March 28, 2024, 05:37:52 PM

Author Topic: Soca 2014  (Read 14000 times)

Re: Soca 2014
« Reply #60 on: February 04, 2014, 03:50:47 PM »
Machel Montano - Junction.   The music sounds similar to Bunji's "Truck on de Road".   

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/_JOJOEAbgzk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/_JOJOEAbgzk</a>
« Last Edit: February 04, 2014, 03:52:48 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #61 on: February 04, 2014, 06:14:21 PM »
Ah hear Olatunji Yearwood eh performing "Fete Ram" in de fetes......ah wonder why?   

:thinking: :whistling:

« Reply #62 on: February 06, 2014, 06:39:56 PM »
Bunji Music video. Carnival Tabanca. It bosss

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTeDBTKt19M&feature=youtube_gdata_player
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/kTeDBTKt19M" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/kTeDBTKt19M</a>
« Last Edit: February 06, 2014, 10:01:29 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #63 on: February 06, 2014, 10:42:20 PM »
The contrast between Bunji's video and Machel's H.M.A. video is striking.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/na5eNkT21Ds" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/na5eNkT21Ds</a>
« Last Edit: February 06, 2014, 10:46:17 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #64 on: February 07, 2014, 11:13:49 AM »
Yes, they are different. Which is good. Too much of the same is boring. Both artists taking "different" routes to the same final objective. Make Soca more internationally appealling. That is what "everybody" demanding of Soca artistes. So take your pick. One thing for sure of the quality of both videos are extremely good. For me at least.

« Reply #65 on: February 08, 2014, 12:29:19 AM »
Crazy - Raise Dem High

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/jKOez5mb34I" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/jKOez5mb34I</a>
« Last Edit: February 08, 2014, 12:31:11 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #66 on: February 08, 2014, 05:24:46 AM »
The kind of creativity in the Carnival Tabanca video is the what people were looking for in the Differentology video.  Hence the reason folks were so disappointed when it was released.....

« Reply #67 on: February 08, 2014, 08:55:50 AM »
The kind of creativity in the Carnival Tabanca video is the what people were looking for in the Differentology video.  Hence the reason folks were so disappointed when it was released.....

I was kind of disappointed in the Differentology video, but ironically, it picked up all to international awards though. But I like the quality of the videos. To me the most creative is by Alves, "angel watching over me".

« Reply #68 on: February 08, 2014, 11:08:56 AM »
i feel a big rivalry coming on between bunji and machel. imo bunji have the momentum and machel playing catch up. overall, great quality coming from both sides though.

« Reply #69 on: February 08, 2014, 12:30:14 PM »
Big, big, big, big, chune sah....

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/crq5SnXApMM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/crq5SnXApMM</a>

« Reply #70 on: February 08, 2014, 12:32:21 PM »
Best Bunji for awhile

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sJnXigBWWmU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sJnXigBWWmU</a>

« Reply #71 on: February 09, 2014, 09:42:04 AM »
Super Blue - Spankin

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/JmdecMo0UiM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/JmdecMo0UiM</a>

Blue Boy - Mrs Pan

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/to_pNTuzdAo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/to_pNTuzdAo</a>
« Last Edit: February 09, 2014, 09:44:13 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #72 on: February 10, 2014, 10:06:29 AM »
Stag Riddim

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/37DKvMA4bvI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/37DKvMA4bvI</a>

« Reply #73 on: February 11, 2014, 10:15:00 PM »
.....6. Oh and Farmer Nappy song sweet for days.....is mih break way, throw back and wine song of the season.....but.....a guy from St. Lucia sang a song a few years ago with a chorus that is very, very, very similar if not the same as Farmer Nappy's.....

Will try to find it on you tube and post the link.............

Edit:  ah find it.....

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Bo2Z6DU5cIw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Bo2Z6DU5cIw</a>

That is blatant in trute.  I love Farmer Nappy song though. The beginning have a New Orleans vibe with the drum and horn.

« Reply #74 on: February 12, 2014, 12:13:38 AM »
.....6. Oh and Farmer Nappy song sweet for days.....is mih break way, throw back and wine song of the season.....but.....a guy from St. Lucia sang a song a few years ago with a chorus that is very, very, very similar if not the same as Farmer Nappy's.....

