March 28, 2024, 07:52:33 PM

Author Topic: 6 months of work... first game, first victory  (Read 3943 times)

Offline amwood

6 months of work... first game, first victory
« on: November 04, 2013, 10:45:21 AM »
Well fellas the youths have put in a tremendous amount of work, and we now get started. Played Waterloo Soccer Institute and the youngsters played some good stuff at times. Most happy with the fact that they understand the importance of professionalism in their preparation - from getting to match venue at a specific time to warm up time to stuff we trying to accomplish in the game. i make no exaggeration when I say that there is a young players here that will be one of the best, 8 years old but playing like a man already - spoke to Yorkie at the New Zealand game and he sounds genuine about keeping tabs on him. This kid is good enough to throw into our Under 13 team...very excited about his prospects and the work the entire group is doing. They love to train and are having a great time with their football. Little video (tunnel cam, with no tunnel of-course) Bless...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZbF6h5j-44

Re: 6 months of work... first game, first victory
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2013, 11:08:47 AM »
Excellent work amwood!!!!  :beermug: Damn all that footage was prematch warmup?! Would have loved to see some of the goals though...

Offline amwood

« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2013, 11:22:14 AM »
Respect man! We taped the actual game with a camcorder, but it's a massive file...usually that footage is what we show the youths once we edit out the parts that are considered good teaching points...but it's good for the rest of the players in the club to see what preparation for a game looks like hence that type of video..

« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2013, 01:06:20 PM »
Congrats!!

« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2013, 05:43:41 PM »
Keep up the good work, Anthony. You have a vision, you have identified the path. Don't let anyone take you off route. You knew it would be a long hard struggle to achieve the excellence that you know is there. Keep on going bro. The future is in your hands.

« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2013, 06:03:51 PM »
I have an idea...

Why not align your Academy with Central FC?

It could work like a feeder club?

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2013, 08:04:35 PM »
I have an idea...

Why Central FC???

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2013, 08:28:30 PM »
I have an idea...

Why Central FC???

Because they are the most professional of the Pro League clubs

« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2013, 10:48:35 PM »
I have an idea...

Why Central FC???

Because they are the most professional of the Pro League clubs

And, of course, Mr Sherwood was a member of Central's first coaching team!!

« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2013, 12:19:55 AM »
Respect man! We taped the actual game with a camcorder, but it's a massive file...usually that footage is what we show the youths once we edit out the parts that are considered good teaching points...but it's good for the rest of the players in the club to see what preparation for a game looks like hence that type of video..
Congratulations!
I believe this is a major aspect of our development that is lacking. Players should have the ability to look at game film so that they can improve on their mistakes.

« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2013, 04:27:15 AM »
Good idea Flex.

Lets hear Mr. Sherwood take on this.

Offline amwood

« Reply #11 on: November 06, 2013, 01:40:34 AM »
Good idea Flex.

Lets hear Mr. Sherwood take on this.

Appreciate the feedback as always fellas! We've been at this for a very short time and therefore before anyone would even consider "aligning" with us, ah feel like we have to demonstrate that we can bring something to the football. Until we've achieved something meaningful - any conversation involving "link ups" would be premature...right now we are just focused on getting things right both on and off the pitch as they say. Bless!

« Reply #12 on: November 06, 2013, 09:06:51 AM »
Yeah man, give nuff thanks, keep on doing yuh thing bredda. Good luck in the future with them youths, so which one (in the video) is the one yuh tell Yorkie about?

Offline ragga

« Reply #13 on: November 06, 2013, 09:32:48 AM »
great stuff, keep it up !!

Just curious to know: are they playing 11v11 on full field with full-size goals?

Offline amwood

« Reply #14 on: November 06, 2013, 09:42:09 AM »
Yeah man, give nuff thanks, keep on doing yuh thing bredda. Good luck in the future with them youths, so which one (in the video) is the one yuh tell Yorkie about?

