March 28, 2024, 02:45:32 AM

Author Topic: Is our current midfield the best ever?  (Read 6587 times)

Re: Is our current midfield the best ever?
« Reply #30 on: October 11, 2013, 01:01:13 PM »
VB, how Jemmott come out yuh mouth !!!..

Jemmott is in no class to be in T&T top 20 midfieldrs of all time.

No F00CKING WAY !!!!!!!!!!!!

T&T top 20 midfielders of all time....... Run it Sam!

« Reply #31 on: October 11, 2013, 01:25:21 PM »
VB, how Jemmott come out yuh mouth !!!..

Jemmott is in no class to be in T&T top 20 midfieldrs of all time.

No F00CKING WAY !!!!!!!!!!!!

The point went right over your head didn't it?

No hardest couldn't make the top 20 and yet he and Boisson (who also couldn't make it) could walk on to the present team in their youth.
My point being our midfield although talented is still a work in progress. So let's not get carried away about the best ever.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #32 on: October 11, 2013, 06:12:06 PM »
Gally, DeLeon, Archibald, Sookram and Spann.

Gally, De Leon, Betram Grell and 'Jimmy' Springer.

« Reply #33 on: October 11, 2013, 09:39:35 PM »

so Archibald suppose to be one of the best ever and he cya even make your midfield? Way sah! Maybe ah shoulda start this thread on an American forum. Like we have too many great ones to choose from.

« Reply #34 on: October 11, 2013, 11:54:25 PM »

so Archibald suppose to be one of the best ever and he cya even make your midfield? Way sah! Maybe ah shoulda start this thread on an American forum. Like we have too many great ones to choose from.

If ah not mistaken, Warren Archibald was a forward

« Reply #35 on: October 12, 2013, 07:10:06 PM »

thanks for clarification..

« Reply #36 on: October 14, 2013, 01:34:13 PM »
Yorke was one of our best midfielders alongside Latas.

« Reply #37 on: October 14, 2013, 03:19:44 PM »
Best in terms of what? Their individual success or as a unit? Team results or their ability to entertain the people in the stands? Given our success as a nation I find this a very open ended question and the discussion we've seen proves it. I too would wait to see them play more matches before starting to class them as the best, but they are definitely the best we've seen in recent times (5 or so years). Again, this is keeping in mind that they've not been around all that long.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #38 on: October 15, 2013, 08:04:13 AM »

thanks for clarification..

You are not mistaken, Palos. Warren 'Lagga' Archibald was indeed a forward and not a midfielder. Bobby Sookram was also a forward.

« Reply #39 on: October 15, 2013, 02:19:52 PM »
Difficult question to answer because we have never been noted for  great midfield play ..... defence and goal keeping yes ..a great forward now and then but not as a team which controls the middle ...and I around long time ! ..but even so this midfield has played together for how many games now ? ..and we ready to say they are the best ever ? ...so we basing this on what again ?

I saw a bit of the Saudi arabian game and even though we were 2 up in 5 mins they were bossing us around in the middle ... dem fellas have to show something more  than just better than what we had in the last 5 years. I say that because in my view we have finally found a good coach. I know littel of the man but i am seeing his work ..I am sure others have seen the difference in the way the team plays ...with largely the same players . Some of them may move on to other things but they eh ready yet ...work in progress ...and leh we not put too much pressure on de fellas and give dem time to master their trade.
All this talk about best ever is therefore a little premature for me ..

« Reply #40 on: October 15, 2013, 02:22:34 PM »

Aye Plaos
What going on pards ?? what you tink bout the yellow team now ??  ;)

« Reply #41 on: October 17, 2013, 10:31:43 AM »
I call Hardest name cause obviously this thread is about names and not performance.

This midfield eh do nuttin yet. And Hardest had all the potential in the world. He, Brent Rahim...and even Theobald was world beaters when they first break through from college football.

I haven't seen anybody in this midfield even approach that level of potential, far less performance. Yet.

Hyland especially, still going by name and not performance(for the national team.)

« Reply #42 on: October 17, 2013, 10:34:58 AM »
fellahs leonson was a left winger on the strike sqaud while faustin was the left back.

We wasn't playin a 4-2-4 so I really eh know how to classify Leonson. The best I could say is that was playing the role that Thierry Henry play for Arsenal, cutting in from the left., with Philbert Jones or Alibey being the "fox in the box". Leonson wasn't known for crossing the ball if he was a left winger.

« Reply #43 on: October 17, 2013, 04:42:00 PM »
I call Hardest name cause obviously this thread is about names and not performance.

This midfield eh do nuttin yet. And Hardest had all the potential in the world. He, Brent Rahim...and even Theobald was world beaters when they first break through from college football.

I haven't seen anybody in this midfield even approach that level of potential, far less performance. Yet.

Hyland especially, still going by name and not performance(for the national team.)

I glad somebody finally say dat. Hyland had some bad ass moves. Now offensively speaking he offers nothing.

At best now he is a def. midfielder or withdrawn midfielder.