March 28, 2024, 12:07:31 PM

Author Topic: Refugees & Illegals in T&T Thread.  (Read 33113 times)

Re: Stay out! - 13 Jamaicans turned away from Trinidad
« Reply #30 on: December 05, 2013, 02:59:47 AM »
TT, J’ca agree to ‘hassle-free travel’
By Andre Bagoo (Newsday).

TRINIDAD and Tobago and Jamaica have agreed to facilitate “hassle-free travel” in relation to the movement of Jamaicans into this country, according to the final minutes of a two-day bilateral meeting attended by Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran in Jamaica, released yesterday.

According to the agreed minutes, persons are to be denied entry only in limited circumstances and are to be given accommodation if so denied, as well as a right to appeal. Dookeran said his visit had “restored” relations between both countries after the fallout over the recent deportation of a dozen Jamaicans threatened to “escalate” damage to TT-Jamaica ties.

“I think we have a lot to be placed on the agenda but I believe the relationship between Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica has been restored and this particular issue was not allowed to escalate,” Dookeran said.

The Minister held a media briefing at the offices of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to outline some of the main points of agreement arrived at after his visit to Jamaica which saw him meet with Jamaican prime minister Portia Simpson-Miller; Opposition Leader Andrew Holness; Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Arnold Nicholson, diplomats, lawyers and members of the Jamaican trade community.

Dookeran said existing administrative measures will have to be revised in order to implement Caricom law calling for hassle-free movement. At the same time he insisted that the recent deportation of a dozen Jamaicans was within “the legal framework”.

The new measures agreed to involve implementation of the recent Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) ruling in the Shanique Myrie Case which stipulates that Caricom nationals are entitled to a six-month entry stamp. The agreed minutes state: “the CCJ ruling is still a recent development and there was the need for it to be translated into practical steps leading to its implementation.”

Measures to be introduced include an appeals process, possibly involving a “judicial review”, as well as a complaints procedure and access to consular representation. Deportees are also to be housed at “appropriate facilities”, a matter for which airlines are deemed responsible. Certain Caricom-level skills certificates are also to be recognised.

The State officials and diplomats also agreed that immigration heads within each jurisdiction are to address the problem of “profiling” and there is to be “a mechanism for the sharing of information between immigration authorities...to transmit data rapidly on nationals of each country who are refused entry.”

« Reply #31 on: December 05, 2013, 06:20:14 AM »
Out of Place

National Security Minister Gary Griffith yesterday knocked his colleague, Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran, for making promises on travel between T&T and Jamaica with that country’s foreign minister, AJ Nicholson, without first consulting him.

In fact, even as Dookeran made a pledge with Nicholson to free up travel to this country for Jamaicans, Griffith maintained he was not backing down on his decision to boot “undesirables” from other Caribbean countries out of T&T, insisting that people who enter this country under the Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME) programme continued to be a burden on the State and could further escalate the crime situation. “T&T is not a mall, where anyone will be allowed entry,” Griffith said.

His statement came in the wake of a commitment by Dookeran to his Jamaican counterpart on Tuesday to open up trade and travel between the two countries and across the region. Dookeran offered the commitment after Nicholson invited him to Kingston for talks, following the deportation of 13 Jamaicans from Piarco Airport on November 19.

At a press conference at the Foreign Affairs Ministry at the Waterfront Complex, Port-of-Spain, yesterday, Dookeran said during the two-day talks, Jamaica and T&T had agreed that changes were required in the way immigration authorities in T&T and elsewhere in the Caribbean treated Caribbean visitors.

He said it was agreed an immigration officer had a right to exercise his authority, but under the new requirements of Caricom law this must be done with discretion. He said it was agreed the new processes must be put into a legal framework.

Griffith: Not negotiable
In a telephone interview yesterday, however, Griffith maintained that since the Immigration Department fell under his purview, any changes dealing with such issues, including directives to be given to immigration officers, could only be done by either him or the National Security Council. “I want to remind everyone that the Immigration Division falls under the National Security Ministry...That has not changed,” Griffith said.

“All immigration officers have been advised to adhere to regulations of the Immigration Act Chapter 18:01 and there would be no change to that unless through the National Security Council. “Immigration officers will continue to perform their duty by thoroughly verifying all persons to ensure they meet the full requirements, and if they do not meet those requirements, they would not be allowed entry into T&T. It’s as simple as that.”

He reiterated that there were some 30,000 illegal immigrants in T&T, including Jamaicans, St Lucians, Grenadians, those from other Caribbean islands and from South Africa, who had abused the “CSME’s good faith,” and they would all be immediately shipped back once located.

“These people have not only put a strain on the public’s purse but also on the country’s health and housing sectors. They have no BIR number, therefore they are not paying any taxes. Some even turn to a life of crime and this action cannot be condoned,” Griffith said. “I have a job to do and that is to ensure the sovereignty of this country and the security of its citizens. There would be no elements of flexibility. This is not negotiable. The buck stops with me.” 

$2.3m spent on deportations
Saying T&T would adhere to the ruling of the CSME and would welcome all visitors, Griffith said, nevertheless, those who desire to work in this country must prove they have all relevant documents and could satisfy the requirements upon landing at Piarco Airport. He said the problem of illegal immigrants had been a problem to this country for “far too long” and had reached the point where it could affect the country’s credibility and also put T&T under the scrutiny of its international partners.