Will try to find it on you tube and post the link.............

Edit:  ah find it.....

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Bo2Z6DU5cIw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Bo2Z6DU5cIw</a>

That is blatant in trute.  I love Farmer Nappy song though. The beginning have a New Orleans vibe with the drum and horn.
Nappy’s Big People in hands of big people
Published: Thursday, January 30, 2014
Peter Ray Blood (Trinidad Guardian)

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/bFvD7oucJC4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/bFvD7oucJC4</a>

Big People Party, performed by Daryl “Farmer Nappy” Henry, will be performed in position 39 at the semifinals of the 2014 Digicel International Groovy Soca Monarch Competition. However, eyebrows have been raised about the song’s originality with detractors claiming the song’s verse is suspiciously similar to Big People Party, sung by Teddyson John of St Lucia in 2012. Henry sought yesterday to give an explanation on the bona fides of the composition.

He said: “As with every Carnival, after I had a hit last year with Stranger, I travel sourcing new material for the following year. “Composer Steve Sealy of Ghost Writers approached me with the song. I subsequently took it to the Red Boyz in Barbados and they loved it, suggesting that I do it. Henry said when he recorded it at the end of last month while in Tampa for a show he began singing the material he intended using for the promoter.

“He (Sealy) told me then ‘you know it already has a Big Party out?’ I was shocked. I then listened to Teddyson’s song and realised the chorus was basically the same melody.” He added: “I then contacted Red Boyz and my management, which is also in Barbados. They also called Ghost Writers and they explained to me that Teddyson came to Trinidad previously to do a Red Bull ad. They showed me a voice note on April 4, 2012 of them having an original copy of the song.

“Apparently, Teddyson took Ghost Writers’ voice note and wrote a song using the chorus. His song was released on June 26, 2012. “He never informed them that he took Ghost Writers song. The song never scored so nobody ever heard of it. Now that my song is big some people are trying to raise an ants patch. “I am not the writer of the song, and this matter is in the hands of Ghost Writers’ attorneys. I have already contacted COTT and have submitted my recording.

“I love this song very much as I feel it could bring back peace and love in this country. I am singing about a country returning to love and togetherness, and to build my country,” Henry said. Sealy, a partner of Ghost Writers, along with Emmanuel Rudder and Brandson Villafana, said yesterday: “It is not an issue about anyone stealing anything. It is just a misunderstanding that will be resolved. We are dealing with it right now as professionals. We have spoken to Teddyson and are working it out.

We have the proof that our melodies were done in April 2012. We continue to do work with Teddyson and we are friendly with him. We are simply allowing the song to live and thrive.” Sealy asked: “How come it wasn’t brought to anyone’s attention in 2012 that Teddyson had this song? Why only now that Nappy’s song is happening?” “I have covered all bases. I spoke with the head of the International Groovy Soca Monarch (Peter Scoon) Competition as I was concerned about the song’s legitimacy and they said it was alright.”
« Last Edit: February 12, 2014, 12:22:07 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #75 on: February 12, 2014, 07:44:36 AM »
Ah nice, no problems then.

« Reply #76 on: February 12, 2014, 10:28:55 AM »
Big, big, big, big, chune sah....

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/crq5SnXApMM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/crq5SnXApMM</a>

Nice Chune........But how he sounding like Tanya Stevens so? Like Orlando need to lower that voice ah Octave!....lol
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

Super Blue - Carnival Yo Yo [2014 T&T Power Soca & Official Promo Video]
« Reply #77 on: February 14, 2014, 06:16:19 PM »
Brand new promo video from Super Blue for his new 2014 Power Soca hit called "Carnival Yo Yo", directed by Kern Rose Films.
This promo video could have been even better if all the girls had yo-yo's and were spinning them during the dance routine!
This song has a jumbie and grows on you the more you hear it so within a week's time I have no doubt that everyone in T&T will be converted "Yo Yo" bouncers once all the radio stations have it pumping!  :thumbsup:

Super Blue - Carnival Yo Yo [2014 T&T Power Soca / Official Promo Video]
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/KKBQ0H40qIQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/KKBQ0H40qIQ</a>
Written by Super Blue (Austin Lyons),
Produced by Julian Nelson (Juelio) and Austin Lyons (Super Blue), and Mastered by FM Studios.
Promo Video By @KernRoseFilms.
2014 Competing Road March & Soca Monarch Song.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2014, 06:22:33 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #78 on: February 14, 2014, 10:27:43 PM »
Blue shoulda leave that tune wherever he find it.
Iwer too.

