March 28, 2024, 08:03:07 AM

Author Topic: WI vs NZ, 2nd test  (Read 6939 times)

WI vs NZ, 2nd test
« on: December 10, 2013, 03:21:36 PM »
Dem bomsies pick an unchanged 11 citing the pitch, like our eligible past attack leaves anything to be desired, pick your best bowlers!  Make me eat my words, steups!

Re: WI vs NZ, 2nd test
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2013, 03:36:38 PM »
New Zealand must be praising the DRS system.

On first viewing, I thought Fulton had edged it on to the pad.

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2013, 04:39:38 PM »
No Narine? Wtf?

« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2013, 04:42:25 PM »
Bowling better but everybody have butter fingers

« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2013, 05:33:27 PM »
New Zealand has won the morning session.

Our bowlers have missed a trick or two and the catching as 100% Barataria has said, has left much to be desired.

« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2013, 06:48:47 PM »
3rd man finally out.

We have to get Taylor though.

« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2013, 06:58:51 PM »
Good

« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2013, 02:11:20 AM »
New Zealand 307 for 6

Not great, not bad.

If they hadn't dropped Taylor...

« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2013, 05:57:11 AM »
Gabriel is a real weak link in our attack.

This match will be determined by how quickly we can get through the New Zealand tail. If it wags, then it goes without saying that it will be real pressure

socafighter

« Reply #9 on: December 11, 2013, 09:35:03 AM »
Cricket: What history says at the Basin

By David Leggat

Tuesday Dec 10, 2013

New Zealand have a good record at the Basin Reserve against the West Indies, winning three and losing two of the previous tests in Wellington.
Ahead of the seventh clash between the teams on the country's most distinctive, iconic ground, here's the story of the last six...

1: March 1956. West Indies won by 9 wickets

The third test of the series and the Windies went 3-0 up, on the back of Everton Weekes' third century of the rubber, 156 out of a first innings of 404. New Zealand's first innings of 208 was compiled at a funereal run rate of 1.47 per over. New Zealand had their hands full with unorthodox left arm spinner Alf Valentine - 35-20-31-1 - and offspinning allrounder Collie Smith, 29-15-27-2.
Following on New Zealand made exactly the same score. Don Taylor, in his first test for nine years and as it turned out his second last, hit 77. New Zealand made up for it in the fourth test, landing their famous first test win at Eden Park.

2: March 1969. New Zealand won by six wickets

Dick Motz's 6-69 had the West Indies all out for 297, which New Zealand fell 15 runs under. However they rolled the tourists' for 148 and after tumbling to 39 for three, Brian Hastings' unbeaten 62 in the ace of some hostile fast bowling from Charlie Griffith, got the job done. It was only New Zealand's fifth test win.

3: March 1987. Drawn

John Wright's double of 75 and 138, coupled with Martin Crowe's 119 in the second innings ensured a strong West Indies outfit would have to wait until the second test at Eden Park for their only win of the drawn series.Joel Garner took five for 51 in New Zealand's 228, Desmond Haynes hit 121 in the Windies' 345 before New Zealand kept the West Indies in the field for 177 overs second time around en route to 386 for five declared.Viv Richards bowled 47 overs of flat offspin, not wanting to take the second new ball.

4: February 1995. West Indies won by an innings and 322 runs

One of New Zealand's worst test defeats to end a grim summer on the back of a controversial tour of South Africa.
The West Indies ran up 660-5, their eighth highest total against anyone and the alltime highest against New Zealand. There were centuries for Brian Lara, Jimmy Adams and Junior Murray.Three New Zealanders, Simon Doull, Murphy Su'a and Matthew Hart, all raised bowling hundreds in the innings.
New Zealand were then knocked over for 216 and 122, opener Darrin Murray the shining light with 52 and 43.Courtney Walsh enjoyed his best return in a test, match figures of 36-15-55-13.

5: December 1999. New Zealand won by an innings and 105 runs

Mathew Sinclair's test debut produced a fine 214 - then only the fourth instance of a batsman achieving a double ton in his first match. The West Indies made 179 and 234, Chris Cairns taking 5-44 in the first innings; Dion Nash 4-38 in the second.

6: March 2006. New Zealand won by 10 wickets.

A convincing win, with the West Indies' 192 (James Franklin 5-53) and 215 no match for New Zealand's 372. Captain Stephen Fleming hit 97 and Peter Fulton 75, sharing a 165-run third wicket stand. New Zealand were left with 35 to win.

Re: Re: WI vs NZ, 2nd test
« Reply #10 on: December 11, 2013, 04:35:39 PM »
Gabriel is a real weak link in our attack.