“The ports of legal entry have been the biggest problem for far too long and that is why we are in the situation that we are now in,” Griffith said. Another dimension to the problem of illegal immigrants was the heavy financial cost associated with deportation, he said. He said for the last year, the Government had spent some $2.3 million on deporting illegal immigrants. “Not only do we have to buy their ticket, but we also have to send an immigration officer and a police officer to accompany these people,” he said.

Asked why he had not accompanied Dookeran on the trip to Jamaica, Griffith said he was not invited, but insisted it was a matter involving immigration and national security. “The invitation was sent only for the Foreign Affairs Minister, not me, although the issue of immigration was at the forefront of discussions. I did, however, send my chief immigration officer to accompany Mr Dookeran,” he said.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-12-05/out-place?fb_action_ids=10153571598620183&fb_action_types=og.likes&fb_source=other_multiline&action_object_map=%5B612581348802924%5D&action_type_map=%5B%22og.likes%22%5D&action_ref_map=%5B%5D

« Reply #32 on: December 05, 2013, 06:20:54 AM »
This is shockingly bad. Why did the PM send Dookeran to Jamaica to pander to them in the first place ? Why doesn't the KPB government have a clear and agreed upon stance on Immigration and a position for this latest episode with Jamaica? This is absolutely the worst government in the history of Trinidad and Tobago and I mean even before Independence.

So Dookeran went to JA and did his own thing and Griffith is now publicly opposing it. W

Offline SWF Reporter

« Reply #33 on: December 06, 2013, 06:33:15 AM »
(A satirical take on Jamaican immigration issue by satirical columnist Mr Live Wire)

Jamaican immigration bashment: Dooks, Griffith and a giraffe named Bolt
By Mr Live Wire (Wired868)

There was a fresh immigration incident yesterday as a visitor was transported to Trinidad in a giant crate and forcibly kept in an enclosed area north of the Queen’s Park Savannah. And, in an arguably provocative gesture to Trinidad and Tobago’s patty-loving Caribbean rival, the immigrant was renamed ‘Bolt.’
In fact, Trinidad and Tobago’s latest resident might not have expected much better. ‘Bolt’ is the Emperor Valley Zoo’s latest giraffe and, when humans stick you into a large box to travel for half a day over land and sea, you don’t get your hopes up too high about what is in store at your next destination.
Not so if you are Jamaican with a one-way ticket and no host or visible means of supporting yourself.
Jamaica has been up in arms—metaphorically this time—about the expulsion of over a dozen citizens from Trinidad on November 19 after they were whipped 2-0 in front of a mob in Port of Spain and returned to Kingston with a generous serving of humble pie.
Better luck to the “Reggae Boyz” next time. Well, not really.
Jamaica was pretty upset too that 13 of their nationals were returned to sender by Trinidad and Tobago Immigration officers on the same day. Among the complaints in the Jamaican press were that the deportees were served “raw tasting chicken” at Piarco.
Unfortunately, none of the 13 had written “food critic” on the immigration forms. It was not an inaccurate description of Royal Castle’s fare these days.
Yesterday Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran returned from a two-day tour of Jamaica to reveal he had “cooled the waters” between the two nations after discussions with Jamaican Prime Minister Portia Simpson-Miller and Foreign Affairs Minister Arnold J Nicholson.
Dookeran explained that he agreed with Jamaica to implement a clear system for appeal and complaints by visitors who run afoul of local immigration officers and to provide accountability in the entire process. He also promised officers will work in accordance with Caricom law without conceding that they violated the law in the first place.
Or, if Mr Live Wire may translate the political-speak, Trinidad and Tobago immigration officers will continue as usual while providing the next crop of Jamaican deportees with a suggestion box for their restaurant reviews.
Read more: http://wired868.com/2013/12/05/jamaicas-immigration-bashment-dooks-griffith-and-a-giraffe-named-bolt/
« Last Edit: December 06, 2013, 09:14:07 AM by SWF Reporter »

« Reply #34 on: December 07, 2013, 03:16:13 AM »
GIVE ME MY PASSPORT
Jamaican woman caught working illegally in T&T wants to go back home; begs Immigration to return travel document
By Joel Julien (Express).

“I WANT to go home”.

This is the plea of Jamaican national Tamika Williams, who claimed on Thursday that members of the Trinidad and Tobago Immigration Division have confiscated her passport.

It is the latest tale in the ongoing conflict between local immigration officials following the deportation of 13 Jamaican nationals from this country last month.

Williams, 27, from St Elizabeth in Jamaica, arrived on June 17 for vacation.

She was granted a six-month stay, ending December 16.

Williams, who does cosmetology and hair-dressing in Jamaica, was expected to leave the country next Monday.

She bought a ticket and was happy to see her two sons, Jamario, four, and Omario, ten. Then Williams ran afoul of the law.

In late October, Williams was among five other immigrants found working illegally at a gas station in Chaguanas during a raid conducted by immigration officials.

Williams and the four others were taken to the Chaguanas Police Station.

Their passports and other documents were confiscated. They slept in a cell that night.