« Reply #79 on: February 14, 2014, 11:48:26 PM »
Iwer too.
Blue's song will grow on you, just wait and see!  ;)

« Reply #80 on: February 15, 2014, 08:41:31 AM »
Iwer too.

My first thought was this tune is familiar; sounds recycled from the late 90's early 00's.

« Reply #81 on: February 15, 2014, 10:01:53 AM »
Iwer too.

My first thought was this tune is familiar; sounds recycled from the late 90's early 00's.
It's Blue's style! He has a unique formula and it works for him so why change it?!  8)

« Reply #82 on: February 15, 2014, 04:02:23 PM »
Iwer too.

It's Blue's style! He has a unique formula and it works for him so why change it?!  8)
Dem girls will be bouncing it for this song for sure and no man will complain ;D

« Reply #83 on: February 16, 2014, 05:20:29 PM »
Ah not impressed with Blue song.......

This Iwer song is my personal pick for road march but alas I am alone since everybody running Ministry of Road and Truck on de road and for the life of me, no matter how hard I try, I can't see why.......*sigh*

p.s  I normally cyar stand nothing Iwer sings.....

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/enpaPYbQEVU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/enpaPYbQEVU</a>

« Reply #84 on: February 16, 2014, 08:01:05 PM »
Machel Montano - Junction.   The music sounds similar to Bunji's "Truck on de Road".   

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/_JOJOEAbgzk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/_JOJOEAbgzk</a>

More like this........http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q4RqgezuN44
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #85 on: February 16, 2014, 08:24:26 PM »
Iwer too.

♫♫♫♫♫ Jump and Jump and Jump and Jump and Jump and Jump and wave and jump around...
♫♫♫♫♫ Bounce de yo yo and bounce de yo yo and bounce de yo yo iz time to leggo....

Lil piece of flag party and Bacchanal time in the mix.
Blue really have a formula but not really a strong song. Wonder if he have another in the mix?

My pick for de Groovy is still Farmer Nappy with Kerwyn and Skinny Fab in de mix for 3-4. Nappy have to come real good to top Machel on the night though.

« Reply #86 on: February 17, 2014, 02:04:36 AM »
Iwer too.

♫♫♫♫♫ Jump and Jump and Jump and Jump and Jump and Jump and wave and jump around...
♫♫♫♫♫ Bounce de yo yo and bounce de yo yo and bounce de yo yo iz time to leggo....

Lil piece of flag party and Bacchanal time in the mix.
Blue really have a formula but not really a strong song. Wonder if he have another in the mix?

My pick for de Groovy is still Farmer Nappy with Kerwyn and Skinny Fab in de mix for 3-4. Nappy have to come real good to top Machel on the night though.
It will be very difficult physiologically for Farmer to beat his boss. And if he does he might have to be prepared to leave the HD band soon after unless it’s a tie for first place in the Groovy between Farmer and Machel. Based on the sheer quality and number of Groovy hits he has this year Kerwin should win but he also has a psychological problem with being able to beat Machel.
Also don't forget about Destra, Biggie Irie, Mr Famous and Cassie who all have great Groovy songs so Skinny will not have it easy placing in the top 3 to 4 and could even end up out of the top 5 if those artists all bring their A+ game.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2014, 02:12:01 AM by Socapro »

Super Blue - Carnival Yo Yo (DJ Mike Remastered Drum Mix) with lyrics!!
« Reply #87 on: February 18, 2014, 12:53:35 AM »
Wicked new remastered Drum Mix by DJ Mike that sounds even better than original mix and is on point!!
See the full lyrics below the video of song and follow the storyline as SuperBlue tells us a poetic story about finding a new catchy slang for shaking our behinds during the 2014 Carnival festivities!
Now who agrees its time to bounce your Carnival yo yo and this is a hot contender for T&T road march 2014?
Just get up to the time and be one of the first multi-pumping Carnival ravers to learn the words! :beermug:

