December 06, 2023, 05:24:24 AM

Author Topic: Crime Prevention 5-A-Side Big 16 today for big prize money.  (Read 2077 times)

Crime Prevention 5-A-Side Big 16 today for big prize money.
« on: December 07, 2013, 05:00:57 AM »
Crime Prevention 5-A-Side Big 16 today.
T&T Express Reports.

SIXTEEN teams still have  chance to win the $150,000 grand prize  in the TNT Crime Prevention Inter-Community 5-a-side football competition.

Starting today, these teams will  battle for quarter-final spots, when  the Big 16 round   takes place today and tomorrow at the  Hasely Crawford Stadium (HCS). Eight winning teams advance to the quarter finals to be held next Saturday, December 14. Semi-finals and finals will be held next  Sunday,  also at the HCS.

The football tournament is in its third year and is aimed primarily at crime prevention, by  involving youths who may otherwise be vulnerable to a life of crime. 

The tournament offers lucrative prizes, which have been a major attraction to the teams involved over the years. The  grand prize is $150,000, while second, third and fourth-placed finishers will receive $100,000, $75,000 and $50,000 respectively.

This year’s competition saw 135 teams participating. The preliminary round of the tournament began on October 6. The competition which is endorsed by the Ministry of Sport and sponsored by NGC and NLCB.

Re: Crime Prevention 5-A-Side Big 16 today for big prize money.
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2013, 05:05:41 AM »
Just imagine this tournament is more lucrative than the National FA Cup :frustrated:

« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2013, 06:08:53 AM »
Just imagine this tournament is more lucrative than the National FA Cup :frustrated:

Doc, you sooooo right.

Not only this, but this tournament is a Crime Prevention plan to stop crime and it lasting two weeks, so the next 50 weeks in the year is crime again.

Donkey Logic.

Somebody getting paid  !!!

Meanwhile, the Manny Ramjohn Stadium have sugarcane growing on it now.

« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2013, 06:21:22 AM »
It's ridiculous. At least the Hoops of Life had certain criteria. It's a nice concept, but poorly executed. This must be a friend of a friend thing because nobody in their right mind would approve this. It must cost over $500,000. I took a proposal to a couple of Ministers based on the immensely successful Kickz project. A sustainable, year round, countrywide project costing around $1 million. But instead we get this and the LifeSport programme.  Money down the drain.

« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2013, 08:33:46 AM »
Anil Roberts is a crook in a suit.

« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2013, 09:06:45 AM »
I don't have a problem with the prize money being worth more than the FA Cup... it's a simplistic comparison, at best.  For one, the goals of the respective programs are different, and even if we are to knock the planning and execution of the Crime Prevention effort, no one could reasonably argue that it isn't more important than paying professional footballers a prize. 

Second, the FA Cup is a private effort... I don't know why we continue to insist on looking to the government for money to fund private sporting efforts.  Even if we want to continue to look for handouts from government, we can't be so boldfaced as to then bitch and gripe about it if they decline and put the efforts elsewhere instead.

« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2013, 09:24:34 AM »
How much people de pro league and super league combine employs compare to a small goal tournament worth so much, then when de tournament done, then what?

« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2013, 09:28:16 AM »

I don't understand why prize money for the FA cup would be a big thing.

I think just the prestige would be enough the professional teams should be making their money from sponsorships and to a lesser extent gates.

If they have a good product they will be marketable.

That 5 a side thing is like a best village thing

« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2013, 09:42:25 AM »
And all of T&T women team suffering for money but Anil spending thousands on small goal.

« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2013, 09:55:52 AM »
$150,000
$100,000 +
  $75,000
  $50,000
--------------
$375,000.00
--------------

The top 4 teams will play a total of 4 games and will be guaranteed prize money.

Now that is real commonsense.

Did our former coaches get paid yet, Latapy, Shabazz, King and Charles?

Did our 2012 Caribbean Cup team got paid yet?

Is the Women team getting any finds to help them prepare for the WC next year?

By the way, can anyone name just one good thing that ever came out of this im beneficial of T&T football?

« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2013, 09:59:27 AM »
They playing small goal in de Hasely Crawford Stadium and big goal in de Savannah.