On November 4, Williams and the four others appeared before a Chaguanas magistrate. They all pleaded guilty to working without the requisite permission.

They were all fined $700 to be paid immediately or face three months jail time.

The magistrate said they were free to go.

Immigration officials intervened, however, and asked that the five carry receipt of the payment to the immigration office in San Fernando.

Williams said this country’s immigration officials have since not returned their passports because they are all “under observation”.

They have returned to the office every week to retrieve the documents to no avail.

Their last visit was last week Tuesday.

They are scheduled to return on December 12, days after her planned flight, Williams said on Thursday.

“I don’t know why they are doing this. I came her legally. I worked, which I know was wrong but I just want to go home now. I want to see my sons,” she said.

“They are just being wicked. I have a ticket to leave, just give me my passport and let me leave,” Williams.

Williams slammed the Jamaican High Commission in Trinidad for its inability to help in the situation.

“They are here to serve us and if they cannot help then who can help?” she asked.

Contacted yesterday for comment, an officer at the Immigration Department, Coffee Street, San Fernando he was aware of the case involving Williams, but was not authorised to speak about the issue.

Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran travelled to Jamaica earlier this week in the wake of the turning away of 13 Jamaican nationals at Piarco International Airport on November 19.

Following the visit, Dookeran said he was optimistic the diplomatic intervention had “cooled the waters” and prevented the “stresses and strains” between Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica from spilling over into other areas of their economic relationship, especially in trade.

Dookeran held consultations with Jamaican officials there, led by Jamaica’s Minister of Foreign Affairs, Arnold J Nicholson, on the free movement of Jamaicans into Trinidad and Tobago within the context of the Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME).

« Reply #35 on: December 07, 2013, 10:08:26 AM »
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-154216/New-visa-rules-Jamaicans-immigration-crackdown.html

Why no Jamaicans calling for boycott of UK, US or Can. who sends them back by the plane load. ::)

socafighter

Why boycott Trinidad? Try Obamaland, A Jamaican perspective
« Reply #36 on: December 07, 2013, 03:52:39 PM »

Why boycott Trinidad? Try Obamaland, A Jamaican perspective

Franklin JOHNSTON

Friday, December 06, 2013

The political strategy crafted from the "Trinidad 13" incident is a cautionary tale. The USA, UK, Barbados are high-profile border control screw-ups. We are entitled and will not allow due process to prevail, except with powerful friends. We bully small people so our Caricom pals do not like us, as they disliked our parents in 1962. We seem victors, but are generational victims. Persistent poverty, insensitivity, scar tissue; everyone must hurt because we are having a bad day — in our case a bad life. We savage our friends as 96 per cent entry will not do. Trinidad must give us 100 per cent entry-entitlement!

We are the bully of the North and xenophobia is all over. Foreign workers are one-third of the Saudi population and they too deport. In the UK, even Australian kith and kin are hassled, and the trek from poor new EU members in January is also scaring London. The Dominican Republic is culling Haitians — we want a Single Economy with this lot? We ignore ethnic cleansing an hour away — Cariforum sham! Roma beggars on the streets of London evidence the success of the EU; rich members open up and take others' poor. We know CSME works when Mat's Corner windshield wipers are on the streets of Port of Spain and Jerry sells roots wine on the Savannah.

Our fathers voted "no" to Federation in 1962. They did the right thing for the wrong reasons and created an inter-generational deficit of trust. Caricom's joys came a decade later then a few years ago, our leaders quietly signed us into the CSME Federation. It may be feasible for islands clustered in the south, but not for us. Cabinets do no due diligence on this 40-year-old device. This must not stand!

The "Trinidad 13" is about entitlement. Who presents papers to get "Myrie money"? Minister Winston Dookeran's visit portrays what is wrong with our values. We threaten, they come — big island blackmail. We can't get the right result the wrong way. We are in an ethical wasteland. Why not tell people our rate of entry to Trinidad is better than to the US and UK? We show them "hol down tek weh!" works, and so business exploits the crisis. T&T is not for our massive. Our skilled people go, but it's our jobless, poor who need a bly. Tell Jamaicans the truth. It will not happen. They can't absorb our poor, so whatever they sign it's not on. Eastern Caribbean people love us, but we never paid them any mind until Obamaland shut the door. We call them "small islanders"; show no respect; nor copy their solid economic policies or laud their Nobel winner. Friends are not conveniences. Is there an business Svengali behind this boycott threat? Follow the money.

Boycott Trinidad? Nonsense! We be friends. We need to build trust. Trinidad is a guardian to us. We were rude when bauxite cash was running and they were poor. Yes, we have a trade deficit with them, but we have a massive one with the USA — in 2010, some US$4b; 2011, US$5b; 2012 US$5b. The USA owns us, yet we can produce much of what we buy — we could eat local chicken instead of their chassis. If a deficit is reason to boycott, why not the USA ?

T&T exports natural gas, fuels, steel, fertiliser. Ours? Bauxite, sugar, rum, scrap iron. From America we buy chicken back, salt beef, eggs, drinks, corn, soya. We can produce some of what we buy from America, but can we the near US$1b of fuel we buy from T&T?

