March 28, 2024, 10:30:34 AM

Author Topic: Who is yuh side? BRAZIL '14  (Read 5022 times)

Who is yuh side? BRAZIL '14
« on: December 06, 2013, 08:14:12 PM »

This thread you can post who your favorite teams, players and discuss underdogs/favorites

Here are some of my picks and interesting historical facts!

Favorites
Brazil
Uruguay
Italy
Spain

Dark Horses
Belgium
USA
England
Holland
Argentina
Portugal

Why I didn't include any African teams?
Because of the statistics below. Only country outside of Europe to even come close to third was USA in 1930. Only African country that can pull it off though would be Ghana but looking at that group it will be a task in itself to escape death especially with bitter USA relishing a chance at avenging two exits at their hands and Germany involved that have never lost to any African team in it's history of the world cup along side an unpredictable Portugal side no short of talent.
The stat
No team outside of CONMEBOL have won a world cup in South America since the first one.
Uruguay won the last world cup hosted on Brazilian soil in 1950, Spain forth, the host came in as as runners ups.
Only Uruguay 1930, England 1966, Germany 1974, Argentina 1978 and Ofc France 1998  manage to win the World Cup as host country.
Only Germany FR(1986) , Holland(1978), Italy(1970)(1994), Czechoslovakia (1962) have managed to claim runners up position on South American soil.

Groups
Group A: Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon

Group B: Spain, Netherlands, Chile, Australia

Group C: Colombia, Greece, Côte d’Ivoire, Japan

Group D: Uruguay, Costa Rica, England, Italy

Group E: Switzerland, Ecuador, France, Honduras

Group F: Argentina, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iran, Nigeria

Group G: Germany, Portugal, Ghana, USA

Group H: Belgium, Algeria, Russia, Korea Republic

Group of death: D  3 former world cup winners: England Italy and Uruguay.

Discuss
« Last Edit: December 08, 2013, 09:31:34 PM by sHOTTA12 »

Re: Who is yuh side? BRAZIL '14
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2013, 08:44:04 PM »

USA boss?

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2013, 11:22:54 PM »
USA a dark horse for what?  ice hockey? basketball?

i think the uruguay will struggle but make it out of the group stages.  brazil and argentina are the teams to beat..the weather will help the south american teams but spain, italy and germany will be very strong challengers.

with some luck dont be surprised if chile and colombia reach the quarterfinals....i predicting 4 south american teams in the quarters providing they can avoid each other in the round of 16.

« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2013, 12:47:07 AM »
My picks:
1. Brazil (host country home cooking)
2. Spain ( still a force to be reckoned with)
3. Italy (always shows up for the show)
4. Germany (cause dey is flickin Germany)
5.Nigeria (cause I always back an African team, this is mine for Brazil 2014)

Daiz how I see it...

« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2013, 01:58:28 AM »
No lie, I love the U.S. robot-style-never-say-die football. The U.S. MNT always plays with grit and determination. But they not ready to be the world's number one just yet. Like most Trinis, Brazil is my default side. Next is Germany and Holland. As far as long shots go, portugal and Hengland well overdue to hold the title

« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2013, 02:03:16 AM »
My picks:

Daiz how I see it...

Agree with most of that. But for a country with so much cultural flair, ShiItaly does produce some real bland football.

« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2013, 02:56:43 AM »
World Cup Draw 2014 - Group of Death?
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/cRexZ0yUdfg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/cRexZ0yUdfg</a>

Are the Americans screwed in a potential "Group of Death?" The United States has been placed in Group G which has Germany, Portugal and Ghana. Group B is also tough featuring Spain, the Netherlands and Chile. The other difficult group to get out of? Group D; Uruguay, England and Italy. Which group is the worst? Who can make a run to the final?

« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2013, 02:57:09 AM »
Whoever wins Group D will be a good bet for the final, as Uruguay, England and Italy are all hard-to-beat teams. Obviously England is my team but we won't win - this cup has Brazil all over it.

« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2013, 04:10:24 AM »
Most seem to disagree, but when it come to global competitions I supporting CONCACAF right through. The better they do, the better for the region. I ain't cutting off nose to spite face with that. So, go USA, Honduras, etc.

Besides that, France is my team since de late 90's. If they can't make it past that group they truly in a mess.

Other than those, usually back whichever underdog overachieving at the time.

« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2013, 09:22:58 AM »
My picks:

Daiz how I see it...

Agree with most of that. But for a country with so much cultural flair, ShiItaly does produce some real bland football.

Agreed, it is head-scratching, especially when you see goals like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EGUeRn5c3Tc

I remember watching this as a kid and being speechless
« Last Edit: December 07, 2013, 09:24:50 AM by kaliman2006 »

« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2013, 10:39:14 AM »
Brazil all the way. I want the Concacaf and South A. teams to do well. Africa always has a team do well I think Ghana or Nigeria (or both) can make a deep run.

