March 29, 2024, 04:25:13 AM

Author Topic: Technical Director Thread  (Read 15013 times)

TTFA Technical Director
« Reply #30 on: April 12, 2015, 12:55:33 PM »
Is Kendall Walkes to be named the new Technical Director of the TTFA?

Anyone in the know hear any whispers?

Re: TTFA Technical Director
« Reply #31 on: April 12, 2015, 01:43:04 PM »
Is Kendall Walkes to be named the new Technical Director of the TTFA?

Anyone in the know hear any whispers?

Yes, I have heard about it a while now.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #32 on: April 12, 2015, 01:45:14 PM »
Who is he ?

« Reply #34 on: April 12, 2015, 05:53:36 PM »
Who is he ?

Graduate of Progressive Sec. Former member of POS Touring teens under the late Carlyle Mason. Member of the 1974 TT U19 team which played in Toronto, Canada. Third place behin Mex, Cuba. Recruited to play for Denver Dynamos of the old NASL. The  team folded while he was in Denver. returned to TT and played for Peterborough, then Malvern and the national team. Member of D Romans from Belmont.(ha ha ha,). Played PanAm, CAC, Olimpic and WC qualification. Went to Teachers training college before getting a govt schol. He went to Davis and Elkins,WVA. On grad went West Chester did his masters. Came back home and served his time at EL Do. Sec(I think). Went back to West Chester for an assistant  coach position and eventually became coach. Married with two children.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2015, 01:52:16 PM by Deeks »

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #35 on: April 12, 2015, 06:19:26 PM »
Ok what does he know about being a Technical Director of a National Team ?

Does he have experience in THAT position ? If yes how did he do? A coach is a coach, a TD is a specialist position.

We have to get this right...we have no time for square pegs in round holes.

« Last Edit: April 12, 2015, 08:50:49 PM by Banter Banton »

« Reply #36 on: April 12, 2015, 06:21:36 PM »
Forgot to mentioned He worked as the TD of the USVI for a year.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #37 on: April 12, 2015, 06:28:14 PM »
Ok not really too inspiring if you ask me.

« Reply #38 on: April 12, 2015, 06:45:02 PM »

I am quite confident he will do a good job, providing TTFA keep their end of the bargain.

« Reply #39 on: April 12, 2015, 07:17:26 PM »

I am quite confident he will do a good job, providing TTFA keep their end of the bargain.
I'm pretty sure he won't, whether he's capable or not..he might as well volunteer part time for now

Offline socalion

« Reply #40 on: April 12, 2015, 07:41:36 PM »
Kendall Wakes as technical director ? not sold on that one !   sorry .   

« Reply #41 on: April 12, 2015, 08:52:48 PM »
Gally Cummings, Latas, Yorke, Leonson Lewis, Brian Williams are worthwhile names.

How Walkes got nominated is beyond me.
he getting paid?

I guess they can't ask back Latas seeing that he still waiting to get paid for the last job he did for the TTFF.  ;D

« Reply #42 on: April 12, 2015, 08:57:01 PM »
I have heard that he has been appointed to the post for a while now, but a public announcement has not been made as yet.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #43 on: April 12, 2015, 09:02:43 PM »
VB be serious... that list is shaky

A Technical Director's role is so important for the structure and development of all national programmes. He also has to oversee development of coaches by leading courses etc.

The only man in T&T qualified enough for that job is Stephen Hart who has actually done it with Canada but he is the senior team coach and has his hands full.

A top T.D is as important as a top Head Coach of a senior team.

Stephen Hart, top head coach of Men's team.
Waldrum , top head coach of Women's team.

TTFA got 2 for 2 correct there but the investment in them has been poor with lack of games etc but I blame half of that on SporTT and M.O.S for the usual bullshit and politics.

A good T.D will need more investment than the 2 head coaches combined as he will have numerous programmes to plan and execute.

I would like to see Sherwood work with the T.D as a youth development director. He should also be given the Under 15 and U17 job in my opinion.  Derek King deserves another crack at U20.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #44 on: April 12, 2015, 09:04:55 PM »
I have heard that he has been appointed to the post for a while now, but a public announcement has not been made as yet.

well goodluck to the man, I hope he has what it takes. 

He can have the best ideas in the world but it will take a huge financial investment from TTFA, M.O.S/SporTT and Corporate T&T for him to execute it all.

« Reply #45 on: April 12, 2015, 09:06:05 PM »
That is where you'll are wrong he is more qualified than Gally, Yorke, Latas, Lewis or Williams. There is this huge misnomer that you have to have some sort of national experience ,which he does by the way, to be TD. I am from far his biggest fan I think he is a supercilious twat. Can he do it? He has enough experience coaching at the college level plus he has taught NSCAA courses. One of the things you'll don't understand is that there is a coaching cabal in TnT and he is quite close to that cabal.