Money problem? The USA is our neighbour and friend, but never gave us cash. Trinidad gave us cash with no security, no conditions and we repaid only after they embarrassed us. We always "too bruk" to lend anyone. Trust is important, and we need travel to bond with Trini people not politicians. We need to meet them in Woodford Square; so be patient, forgiving, don't build up aggro. Let's get past this.

Energy problem? Our deficit with Trinidad is mainly for fuel. Why not buy from the USA? T&T is cheaper! If we had oil would we do as T&T, or let citizens bawl about JPS bills?

We have the largest trade deficit with the USA. Who has taken up a placard? Who pays protestors to boycott American goods? Do we protest the containers of chicken back? cheeses? bagels, croissants? chemical drinks? Did God make soya milk? Flippin' hell, will we import bull cow tea? The USA has energy subsidies in the welfare system and it is less taxed, so the USA produces cheaper than us. Boycott? "Duppy kno hoo to frigtin!" We have to be fair to all partners. The sun shines so we have the energy to build this country, but we need leaders, innovation and the mind to work. We do not need all the oil we import. We can do it!

Deportee, visa problem? We are our own enemy. A few years ago the UK sent back a planeload of us and we "suck it up!" — silent night! They tax diaspora airline tickets, we use due process, not boycott.

Senator Nicholson is a sweetheart, but Minister Dookeran's visit confirms we only bully our small friends. Our citizens misbehave in many lands, maybe not this time, but why not let the process work as in the Shanique Myrie case? We are targeted globally for a reason. Every time you take off your shoes at an airport thank a Jamaican. If a sniper shoots in America and they intern Jamaicans, thank Mr Malvo. I admire a country that uses its one asset to prosper itself and give to its people. We had two, bauxite and tourism — we missed! I like one that lends us cash, too. Let us curb "attitude" and entitlement. We are family. Arise and build Jamaica!

FDI problem? Trinidad is our second largest source of FDI. No one invests where they are not liked; they like us. We invested in BOJ paper. They took risks in business. Yet, as soon as they bought the Cement Company we fly the gate so anyone could set up another. What a friend we have in Jesus! They have half our population and are twice as rich, based on retooling, early adoption of technology, oil. To get cheap oil ask Cabinet to roll back taxes to T&T levels — easy! What is friendly about asking the T&T state to raise oil prices to their citizens to suit us? Do we make a quality toilet tissue to sell them? I struggle with a local paper towel and poor perforations mean waste of half the roll. Get quality up for locals first.

My Trini friends know we are wonderful people; our angst is evidence of decadal stress over 40 years. Our leaders, lost us in the wilderness, made us the laughing stock of the region and into an unfeasible union in 2005. We must resist CSME. We are distressed, but we do not grovel. We have "attitude" — it is our asset and our liability. We are poor, live on credit, do not buildout own country, but expect to be respected. They do not say it to our face, but if you can't prosper your own country your personal wealth is an embarrassment, not a virtue.

As things get harder we will see strange tactics. And, since we dare not upset Obamaland, our Caricom partners will get pressure — a scorched earth trade policy with countries we can bully. Hard times breed hard tactics. The promised land is just over the hill but "old school" can't get us there. Do not lose your humour, optimism or your "attitude", but saffron it with education and virtue. Let us choose new, adept leaders and hold their feet to the fire. Stay conscious, my friend!

Dr Franklin Johnston is a strategist, project manager and advises the Jamaican minister of education. franklinjohnstontoo@gmail.com

Re: Why boycott Trinidad? Try Obamaland, A Jamaican perspective
« Reply #37 on: December 07, 2013, 05:21:26 PM »
Great article, interesting view

« Reply #38 on: December 07, 2013, 06:50:40 PM »
Good article! At least one Jamaican can see this affair objectively.

« Reply #39 on: December 07, 2013, 07:58:34 PM »
excellent article

« Reply #40 on: December 10, 2013, 04:53:30 PM »
Truth can be a tough pill to swallow. Glad to see a different and objective perspective.

Jamaicans along with all other people are being sent back all over.  Like that plane only had 13 people onboard?

Even between Canada and US, if citizens fail to provide correct documentation, they being sent back! No entitlement.

This boycott is a joke, and it's time Trinbagonians ignore the incessant whining

socafighter

Jamaicans seek redress
« Reply #41 on: December 25, 2013, 12:50:56 PM »
Jamaicans seek redress
By CLINT CHAN TACK Wednesday, December 25 2013

TWO of 12 Jamaican nationals who were denied entry into this country in November have filed a complaint with the Foreign Affairs Ministry in their homeland. This information was contained in a report in yesterday’s online edition of Jamaica’s Observer newspaper.

The report also claimed three of the 12 Jamaican nationals have inquired about the possibility of seeking redress. According to the report, Foreign Affairs Ministry officials said these three persons asked about a refund of their airfare spent on the trip to Trinidad.

The report said the officials indicated that in order to conduct further investigations, the persons who were denied entry needed to submit a signed written personal statement, outlining the details of the incident. Efforts to contact Foreign Affairs Ministry officials yesterday were unsuccessful.

On November 26, Newsday reported that close to 17,000 Jamaican nationals are staying illegally in TT as their entry certificates have expired.