Super Blue - Carnival Yo Yo (DJ Mike Remastered Drum Mix) [2014 T&T Power Soca]
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5gGx72Oiuno" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5gGx72Oiuno</a>
Remastered Drum Mix by DJ Mike
Written by Super Blue (Austin Lyons),
Produced by Julian Nelson (Juelio) and Austin Lyons (Super Blue), and Mastered by FM Studios.
2014 Competing Road March & Soca Monarch Song.

CARNIVAL YO YO (composed by SuperBlue)

LYRICS:

Intro

Bounce de yo yo, [Bend over]
Bounce de yo yo,
Carnival yo yo, Carnival yo yo
Carnival yo yo, Huhhh!
Everybody hurry, blow yuh whistle & party, huh!!
Ah start feeling nice, Ah start feeling nice
Ah start feeling, huhh!!
Ooh ooh, ummh we bouncing it, ummh we bouncing it
Ummh we bouncing it, ummh we bouncing it

Verse 1

Is royalty Hasley Crawford Stadium
Blow yuh whistle like Jab Molassie when Super come
Is ah royal show, Carnival woui yo yo
Is ah noun, ah adjective and a verb, hey!
I doh care, check webster dictionary, [oh oh oh]
Just say something differently, [oh oh oh]
Today we go make history, party royalty
Today we go, bounce de yo yo, bounce de yo yo
Bounce de yo yo, bounce de yo yo
Bounce it, bounce it, bounce it,
Bounce it, bounce it, bounce it, Everybody!

Chorus

[Party party, bounce back]
[Party party, bounce de yo yo]
Spin de yo yo & spin de yo yo
And spin de yo yo & bounce de yo yo
Bounce de yo yo & bounce de yo yo
And bounce de yo yo, is time to let go
[We feel to Party], on de road
[We feel to Party], on de pavement

Verse 2

Play yuh mas in front and behind the truck
Ash Wednesday morning is back to work
Bounce and spin de yo yo with attitude
When the sound break down, T&TEC go see thru
Blame the soca intelligence, [after tonight]
Your life wouldn’t be the same, [after tonight]
Blow ah whistle in soca name, we do all this royally
When we start to rag up the party, rag up the party
Rag up the party, rag up the party
Rag it up, rag it up, rag it up, rag it up

Chorus

[We feel to Party], on de road, huhh!!

Verse 3

Bounce de yo yo & party, oh oh oh
Blow yuh whistle & party, oh oh oh
Dance and make me a circumference
Play your mas, de body is a compass
A mystical unity, [oh oh oh oh oh]
Soca magically we harmony, [oh oh oh oh oh]
Commanding me to mash up this place, mash up on ten
Everybody, one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten!

Chorus

[We feel to Party], on de road, huhh!!

Verse 4

Is Carnival, we having a royal time
Blow yuh whistle & blow yuh whistle & blow they mind
Ah say is ah royal show, Carnival woui yo yo
In the wonder land, the gem of the Caribbean
Aye ayi ayi, soca music feeling nice, [oh oh oh oh oh]
If yuh like the song, we go do it twice, [oh oh oh oh oh]
Tell Oxford dictionary, invite them here
Leh we show them, everything in de air,
Everything in de air, everything in de air
Everything, everything, everything, everything!

Chorus

Bounce de yo yo, [Party party, bounce back]

The End
« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 08:14:37 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #88 on: February 18, 2014, 06:57:54 PM »
Ah still cyar believe is Min of Road I have to jump to Mon and Tues.....steups!!

« Reply #89 on: February 19, 2014, 09:31:36 AM »
A Boyz II Men groovy soca.

Machel Montano & Boyz II Men - Can't Let Go

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/MRq1_pHGO7U#t=11" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/MRq1_pHGO7U#t=11</a>

I've give jack he jacket on this one. Or maybe couldn't get them to sing bout rum and bumper so he settle for this.