Group C: Colombia, Greece, Cote d'Ivoire, Japan

1st.Red  2nd.Blue

Brazil has to face one of Spain , Chile or Netherlands in the second round. Tough draw for the host.

« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2013, 10:42:22 AM »
Brazil all the way. I want the Concacaf and South A. teams to do well. Africa always has a team do well I think Ghana or Nigeria (or both) can make a deep run.

Group C: Colombia, Greece, Cote d'Ivoire, Japan

1st.Red  2nd.Blue

Brazil has to face one of Spain , Chile or Netherlands in the second round. Tough draw for the host.

i like your picks...group E might be closer than people think.  i dont rate switzerland as a big side but they are very organized and defensive.  they can come out with that group with ecuador or france.  honduras is weak but they will defend in numbers and look to play spoiler.

« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2013, 11:25:14 AM »
No one plumps for England :( Seriously tho if we go through we won't have an easier game to the Quarter Final (not that it's easy, but 'easier')

« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2013, 12:20:43 PM »
No one plumps for England :( Seriously tho if we go through we won't have an easier game to the Quarter Final (not that it's easy, but 'easier')

Last time there was an England squad that could have done something was 86, face it, that dull brand does not get you too far, at best a Tier 2 team in today's football (and I think we all know who's Tier 1)

I personally think Brazil will choke and it's Argentina's cup, but you can't count out the typical powerhouses as mentioned (Germany, Italy, Spain in no order).

Dark horse: Belgium and USA, just kidding   :rotfl:

Next question, who will be there?  I will be w/a crew of 10 in Rio for 10 days, staying in Copa
« Last Edit: December 07, 2013, 12:24:03 PM by 100% Barataria »

« Reply #14 on: December 07, 2013, 12:45:31 PM »
I wont disagree - England's legacy of hampering flair players goes back several decades and is slowly being undone, and that's just one of the number of problems. Saying that I think you forget that England really are a good team - they expect to get to the quarter finals every time because they are one of the best 8 in teh world (probably 8th)

Who would you rank above them? Brazil, Italy, Spain, Germany, Argentina are the certainties, but France, Portugal, Netherlands are our level and I'm happy every time we reach the Quarter Finals. Here, we have to beat Italy (unlikely), Uruguay (have climate advantage) and Costa Rica (not unfair to say they're the underdogs here), so it's a dice-roll on which of the three get through.

But I do think you're wrong about a 'dull brand' not being useful - Italy (2006) and Greece (Euro win) rather undermine your point

« Reply #15 on: December 07, 2013, 01:03:22 PM »
Yeah T, France now yes, Zizou era hell no. Right too, dull brand can get it done ala Greece Euro, not sure i'd put Italy 06 in the same category but agree with the pt...

« Reply #16 on: December 07, 2013, 08:06:43 PM »
had a soft spot for france ever since that 98 side...but nex yr i backing chile b/c of the expressive, fearless knock they running

« Reply #17 on: December 07, 2013, 09:25:00 PM »
had a soft spot for france ever since that 98 side...

Same fuh me... hence my teams in no particular order:

1. France
2. England
3. Germany
4. Holland
5. Any African side
« Last Edit: December 07, 2013, 09:29:28 PM by Bakes »

Offline ANC2

« Reply #18 on: December 07, 2013, 09:26:53 PM »
Brazil to win
Colombia dark horse
Argentina & Germany on the rails

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #19 on: December 07, 2013, 09:49:04 PM »
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #20 on: December 07, 2013, 10:06:46 PM »
by the way, Mexico is not South America!

« Reply #21 on: December 08, 2013, 09:51:29 AM »
Brazil.

« Reply #22 on: December 08, 2013, 01:58:25 PM »
Black Stars, Ghana.. Yuh dun know!

Keep an eye on Belgium.. If there is any team that is a dark horse .. is them

« Reply #23 on: December 08, 2013, 02:37:39 PM »
yeah i forget...any African side!!!!!

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
It's only kinky the 1st time

« Reply #25 on: December 08, 2013, 07:24:58 PM »
Germany

« Reply #26 on: December 08, 2013, 07:27:39 PM »
Portugal and Netherlands

« Reply #27 on: December 08, 2013, 07:50:57 PM »
supporting italy for the title..

backing ghana, the swiss, colombia, chile in all their games once is not italy they play

belgium wud pop down imho

« Reply #28 on: December 08, 2013, 09:43:35 PM »
had a soft spot for france ever since that 98 side...

Same fuh me... hence my teams in no particular order:

1. France
2. England
3. Germany
4. Holland
5. Any African side

ah like yuh number five, but ah cyar see England doing nuttin. After dah lingue English boy pull Sancho hair to score on we, I ent never backing England to win nuttin. haul dey ass.

« Reply #29 on: December 08, 2013, 11:05:36 PM »
every world cup people get excited over the african sides but i dont see them progressing further than the quarterfinals.