Documents sent to Newsday from the Office of the Chief Immigration Officer Keith Sampson revealed that for this year, as of November 21, 16,958 Jamaicans are staying illegally in this country. According to information from the Ministry of National Security, 81 Jamaicans remain in detention at the Immigration Detention Centre (IDC) in Aripo while to date, for this year, 66 Jamaicans have been repatriated.

The argument that Jamaicans were being denied entry into this country, Griffith said, is patently false given the high numbers admitted over the past four years and the refusal rate being under five percent annually.

Reports from out of Jamaica are that TT Immigration Division refused Jamaica nationals entry into TT, in breach of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas which allows for free movement of Caricom nationals among Caricom Member States.

The claims are being made against the background of 12 Jamaicans being denied entry on November 19.

According to statistics from the National Security Ministry, from 2010 to the present, the Immigration Division report on the number of Jamaicans granted and refused entry noted as being 13,534 (96 percent) Jamaicans were admitted and 594 (or four percent) being refused entry.

In 2010, 10,993 Jamaicans were allowed into TT while 371 were refused (a 3.3 percent refusal rate); in 2011, 13,964 were allowed entry while 597 were denied entry (a 4.1 percent refusal rate); in 2012, 15,871 were admitted while 400 were refused entry (a 2.6 percent refusal rate) and for this year, 13,534 Jamaicans have been allowed into this country as opposed to 594 being denied entry — a 4.2 percent refusal rate.

Documents provided by the Office of the Chief Immigration Officer Keith Sampson revealed that for this year, as of November 21, 16,958 Jamaicans are staying illegally in this country.

Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran went to Jamaica last month and held talks with Jamaica Foreign Affairs Minister AJ Nicholson on the matter.

socafighter

Re: Jamaicans seek redress
« Reply #42 on: December 25, 2013, 12:52:29 PM »

Man look here deport dem arse Immigration.

How many redress has Jamaica sought from the USA , Canada , etc.... :cursing:

« Reply #43 on: January 09, 2014, 06:07:44 PM »
Jamaicans, Indians (from India) and Nigerians are the worst you could ever let in your country. They will run it down.

Sam, you better than that, man!!!!
No he isn't. He's ah ass. Is de same man who come on here a fews years boasting 'bout how he beat up a Jamaican student from UWI... coulda kill de boy and all. Same dotish sam(ah ent even capitalizing he name  ::))
« Last Edit: January 09, 2014, 06:13:45 PM by Pointman »

« Reply #44 on: January 11, 2014, 03:02:01 AM »
Jamaicans divided over boycott of T&T goods

Jamaicans appear split on calls for a boycott of goods made in Trinidad and Tobago, but an overwhelming majority are up in arms over the decision by that country to refuse entry to 13 Jamaicans, including a child, late last year.

Last November, a campaign was launched for a boycott of Trinidadian goods, following news that immigration officers had refused entry to the 13 Jamaicans. At that time, it appeared that local consumers were ready to stop buying biscuits, juices, peanuts, and other goods made in Trinidad and Tobago that stock the shelves of stores and supermarkets islandwide.

The call seemed to be getting traction as segments of the commercial sector as well as the parliamentary Opposition seemed set to join the boycott.

But a recently completed test of the public pulse commissioned by Jamaica National Building Society and done by Johnson Survey Research showed less than four in every ten Jamaicans (38 per cent) are supporting the boycott call. According to the survey, a plurality of those interviewed, 46 per cent, or a shade below half, said no to the boycott while 16 per cent were unmoved either way.

The public response is a disappointment for rural, primary-school teacher Kesreen Green Dillon, who initiated the boycott using the social media.

“I am very, very disappointed,” Green Dillon said. “So many things have been going on and so many Jamaicans targeted and I think a boycott would give us a chance to buy Jamaican, which would help us grow,” she added.

She accepted that persons would have formed their position based on their socialisation, but questioned how could Jamaicans not support a boycott in light of the many reports of unfair treatment by immigration officers in that country.

The latest incident came last week when a popular local actor claimed that he and his wife were singled out and mistreated by Trinidadian officials last Monday, shortly after arriving in Port of Spain.

But the less-than-convincing support for the boycott came despite the vast majority of Jamaicans, 75 per cent, saying they were aware of the incident when the 13 people were turned back at the Piarco International Airport, and 61 per cent was adamant that the Trinidadians were wrong in their action, even though officials in the twin-island republic have repeatedly denied that they were locked out because they were from Jamaica.

Only 15 per cent of the respondents agreed with the decision to refuse the Jamaicans entry.

The Trinidadians have listed several reasons for denying entry to the Jamaicans, including no indication of how they would finance their stay.

“For all 13 cases, the immigration officers had good reason to deny them entry,” Trinidad’s Minister of National Security, Gary Griffith, told The Gleaner recently, as he listed individual reasons why the persons were denied entry.

A total of 1,008 residents of Jamaica aged 18 and older were interviewed across the island in the survey conducted on December 7, 8, 14 and 15, 2013.               

—Jamaica Gleaner

100 refugees seek TT asylum.
« Reply #45 on: January 12, 2014, 03:03:36 AM »
100 refugees seek TT asylum.
By CAROL MATROO (Newsday).

