April 19, 2024, 02:31:51 AM

Author Topic: Is our current midfield the best ever?  (Read 6629 times)

Is our current midfield the best ever?
« on: October 10, 2013, 04:37:01 AM »
I am amazed at that midfield. Question?  Have we ever had a better midfield?  dis is a real question eh!

H. Hector - A Guerra - Molino - Boucaud - Peltier - Hyland - Theobald - K. George -Cato

any takers?

Re: Is our current midfield the best ever?
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2013, 05:34:38 AM »
Here is ah better one:

2000 - Latapy, Nakhid, Dwarika, Rougier, Eve
« Last Edit: October 10, 2013, 05:46:18 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2013, 06:08:40 AM »
Here is ah better one:

2000 - Latapy, Nakhid, Dwarika, Rougier, Eve
:thumbsup:

« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2013, 06:50:11 AM »
uhh...Yorke, Birchie,Edwards, Whitley and 36 yr old Latas

umm...Hutson Charles, Latas, Yorke, Jamerson and Leonson Lewis on d left for we,we,we,we

In terms of "names...any midfield with Hardest or Gally

I really not sure where this question come from.

« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2013, 08:16:46 AM »

umm...Hutson Charles, Latas, Yorke, Jamerson and Leonson Lewis on d left for we,we,we,we

But to D' point, nice to see we come back relatively quick in island years after those high points.  Now they just have to live up to it and press on; tangible goals: next CFU champs, next GC semis min and next WC qual

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2013, 08:43:34 AM »
I am amazed at that midfield. Question?  Have we ever had a better midfield?  dis is a real question eh!

H. Hector - A Guerra - Molino - Boucaud - Peltier - Hyland - Theobald - K. George -Cato

any takers?

Guess Dr Abracadabra amazes you too...........

« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2013, 10:24:09 AM »

But to D' point, nice to see we come back relatively quick in island years after those high points.  Now they just have to live up to it and press on; tangible goals: next CFU champs, next GC semis min and next WC qual

Way Faustin?

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2013, 10:53:13 AM »

any takers?

It is definitely one of our strongest....ability wise it is quite good...add Keon Daniel to that list as well

« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2013, 10:58:49 AM »

any takers?

It is definitely one of our strongest....ability wise it is quite good...add Keon Daniel to that list as well
Can't agree with that. While we've definitely had weaker I wouldn't call this group one of our strongest.

« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2013, 11:41:51 AM »
It's possible that they could be one of the strongest... but they simply have not been tested enough for me to draw that conclusion.

« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2013, 11:59:19 AM »
they have potential, I would say the Most Promising in recent times, still need more seasoning like firebrand suggests.......

question though the "old" midfields with no Latas ....this bunch has no "Special ones" per say?
« Last Edit: October 10, 2013, 12:03:52 PM by lefty »

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2013, 12:37:01 PM »
It's possible that they could be one of the strongest... but they simply have not been tested enough for me to draw that conclusion.

fair enough...most promising is definitely it then

A 4-2-3-1 with the 5 supporting Kenwyne :

------------------Hyland--------Boucaud
---Peltier--------------Hector---------------Molino

Ability wise all these players are supreme....they can all play football and all have Football IQ

« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2013, 01:51:38 PM »
Considering the midfield we had in the late 80 to the late 90s, I don't see how this is even a discussion.

Imagine in their prime - Latas, Nakhid, Dwarika, L. Lewis and Faustin. Backed up by ppl like Jughead, A. Thomas. Shucks even Boisson and Jemott coulda walk on to the present team.

« Reply #13 on: October 10, 2013, 02:05:28 PM »
fellahs leonson was a left winger on the strike sqaud while faustin was the left back.

« Reply #14 on: October 10, 2013, 02:30:26 PM »
fellahs leonson was a left winger on the strike sqaud while faustin was the left back.
Correct

« Reply #15 on: October 10, 2013, 03:06:40 PM »

any takers?

Largely untested midfield

« Reply #16 on: October 10, 2013, 03:14:01 PM »
Doh leave out Porterfield 4 man mid... Carrington...Latapy...Mason and Eve... ( ask Panama,Canada and Mexico)

« Reply #17 on: October 10, 2013, 04:02:15 PM »
Gally, DeLeon, Archibald, Sookram and Spann.

