March 28, 2024, 03:48:44 AM

Author Topic: All Whites hold Warriors in deadlock.  (Read 7679 times)

All Whites hold Warriors in deadlock.
« on: October 15, 2013, 07:32:04 PM »
All Whites hold Warriors in deadlock.
By Inshan Mohammed.

Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Men's team played to a 0-0 tie with Oceania’s top outfit New Zealand in a friendly encounter at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, Trinidad.

The Soca Warriors were playing in their first home game since a 2-0 defeat to Peru in February at the Ato Boldon Stadium- Stephen Hart's first local international fixture after assuming the role of head coach this past June.

The “All Whites” meantime are preparing for a two-legged play-off against CONCACAF’s fourth placed team, which now looks likely to be Mexico.

Results

Trinidad & Tobago 0 v New Zealand 0

Teams

Trinidad & Tobago: - 21.Jan-Michael Williams (1.Marvin Phillips 46th - vice-capt); 3.Justin Hoyte, 4.Sheldon Bateau, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 20.Carlyle Mitchell, 8.Khaleem Hyland (5.Kevan George 83rd), 10.Kevin Molino (12.Ataullah Guerra 83rd), 14.Andre Boucaud, 19.Lester Peltier (7.Hughtun Hector 61st), 11.Willis Plaza (16.Marcus Joseph 61st), 9.Kenwyne Jones (capt) (23.Rundell Winchester 87th).

Unused Subs: - 2.Aubrey David, 17.Mekeil Williams, 15.Curtis Gonzales, 18.Densill Theobald, 13.Cordell Cato.

New Zealand: - 1.Glen Moss; 22.Andrew Durante, 3.Tony Lochhead, 2.Winston Reid (capt), 5.Tommy Smith (19.Craig Henderson 68th), 7.Leo Bertos (11.Bill Tuiloma 46th), 9.Aaron Clapham (6.Jake Butler 74th), 8.Michael McGlicnchey, 17.Kosta Barbarouses, 16.Jeremy Brockie, 10.Rory Fallon (Yellow 37).

Unused Subs: - 12.Tamati Williams; 4.Cole Peverley, 13.Dan Keat, 14.Aaron Scott, 20.Kris Bright, 21.Cameron Howieson.

Referee: - Stanley Lancaster (Guyana).

Attendance: - 14,000.

Venue: - Hasley Crawford Stadium, Trinidad.

Full report to follow.

« Last Edit: October 15, 2013, 09:41:15 PM by Bakes »

Re: All Whites hold Warriors in deadlock.
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2013, 08:16:09 PM »
was like watching a drawn test match...

dead crowd and dead football..... at least we didn't concede.

« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2013, 08:30:45 PM »
Gotta see life in terms of incremental victories: 14000 in the stadium ... and for a friendly is a big big victory for the football fraternity here after all the years of cynicism and distrust created by Jackula and others. Certainly creates a good starting point of momemtum for the future. Word will spread and this will help the Pro League with men like Winchester geyyin' a run. Likely to see more fixtures as we aim to keep our reputation and rankings up.

Note the latest FIFA rankings. How many were aware of the rankings below? Well done T&T.
New Zealand 67
Trinidad & Tobago 85

« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2013, 08:52:29 PM »
Gotta see life in terms of incremental victories: 14000 in the stadium ... and for a friendly is a big big victory for the football fraternity here after all the years of cynicism and distrust created by Jackula and others. Certainly creates a good starting point of momemtum for the future. Word will spread and this will help the Pro League with men like Winchester geyyin' a run. Likely to see more fixtures as we aim to keep our reputation and rankings up.

Note the latest FIFA rankings. How many were aware of the rankings below? Well done T&T.
New Zealand 67
Trinidad & Tobago 85

Agreed

Offline amwood

« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2013, 09:17:00 PM »
With the commotion to get in, I thought the stadium was almost sold out based on initial impression walking in. On top of that, not sure who making some of the logistical decisions. In pulling in, they cut off parking inside fairly early, however, once your walk inside - is rel space to park. On top of that, in the uncovered section, look like is one gate being used to sell tickets and same gate for entry. So the line long for spite, even if you bought your ticket already. Most of them people who line up from 6:30 probably got in around 20 mins after game start. Uncovered was catering for pre purchased tickets only - didn't appear as if they were selling for that section. One thing TTFA don't want to do is hamper the momentum created - fans looking like they ready to come out, don't turn them away because of bad logistics, have more gates selling tickets and more places for entry...after getting in crowd look nice but still had plenty room especially in sections behind the goals. Pitch look good and I'm sure the players was encouraged by the turn out. Also saw people selling the official Joma jerseys as well which was nice...they look like very good quality up close. Lastly, was happy to see Yorkie in the crowd, he was impressed by what he saw - he flew in to check the game. On the flip side saw Marvin Faustin outside the uncovered fighting up to get a ticket to get in...big players like that should be VIP all the way. Moral of the story is make sure you buy your ticket before hand always, and doh drive down to the stadium looking for parking because although you reach 45 mins early - there will be no parking and the lines will be excessively long.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2013, 12:03:11 AM by amwood »

« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2013, 09:45:52 PM »
14,000 is a very nice turnout.  Kudos to the much-maligned local fans, and the TTFA for seemingly turning the apathy around.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2013, 09:47:37 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2013, 11:13:40 PM »

New Zealand 67
Trinidad & Tobago 85

« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2013, 12:19:43 AM »
We should be pleased that we drew with the top team from Oceania,they have been involved in nuff football over the last few years while we were in freefall,we are only just recovering so take a draw as a very good result.We have done it right and our journey back to where we should be is in the early stages,no need for us to go all out for a win and lose with a stupid goal,it's not the time for "roll up yuh sleeves with blood and guts "football.We seem to have a good team and we got time,we didn't lose.

« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2013, 03:59:06 AM »
didn't look like no 14000 ppl to me.
We transport reached early and parked in movie town, rest of us traveled down and reached about 5.45, by 6.10 we done in we seats.

« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2013, 08:33:14 AM »
Somebody say Yorke was there?

Does anyone have highlights?

« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2013, 10:28:30 AM »
Greetings tuh all. Well r right, Supa and De Enterprise still alive and checking in fuh de first time, in ah very,very long time. Ah does take meh lil read now and den, but ah never does get the time tuh log in. Ah have ah lot ah home work tuh do, as far as getting tuh know some ah dem young lads on de team. Ah like what ah saw in de Gold Cup and presently. It is a process, wid some baby steps, so we have tuh be patient and support dem breddahs. Ah still feel Latapy should be de coach doh  ;D. Where de hell he is any way? Respect. HIGHLY BLESSED.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2013, 11:08:52 AM by SUPA »

« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2013, 10:33:06 AM »
Why are we talking about everything except the game we went to see.Did the system we play work? who were the players that stood out?what sort of tactics did the Coach use? how many chances did T&T get versus chances NZ? etc etc

Where was the WN flag?we had such a huge crowd but heard nothing about the Flag. 

« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2013, 11:30:01 AM »
Why are we talking about everything except the game we went to see.Did the system we play work? who were the players that stood out?what sort of tactics did the Coach use? how many chances did T&T get versus chances NZ? etc etc

Where was the WN flag?we had such a huge crowd but heard nothing about the Flag. 

Cuz we are not a big time coach like you  ;) ;D. Seriously, De Enterprise in Fl, so we eh see de game and it look like is more rum drinking and shyth talking, that does be going on at our games, so good luck wid dem questions sah. Yuh might get yuh answer from ah couple people dat were sober. HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2013, 11:55:32 AM »
KJ shoulda score.

Guerra shouda for SURE score (or at least make a defender pull ah Suarez!!)

Watching the game on a computer is pressure.

One ah dem announcer wouldn't let go of the Barcelona (et al) strategy of playing right/left footers on the opposite side so dey could cut in and shoot, jeez de man wouldn't shut up about it.

How de hell do you pronounce Boucaud last-name, two men sitting right next to each other pronounce it different right thru the commentary, how friggin stupid is dat, ah mean really?

Guerra shoulda score.

« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2013, 11:59:02 AM »
de WN big flag was mentioned by Andre Baptiste during the live commentary

Offline SWF Reporter

« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2013, 12:44:52 PM »
Warriors’ evolution continues with goalless draw against New Zealand
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868)