That one is #4 Dantaye Gilbert...planning on doing some video that really features the kids ability. Plays for Sando Boys RC - they just beat Bon Accord in the LNG primary school football in Tobago!

Offline amwood

« Reply #15 on: November 06, 2013, 09:44:17 AM »
great stuff, keep it up !!

Just curious to know: are they playing 11v11 on full field with full-size goals?

At this age they play 7v7...great format cuz yuh can't hide in these games...

« Reply #16 on: November 06, 2013, 12:58:46 PM »

That one is #4 Dantaye Gilbert...planning on doing some video that really features the kids ability. Plays for Sando Boys RC - they just beat Bon Accord in the LNG primary school football in Tobago!

Big School. LOL.

« Reply #17 on: November 06, 2013, 07:38:16 PM »

Big School. LOL.

lol...the real sando boys school is sando boys govt on rushworth st.

« Reply #18 on: November 06, 2013, 08:21:27 PM »
Next time send ur 2 best players to the next team so the game could be more competitive 7 to 1 is too wide a margin

At least this way ur best players will have to work

I like the warm ups , footwork through the cones was very good

« Reply #19 on: November 06, 2013, 11:32:06 PM »

Big School. LOL.

Steups. Doh try dat.

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #20 on: November 07, 2013, 08:09:56 AM »
I hope that I can get some feedback on this video It's a short clip of our U-10 players playing U-12 after 6 months of training. I know that there are some technical improvements to be made...your thoughts are welcomed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xac4TkqR04w
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

Offline ragga

« Reply #21 on: November 08, 2013, 04:36:04 AM »
CK1:
- general immpression is that these kids are well coached

- evident in their awareness, understanding, decision making and execution

- saw lots of creativity, keep encouraging that

- me like how they playing it on the ground, according to meh pada from Elements, keep the ball rolling

keep on doing what you are doing, looks like you are on the right path

this is the age when most of their football brain/iq is developed

forward ever !!

Offline CK1

« Reply #22 on: November 09, 2013, 09:31:16 AM »
CK1:
- general immpression is that these kids are well coached

- evident in their awareness, understanding, decision making and execution

- saw lots of creativity, keep encouraging that

- me like how they playing it on the ground, according to meh pada from Elements, keep the ball rolling
L
keep on doing what you are doing, looks like you are on the right path

this is the age when most of their football brain/iq is developed

forward ever !!
Really appreciate you taking the time to view the clip and your response iw welcomed. This is a hard working group that are continuing to make great strides in their development.

« Reply #23 on: November 09, 2013, 11:21:04 AM »

Big School. LOL.

Steups. Doh try dat.

we will agree to disagree... ;D

Offline amwood

« Reply #24 on: November 09, 2013, 04:07:50 PM »
I hope that I can get some feedback on this video It's a short clip of our U-10 players playing U-12 after 6 months of training. I know that there are some technical improvements to be made...your thoughts are welcomed.

Wait nah ck1 just so you high jack meh thread :-) From the looks of it the kids playing a very good brand...on a day like that - the only thing that I would add is that I would challenge them to see if they can play quicker. They're clearly the better team and I doh imagine that they troubled by the opposition. In situations like that we would create different challenges for them - maybe winning the ball back before the other team is able to execute 2 passes etc. other than that looks like u have a great group of youths...which club is this?

Offline CK1

« Reply #25 on: November 12, 2013, 09:54:13 AM »

Wait nah ck1 just so you high jack meh thread :-) From the looks of it the kids playing a very good brand...on a day like that - the only thing that I would add is that I would challenge them to see if they can play quicker. They're clearly the better team and I doh imagine that they troubled by the opposition. In situations like that we would create different challenges for them - maybe winning the ball back before the other team is able to execute 2 passes etc. other than that looks like u have a great group of youths...which club is this?
Sorry breds...I just went with the first part of the thread title, no offence intended. Your points of observation are well taken and have actually been employed over the past year.