Just now they go start thieving de seats from de Ato Boldon, Dwight Yorke, Larry Gomes and Manny Ramjohn Stadiums.

Them fellas should ask the government to take out they names from de stadium and them, it making them look bad.

« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2013, 11:14:38 AM »
And all of T&T women team suffering for money but Anil spending thousands on small goal.

Aye Anil just endorse it that does not mean the Ministry spent money,there were sponsors who have been doing it for the past three years.

Offline amwood

« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2013, 11:20:12 AM »
Fellas meh squad playing in this competition and to be honest I was shocked when they announced the prize money, seems a bit strange that you could win all that in a small goal competition - doesn't make sense. Anyway games have been moved to St.Goeorge's college in Barataria (?)

« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2013, 11:31:46 AM »
Guys the situation is this, two private companies decide to sponsor this tournament,i think the discussion should be why don't the private sector do like these two and sponsor other areas of our Football,if you notice the TTFA is not involved they doing it on their own,it seems people are keeping away from the TTFA,we don't have JW to blame any more he gone so we just talking including myself.

Sometimes i feel like is only Pro Football it have,like the average man in T&T don't play Football,if someone decide to put out some money to sponsor a little Tournament what's the problem but Pro Football want all,alyu understand why i'll always put in a word for Minor League Football,everybody wants to play.

« Reply #14 on: December 07, 2013, 11:37:35 AM »

Doc, you sooooo right.

Not only this, but this tournament is a Crime Prevention plan to stop crime and it lasting two weeks, so the next 50 weeks in the year is crime again.

Donkey Logic.

Football can't prevent no crime,check Brazil whose culture is Football and they have the most crime,people only pulling wool our peoples eyes with that old talk,the same thing with this Basketball (hoops) they have in Laventille.

« Reply #15 on: December 07, 2013, 12:38:30 PM »
Give 'em jobs or a a future and you'll reduce crime. Give em huge prize money and expect nothing. I love community events, but I can't help being a bit sceptical - how many officers could you pay for with $300,000 a year? How many teachers?

« Reply #16 on: December 07, 2013, 02:22:04 PM »
Give 'em jobs or a a future and you'll reduce crime. Give em huge prize money and expect nothing. I love community events, but I can't help being a bit sceptical - how many officers could you pay for with $300,000 a year? How many teachers?
     On second thought i wonder what these communities does do with the money the team wins,is it shared between the manager/Coach and players or it's utilized in the community?

Why i ask that is because i remember one time it had a Netball tournament on the North Coast,it was for prize money,Blanchisseuse won it and that caused one bachanal,some players wanted the money shared,some say buy something and give everybody,the Coach/Manager said she should get more money than the players etc etc i always wanted to know what goes on with prize money.

« Reply #17 on: December 07, 2013, 05:59:04 PM »

Doc, you sooooo right.

Donkey Logic.

Football can't prevent no crime,check Brazil whose culture is Football and they have the most crime,people only pulling wool our peoples eyes with that old talk,the same thing with this Basketball (hoops) they have in Laventille.

Sorry Coops, you're wrong there. I can give you statistical evidence that recorded anti social crime has been reduced by up to 39% in areas of UK where Kickz is active.

« Reply #18 on: December 08, 2013, 05:14:53 AM »

Doc, you sooooo right.

Donkey Logic.

Sorry Coops, you're wrong there. I can give you statistical evidence that recorded anti social crime has been reduced by up to 39% in areas of UK where Kickz is active.

Kickz is an on-going effort to engage youth through the medium of football, not an annual prize-money football event with no follow-on work

« Reply #19 on: December 13, 2013, 11:58:23 AM »

Doc, you sooooo right.

Donkey Logic.

Kickz is an on-going effort to engage youth through the medium of football, not an annual prize-money football event with no follow-on work

Actually, there has been an excellent record of young people gaining permanent employment directly and indirectly through Kickz. But I take your point. Kickz is a much better thought out programme with longevity and real aims.

« Reply #20 on: December 13, 2013, 05:02:42 PM »
I stand corrected; jobs ain't nothing to be sniffed at, and are within themselves a type of long-term solution