Around 100 persons are currently seeking asylum in Trinidad and Tobago. This was revealed by the Living Water Community, the organisation which is assisting the refugees in settling away from their respective homes to a new life in the Caribbean. The refugees are mainly from African countries.

There are hundreds, perhaps thousands of people who, when they arrive on the shores of Trinidad and Tobago, do not have the proper documentation to stay in the country, but for some reason or the other, are determined to stay.

Some may be trying to escape strife and war in their country, some may have been displaced, while others were seeking economic opportunities to improve their way of life. But, when they overstay their welcome, Immigration steps in and most times they are sent to a detention centre, jail, or deported.

They must meet certain requirements to gain refugee status, thus citizenship, in TT.

Living Water Community assist citizens who were seeking asylum because their lives were in danger. To date there has been more than 1,200, with about 100 at present.

“There are many people who come to this country for economic reasons, that does not come under our mandate. When people come to us they are interviewed for us to do a determination to see if their lives are really in danger and need protection,” said assistant community director of Living Water, Rosemary Scott.

She said they did initial interviews, and further interviews were sent up to the Washington office, the head office for the Caribbean region for United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR).

She said despite the fact that TT had signed the convention to recognise and accept refugees, there was no legislation in place. This meant that refugees seeking asylum had absolutely no rights in this country, she said.

Scott said they liaised with Immigration allowing them to at least have what was called an “order of supervision” which entitled them protection while they were here and their case was being determined.

“Once the case is determined that they are refugees, then by international law they should be protected in this country...again because there is no legislation in place very often we need to find a third country to resettle them,” Scott said.

Scott said refugees were not entitled to work, or have bank accounts, a driver’s licence or any documents.

“If the proper legislation was in place then they would be entitled to all rights as any other citizen of this country,” Scott said.

Living Water has been helping people seeking refugee asylum for over 20 years, and has helped over 1,000.

She said people seeking their assistance were not boat loads of people, but single families.

Scott said ten years ago there was a big resurgence coming out of Africa (Ghana, Nigeria, Sengal, Ivory Coast), but now there was a big influx coming from Cuba.

“It’s not coming in the hundreds or thousands, they are coming in a family or two,” she said.

Seeking asylum in TT is not easy.

“We have to do a determination because a lot of them are economic migrants and just looking for a better life, and through the grapevine they think that Trinidad has a lot of jobs, or a lot of money, whether it be true or false, that’s what draws a lot of people here,” she said.

Scott said they assisted those who were seeking asylum and protection for their lives and their families.

“We assist those who are really seeking protection for their lives. You have to sift through those and those need the protection of the government. Cuba has been the most recent, Iran, Iraq, Egypt, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan..these are all people seeking asylum,” Scott said.

Scott said there was a misconception that people seeking asylum were poor and uneducated, or that they were coming to “take all the jobs from the people of TT”

That is not so,” Scott said.

She said most of the refugees were very qualified in various fields.

“They are very qualified and I think that the misconception and lack of communication that people have, they think that refugees are poor people. They think that he/she is uneducated and coming to take all the jobs from Trinidadians, but that is not so.

“A lot of these people have university degrees, who are engineers, teachers, and doctors...people from different positions...labourers and construction workers, it is across the board. It is all about what is happening in their country,”she said.

Scott said it was not a hand out but people seeking asylum were not just accepted, but had to prove that they were victims of crime and war.

She warned that just because someone’s country was at war that, or because TT had a spiralling murder rate, that people would get asylum. It is not because your country is at war necessarily that you can be granted refugee status, it is what is your connection to that,” she said

Scott said, “It is not because TT has gang warfare I am going to apply for refugee status. Gang warfare has not affected me personally, so that does not give me the right for refugee status. Can I move to a safer part of the country that is not affected, or am I involved in a political party that is involved in this conflict, or do I belong to a social group that is opposing the regime.

“We do not have accommodations so they make connections with networks that already exist and a lot of these people are not necessarily poor. Some of them are able to bring enough money to live on for a couple of months, while some come here with absolutely nothing, without a documents”

Scott said they were in no position to house any families.

Re: 100 refugees seek TT asylum.
« Reply #46 on: January 12, 2014, 03:50:24 AM »
if they are so educated then let them goe to d US and Canada..... ah hear d sky iz d limit there

« Reply #47 on: January 12, 2014, 09:26:37 AM »
Probably because if you're escaping unimaginable terror you go to wherever you can, or where family is if you have a choice. All countries have a legal (as well as moral) obligation to accept asylum seekers under the United Nations charter, having learnt the terrible lessons of World War 2

« Reply #48 on: January 15, 2014, 09:12:59 PM »
UWI Lecturers Say They Were Targeted At Trinidad Airport

Published: Tuesday January 14, 2014 | 1:30 pm22 Comments
Debbie-Ann Wright, News Editor - Radio

A group of university educators has been added to the growing number of people who believe Jamaicans are being targeted for extra scrutiny when they seek to enter Trinidad and Tobago.

The group of educators from the University of the West Indies, Mona, arrived in Trinidad on Sunday night to attend a conference at the university's St Augustine campus.

Coordinator for the UWI’s social work programme, Dr Peta-Anne Baker, says members of her group were targeted for additional security checks as they went through customs.

