u try it.....is not ah walk in d park for the uninitiated

..........I give up on it plenty times before dey change some tings dat give mih d encouragement to throw mih illegal copies of MAX and Maya