The Trinidad and Tobago national football team’s evolution continued last night with a goalless draw against New Zealand at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain.
Not that it might have felt much like progress at the time.
If half-dozen policemen had walked on the field and started planting cones and “no entry” signs, it would have been appropriate metaphor for what unfolded. This was a good old-fashioned traffic jam.
New Zealand parked a colossal white bus in the drive way. Trinidad and Tobago could not find space the manoeuvre around the “All Whites” and lacked the confidence or magic to drive right through them.
Instead, for much of the 90 minutes, both teams remained in their vehicles and lobbed half-hearted threats at each other.
“The hand brakes were up for sure,” said Trinidad and Tobago coach Stephen Hart, in the post-game press conference.
Hart stood at the edge of his technical area for almost the entire match where he waved, pouted and shouted at his players with the expression of a man who was desperate for his turn in the rest room.
“In terms of managing the ball and moving it around, we were okay,” said Hart. “But we were too slow and our wide players were hesitant to take some risks and take players on.”
Not that his team’s approach was totally devoid of merit.
“We didn’t want to throw ourselves forward and leave ourselves open to the counter attack,” said Hart.
“Soca Warriors” captain Kenwyne Jones seemed to sum up his squad’s approach.
“We did want to give the public something to cheer about,” said Jones. “… (But) it was our first home game after the Gold Cup and we didn’t want to lose.”
Growing up is not only about fun and games. West Indies cricket legend Viv Richards once chided a young Dwayne Bravo for failing to last the day after a quick-fire half-century during a Test match in England.
“There is no better feeling than telling the bowler ‘see you tomorrow’,” said Richards.
Perhaps the Warriors might have felt the same way last night as they went to bed; no goals but, crucially, unbeaten.
The New Zealand bus was certainly one to approach with caution.
On the ball, the Oceania team spread into a 3-5-2 system that ensured plenty passing options in midfield. But, once the Warriors took possession, New Zealand shifted to a 4-5-1 system or, sometimes, two lines of five players within 10 yards of each other.
Read more: http://wired868.com/2013/10/16/warriors-evolution-continues-with-goalless-draw-against-new-zealand/

« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2013, 12:46:09 PM »
Greetings tuh all. Well r right, Supa and De Enterprise still alive and checking in fuh de first time, in ah very,very long time. Ah does take meh lil read now and den, but ah never does get the time tuh log in. Ah have ah lot ah home work tuh do, as far as getting tuh know some ah dem young lads on de team. Ah like what ah saw in de Gold Cup and presently. It is a process, wid some baby steps, so we have tuh be patient and support dem breddahs. Ah still feel Latapy should be de coach doh  ;D. Where de hell he is any way? Respect. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Long time we cyah hear from yuh....Heat win  another championship and I tell mehself iz either yuh still celebrating or yuh lock we off.. :D
But good to know yuh alive and well... :beermug:

« Reply #17 on: October 16, 2013, 12:50:23 PM »
KJ shoulda score.

Guerra shouda for SURE score (or at least make a defender pull ah Suarez!!)

Watching the game on a computer is pressure.

One ah dem announcer wouldn't let go of the Barcelona (et al) strategy of playing right/left footers on the opposite side so dey could cut in and shoot, jeez de man wouldn't shut up about it.

How de hell do you pronounce Boucaud last-name, two men sitting right next to each other pronounce it different right thru the commentary, how friggin stupid is dat, ah mean really?

Guerra shoulda score.

Nah man iz de accent...., one of dem from down South and other living up North...

Offline Coach

« Reply #18 on: October 16, 2013, 01:43:24 PM »
I have never seen we control a game in this manner, no panic, all players on the same page! way less direct long ball as we use to do! Well done to the lads and coaching staff!

Going forward I would of like to see more short quick combinations plays in the attacking third, which would of created more shots on nets and at least a goal but you have to look at how well the opposition was organize defensively and keep in mind that NZ is in prime preparation for WCQ. This attacking level of play will come with time as the coaching staff is on the right track and building the complete team takes time and more games.
I must say TT more look like a team prepping for WC 2014 too bad this coach was not on board earlier!
« Last Edit: October 16, 2013, 02:07:18 PM by Coach »

Offline amwood

« Reply #19 on: October 16, 2013, 02:13:18 PM »
Coops we know that there is usually a game report that follows from Lasanna etc...like to give them that opportunity before throwing out man impressions. In a nutshell, guys moved the ball pretty good, defenders especially seemed to be much better in possession, New Zeland really pack it in, that was no exaggeration. Unlike the gold cup, the team appeared much better prepared to handle the football as opposed to Kenwyne being the first option and then everything else after. What I think we lacked was someone a little more dynamic who could deliver a final pass, maybe someone who could draw a defender or two and hence creating some space or an opening for the guys going forward. At times, I thought if we could move the ball a bit faster then there would be openings created. Other than that good solid, compact showing - with a little luck, couldda end up with a slim victory. Progress for sure.

« Reply #20 on: October 16, 2013, 02:24:57 PM »
anybody have a taped replay?