She said none of the passengers ahead of her group had been required to have their bags scanned.

And she says the customs officers indicated they were simply carrying out instructions to scan the bags of all the Jamaicans who arrived.

Baker says while they were not mistreated by the customs officials, it was obvious that Jamaicans are being specifically targeted when they seek to enter Trinidad and Tobago.

There have been several complaints recently by Jamaicans regarding discrimination at Trinidad’s ports.

Recently, broadcaster and comedian, Christopher ‘Johnny’ Daley complained via social media about how he was treated when he and his wife arrived in Trinidad.

Late last year, the matter of the treatment of Jamaicans in Trinidad received national attention after 13 Jamaicans said they were mistreated before being sent back home.

Both Governments later held talks about the immigration concerns.

« Reply #49 on: January 22, 2014, 07:57:09 AM »

Ain't that de truth. :devil:

« Reply #50 on: January 22, 2014, 10:17:14 AM »

Ain't that de truth. :devil:

Griffith: Thousands of illegal J’cans straining T&T
« Reply #51 on: October 11, 2014, 06:18:32 PM »
Griffith: Thousands of illegal J’cans straining T&T

Story Created: Oct 10, 2014 at 9:45 PM ECT 
(
Story Updated: Oct 10, 2014 at 9:45 PM ECT  )

There are 19,000 illegal Jamaicans living in Trinidad and Tobago who are feeding off State resources and causing this country to lose over $1 billion in revenue annually, according to National Security Minister Gary Griffith.

In a release yesterday, Griffith supported the actions taken by immigration officers at the Piarco International Airport, in relation to the 13 Jamaicans who were denied entry on  September 30, stating that they were  found to be in breach of several immigration requirements.

He said the immigration officials were doing their job and the authorities cannot act as a “rubber stamp” when it comes to allowing people into the country.

“It is to be noted that at this present time, there are more than 19,000 Jamaicans in Trinidad and Tobago who have entered at legitimate ports of entry, but who have remained illegally and cannot be accounted for,” stated Griffith.

Describing the statistics as “alarming”, Griffith said this means “that these people are dependent on State resources such as education and health care, may be employed and are not subject to taxes, which amounts to a loss of revenue of over $1 billion per annum”.

Griffith said the carte blanche facilitation of entry of visitors into Trinidad and Tobago, without proper checks and balances as stipulated in the Immigration Act, creates the potential for an exponential increase in criminal activity, since the majority of these persons will have no fixed place of abode in this country and are unable to work or acquire a source of income.

Immigration officers, he said, receive extensive training in various interviewing and profiling techniques, which, coupled with information communicated from Intelligence Agencies via the Border Management System (BMS) ensures that an informed and unbiased decision is made regarding admission or refusal of persons seeking entry.

He reiterated that there was no abuse of authority in refusing entry to the 13 Jamaicans and immigration authorities carry out their duties and play a pivotal role in securing this country’s borders while facilitating the free movement of Caricom nationals as enshrined in Chapter lll of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas.

Griffith said Caricom nationals do not have an automatic entry into Trinidad and Tobago, and they must meet immigration requirements.

He noted that Article 46 (3) of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas makes provision for each member state to protect its citizens.

“This ultimately means that the immigration authorities of any member state may deny the entry of a Caricom national where it has been determined on reasonable grounds that the entry of the person would be detrimental to the interests of its citizens,” stated Griffith.

The minister stressed that the National Security Ministry must ensure that each and every visitor who enters this country, does not in any way become a liability to the State, which can become possible if persons attempt to enter with no skills certificate, no possible employer and nowhere to live.

“Failure to follow these regulations would establish a virtual open door policy, thereby reducing immigration to a rubber stamp division, with no authority to debar anyone from entering the country. The negative implications of such a policy include an increase in the unemployment rate and an adverse effect on the national economy, since the Government of Trinidad and Tobago will now have to bear the burden of providing education, health care and other social amenities at taxpayers’ expense to tens of thousands of undocumented migrants,” stated Griffith.

\\ The minister also refuted statements made in an Express  editorial titled “Will they ever learn” on October 9 which stated he was unprepared for immigration affairs under his portfolio.

The editorial also raised concerns over the refusal of the 13 Jamaicans into this country and pointed out that  reports from Jamaica stated that they were left to sleep on the floor, without access to food and toilets, before being sent back to Kingston.

Griffith stated that the Immigration Division is not responsible for accommodation of

passengers as that charge lies with the airline.

He stated that according to Section 34 of the Immigration Act Chapter 18:01, the

transportation company is responsible for providing adequate and suitable

accommodation for persons refused entry and must also provide security at the airlines’ expense, treat their charges in a humane

manner and provide meals for them.

The minister also provided further statistics which showed that on September 30—the day the 13 Jamaicans were refused entry—there were  2021 arrivals in Trinidad and Tobago, of which 23 were refused.

Griffith stated that 98.86 per cent of landed passengers were accepted, demonstrating that Trinidad and Tobago has been adhering to its obligations under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas

Re: Griffith: Thousands of illegal J’cans straining T&T
« Reply #52 on: October 11, 2014, 08:18:39 PM »
Why the focus on only the Jamaicans when there are 4 times as many illegal Guyanese (vast majority of East Indian decent) and apparently many of them are being offered house and land in the marginal constituencies after being legalized?  ???