« Reply #46 on: April 12, 2015, 09:15:45 PM »
That is where you'll are wrong he is more qualified than Gally, Yorke, Latas, Lewis or Williams. There is this huge misnomer that you have to have some sort of national experience ,which he does by the way, to be TD. I am from far his biggest fan I think he is a supercilious twat. Can he do it? He has enough experience coaching at the college level plus he has taught NSCAA courses. One of the things you'll don't understand is that there is a coaching cabal in TnT and he is quite close to that cabal.

that in itself is a big problem... friend thing won't work

« Reply #47 on: April 12, 2015, 09:35:03 PM »
Kendall Walkes ..de man is a staff coach at the NSCAA. The man spent his life in football..he has a lot of experience on the U.S coaching circuit..is a known man in the coaching world.

He has mentored many young and aspiring coaches in the USA. I don't know if he is a Master Coach but he holds a masters degree which means that he has been exposed to critical thinking, planning and organization.

I don't know the guy personally so I cannot tell what his vision is for Trinidad and Tobago.

Taking up a position like this, coming from the US would be a huge challenge. As a family man one would think that he would have to be paid for his services...I don't see how he could sustain and maintain his enthusiasm and motivation without being able to put food on the table.

This man is a regular on this site. I know for a fact that he, like most of you don't agree with my views...like most of you he would fervently express his disdain for me...that being said he should be okay in y'all's books.

« Reply #48 on: April 12, 2015, 09:42:15 PM »
VB...in my opinion Cummings and Yorke would be the two who would be candidates of credence..but Yorke can't live on that small money and Gally is forever on TTFA blacklist because Jack is still running de show.

« Reply #49 on: April 12, 2015, 09:59:26 PM »
Gally Cummings, Latas, Yorke, Leonson Lewis, Brian Williams are worthwhile names.

How Walkes got nominated is beyond me.
he getting paid?

I guess they can't ask back Latas seeing that he still waiting to get paid for the last job he did for the TTFF.  ;D

Maybe Ross Russell?

« Reply #50 on: April 12, 2015, 10:19:05 PM »
Allyuh rel jokey eh...

« Reply #51 on: April 12, 2015, 11:41:49 PM »

I heard some other things as well.  It is amazing the lengths some will go to bear out a grudge.  And half these jokers here shitting on the selection but don't know the first thing about Kendall Walkes nor can they name a better candidate under the circumstances.

« Reply #52 on: April 13, 2015, 01:36:48 AM »
Regarding a comment above: no one (no coach) should be given both the 15s and the 17s. These should be stewarded as separate portfolios. Indeed, there should be a 16 cohort treated separately as well.

« Reply #53 on: April 13, 2015, 05:41:25 AM »
if this is true good look to Kendall. He has a lot of ideas, a passion for the sport and from a football family.Let'see if they make it official.

Offline socalion

« Reply #54 on: April 13, 2015, 09:46:27 AM »
I wonder if Richard Chinapoo was ever considered as a possible candidate  for the job of T/D by the ttfa?

« Reply #55 on: April 13, 2015, 11:20:19 AM »

oh so they Secretive now eh

« Reply #56 on: April 13, 2015, 11:35:47 AM »

but I blame half of that on SporTT and M.O.S for the usual bullshit and politics.

I wonder what fraction of the US budget Obama earmarking to make sure USSF operations run smooth. I wonder if the republicans will give him a fight down for his allocation. I also wonder about america's favorite sport - American Football...I wonder what is the earmark for that too.

« Reply #57 on: April 13, 2015, 11:38:22 AM »

oh so they Secretive now eh

There could be many reasons why TTFA have not made this public knowledge yet (if it is indeed true). It may be that Mr Walkes doesn't want his employer to know that he is leaving. Hell, maybe he doesn't want his WIFE to know he's leaving!! More than likely there are minor contractual matters to resolve before an announcement. Whatever the reason, I don't believe that TTFA are being secretive.

« Reply #58 on: April 13, 2015, 01:07:59 PM »
There is this regressive tribal mentality that exists that says give it to Yorke or give it to Russell or Gally. That there is in itself part of the downfall of T&T both in sport and politics. If Walkes has indeed gotten the job he has proven himself as a coach on a far bigger stage than other people mentioned. Why not wait to see what his plans are but some of you'll launch criticism.

« Reply #59 on: April 13, 2015, 03:05:31 PM »
Well..it's refreshing to see that there are some people on this site who can be reasonable...the critics came out lashing out at the man despite having knowledge of the man's credentials.

I  spare no words in my criticism of unqualified, unimaginative and flat out weak individuals who are given charge  to lead in some  footballing capacity of  my Nation.

However in this case  this individual has been operating in the U.S..granted Lincoln Phillips also operated in the US for many years before returning home..begs the question ..what difference could he make to the status quo?

I can see why some members on this site would have reservations. All we have to go on right now is his CV and his character.

We can only assume that because of his credentials that he is capable.. Technical Director of a large club in the US and the Virgin Islands would give him some experience ...but TTFF is disorganized.

If he goes into the position to just take the reigns continuing along the same course ...then that would not be good for us.

The position currently, requires someone with leadership experience, politically savvy, has knowledge of fund raising, planning, organization, is a visionaire with short term and long term goals, has an end goal in mind with  means of achieving them...then he is our man..otherwise this move by the TTFF is  but a shot in the dark.

« Last Edit: April 13, 2015, 03:10:03 PM by coache »