Re: Re: All Whites hold Warriors in deadlock.
« Reply #21 on: October 16, 2013, 02:32:06 PM »

« Reply #23 on: October 16, 2013, 03:09:40 PM »

The flag was not raised because people were complaining dat dey eh want no flag over dey head etc.

Offline Coach

« Reply #24 on: October 16, 2013, 03:27:27 PM »
Coops we know that there is usually a game report that follows from Lasanna etc...like to give them that opportunity before throwing out man impressions. In a nutshell, guys moved the ball pretty good, defenders especially seemed to be much better in possession, New Zeland really pack it in, that was no exaggeration. Unlike the gold cup, the team appeared much better prepared to handle the football as opposed to Kenwyne being the first option and then everything else after. What I think we lacked was someone a little more dynamic who could deliver a final pass, maybe someone who could draw a defender or two and hence creating some space or an opening for the guys going forward. At times, I thought if we could move the ball a bit faster then there would be openings created. Other than that good solid, compact showing - with a little luck, couldda end up with a slim victory. Progress for sure.

"we lacked was someone a little more dynamic who could deliver a final pass, maybe someone who could draw a defender or two and hence creating some space or an opening for the guys going forward." Houghton Hector look like he can play this role.

« Reply #25 on: October 16, 2013, 04:01:21 PM »
anybody have a taped replay?

Fast forward to about 8:50 min

http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/39881231

Thanks so much. I am in the middle of travelling and hven't had time to watch anything.
Hopeufully this will be there for a while.

« Reply #26 on: October 16, 2013, 04:38:39 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/qPH6EhEA1xM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/qPH6EhEA1xM</a>

Re: Re: All Whites hold Warriors in deadlock.
« Reply #27 on: October 16, 2013, 04:51:19 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/qPH6EhEA1xM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/qPH6EhEA1xM</a>

Lol just realised is my video that get edited.

Will try and record some news highlights later

« Reply #28 on: October 16, 2013, 05:07:41 PM »

Lol just realised is my video that get edited.

Will try and record some news highlights later
yuh Ghetto stream was borse...better than canal jockey in d dry river anyway

« Reply #29 on: October 16, 2013, 05:12:59 PM »
T&T playing smarter football now and with a plan.

Still some polishing to do.

Hoyte is a real baller, fast, explosive and fit, he just need to do two things, take a chance on goal now and then and stop with so many high balls. He does force it to much, his thinking is faster than some and the others just can read him at times, good find...

Boucaud is a real boss too. I like this player a lot, I want him to shoot at will but good hustler and smart player.

Hector didn't do much, disappointed in him a little but maybe he was out of his usual position, he very good under de strikers like Guerra and seems more comfortable on the left wing. I know he can ball and once he gel with de others he will come in nice.

Abu Bakr is technically good, but readable and clumsy at times.

Bateau is solid and hard working but his decision with balls he need to work on.

Kenwyne is a horse, de man went from being my worst player to now my favorite, he solid I just want to see him shoot more especially from outside de box, de man get my respect.

Peltier has pace for so, e was cauing all kinda throuble and hard to contain but his first touch is poor but he is a good player, needs to take more shots, come on de inside and shoot, like de ole Ryan Giggs.

Glad to see SH putting pressure on Jan Williams by keeping to two keepers competitive for their spots.

Guerra made a good impact on the game.

Joseph still dont have much ball sense but I know he capable, he just need to use his talent better, in time. He need to go to a Pro League team or outside T&T, I like his physical built and he can shoot too, use it !!!!

Hyland showed he capable of big games. He makes a mistake here and there but he can change de game if he like, he reminds me of Michael Essien.

Molino was in and out of the game. Still a big player.

Would like to see Gonzales and Cato get a run.

Selection headache for SH we, that team have some serious talent in midfield. We defense need to tighten up though, they does get beat through de center to much and we need a dribbler bad, to open up de game and add spark, maybe Guerra or Hector can add that role. If we can find a back up for Kenwyne to, hopefully Rundell will grow, I know he will be a asset to this team, he have real pace, and under SH and Fenwick he will improve.

We could also do with a super sub player, like Glen.

Not de best game but that is expected, T&T public hard to please and you can see the players want to do well and should not put themselves under pressure to get a result and just play ball, goals will come, we appreciate they working hard and trying they best, something we did not do under pass coaches, so definitely a big improvement.

I like the way the team is looking, how the players are responding and how they are being coached.

All up hill from here.

No of the press acknowledges the WN flag, the TTFA should make sure and support this because it will help down de road. They need to get together with WN and SWO and make it possible that we get we posse in de stadium hassle free.

De Red Storm !!!!