This match will be determined by how quickly we can get through the New Zealand tail. If it wags, then it goes without saying that it will be real pressure

Narine should of replaced him

« Reply #11 on: December 11, 2013, 04:55:51 PM »
Best and Gabriel bowling one pile of tata already.

No wonder West Indies was under pressure in Dunedin.

Steups.

« Reply #12 on: December 11, 2013, 05:18:57 PM »

Steups.

Next you will tell me that Sammy taking wickets...  ::)

« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2013, 05:24:01 PM »

Steups.

Next you will tell me that Sammy taking wickets...  ::)

Lol, true.

« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2013, 05:59:35 PM »
Seems like Best is getting in on the wicket-taking action too.

« Reply #15 on: December 11, 2013, 06:48:14 PM »
441 all out.

About 50 more runs than New Zealand should have been dismissed for, but this happens.

« Reply #16 on: December 11, 2013, 07:39:05 PM »
We making 600 and declare. I say so

« Reply #17 on: December 11, 2013, 07:56:55 PM »
441 all out.

About 50 200 more runs than New Zealand should have been dismissed for, but this happens.

Fixed it for you, Ross Taylor should have been gone for a duck and Boult for 30 less, did not realize Kirk Edwards was a goal keeper.  This has to be one of the worst WI bowling attacks I have seen in my lifetime, albeit w/o injured Roach and Rampaul.  For the life of me can't understand why Fidel Edwards is not around the set up, but we keep grooming and groooming, maybe that's the strategy, groom until we have 10 seamers with about 30 tests each, then we will have multiple backups  :frustrated:

« Reply #18 on: December 11, 2013, 08:07:03 PM »
I fedup of Tino Best. So many young bowlers to choose from.

« Reply #19 on: December 11, 2013, 08:12:00 PM »
441 all out.

About 50 200 more runs than New Zealand should have been dismissed for, but this happens.

Fixed it for you, Ross Taylor should have been gone for a duck and Boult for 30 less, did not realize Kirk Edwards was a goal keeper.  This has to be one of the worst WI bowling attacks I have seen in my lifetime, albeit w/o injured Roach and Rampaul.  For the life of me can't understand why Fidel Edwards is not around the set up, but we keep grooming and groooming, maybe that's the strategy, groom until we have 10 seamers with about 30 tests each, then we will have multiple backups  :frustrated:

Our bowlers wasted a great opportunity yesterday, and it seems like they simply were not thinking were proving the saying regarding insanity to be true, i.e. doing the same things over and over again and expecting different results. They saw that the short-pitched bowling was treated with disdain and was resulting in many boundaries, and yet..... they kept bowling short!  :frustrated:

I was beginning to seriously ask myself, do these guys have serious cognitive problems?!

I hear you...

« Reply #20 on: December 11, 2013, 10:37:05 PM »
Once again, I fraid to go to sleep...

« Reply #21 on: December 12, 2013, 07:41:51 AM »
Once again, I fraid to go to sleep...

Lil B get a beauty, could argue Powell was a bit unlucky, though I would have played that delivery straight and defensive.  Anyway, Samuels ton today?  Others have to step up

« Reply #22 on: December 12, 2013, 03:44:00 PM »
Even when I'm awake...

West Indies 182/6 (46.4 ov)

« Reply #23 on: December 12, 2013, 03:50:34 PM »
Even when I'm awake...

I meant West Indies 186/7 (47.4 ov)

« Reply #24 on: December 12, 2013, 03:53:29 PM »
Even when I'm awake...

No really I meant to type West Indies 188/8 (48.1 ov)

« Reply #25 on: December 12, 2013, 03:56:10 PM »
Even when I'm awake...

Can I blame this on auto-correct? West Indies 188/9 (48.3 ov)
« Last Edit: December 12, 2013, 04:07:23 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #26 on: December 12, 2013, 04:02:58 PM »
Even when I'm awake...

Can I blame this on auto-correct? West Indies 188/9 (48.3 ov)

Bowled out West Indies 193/10 (49.5 ov)

From 175/4...   :-[

NZ Enforce the follow-on.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2013, 04:07:53 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #27 on: December 12, 2013, 04:44:49 PM »
Wow 4 ducks

« Reply #28 on: December 12, 2013, 04:54:24 PM »
Dem fellas eh serious, nah!

I really need to get some counselling yes.

« Last Edit: December 12, 2013, 05:08:00 PM by kaliman2006 »

« Reply #29 on: December 12, 2013, 05:41:44 PM »
I really need to get some counselling yes.

You now realize that?