« Reply #18 on: October 10, 2013, 04:54:59 PM »
Considering the midfield we had in the late 80 to the late 90s, I don't see how this is even a discussion.

Imagine in their prime - Latas, Nakhid, Dwarika, L. Lewis and Faustin. Backed up by ppl like Jughead, A. Thomas. Shucks even Boisson and Jemott coulda walk on to the present team.

in a bar maybe

« Reply #19 on: October 10, 2013, 06:49:19 PM »

Hahahaha...somehow ah like dis simple post :)

« Reply #20 on: October 10, 2013, 09:01:07 PM »
D present crop need more games...... and a full cycle of world cup qualifying before any judgement will pass

But i do admit that SH has a wonderful selection headache given the talent available.

« Reply #21 on: October 10, 2013, 09:13:51 PM »
A man say hardest yes

Wheeeeyyyyyy sah. All dis time I tort it was bout de national team. Me eh know is a passa passa side he was torkin bout

« Reply #22 on: October 11, 2013, 06:22:09 AM »
A man say hardest yes

Wheeeeyyyyyy sah. All dis time I tort it was bout de national team. Me eh know is a passa passa side he was torkin bout

Gives you an idea of how bad things have been and how easy and quick it is to impress when we finally get some decent talent.

I didn't call him by name but Rougier was a stalwart in the 90s and would play any position you give him - and perform.

« Reply #23 on: October 11, 2013, 06:51:57 AM »
Ok people, I know; facetious at best but potentially speaking, stop and look at these young talents. I like the midfield Banter put up with Hyland and Boucaud Anchoring and Peltier, Molino, and Hector free to feed and so far unafraid to run.... So if I have to re-title

Could this midfield be the best ever because these young men alongside guerra and others so far is showing great chemistry - in my opinion.

Wow, De Leon & Archibold - Latapy and Dawrika - de more yuh look, is de more yuh realize that we have had some best mid-fielders over the years

« Reply #24 on: October 11, 2013, 06:55:14 AM »
VB, how Jemmott come out yuh mouth !!!..

Jemmott is in no class to be in T&T top 20 midfieldrs of all time.

No F00CKING WAY !!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #25 on: October 11, 2013, 07:08:43 AM »
I
Ok people, I know; facetious at best but potentially speaking, stop and look at these young talents. I like the midfield Banter put up with Hyland and Boucaud Anchoring and Peltier, Molino, and Hector free to feed and so far unafraid to run.... So if I have to re-title

Could this midfield be the best ever because these young men alongside guerra and others so far is showing great chemistry - in my opinion.

Wow, De Leon & Archibold - Latapy and Dawrika - de more yuh look, is de more yuh realize that we have had some best mid-fielders over the years

I like it too, I tink we also stumble onto someting with KJ as d withdrawn center forward 4411 against Saudi Arabia, we have plenty room for variation, which is never a bad thing.  :beermug:

« Reply #26 on: October 11, 2013, 07:20:00 AM »
As talented as that 1998-2002 midfield and squad on the whole was, everybody cut we tail in the 2002 Hex.

« Reply #27 on: October 11, 2013, 07:40:09 AM »
As talented as that 1998-2002 midfield and squad on the whole was, everybody cut we tail in the 2002 Hex.

It wasn't that simple...

« Reply #28 on: October 11, 2013, 07:41:31 AM »

2002 was we best opportunity, everybody was peekin, d first mistake was firing St. Clair after d gold cup, many people like to give porterfield all credit for we semifinal performance, but I saw that disastrous hex coming from d very first game of d semis........allyuh doh recall just how terrible we were in dat Canada game before we scored....and then d TTFF was underminin team discipline by allowing Yorke and Latapy the kind of latitude they did......there were many things dat was wrong, bad and miscalculated about 2002 dat lead to its failure
« Last Edit: October 11, 2013, 07:45:16 AM by lefty »

« Reply #29 on: October 11, 2013, 10:19:17 AM »
Work in progress. When the they can share the ball possession(effectively) 50/50 against US/Mex/Ja, then is time to bray. Right now, is a long road to progress. Then ah next thing, allyuh mixing up players in different eras.