In the meantime many born and breed Trinis have been on the housing list for 10 plus years and are still waiting.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2014, 09:10:04 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #53 on: October 11, 2014, 08:32:55 PM »
Anything that would strengthen the number of Africans in Trinbago is a problem to this government.

« Reply #54 on: October 11, 2014, 09:01:39 PM »

What about Guyanese, Nigerians, Chinese?

« Reply #55 on: October 12, 2014, 06:02:42 AM »
Why the focus on only the Jamaicans when there are 4 times as many illegal Guyanese (vast majority of East Indian decent) and apparently many of them are being offered house and land in the marginal constituencies after being legalized?  ???

In the meantime many born and breed Trinis have been on the housing list for 10 plus years and are still waiting.

not sure who's filling your ears, but I'm positive you cannot prove that statement. but one should expect this sort of race related (especially in regards to Guyana - your measuring stick).

you could have easily just question nationals from Guyana, Nigeria, China and our good neighbors from the Western coast (btw they owning a lot of Trinidad now), but you have a wide-on for Guyanese.

« Reply #56 on: October 12, 2014, 09:56:58 AM »

not sure who's filling your ears, but I'm positive you cannot prove that statement. but one should expect this sort of race related (especially in regards to Guyana - your measuring stick).

you could have easily just question nationals from Guyana, Nigeria, China and our good neighbors from the Western coast (btw they owning a lot of Trinidad now), but you have a wide-on for Guyanese.
Not everything that you imagine is real Jumbie.

I have had info from people I know personally in T&T. One of them is a friend who broke up with her husband and has been living with relatives and renting privately for over 15 years.
She registered on the government HDC housing list over 15 years ago to get her own place and is still waiting.
What makes it most annoying for her is that she personally know Guyanese people who have not been in T&T for 5 years who have been given HDC housing by the government. Now why would they get government housing in front of born and breed Trinis and is that fair and healthy for the country?

There are also numerous radio talk shows where these sort of incidents are being regularly reported by disillusioned T&T citizens on the HDC housing waiting list for donkey years.
It seems that it is now no longer about how long you have been waiting for your own HDC house while renting or living with relatives but more to do with who you know and which political party you are supporting for you to offered your own house to purchase.

Check this video link: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/videos/-Land-for-Squatters--2900----278184701.html  Apparently the majority of these people recently given land are Guyanese squatters.
The question to be asked here is what about T&T citizens who have been waiting for housing and living legally by relatives or who have been renting privately and throwing money down the drain?

People on the ground living in T&T will tell you that the vast majority of these squatters are Indo-Guyanese. Check this story related to the video link above: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Seemungal-10000-squatters-in-one-constituency-266956491.html.
Btw Toco/Sangre Grande is a marginal constituency and this pattern is being repeated in all the marginals throughout T&T. However if the illegals happen to be Afro or Jamaican then it is becomes a negative issue by this government to be highlighted based on how those people are most likely to vote if they are regularized.

There are many more similar stories to the above that I can give you links for and as elections is coming around expect more and more of these squatters to be regularized and given land along with the right to vote.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2014, 10:35:10 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #57 on: October 12, 2014, 10:51:05 AM »
Sticking to your point.. being given Gov't housing (not squatting), I stand by what I said ("imaginary" or not). Like I said, you have a wide-on for anything Guyanese (by extension Indian).
« Last Edit: October 12, 2014, 10:52:49 AM by Jumbie »

« Reply #58 on: October 12, 2014, 11:27:22 AM »
Sticking to your point.. being given Gov't housing (not squatting), I stand by what I said ("imaginary" or not). Like I said, you have a wide-on for anything Guyanese (by extension Indian).

You missed the initial point I was making and I guess you are doing so deliberately.

My point was that since there are more than twice as many illegal Guyanese in T&T (most of a certain race) than there are illegal J'cans, isn't it strange that the honorable National Security Minister Gary Griffith only saw it fit to focus on illegal Jamaicans (most of a certain race)?

I wonder why? When you are prepared to face that reality with some honesty in acknowledging the blatantly racist policies of the current PP government then we can talk.
You cannot solve a problem of discrimination until you first acknowledge that there is a problem.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2014, 12:44:34 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #59 on: October 12, 2014, 01:09:52 PM »

You missed the initial point I was making and I guess you are doing so deliberately.

My point was that since there are more than 5 times as many illegal Guyanese in T&T (most of a certain race) than there are illegal J'cans, isn't it strange that the honorable National Security Minister Gary Griffith only saw it fit to focus on illegal Jamaicans (most of a certain race)?

I wonder why? When you are prepared to face that reality with some honesty in acknowledging the blatantly racist policies of the current PP government then we can talk.
You cannot solve a problem of discrimination until you first acknowledge that there is a problem.

you're not serious..right? just look up at the hills where our fellow caricom ambassadors occupy.

maybe the MONS fraid to say it.. (shit I'm about to do what you do), maybe, just maybe, these "certain race' immigrants don't indulge in crime as much as the ones being targeted (according to you)?

SP, not everything you hear on the call-in radio shows you subscribe to or the news yuh get from yuh nenen is factual.