March 29, 2024, 12:10:07 AM

Author Topic: 2013 Holiday Food Drive  (Read 3160 times)

2013 Holiday Food Drive
« on: November 20, 2013, 09:32:21 PM »
2013 Holiday Food Drive

This is the seventh edition of our annual charity/food drive to help the less fortunate amongst us. This year we have selected Operation Salvation from the Laventille/Morvant area to be the recipient of our donations. They will in turn distribute it to children in the Trauma Support Group.

Let's show our Warrior spirit and help to provide the kids with fundamental items which we may take for granted.

Please get your friends, co-workers and family involved. Thank you for supporting this food drive which will benefit our children. Donation details are outlined below.

Monetary contributions can be made via Paypal by clicking on the button below:

or you can send a check or money order to:

Soca Warriors Supporters Club
PO Box 566088
Miami, FL 33256-6088

Food can be dropped off at the following locations at the designated times. The deadline is Wednesday, December 11th. Please call or e-mail before delivering the goods.

NORTH:
Park Plaza - First Floor
Corner of Park and St. Vincent Streets, Port of Spain
Drop off time:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, 10 AM - 4 PM
Wednesday, Friday, 10 AM - 2 PM
Contact: Joann Charles (e-mail: jcharlestnt@hotmail.com, phone: 754-9226)

EAST:
#4 Fourth Street West
Cazabon Avenue, Trincity
Drop off time: Monday-Friday, 8 AM - 6 PM
Contact: Dayne Brizan (e-mail: zionsoldier@hotmail.com, phone: 732-2784)

CENTRAL:
Central FC
53 West Boundary Road, California
Drop off time: Monday-Friday, 9 AM - 3 PM, evenings and weekends by arrangement.

PLEASE! No fresh fruits or vegetables. Non-perishable items only.

Here is a sample list of acceptable items:
  • Canned Fish: Tuna, Salmon, Sardine, Mackerel
  • Rice, and Dry & Canned Beans/Peas
  • Spaghetti, Macaroni & Cheese, Pasta Sauce
  • Evaporated milk, Powdered milk, Aseptic milk
  • Peanut Butter, Jam/Jelly
  • Fruit Juice (Cans, Bottles, Boxes)
  • Dried Fruit
  • Nuts
  • Soup
  • Bread, Biscuit/Crackers
  • Cereal
  • Flour
  • Sugar, Salt
  • Toothpaste, Toothbrush, Shampoo, Soap, Detergent, Deodorant, Toilet Paper
« Last Edit: December 19, 2013, 03:55:34 PM by Tallman »

Re: 2013 Holiday Food Drive
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2013, 09:15:47 AM »
Feeling the pain - sorry I can't give more but here's my $10 for a good cause

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2013, 06:39:08 AM »
Feeling the pain - sorry I can't give more but here's my $10 for a good cause

Thanks. Every bit count.

« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2013, 06:46:25 AM »
Central FC has offered to be a drop-off point for those in Central. So come on allyuh, doh be ah Grinch, give someting! ;D

« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2013, 08:30:29 PM »
Come on guys, lets donate, its for the kids.

We need our numbers to go up !!!!

« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2013, 07:24:35 PM »
I send ah lil sumting.....

Offline Pastor Stuart

« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2013, 08:19:15 AM »
One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty - Proverbs 11:24.

Do not say to your neighbor, "Come back later; I'll give it tomorrow"-when you now have it with you - Proverbs 3:28.

There will always be poor people in the land. Therefore I command you to be openhanded toward your brothers and toward the poor and needy in your land -Deuteronomy 15:11.

« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2013, 07:49:23 PM »
Come on people! One week remaining.

« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2013, 08:34:30 AM »
Me eh working and I still send ah lil bit.

Come fellas leh we do this together.

Donate.

« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2013, 03:49:41 PM »
Adding my voice to the appeal to donate ... don't let procrastination get in the way, donate today.

« Reply #10 on: December 09, 2013, 01:46:11 PM »
I thank johpants a former poster now a reader to donating to the fooddrive. I am in office on the 12th so the late comers will be welcomed.

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2013, 02:18:43 PM »
I get paid on the 15th. Is that going to be too late to Donate. I donated last year and want to donate again!

« Reply #12 on: December 09, 2013, 03:06:38 PM »
I get paid on the 15th. Is that going to be too late to Donate. I donated last year and want to donate again!

We will accept the late donation.

« Reply #13 on: December 09, 2013, 07:27:53 PM »

We will accept the late donation.

CO-SIGN Ddealine 4 donations is the 12th not in office the Friday and would luv to deliver by the 17
« Last Edit: December 09, 2013, 07:36:51 PM by weary1969 »

« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2013, 06:58:35 AM »
Come on, bring your money and/or food!

