April 28, 2024, 05:55:14 AM

Author Topic: Musical Tribute to the late Nelson Mandela - Freedom Fighter Extraordinaire!  (Read 1507 times)

Please also post your tribute songs, any song you think his life inspired!! :thumbsup:

David Rudder - Victory Is Certain (1990)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9gX5JuNx-Ig" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9gX5JuNx-Ig</a>

Tribute to all the freedom fighters in South Africa who were imprisoned for fighting for freedom from Apartheid including the late hero Nelson Mandela who served 27 years and came out of prison to lead his country out of Apartheid and to become South Africa's first democratically elected President.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2013, 07:10:32 PM by Socapro »

Re: Musical Tribute to the late Nelson Mandela - Freedom Fighter!
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2013, 07:01:54 PM »
David Rudder - Down at the Shebeen (1990)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sHQ4jOAwiOM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sHQ4jOAwiOM</a>

Another song made by David Rudder in 1990 in tribute to all the freedom fighters in South Africa who found temporary freedom "Down at the Shebeen" during the oppressive times of Apartheid regime.

« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2013, 07:03:56 PM »
Beautiful tribute to Nelson Mandela from the Midnight Grovers out of Dominica.

Midnight Groovers - Mandela
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/W6KNLVFjcnw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/W6KNLVFjcnw</a>
Don't know why the uploader placed a Lucian rather than a Dominican flag here.

« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2013, 07:05:58 PM »
Mighty Duke - How Many More Must Die (1985)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Gt58Znw8g6g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Gt58Znw8g6g</a>

Classic from the late Mighty Duke!!

« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2013, 07:07:55 PM »
Shadow - Free South Africa (1989)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/yrRx8yMMakU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/yrRx8yMMakU</a>

Classic from the Shadow!!

Barrington Levy - Mandela Free
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5wpIm5SWbPY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5wpIm5SWbPY</a>

« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2013, 07:16:08 PM »
Mighty Duke - Apartheid (1985)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Hp0NgBnXTZg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Hp0NgBnXTZg</a>

Mighty Duke - South Africa Must Be Free (1988)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/to343KAY548" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/to343KAY548</a>

Hugh Masekela - Mandela (Bring Him Back Home) (1987)
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/KZ0DyLbZhCI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/KZ0DyLbZhCI</a>

Peter Tosh - Apartheid (1977)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/LYt0TkJCC-w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/LYt0TkJCC-w</a>

Israel Vibration - Don't Want Apartheid (1988)
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/mHzffPRUgC8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/mHzffPRUgC8</a>

Lucky Dube - House of Exile (1992)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sT6PgvDHVGk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sT6PgvDHVGk</a>

Brand new Tribute Afro/Roots Soca track from Rem Bunction called "Mandela (Rest In Power)".
Very nice and timely!! :thumbsup:

Rem Bunction - Mandela (Rest In Power) [2014 T&T Afro/Roots Soca]
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/rrQk53W4lsw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/rrQk53W4lsw</a>
Produced by Rem Bunction

Note from Rem Bunction: "I was inspired tonight to write this short tribute to one of the most influential men of our century. THANK YOU!"
« Last Edit: December 06, 2013, 09:11:40 AM by Socapro »

MADIBA TRIBUTE
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/zvWaDY2ti7I" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/zvWaDY2ti7I</a>

Culture Mix Design would like to say there are no words that could adequately describe the enormous loss of Nelson Mandela to the world.
His devotion to humanity and humanitarian causes,. I give great thanks and respect.
In my view we have lost one of the Greatest Men to ever walk this earth, to the Mandela Family we give such respect to for holding so strong in the face of hate and redemption.
To those who don't know the meaning of "MADIBA",.it is a title of Respect for Nelson Mandela, deriving from his "Xhosa" clan name.

You will not be forgotten Madiba !
Rico (C.E.O. Culture Mix Designs)
http://www.culturemix.webs.com
« Last Edit: December 06, 2013, 09:43:46 AM by Socapro »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/p5mvP9RPmRc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/p5mvP9RPmRc</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/XC3ahd6Di3M" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/XC3ahd6Di3M</a>

This win!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/uKM9qOjp_wQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/uKM9qOjp_wQ</a>

One of my favorites is Invade South Africa by The Mighty Sparrow

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H1xeKWasVuQ

Many years ago I attended a concert held by the Signal Hill Alumni choir (I used to go to every one they held every year usually around Christmas time....)

One year, they performed a song that was so beautiful but I couldn't pronounce the words....so I used to make up mih own words..... ;D

Many years later, I was reading Nelson Mandela's autobiography (The Long Walk to Freedom) in which he describes a song that he and the other prisoners used to sing to keep them going while they worked in the lime quarries......I realised it was the same song the Signal Hill Alumni Choir used to sing (and still does) at their concerts.....

This is my musical tribute....."Tchotcholoza"  aka The Train Song.....

p.s. I am trying to find a way to upload my audio copy of Signal Hill Alumi's version.....until then enjoy this version.....

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ItKwQqumf58" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ItKwQqumf58</a>