« Reply #15 on: December 12, 2013, 01:40:09 PM »
Why is this not pinned to the top of the forum? Need to keep reminding people!!

« Reply #16 on: December 12, 2013, 01:46:26 PM »
Why is this not pinned to the top of the forum? Need to keep reminding people!!

Been pinned there for three weeks. It was only unpinned yesterday, the deadline.

« Reply #17 on: December 12, 2013, 04:52:35 PM »
After receiving details about the kids who will be benefitting from this food drive, we've decided to extend collection until December 18th. As you will see, these kids and parents/guardians have it very, very rough. Please give what you can.

School LevelChildSituation
Frm 4AliciaThe home has a single father with 5 children.
Frm 2RichardBrother killed in May, father killed in November, mother is the sole breadwinner. Lives with four other siblings.
Frm 2AnnaLives with aunt and sickly stepfather.
Frm 2JillianSingle parent home with 11 children.
Frm 1JennaPoverty stricken.
Std 5KiraWitnessed the shooting death of an uncle and then 7 months later lost her mother.
Std 5NicholasLives with grandmother
Std 5DavidHouse recently washed away by flood
Std 5LeviMother works CEPEP and is the only breadwinner in the home.
Std 5NoahLives in abject poverty.
Std 5JosephUnemployed aunt takes care of him and three others.
Std 5KarenMother is disabled and needs support for two girls.
Std 5Brandon, Michael, and JohnStudents often miss school due to lack of basic amenities as their mother is a single parent without stable employment and place of abode.
Std 5AndrewHe and his two sisters are being raised by a grandmother who is a pensioner. That as their only means of support.
Std 5SamuelRaised by a single mother of three and in need of support.
Std 5EmilyAn aged mother who is often unable to supply requirements for school.
Std 5Jason & JenniferUncle killed, father killed and lives with a mother who is HIV positive.
Std 5AngelaFather died. Mom is a single parent.
Std 5AlexanderLost father, mother, and grandfather in the space of three years.
Std 5Isaac and MarkFather deceased, unstable home.
Std 5Alana and PatriciaMany siblings. Very needy
Std 3Natasha and VanessaFather deceased. Mother unable to fully support the family.
Std 2IsabelSingle parent home

Note: The children’s names have been changed.

« Reply #18 on: December 13, 2013, 05:48:47 AM »
Ah mean ah know it have real, real poverty and issues in de place eh, but sometimes.......I am still speechless when presented with a reminder such as this list........*sigh*

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #19 on: December 13, 2013, 10:40:12 AM »
Expect a donation from me later today. One year I'm gonna get down there...

« Reply #20 on: December 16, 2013, 01:42:01 PM »
Thanks Patriot for your contribution

Offline royalian

« Reply #21 on: December 16, 2013, 03:45:42 PM »
Better late than never. made my donation.

Operation Salvation
« Reply #22 on: January 09, 2014, 07:07:31 AM »
Operation Salvation
By Nigel Myers

The target of the seventh annual Warrior Nation/SocaWarriors.net Holiday Food Drive was the poor and needy in the Morvant/Laventille area. We managed to raise $6,500 TTD which was used to purchase food items which was then given to Operation Salvation for distribution. Operation Salvation is a network of twenty Full Gospel Churches functioning in the Morvant/Laventille area and beyond. It has been in existence for the past six years and its mission is the “Transformation of local communities through the application of gospel principles.”

Enough food was purchased to allow the creation of 36 food hampers which were given to the children and families of the Trauma Support Groups operated by Operation Salvation in the Morvant/Laventille and surrounding areas. The children are students of Morvant Laventille Secondary School, St. Barb’s Government Primary School, Our Lady of Laventille RC Primary School, Chinapoo Government Primary School, and Lower Morvant Government Primary School.

Additional food items were donated by individuals and T&T Pro League club, Central FC. We thank Central FC’s Operations Director, Kevin Harrison, for his support of this venture. These items were given to the elderly, and families in the area who are affected by HIV.

Operation Salvation’s Administrator, Tricia Lalmah, said “We give thanks to God and your group for the opportunity extended to us to continue to bring community transformation through the word of God and an extended hand. May God continue to bless and keep the members and families of the Warrior Nation and SocaWarriors.net. Again, thank you and we look forward to working with your group in the future.”

READ MORE…

« Reply #23 on: January 09, 2014, 07:32:12 AM »
A big pat on the back to all involved. These things are hard enough to coordinate when you're in-country so to manage this from USA is a feat in itself.

Good effort everyone.  :applause: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #24 on: January 09, 2014, 07:50:22 AM »
:)

« Reply #25 on: January 10, 2014, 09:07:11 AM »

« Reply #26 on: January 10, 2014, 12:40:46 PM »
Good work fellas, !!